RT Daily Blog

Self-Pub Like A Pro: A Q&A With Courtney Milan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a "trend" that's turned out to be a tried-and-true method for authors to get their works directly to readers. But it's not always an easy path, there are many variables to consider and control along the way. To help new writers figure it all out, we'll be spotlighting various self-publishing heavy hitters — including authors, editors and industry professionals — here on the RT blog each month with our new Self-Pub Like a Pro column. This month Courtney Milan, who found her self-publishing niche with her Brothers Sinister series, is here to shine some light on our biggest questions. 

***

1. What's the most important thing to keep in mind when self-publishing?

The most important thing to keep in mind is that you should be writing the best book you can. I know that sounds flippant, but trust me, that's the No. 1 thing. You can recover from any other mistakes. Prices, covers and key words can be changed. You cannot recover from writing a terrible book. Your first goal should be to look at the reader experience.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

My Favorite Historical Tropes with Bronwen Evans — with Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Authors, they're just like us! We can't resist a good trope, so we were delighted when Bronwen Evans agreed to share her favorite Regency machinations with us. Bronwen's latest, A Kiss of Lies, out this week, the first in her Disgraced Lords series. So she knows of what she speaks. Take it away, Bronwen! And check out giveaway details at the end of the post!

1. Friends to lovers: There's something about a friendship between a man and a woman, and how, or why, it never progressed to more, and what suddenly changes the dynamics to make them wake up and see each other in a more amorous way. Try, The Countess Conspiracy by Courtney Milan, Wicked Delights of the Marriage Bed by Tracey Anne Warren, or my book, To Challenge the Earl of Cravenswood.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Cara Connelly

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Woo! Woo! Debut author alert! (We totally need to get a siren.) Cara Connelly’s RT Top Pick! rated debut, The Wedding Favor, has been getting tons of buzz. It’s the story of grieving widow Ty, who still hasn’t forgiven heartless defense attorney, Victoria, for her actions during the trial. Too bad they’re stuck attending the same wedding! RT reviewer Bridget called it “delcious.” We can’t resist a good contemporary romance, so we had to know more. Cara graciously answered our nosey questions.


Name: Cara Connelly

Current Home: Upstate New York

Author Icon: Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Diana Gabaldon

Favorite Word: mayhem

Was this the first book you ever wrote?

No, it was the third. The first book I wrote was a western historical romance — 300,000 words! — which is currently resting under the bed. But I’ll go back to it someday!

How did you start writing?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Lorraine Heath's latest and Scoundrels, Scoundrels, Scoundrels!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, we made it through the first post-holiday week — and there was even a polar vortex to deal with! We're so proud of all of us, we want to give each and every one of you a high five. But since that's a little logistically difficult, instead we've got a great Friday Free for All full of scoundrels for you to sigh over!

This week's giveaway features historical favorite Lorraine Heath. Lorraine's got a great new novella out, her Scoundrels of St. James finale. It's The Last Wicked Scoundrel, starring widowed Winnifred. Winnie was greatly relieved when her abusive husband was killed in a house fire three years ago. But suddenly she's seeing signs of him everywhere. Dr. William Graves agrees to help, and their feelings grow as does the danger surrounding them. Intrigued? Enter to win one of three e-copies below! And to sweeten the pot, one lucky grand prize winner will get Heath's new novella plus a bunch of other scoundrel-laden e-historical romances from Avon, including:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Hankering 2014: Romance!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we’ve saved the best for last with romance!


 

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare

Releases February 2014

It’s possible we’re cheating a little bit on this one because <whispers> we already read it. And man is it good! Dare’s Castles Ever After series debuts with this title, and it’s pure delight. There’s a haunted castle, a brooding hero and a whole lotta angst. Read this one. Trust us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Christina Brooke's The Greatest Lover Ever

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, we’ve made it to Thursday of this first post-holiday week. Surely we’ve earned another excerpt break! This one was an obvious choice for us, it’s from RT Award nominee Christina Brooke. It’s an RT Top Pick! And it’s called … The Greatest Lover Ever. We think we’ve said enough.

Christina set the scene for us … 

"This is a second chance at love story between one of the most beloved characters of my Westruthers series, Marcus, Earl of Beckenham, and his old flame and former fiance, Georgiana Black. An extremely hot semi-anonymous encounter at a lewd party in Brighton has played on Beckenham's conscience until he decides he must do the honorable thing and propose to Georgie. It is the worst proposal in the history of proposals, so he is roundly rejected! Do these lovers have a chance? And what's the worst or best proposal you know of, in real life or in fiction?"

And now on to the excerpt!


Read More>>

Tags: Historical Romance, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pride & Prejudice & Pooches

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, when we come across an RT Top Pick! rated book called Unleashing Mr. Darcy, we can’t help but post dog pictures. We work on the Internet. We’re basically contractually obligated. So we were delighted when author Teri Wilson agreed to cast Pride & Prejudice — with dogs. We know, we know. But she did an such awesome job! Check it out:

***

Fitzwilliam Darcy

Ah, the infamous Mr. Darcy. This was an easy choice. He is an English Foxhound.

Why? First of all, he’s foxy. (Sorry, couldn’t resist.) Quintessentially English, this breed is known for running in aristocratic circles. He is handsome, distinguished, independent and can be stubborn at times. Rumor has it his good opinion, once lost, is lost forever.

 

Elizabeth Bennet

I see our heroine as one of the most beloved breeds, the Yorkshire Terrier.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Kendra Elliot's ALONE

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

The way today is going, either you’re stuck inside somewhere very cold, or you’re somewhere warm, tired of hearing everyone else complain about the freezing temperatures (if you live somewhere warm, we're incredibly jealous). Either way, we think it’s time for an excerpt break! Today we’ve got something to get your spine tingling with Kendra Elliot’s RT Top Pick! romantic suspense Alone. It’s the story of forensic anthropologist Dr. Victoria Peres, who must process a horrific crime scene with five dead girls, one clinging to life.

Kendra set the scene for us:

“I knew before I wrote Alone that I wanted to use a Pacific Northwest landmark as my setting and create a crime scene that felt hopeless yet ethereal at the same time. I wanted the reader to experience my characters’ reactions to the vulnerability of the victims and feel their determination to solve the teenagers’ deaths. My stories dive deep into the emotions of the people who solve the crimes and the families of the victims. I love to show my characters fighting for their happy-ever-after and taking down the criminals in the process.”

***


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Into the Archives with Elizabeth Boyle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Still got some gift cards to burn? We at RT are here for you as always. Today we’ve got a special treat! Historical romance author extraordinaire Elizabeth Boyle is going Into the Archives with us to pick her five favorite titles from her ever-growing backlist. She’s also got a new title out now, If Wishes Were Earls.  Ready to go … Into the Archives? Off we go!

Something About Emmaline: The moment the idea for this story came to me, I was hooked. A baron who makes up a wife to avoid the marriage mart, and then one day, he starts getting bills for all her expenses. And Emmaline? I adore her — from her huge heart to her con artist sensibilities. The scene where they meet and she nearly shoots him for breaking into what is essentially his bedroom, still cracks me up.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Excerpt Break: Jill Sorenson's Badlands

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oh readers, it's the start of the first full week back after the holidays. We're dragging as much as you are. So that's why we think an excerpt break is in order! Today for you we've got a captivating romantic suspense, Jill Sorenson's Badlands. It's the story of wealthy politician's daughter Penny, who's kidnapped along with her son and hunky bodyguard Owen. They're taken to the badlands, where people are rarely heard from again. Intrigued? We know we are! 

Jill sets the stage for us:

This scene takes place right after the abduction. Penny and her son, Cruz, are in the backseat of the stolen vehicle with Owen. One of the kidnappers, Dirk, is sitting next to Owen. The other is driving them to the Badlands. 

Please be warned that this excerpt contains graphic language and violence. 

***

Penny had never been more terrified.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST