RT Daily Blog

Cover Trend: Necklaces (+ Get The Look!)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Valentine's Day is nearly here! And while we're perfectly happy with some supermarket flowers and a kiss, the heroines on the covers of some of this month's romances have us thinking more … sparkly thoughts, thanks to all their awesome necklaces. So if you want to email some suggestive links to your sweetie, or do some shopping for yourself, we've found the corresponding real-life necklaces for you to peruse. Happy shopping! (Disclaimer, we aren't affiliated with any of these retailers, so we can't promise they're legit. I.e., if you want to drop $13,000 on that diamond necklace on eBay, buy at your own risk, ok? And then send us a picture.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Alphas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happiest of Valentine's Week to you, dear readers. We know, the holiday gives some the urge to hide under the covers, bemoaning their singleton status, while others preen with the happiness of being in love. But coupled or no, your RT Web Team believes one thing very sincerely, in our heart of hearts, and that is this: there's no reason to be lonely, because we all have a whole bunch of steamy, dreamy book boyfriends to keep us company.

But then we got to wondering, which book boyfriend is best? We need to know. It's important. So each day this week, we'll be profiling a different kind of hero, be he alpha, beta, anti or bad boy, and you can vote on your favorite. Then on Friday, we'll crown our Ultimate Book Boyfriend. There will be prizes! And fun! And probably some smack talk. But most of all, there will be the knowledge that we are never truly alone, because our book boyfriends are always patiently waiting for us on our nightstands.

Today we discuss: Alphas!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

My Favorite Sentence: Five Crimson Authors Share — with Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

A  digital series shared among authors. It's a fun new publishing trend we've noticed. First some New Adult authors started with their Unfiltered series, then MJ Rose and Liz Berry tackled their version of 1001 Arabian Nights with a bevy of bestselling authors. And now five Crimson authors are on the scene with the Emerald Springs Legacy. They had us at the tagline, "romance flourishes in the lush organic farms of Emerald Springs, Washington, amidst sabotage, family fueds and rivalries, new and old.We're suckers for any sort of saga, so we wanted to know more about this five-book series. Below, each author has shared her favorite paragraph from her addition to the series. If you're hooked by the end — and we think you will be — be sure to enter our giveaway at the bottom of this post. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Darcie Wilde On Lord of the Rakes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Historical fans, ready to add a new author to your must-read pile? Then let us introduce Darcie Wilde. Her debut, Lord of the Rakes, captivated RT reviewer extraordinaire Kathe Robin, who called the romance, “a lively, original and highly sensual love story.” We wanted to know more about how Darcie's career got started and what readers can expect from her new romance, so we tracked her down to get some answers.

***

Name: Darcie Wilde

Book: Lord of the Rakes

Genre: Historical Romance

Current Home: Ypsilanti, Michigan

Author Icon: Georgette Heyer. Brilliant writer, incredible work ethic.

Favorite Word: Jabberwock

Was this the first book you ever wrote?

No. The first book I ever wrote was a very bad time travel romance called Love's Own Time. 

How did you start writing?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Amanda Quick's Otherwise Engaged

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for a cover reveal? Today we’ve got a great one for you. Amanda Quick, aka Jayne Ann Krentz, is retuning to historical romantic suspense, and we couldn’t be more excited! Otherwise Engaged publishes April 22, but we’ve got the back cover copy to parse in the meantime. Let’s check it out:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Antiheroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

 

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the Antihero.

 

Antiheroes sneak up on you. They can be dastardly. You might outright hate them at first. And then after awhile … they get under your skin. They do something thoughtful, like remember your favorite perfume. And it's all the more touching because it's so … surprising. Next thing you know, you've got antihero fever, and ain't no cure for that!

 

Vote for your favorite antihero and be entered to win! And check back all week as we continue with our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Friday we'll declare the Ultimate Book Boyfriend! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Anti Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

 

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the Antihero.

 

Antiheroes sneak up on you. They can be dastardly. You might outright hate them at first. And then after awhile … they get under your skin. They do something thoughtful, like remember your favorite perfume. And it's all the more touching because it's so … surprising. Next thing you know, you've got antihero fever, and ain't no cure for that!

 

Vote for your favorite antihero and be entered to win! And check back all week as we continue with our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Friday we'll declare the Ultimate Book Boyfriend! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How to Survive Life with the Ton: Cara Elliott's Etiquette Guide

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Have you ever thought how you would fare in a season with the ton? (We totally have. We’d like to think we’d be the belle of the ball, but we know we’d actually be destined for wallflower status.) Well today Cara Elliott is here to tell us how her heroine, Anna Sloane, survives her season, and maybe even gets the guy, er, gentleman, in her latest Hellions of High Street title, Sinfully Yours.

***

Anna Sloane’s Top Five Secrets for Surviving the London Season

1. Carry an extra large reticule. It’s very useful to hold the books you intend to read when you sneak off to a side parlor while your mother and her friends are gossiping during the tedious rounds of morning calls.

2. A fringed shawl is very useful in covering up a small notebook and pencil. That way, no one can tell that you’re jotting plot notes for your next racy romance novel while sitting demurely and waiting for one of your many ardent admirers to fetch you a glass of ratafia punch.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Historical Overview: February

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who hasn't dreamt of a custom wardrobe? Heading to a well-known seamstress to be draped and pinned into beautiful fabrics, all selected to perfectly compliment your complexion and shape? Well that doesn't happen much anymore outside of wedding gowns, but we can live vicariously through this month's historical recommendations, as we shine the spotlight on our recent favorite books featuring dressmakers. So throw on your favorite frock, grab a glass of wine and cozy up with these exciting books!


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sherryl Woods's Chesapeake Shores Series Is Headed To TV

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sherryl Woods will join the likes of Debbie Macomber, Lisa Kleypas, Diana Gabaldon, Nora Roberts and countless other bestselling romance authors whose works have been adapted for television, as the Hallmark Channel will be adapting the author's Chesapeake Shores novels for the small screen, Harlequin announced today. As of now the production with Hallmark is set to premiere in 2015, along with two new Chesapeake Shores novels. The sweet romance series follows the residents — new and old — of a small Maryland town, focusing on the O’Brien family, as they face family troubles, work through career choices and search for lasting love. Woods's latest release, Home to Seaview Key, is available digitally and in print now.

For more romance news and views visit our Everything Romance page.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST