RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Excerpt: Christina Brooke's The Greatest Lover Ever

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, we’ve made it to Thursday of this first post-holiday week. Surely we’ve earned another excerpt break! This one was an obvious choice for us, it’s from RT Award nominee Christina Brooke. It’s an RT Top Pick! And it’s called … The Greatest Lover Ever. We think we’ve said enough.

Christina set the scene for us … 

"This is a second chance at love story between one of the most beloved characters of my Westruthers series, Marcus, Earl of Beckenham, and his old flame and former fiance, Georgiana Black. An extremely hot semi-anonymous encounter at a lewd party in Brighton has played on Beckenham's conscience until he decides he must do the honorable thing and propose to Georgie. It is the worst proposal in the history of proposals, so he is roundly rejected! Do these lovers have a chance? And what's the worst or best proposal you know of, in real life or in fiction?"

And now on to the excerpt!


Read More>>

Tags: Historical Romance, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pride & Prejudice & Pooches

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, when we come across an RT Top Pick! rated book called Unleashing Mr. Darcy, we can’t help but post dog pictures. We work on the Internet. We’re basically contractually obligated. So we were delighted when author Teri Wilson agreed to cast Pride & Prejudice — with dogs. We know, we know. But she did an such awesome job! Check it out:

***

Fitzwilliam Darcy

Ah, the infamous Mr. Darcy. This was an easy choice. He is an English Foxhound.

Why? First of all, he’s foxy. (Sorry, couldn’t resist.) Quintessentially English, this breed is known for running in aristocratic circles. He is handsome, distinguished, independent and can be stubborn at times. Rumor has it his good opinion, once lost, is lost forever.

 

Elizabeth Bennet

I see our heroine as one of the most beloved breeds, the Yorkshire Terrier.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Kendra Elliot's ALONE

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

The way today is going, either you’re stuck inside somewhere very cold, or you’re somewhere warm, tired of hearing everyone else complain about the freezing temperatures (if you live somewhere warm, we're incredibly jealous). Either way, we think it’s time for an excerpt break! Today we’ve got something to get your spine tingling with Kendra Elliot’s RT Top Pick! romantic suspense Alone. It’s the story of forensic anthropologist Dr. Victoria Peres, who must process a horrific crime scene with five dead girls, one clinging to life.

Kendra set the scene for us:

“I knew before I wrote Alone that I wanted to use a Pacific Northwest landmark as my setting and create a crime scene that felt hopeless yet ethereal at the same time. I wanted the reader to experience my characters’ reactions to the vulnerability of the victims and feel their determination to solve the teenagers’ deaths. My stories dive deep into the emotions of the people who solve the crimes and the families of the victims. I love to show my characters fighting for their happy-ever-after and taking down the criminals in the process.”

***


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Into the Archives with Elizabeth Boyle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Still got some gift cards to burn? We at RT are here for you as always. Today we’ve got a special treat! Historical romance author extraordinaire Elizabeth Boyle is going Into the Archives with us to pick her five favorite titles from her ever-growing backlist. She’s also got a new title out now, If Wishes Were Earls.  Ready to go … Into the Archives? Off we go!

Something About Emmaline: The moment the idea for this story came to me, I was hooked. A baron who makes up a wife to avoid the marriage mart, and then one day, he starts getting bills for all her expenses. And Emmaline? I adore her — from her huge heart to her con artist sensibilities. The scene where they meet and she nearly shoots him for breaking into what is essentially his bedroom, still cracks me up.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Excerpt Break: Jill Sorenson's Badlands

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oh readers, it's the start of the first full week back after the holidays. We're dragging as much as you are. So that's why we think an excerpt break is in order! Today for you we've got a captivating romantic suspense, Jill Sorenson's Badlands. It's the story of wealthy politician's daughter Penny, who's kidnapped along with her son and hunky bodyguard Owen. They're taken to the badlands, where people are rarely heard from again. Intrigued? We know we are! 

Jill sets the stage for us:

This scene takes place right after the abduction. Penny and her son, Cruz, are in the backseat of the stolen vehicle with Owen. One of the kidnappers, Dirk, is sitting next to Owen. The other is driving them to the Badlands. 

Please be warned that this excerpt contains graphic language and violence. 

***

Penny had never been more terrified.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books - December 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

There's a lot of chance involved with deciding which self-published stories to read, and we understand many of you aren't the gambling type. But have no fear, we're making rolling the dice a little easier. We've scoured several online book retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and more, to put together the bestselling fiction titles of the month that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Bully and Until You by Penelope Douglas

Genre: contemporary New Adult romance

Release Dates: June and December 2013, respectively

The Story: Heroine Tate can't understand why her friend-turned-bully Jared turned on her, and ends up falling for him as she tries to figure it out. Book two, Until You, gives us the story from Jared's POV. Reviews call this series "solid new adult" and an "emotional rollercoaster."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Auld Lang Syne, Book Style: Some Great New Year's Eve Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

No matter your feelings about New Year's Eve — and ours are mixed, certainly, some RT editors love the holiday, others prefer to burrow under the covers until the drunken debauchery is over — we know you're going to try and find time to read. So today for you we have a list of our favorite New Year's Eve reads from across genres, to entertain you til the countdown begins.

Sleepwalker by Karen Robards

This Best Romantic Suspense of 2012 is Robards at her best, as the surprising duo of Detroit detective Micayla "Mick" Lange and burglar Jason Davis must band together to fight for their lives.

The 9th Girl by Tami Hoag

It all starts on New Year's Eve in Hoag's action-packed mystery, where a limo driver spots a teen with a half-melted face popping out of the trunk in front of him. (This is why we stay home on New Year's.)

Midnight Resolutions by Kathleen O'Reilly


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

I Ship It: My Favorite Fictional Couples Of 2013

BY DJ DeSmyter, DECEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

2013 has undoubtedly been a great year for books and TV, but most importantly, it’s also been a splendid year for shipping. Not the let’s-go-whale-watching shipping, but the OMG-these-two-characters-need-to-be-in-love variety (if you’re still confused, watch this video). It’s safe to say that I am a hardcore shipper and believer in One True Pairings (OTP). I’m definitely one of those people who gets all smiley and giggly when a fictional couple I’m rooting for finally gets together. So today I thought I’d share my top five pairings of 2013 — hopefully some of your favorites made the cut!

***

1. Morgan and Basil from Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

Morgan and Basil are the kind of couple who just ooze cuteness. On their own, they’re delightful characters with unique perspectives, but together they light up the pages. With her curious and wandering mind, Morgan complements Basil’s more grounded personality, and there’s just something about this pairing that works in every way possible.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 12 Days of Bookmas — Win Our 12 Seal of Excellence Winners From 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sure, partridges in a pear tree are nice and all, but we know what you really want — books! The BEST books. So we at RT came up with our very own version of the Twelve Days of Bookmas, starring our twelve Seal of Excellence winning books from this year. For the next twelve work days, we’ll celebrate each Seal of Excellence title of 2013, and hear from those authors about their favorite read of the year. To further prove our love, we’re giving away a set of all twelve 2013 SOE titles to one lucky reader. For details on entering, read on! And check back here every day for a new post.

DECEMBER

No Good Duke Goes Unpunished by Sarah MacLean


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
55COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Cover Model CJ Hollenbach Confesses

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you've ever been to an RT convention, you definitely know CJ Hollenbach. He's one of the most well-known romance novel cover models from the last two decades, and now he's finally coming clean with his own book, Confessions of a Romance Cover Model, where he dishes about the industry and shares more than a few wild adventures he's had during his career. If you were at the 2013 RT Convention in Kansas City, you might recall the roast of CJ, which was certainly a sight to see. Today, we're asking CJ about his career, what he's learned and giving readers a preview of the stories they can find in his new book.

***

1. What is your fondest memory from working as a cover model?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST