RT Daily Blog

Sharon Page Asks: Why Do We Really Love Bikers?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, biker heroes. Their appeal is real, raw — and has romance fans begging for more. They're cropping up in our erotica, New Adult and contemporary romances — not to mention on TV and in films. So we asked erotica author Sharon Page, whose latest story "Fast and Mine" is one of 14 in the Riding Desire box set, to tell us why we can't get enough of those biker heroes. After consulting her fellow romance authors, here's what she has to say:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeannie Lin Tells Us: How My Worst Seller Became a Bestseller and What it Means to Write “Different”

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Any author will tell you, publishing can be a volatile industry in which to build a career. Even as we as readers clamber for more, finding one’s way amongst the pitfalls of contracts, self-publishing, marketing and more can be tough.

Late last year, Jeannie Lin announced that the sequel to her RT Award Nominee, China-set historical romance, The Lotus Palace, would be published digitally only, thanks in part to poor sales. Her candid post rallied those in the romance industry. Today, that digital-only sequel, which earned a 4.5 star rating The Jade Temptress, releases. We asked Jeannie to weigh in about her transition to digital, her publishing career, and what it all means. Take it away, Jeannie!

The Jade Temptress, which releases today, will be the sixth full-length historical romance I’ve published set in the Tang Dynasty. Do you know that Jade Lee, an author I consider my idol, my publishing big sister, had six books in her Tigress series set in Qing Dynasty China?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Characters and the Wines that Love Them: Kate Meader's Hot and Bothered — and a Wine.com Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

White wine goes with fish, red wine with … meat? Those wine pairings always get us, we can never remember which goes with which. But today we’ve got a book-inspired wine post that is far more up our alley. Kate Meader, whose Hot and Bothered is out this week, has paired her Hot in the Kitchen series characters each with a kind of wine. Want to know more? Us too! Be sure to check out the bottom of the post for givewaway details, you could win a copy of Hot and Bothered — and a gift certificate to wine.com! Tell us more, Kate:

In Hot and Bothered, book three of the Hot in the Kitchen series about an Italian restaurant-owning family and the sizzling chefs who love them, we meet best friends who want more, Tad DeLuca, bad boy wine bar owner, and Jules Kilroy, single mom and reformed naughty girl turned budding chef. But when Jules decides it’s time to start dating, Tad realizes that he has to do something about it, and quick, so he hires Jules to cook at his wine bar, with the goal of keeping her close to hand and too busy to date. Then he begins wine and cooking lessons, which are guaranteed to turn the kitchen’s cozy confines hot and steamy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Show Us Your Public Display Of Romance!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Where do you like to read romance novels? In bed? In the bath? On the couch while your significant other watches a boring movie? How about in public? If your reading time is during your daily commute, at Gymboree or while you're enjoying a quiet lunch solo, we want to see it! So we're launching the #PublicDisplayofRomance campaign. See, we think the days of hiding romances are long gone. Not just because of ereaders, but because you should be proud of what you're reading. Wave your romance reader flag high, folks! We want to see it! Which is why we're asking readers to tag themselves reading romances — in print or on their ereader — in public.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

February Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. February 2014's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Rachel Caine's Romeo & Juliet retelling, Prince of Shadows.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: February 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured several online book retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and more, as well as bestseller lists, to put together the bestselling fiction titles of the month that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

***

The Private Club: Three Days by JS Cooper and Helen Cooper

Genre: Contemporary Short Story

Release date: February 2014

The story: You may recognize JS and Helen from last month’s self-pub bestseller list, for their über-popular Ex Games series. The Private Club is a three-part erotic serial, a spin-off of sorts, starring Meg, an unemployed lawyer looking for work. She meets the ubiquitous hero of this genre, the ‘handsome and elusive’ Greyson at her interview at The Club. Thinking she’s applying for a bartending job, Meg learns she’s in for so much more. As her connection with Greyson grows, as do her questions about the true nature of the club. At a short 67 pages, don’t expect to get too many answers, but never fear, those savvy Coopers have already released the second entry, The Private Club: Two Days.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Six Avon Historical Romance Ebooks On Sale For $1.99 Each

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Thursday is the big day for ebook deals here on the RT Daily Blog, but if you can't wait for tomorrow's Cheaper by the Dozen column, we've got even more deals for you! Avon, the publisher synonymous with historical romance, has lowered the ebook prices of several of their more recent historicals. Grab each of these full-length romances for only $1.99 each while the sale lasts! Happy shopping. Note: All prices listed are accurate at the time of this posting.

 

It Happened One Midnight by Julie Anne Long

  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Where Am I, Again? Vivian Arend On The Awesomeness Of Amnesia Plots

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

What’s your name again? Amnesia is a tried-and-true romance trope that can give heroes and heroines an awful lot to deal with. Vivian Arend’s latest, Baby, Be Mine, stars Katy and Gage, who give into their long-simmering passion before Gage leaves on a six-month work stint. Only when Gage returns, Katy’s been in a memory-impairing car accident and she doesn’t remember their night together — or where she got pregnant. Today Vivian’s with us to share her favorite amnesia plot lines, that she can remember, anyway.

There’s something about an amnesia plot that pleases me, partly because there are so many directions an author can take with the idea.

The cover of Vivian Arend's Baby, Be Mine

I remember one of the earliest books I read with this device was an Anne McCaffrey—in her Crystal Singer series, the more the characters worked gathering and cutting the valuable crystal, the more memories they lost. The emotional impact of that loss, with both positive and negative results, fascinated me. Could it possible to use something as traumatic as memory loss to improve your life?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Gallery's Romance Authors Are Hitting The Road

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

A map of the Gallery spring tour. View the full-sized version here.

If you live in the southern United States, several of Gallery's romance authors are headed your way this spring! Authors Alice Clayton, Kresley Cole, Katy Evans, Lisa Renee Jones, Christina Lauren, Jennifer Probst, Kristen Proby and more are touring the South tarting May 9th, finishing up at the RT Booklovers Convention in New Orleans on May 14th. 

This is a great opportunity for nearby readers who are unable to attend this year's RT Convention to meet some fantastic authors. For those attending Con, the tour will give local readers a smaller, more intimate setting to interact with some of their favorite authors. With the RT Convention being such a jam-packed week, this gives fans an opportunity to cross off some authors on their "to meet" list before the convention kicks off May 13th.

You can find a full list of where and when authors are making stops here. Gallery is also asking for readers' help naming the tour, you can vote on which name fits best here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which Romance Subgenre is Best? Bella Andre and Monica McCarty Debate

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Romance is such a great genre because there’s so much that can happen to our erstwhile hero and heroine on their way to that HEA. They could be caught in an epic clan battle. Or dealing with their newly discovered shapeshifting abilities. Or busy fighting fires. But which subgenre is best? Today friends Monica McCarty, whose historical RT Top Pick! The Raider, is out today, and Bella Andre, whose bestselling self-published contemporary series The Sullivans is being released in print — RT Top Pick! Come a Little Bit Closer is also out today — are here to do battle. May the best genre win! (We really love them all. Don’t make us pick!)

 


Read More>>

Tags: Historical Romance, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST