RT Daily Blog

Excerpt Break: Jill Sorenson's Badlands

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oh readers, it's the start of the first full week back after the holidays. We're dragging as much as you are. So that's why we think an excerpt break is in order! Today for you we've got a captivating romantic suspense, Jill Sorenson's Badlands. It's the story of wealthy politician's daughter Penny, who's kidnapped along with her son and hunky bodyguard Owen. They're taken to the badlands, where people are rarely heard from again. Intrigued? We know we are! 

Jill sets the stage for us:

This scene takes place right after the abduction. Penny and her son, Cruz, are in the backseat of the stolen vehicle with Owen. One of the kidnappers, Dirk, is sitting next to Owen. The other is driving them to the Badlands. 

Please be warned that this excerpt contains graphic language and violence. 

***

Penny had never been more terrified.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books - December 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

There's a lot of chance involved with deciding which self-published stories to read, and we understand many of you aren't the gambling type. But have no fear, we're making rolling the dice a little easier. We've scoured several online book retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and more, to put together the bestselling fiction titles of the month that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Bully and Until You by Penelope Douglas

Genre: contemporary New Adult romance

Release Dates: June and December 2013, respectively

The Story: Heroine Tate can't understand why her friend-turned-bully Jared turned on her, and ends up falling for him as she tries to figure it out. Book two, Until You, gives us the story from Jared's POV. Reviews call this series "solid new adult" and an "emotional rollercoaster."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Auld Lang Syne, Book Style: Some Great New Year's Eve Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

No matter your feelings about New Year's Eve — and ours are mixed, certainly, some RT editors love the holiday, others prefer to burrow under the covers until the drunken debauchery is over — we know you're going to try and find time to read. So today for you we have a list of our favorite New Year's Eve reads from across genres, to entertain you til the countdown begins.

Sleepwalker by Karen Robards

This Best Romantic Suspense of 2012 is Robards at her best, as the surprising duo of Detroit detective Micayla "Mick" Lange and burglar Jason Davis must band together to fight for their lives.

The 9th Girl by Tami Hoag

It all starts on New Year's Eve in Hoag's action-packed mystery, where a limo driver spots a teen with a half-melted face popping out of the trunk in front of him. (This is why we stay home on New Year's.)

Midnight Resolutions by Kathleen O'Reilly


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

I Ship It: My Favorite Fictional Couples Of 2013

BY DJ DeSmyter, DECEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

2013 has undoubtedly been a great year for books and TV, but most importantly, it’s also been a splendid year for shipping. Not the let’s-go-whale-watching shipping, but the OMG-these-two-characters-need-to-be-in-love variety (if you’re still confused, watch this video). It’s safe to say that I am a hardcore shipper and believer in One True Pairings (OTP). I’m definitely one of those people who gets all smiley and giggly when a fictional couple I’m rooting for finally gets together. So today I thought I’d share my top five pairings of 2013 — hopefully some of your favorites made the cut!

***

1. Morgan and Basil from Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

Morgan and Basil are the kind of couple who just ooze cuteness. On their own, they’re delightful characters with unique perspectives, but together they light up the pages. With her curious and wandering mind, Morgan complements Basil’s more grounded personality, and there’s just something about this pairing that works in every way possible.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 12 Days of Bookmas — Win Our 12 Seal of Excellence Winners From 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sure, partridges in a pear tree are nice and all, but we know what you really want — books! The BEST books. So we at RT came up with our very own version of the Twelve Days of Bookmas, starring our twelve Seal of Excellence winning books from this year. For the next twelve work days, we’ll celebrate each Seal of Excellence title of 2013, and hear from those authors about their favorite read of the year. To further prove our love, we’re giving away a set of all twelve 2013 SOE titles to one lucky reader. For details on entering, read on! And check back here every day for a new post.

DECEMBER

No Good Duke Goes Unpunished by Sarah MacLean


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
55COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Cover Model CJ Hollenbach Confesses

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you've ever been to an RT convention, you definitely know CJ Hollenbach. He's one of the most well-known romance novel cover models from the last two decades, and now he's finally coming clean with his own book, Confessions of a Romance Cover Model, where he dishes about the industry and shares more than a few wild adventures he's had during his career. If you were at the 2013 RT Convention in Kansas City, you might recall the roast of CJ, which was certainly a sight to see. Today, we're asking CJ about his career, what he's learned and giving readers a preview of the stories they can find in his new book.

***

1. What is your fondest memory from working as a cover model?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Lorelie Brown's Riding The Wave

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

While some of you might be dreaming of a white Christmas, we're ready to hop on the next flight to paradise after seeing Lorelie Brown's cover for Riding the Wave, which kicks off her new Pacific Blue series. Check out that surf and sand — and the hot couple rolling around on top of it!

Let's set the scene first:

With a make-or-break world championship on the line, professional surfer Tanner Wright has come back to the coastal California hometown he left a decade ago, carrying only his board and the painful knowledge of his father’s infidelity. Now that Hank Wright is dead, Tanner intends to keep the secret buried to spare his mother and sister the burden.

The last time Avalon Knox saw her best friend’s brother, she was 14  and he was a 20-year-old surfer god. She’s never understood or respected the way Tanner distanced himself from the family that has embraced her. But now she has the professional chance of a lifetime: to photograph Tanner for the competition — if he’ll agree.

Out on the waves, they find in each other passion that’s impossible to resist. And Tanner’s not the only one trying to move forward from his past. As the competition heats up, secrets get spilled and lust takes over. How close can Avalon get to this brooding surfer…without getting burned?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Home for the Holidays with Lori Foster

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Feeling the holiday love? Or the holiday stress? We're all about letting the good times roll at RT this December, so today we've got Lori Foster with us, to explain how she makes the holidays happen — while she writes her awesome romances. Teach us, Lori!

Readers have asked me how I fit the holidays in with my writing schedule. Fortunately, writing is the perfect calming balance to the chaotic holiday fun.

You’d have to know how much I love this time of year to understand the lengths I’ll go to celebrate my blessings. Each year there’s a local BN signing called “Romancing the Holidays,” where I visit with author and reader friends. I see many of them again as I host my annual friends gathering Toni Blake, Jules Bennett, and many others. It’s a fun time! (And we don’t even talk about books... much.)

 

Party at Lori's house!

All year, my husband saves up change and then my 8-year-old grandson and I go shopping for Toys for Tots. He helps decorate my tree and it’s his job to set out the Nativity Scene on the buffet.

Lori with her oldest grandson, and lots of Toys for Tots!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Remembering Author Janet Dailey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

Hearts were heavy Monday in the RT office when we learned that legendary romance author Janet Dailey had passed away over the weekend at age 69. According to an official statement from her publisher Kensington, Dailey "passed away peacefully in her home in Branson on Saturday, December 14, 2013."

Janet Dailey sold her first manuscript in 1974 and was Harlequin's first American author. She was also the first author to transition from writing Harlequin category romance to single title romance and became known for her American-set stories and rugged heroes. In addition to her lengthy bibliography, numerous awards and bestselling novels, Dailey was a longtime supporter and friend of RT. In fact, the premiere issue of Romantic Times in 1981 included an interview with the then rising star:

click photo to enlarge

RT founder Kathryn Falk remembers Dailey fondly:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Once Upon A Romantic Times: "The Misadventures of Fern Michaels"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

Editor's Note: This article was originally published in the1983 Holiday #13 issue of Romantic Times.

***

Fern Michaels was born on a dark night with the creation of our first novel, a delicious tale of a wild and willful young lady racing across the English moors in her underwear pursued by a black-eyed man who was subjected to black fits of rage when he rode his black stallion that was as black as his mood and eyes … it was rejected.

So, in their own words with characteristic good humor, do Mary Kuczkir and Roberta Anderson depict the birth of bestselling novelist Fern Michaels. For the past nine years, Kuczkir and Anderson have pooled their energies, talents and imaginations to write 18 books, all of which have been successfully published under their carefully chosen pen name (“Fern” for the plastic tree in Mary Kuczkir’s living room; “Michaels” after her husband and son).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST