RT Daily Blog

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Antiheroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the antihero.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Tamara Morgan's Confidence Tricks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a great contemporary romance, and rising genre star Tamara Morgan writes just that. Her heroines are brash, her stories engaging. This month she's got a new title out, Confidence Tricks. It's the story of con artists and lonely hearts, of trying to go on the straight and narrow, but veering off track anyway. We've got an excerpt for you to check out, so you can meet Poppy and Asprey for yourself. Read on!

The stiletto heel pressed against his jugular had yet to break the skin.

It was a small comfort—Asprey’s only one at the moment. Gravel dotted painfully into his cheek and temple, and his arm hung limp at his side. Only a few cords of fiery, razor-edged nerves seemed to connect the bones of his shoulder to the rest of him, and every movement was a clear reminder that he lay completely at the woman’s mercy.

That was, if she had any.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Bad Boys

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Valentine's Week is underway (yes, it's a week here at RT, we're surrounded by romance novels and giant pictures of Fabio (not kidding), we can't help ourselves) and we're in the midst of our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Which hero will reign supreme? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Necklaces (+ Get The Look!)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Valentine's Day is nearly here! And while we're perfectly happy with some supermarket flowers and a kiss, the heroines on the covers of some of this month's romances have us thinking more … sparkly thoughts, thanks to all their awesome necklaces. So if you want to email some suggestive links to your sweetie, or do some shopping for yourself, we've found the corresponding real-life necklaces for you to peruse. Happy shopping! (Disclaimer, we aren't affiliated with any of these retailers, so we can't promise they're legit. I.e., if you want to drop $13,000 on that diamond necklace on eBay, buy at your own risk, ok? And then send us a picture.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Alphas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happiest of Valentine's Week to you, dear readers. We know, the holiday gives some the urge to hide under the covers, bemoaning their singleton status, while others preen with the happiness of being in love. But coupled or no, your RT Web Team believes one thing very sincerely, in our heart of hearts, and that is this: there's no reason to be lonely, because we all have a whole bunch of steamy, dreamy book boyfriends to keep us company.

But then we got to wondering, which book boyfriend is best? We need to know. It's important. So each day this week, we'll be profiling a different kind of hero, be he alpha, beta, anti or bad boy, and you can vote on your favorite. Then on Friday, we'll crown our Ultimate Book Boyfriend. There will be prizes! And fun! And probably some smack talk. But most of all, there will be the knowledge that we are never truly alone, because our book boyfriends are always patiently waiting for us on our nightstands.

Today we discuss: Alphas!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

My Favorite Sentence: Five Crimson Authors Share — with Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

A  digital series shared among authors. It's a fun new publishing trend we've noticed. First some New Adult authors started with their Unfiltered series, then MJ Rose and Liz Berry tackled their version of 1001 Arabian Nights with a bevy of bestselling authors. And now five Crimson authors are on the scene with the Emerald Springs Legacy. They had us at the tagline, "romance flourishes in the lush organic farms of Emerald Springs, Washington, amidst sabotage, family fueds and rivalries, new and old.We're suckers for any sort of saga, so we wanted to know more about this five-book series. Below, each author has shared her favorite paragraph from her addition to the series. If you're hooked by the end — and we think you will be — be sure to enter our giveaway at the bottom of this post. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Darcie Wilde On Lord of the Rakes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Historical fans, ready to add a new author to your must-read pile? Then let us introduce Darcie Wilde. Her debut, Lord of the Rakes, captivated RT reviewer extraordinaire Kathe Robin, who called the romance, “a lively, original and highly sensual love story.” We wanted to know more about how Darcie's career got started and what readers can expect from her new romance, so we tracked her down to get some answers.

***

Name: Darcie Wilde

Book: Lord of the Rakes

Genre: Historical Romance

Current Home: Ypsilanti, Michigan

Author Icon: Georgette Heyer. Brilliant writer, incredible work ethic.

Favorite Word: Jabberwock

Was this the first book you ever wrote?

No. The first book I ever wrote was a very bad time travel romance called Love's Own Time. 

How did you start writing?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Amanda Quick's Otherwise Engaged

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for a cover reveal? Today we’ve got a great one for you. Amanda Quick, aka Jayne Ann Krentz, is retuning to historical romantic suspense, and we couldn’t be more excited! Otherwise Engaged publishes April 22, but we’ve got the back cover copy to parse in the meantime. Let’s check it out:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Antiheroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

 

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the Antihero.

 

Antiheroes sneak up on you. They can be dastardly. You might outright hate them at first. And then after awhile … they get under your skin. They do something thoughtful, like remember your favorite perfume. And it's all the more touching because it's so … surprising. Next thing you know, you've got antihero fever, and ain't no cure for that!

 

Vote for your favorite antihero and be entered to win! And check back all week as we continue with our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Friday we'll declare the Ultimate Book Boyfriend! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Anti Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

 

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the Antihero.

 

Antiheroes sneak up on you. They can be dastardly. You might outright hate them at first. And then after awhile … they get under your skin. They do something thoughtful, like remember your favorite perfume. And it's all the more touching because it's so … surprising. Next thing you know, you've got antihero fever, and ain't no cure for that!

 

Vote for your favorite antihero and be entered to win! And check back all week as we continue with our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Friday we'll declare the Ultimate Book Boyfriend! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST