RT Daily Blog

Riptide's Second Anniversary Celebration — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

We love a good M/M romance as much as the next reader, so we sure are thrilled to help celebrate Riptide Publishing’s second anniversary! As one of the leading publishers of M/M romances, Riptide has not only built an impressive roster of authors and a fanbase of devoted readers. Today, we have an exclusive interview with authors Anne Tenino and LA Witt, who have been with Riptide since the beginning. But that’s not all! Stay tuned to the end of our interview to find out how to win a set of Riptide e-books! First, though, let’s chat with Anne and LA about their books, their journeys to publication and the state of M/M romance today.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
26COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maya Rodale Shares A Wallflower Moment + An Excerpt From The Wicked Wallflower

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK
Maya Rodale's latest release, The Wicked Wallflower, features heroine Lady Emma Avery, who attempts to climb the social ladder by announcing her engagement to a desirable duke, the Duke of Ashbrooke, whom she's never even met! We've been there — minus the duke part. But we can't blame a gal for trying to fit in. Today Maya shares another "Wallflower Moment" from her story.

***

That Wallflower Moment … when the mean girl makes fun of you.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Try This Trope: The Older Brother's Best Friend

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

We have a friend, a good old Texas boy, whose best friend married his sister. “That’s the only way it works,” he told us sagely, one night over beers. “If your best friend messes with your little sister, he has to marry her.”

As readers, this is one of our favorite tropes. He’s older, he’s cute, he’s around all the time. He’s probably mostly nice to the heroine, maybe he smiles at her in the halls at school. But he only ever looks at her as a little sister, until … one day, when you grow up. But then, there’s still your brother to contend with. There’s a long-simmering attraction, and the awkward teen inside the heroine, finally getting her guy. There are so many potential complications and layers inherent in this trope, allowing for an emotionally resonating read. So why don’t you Try this Trope? “Your Brother’s Best Friend”

Just for Now by Abbi Glines

Genre: New Adult

The Set-up: Amanda’s always been into her brother’s bad boy best friend Preston (oooh, bad boy). She orchestrates a hook up with Preston while he’s super drunk. The next day, Preston can’t believe what he did and goes out of his way to avoid her. Amanda, meanwhile, wants more, more, more!


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Historical Romance, Series, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Watch The Book Trailer For Down Range By Lindsay McKenna

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you were lucky enough to grab Lindsay McKenna's Danger Close when it was available for free from Harlequin, then you're probably all ready for Down Range, the second in her Shadow Warriors series, which hits shelves November 26. It's the romantic suspense adventure of Captain Morgan Boland and Navy SEAL Jake Ramsey, who get a second chance at love while taking on a dangerous special op. The author recently unveiled the book trailer for Down Range, which you can watch below in anticipation of the book's release:

You can get Down Range, available November 26. For more romantic suspense, check out our Everything Romance page.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Elizabeth Hoyt

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

Elizabeth Hoyt takes readers back to the eclectic neighborhood of St. Giles, London for the sixth installment in her Maiden Lane series, Duke of Midnight, which hit shelves this week. Look at Elizabeth Hoyt's RT reviews and you'll be astounded, every historical romance she's written has recieved a Top Pick! rating. She's even won the RT's Reviewer Choice Historical Romance of the Year — twice. Plus, she's a lovely lady to chat with. So it's no wonder that when we ran into her at RWA Nationals this summer, we sat down to chat. We talked writer advice and why antibiotics are important for time travel. As one does.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caught On The Cover: October 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on the cover," their likenesses spotted on some October new releases. Check out who we found:

***

Lacey Chabert went from our beloved Party of Five to our even more beloved Mean Girls, but now she's rocking leather pants and dealing with angels. What would Regina George say?

     

 

 

Is there nothing James Franco can't do? Movie star, soap actor, artist, author, student, our boyfriend, cover model! 

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Christi Barth's Friends to Lovers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

We all love receiving a visit from the florist, but what does that bouquet mean? Today Christi Barth is here to tell us about the elusive language of flowers, and to share an exclusive excerpt of her new contemporary, Friends to Lovers, starring a florist heroine …


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. October 2013's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Maggie Shayne's romantic suspense Sleep With the Lights On. 



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Secret Identities Abound In October Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

Secret or mistaken identities never make life easy, especially for the characters in this month’s historical recommendations. From a cloaked savior to a “ghostly” Duke, these stories have enough intrigue and passion to please any and all readers. Take a look!

Let’s start with Tracey Devlyn’s A Lady’s Secret Weapon. Ethan deBeau sets his sights on unmasking the identity of the cloaked figure who rescued him. But first he must complete another mission: locating a missing boy, a job that may be a tad too easy for an elite spy like himself. While investigating an orphanage with a suspicious history, he meets Sydney Hunt, a woman who may have ties to the orphanage — and to Ethan. Is Sydney his cloaked savior? Or did she play a part in the boy’s disappearance? Dun dun dun!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Bearded (And Mustachioed) Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Beards are back! From five o'clock shadows to stubble to fuller beards, there's no denying that facial hair is trending again — and not in a sleazy 70s dad sort of way (unless you're a hipster, maybe). Contemporary-set romance covers of all sorts have been sporting scruffy heroes lately, especially in romantic suspense (guess you don't have time to shave if you're hunting down baddies), and you won't see us complaining. Here's a sampling of bearded (and one mustachioed!) heroes we're swooning over:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST