RT Daily Blog

Cover Reveal: Amanda Quick's Otherwise Engaged

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for a cover reveal? Today we’ve got a great one for you. Amanda Quick, aka Jayne Ann Krentz, is retuning to historical romantic suspense, and we couldn’t be more excited! Otherwise Engaged publishes April 22, but we’ve got the back cover copy to parse in the meantime. Let’s check it out:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Antiheroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

 

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the Antihero.

 

Antiheroes sneak up on you. They can be dastardly. You might outright hate them at first. And then after awhile … they get under your skin. They do something thoughtful, like remember your favorite perfume. And it's all the more touching because it's so … surprising. Next thing you know, you've got antihero fever, and ain't no cure for that!

 

Vote for your favorite antihero and be entered to win! And check back all week as we continue with our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Friday we'll declare the Ultimate Book Boyfriend! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Anti Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

 

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the Antihero.

 

Antiheroes sneak up on you. They can be dastardly. You might outright hate them at first. And then after awhile … they get under your skin. They do something thoughtful, like remember your favorite perfume. And it's all the more touching because it's so … surprising. Next thing you know, you've got antihero fever, and ain't no cure for that!

 

Vote for your favorite antihero and be entered to win! And check back all week as we continue with our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Friday we'll declare the Ultimate Book Boyfriend! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How to Survive Life with the Ton: Cara Elliott's Etiquette Guide

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Have you ever thought how you would fare in a season with the ton? (We totally have. We’d like to think we’d be the belle of the ball, but we know we’d actually be destined for wallflower status.) Well today Cara Elliott is here to tell us how her heroine, Anna Sloane, survives her season, and maybe even gets the guy, er, gentleman, in her latest Hellions of High Street title, Sinfully Yours.

***

Anna Sloane’s Top Five Secrets for Surviving the London Season

1. Carry an extra large reticule. It’s very useful to hold the books you intend to read when you sneak off to a side parlor while your mother and her friends are gossiping during the tedious rounds of morning calls.

2. A fringed shawl is very useful in covering up a small notebook and pencil. That way, no one can tell that you’re jotting plot notes for your next racy romance novel while sitting demurely and waiting for one of your many ardent admirers to fetch you a glass of ratafia punch.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Historical Overview: February

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who hasn't dreamt of a custom wardrobe? Heading to a well-known seamstress to be draped and pinned into beautiful fabrics, all selected to perfectly compliment your complexion and shape? Well that doesn't happen much anymore outside of wedding gowns, but we can live vicariously through this month's historical recommendations, as we shine the spotlight on our recent favorite books featuring dressmakers. So throw on your favorite frock, grab a glass of wine and cozy up with these exciting books!


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sherryl Woods's Chesapeake Shores Series Is Headed To TV

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sherryl Woods will join the likes of Debbie Macomber, Lisa Kleypas, Diana Gabaldon, Nora Roberts and countless other bestselling romance authors whose works have been adapted for television, as the Hallmark Channel will be adapting the author's Chesapeake Shores novels for the small screen, Harlequin announced today. As of now the production with Hallmark is set to premiere in 2015, along with two new Chesapeake Shores novels. The sweet romance series follows the residents — new and old — of a small Maryland town, focusing on the O’Brien family, as they face family troubles, work through career choices and search for lasting love. Woods's latest release, Home to Seaview Key, is available digitally and in print now.

For more romance news and views visit our Everything Romance page.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Suzanne Brockmann's Do or Die — Plus Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

When you pick up a Suzanne Brockmann title, you expect alpha heroes, danger and excitement. And with the start of Suzanne's new Reluctant Heroes series (can we just say we love that title?), vintage Suz is back. Want to see for yourself? Check out this excerpt of Do or Die, where ex-Navy SEAL turned jewel thief Ian (can we just say we also love that job title?) gets roped into a new case. And check out the bottom of the post, where we're giving away a copy!

Aaron had just gotten Rory down for a nap when the phone rang.

“Motherfuh— ” He cut himself off, in case the shrill ringtone had woken up his son. At eleven months old, Rory was starting to make word-sounding noises, and motherfucker was not going to be part of his vocabulary. At least not until he went to school and heard it from some other kid with crappier parents.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: The White Queen DVD

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

 

No one writes historical fiction quite like Philippa Gregory, so when we heard Starz and the BBC were going to adapt her 2009 novel The White Queen for television, we may have done a happy dance. We'll never tell. With royal drama, steamy kisses and Max Irons, this adaptation has a lot going for it. See for yourself:

 

Unfortunately, not everybody has cable and could catch the Golden Globe-nominated miniseries when it aired on Starz last summer. But fear not, because we have four sets of the complete series on DVD to giveaway!

FIll out the nifty Rafflecopter widget below to enter! This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only and ends next Friday! Good luck! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hunting for Pirate Treasure With Carla Neggers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ahoy, mateys! Are you at your computer, but daydreaming of embarking on an exciting adventure, like maybe a treasure hunt? Today we’re talking pirate treasure with Carla Neggers, whose latest contemporary romance, Cider Brook, makes a return to picturesque Knight’s Bridge, where Samantha Bennett is back to atone for her mistakes and search for some 18th-century pirate treasure. (There is also a sexy firefighter hero.) Today Carla’s with us to share some treasure hunting secrets, so you’re prepared the next time you run into Johnny Depp. Oh, sorry, that was our daydream. Take it away, Carla!

My heroine Samantha can’t resist the lure of pirates and treasure, and neither can I. I’ve always been fascinated by pirates. Now we have the discovery of the wrecks of sunken pirate ships—like “Black Sam” Bellamy’s Whydah off Cape Cod—that tell more about the real men (and the occasional woman) who turned to this illegal activity and often paid with their lives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tessa Dare Spent The Night In A Haunted Castle (And Survived!)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Authors! They’ve got just about the best job going, right? To wit, for Tessa Dare’s latest Top Pick! rated Romancing the Duke, she traveled to England to stay in a haunted castle. By herself. And then she told us all about it. Take it away, Tessa!

Ghosts aren’t real.

That’s my general belief, anyway. Considering the number of people who have lived and died on this planet, it would seem to me that if ghosts were real, we would be tripping over them everywhere. They would have been seen by a great many more people, and they would find some better way to communicate than shuffling footsteps, clanking chains and the occasional woo-woo noise. So I don’t really think ghosts are real.

However, I am not ashamed to admit that I am deeply afraid of being proven wrong.

When I was beginning my research for Romancing the Duke, I knew my heroine, Izzy, was going to inherit a cold, creepy, reportedly haunted castle in Northumberland. So naturally, I knew I would need to visit a cold, creepy, reportedly haunted castle in Northumberland — and, if possible, spend the night.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST