RT Daily Blog

5 Tradionally Published Authors With Indie Titles Releasing This Year

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

A handful of traditionally-published romance authors have recently announced that they’re trying their hand at indie publishing. Kristen Callihan, Beth Revis and Nalini Singh are all self-publishing romances this fall, and Cora Carmack and Jennifer L. Armentrout, who have already found success self-publishing, also revealed that they're returning to indie publishing for winter releases.

The covers of The Hook Up and The Body Electric


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.1 - "Sassenach"

BY Regina Small, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

When I heard that Ronald D. Moore, of Battlestar Galactica fame, was adapting Diana Gabaldon's epic time travel romance, Outlander, I knew I had to watch. So I'll be here each week, recapping all the Scottish sexiness for you. Since this is the pilot episode ("Sassenach"), we have a lot to cover, so let's jump right in!

We open on a sweeping shot of the Scottish highlands, all blue sky and green, rocky outcroppings while a voiceover tells us that "people disappear all the time."

Our narrator, a woman, takes us to a crucial moment in her life: we see her from behind — dark curly hair, a blue overcoat, standing in front of a general store while she voices over that she'd never owned a vase, because she'd never lived anywhere long enough to put down roots and acquire real possessions beyond necessities.

The camera pulls around and we see our narrator/heroine, Claire, for the first time. She desperately wants the vase in the general store window, but doesn't buy it. Spoilers, Claire! But maybe it would've changed everything, she thinks. Um, is it ... is it a magic vase?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Below The Belt By Sidney Halston

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cover reveal time! You ready? Today we're pleased to reveal the brand spanking new cover of Sidney Halston's Below the Belt, third in her Worth the Fight series about sexy MMA fighters.

There's no official blurb for the book yet, but here's what the author has to say about the story and the cover:

"Hope you all love Tony Marino, the hero of Below the Belt. He's the Cuban bad boy kickboxer from Worth the Fight Academy; the epitome of tall, dark and handsome. I can picture him getting out of the beach before heading to the nearest club in South Beach to cause a ruckus, flirt with the ladies and do a few laps on the dance floor. Hopefully, he hasn't gotten into another fight. I've been thinking about why his shirt is ripped and I have all sorts of theories about that — most lean toward naughty. But, I'd love to hear everyone's take on that ripped shirt."

Ready for the cover? (It's a hot one.) 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Advanced Excerpt + ARC Giveaway: It's In His Kiss By Jill Shalvis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Today we've got an exclusive excerpt from Jill Shalvis' tenth Lucky Harbor novel, It's in His Kiss, plus a chance to win a print ARC of the novel! The story follows jingle pianist Becca as she flees to Lucky Harbor only to meet sexy surfer Sam. In this scene, soon after the two have met, Becca and Sam engage in some heavy flirting while Sam tries to figure out if Becca is available. Enjoy, and if you do, enter to win an ARC of the book below!

The cover of Fireborn by Keri Arthur

She looked like a quiet, calm, sexy-as-hell oasis, and she was drawing Sam in without even trying. “Thought Lucky Harbor was just a pit stop,” he said over the sound of the surf hitting the sand. “But you’re still here.”

Becca tilted her head back and leveled him with those melting dark eyes. “Appears that way.”

“In your PJs,” he noted.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ebook Sale: Totally Bound's Cowboy & Western Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Totally Bound banner with sale details

Today only, ebook publisher Totally Bound is offering 25% off their Cowboy and Western romances. That's over 70 titles, with many priced at less than $4! And Totally Bound always has a free ebook section on their website, so there's plenty of cheap and free reads to keep your Monday interesting. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Giveaway: Outlander TV Prize Packs - Second Chance!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

We almost never do repeat giveaways, but our Outlander TV prize pack one was so popular that we're giving away two more! Two winners will get one TV-tie-in paperback edition of Outlander, one Outlander t-shirt and one "Pocket Jamie"! Here's a photo of the prizes:

 

Front of t-shirt, Pocket Jamie and TV-tie-in book.

Back of t-shirt.

The shirts are available in either women's medium, women's large or men's large (the women's sizes are fitted and can run small). They are a cotton-polyester blend. The shirt color is more of a dark purple and text color is lilac.

To enter, fill out the widget below. This contest is open to U.S. residents only and winners will be announced Friday, August 8. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
38COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Throwback Thursday Giveaway: Romance Audiobooks Of The 1990s

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're in the process of moving our offices here at RT, which means we've been finding all sorts of classic gems that have accumulated on our shelves over the past few decades. Including these three audiobook cassettes from 1995:

3 Audiobooks - Viking by Fabio, Forever in My Heart by Jo Goodman and Almost Eden by Dorothy Garlock

Why yes, that is a cassette of Fabio's Viking, and no, there is nothing more 90s than that. Romance Alive Audio Books was an audiobook company at its pique in 1995, publishing romances on cassette like the ones above. Back in the day we would sell audiobooks out of the office, and the $1.00 price tag indicates these were marked down for quick sale. (Don't tell Fabio.) We unfortunately don't have a cassette player, otherwise we'd be blasting Viking right now.

For you romance relic collectors out there, we're giving away two audiobook cassette copies of Fabio's Viking. You can shelve it next to your collection of classic Harlequins. This giveaway is open to U.S. readers only and ends next Thursday, August 7. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Outlander NYC Premiere: Interviews With The Cast And What Fans Can Expect

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last night, RT’s Elisa and DJ were invited to a special pre-screening and panel discussion event for Starz’s upcoming adaptation of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander. Diana was in attendance and was joined by the show’s producer, Ronald D. Moore, and the three lead actors Sam Heughan, Caitriona Balfe and Tobias Menzies.

Prior to the screening, they took part in a mini-Red Carpet event, where they interviewed the stars. Watch the interviews below:

Afterwards, attendees, which included excited fans who bought tickets to the event and members of the press, were treated to an advance screening of the first episode of the show, which was very impressive.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.R. Ward And Nalini Singh Announce New Contemporary Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

A photo of J.R. WardYesterday Publishers Weekly announced J.R. Ward's new three-book deal with Penguin's NAL imprint for a contemporary romance series — the Bourbon Kings — about a series of wealthy Kentucky families who made it big in the bourbon industry. The first currently untitled book is set to release in late 2015. While J.R. Ward is renowned for her paranormal romances, writing contemporary romance is nothing new for her. She wrote contemporary romances as Jessica Bird as early as 2002, including a handful Harlequin Special Edition titles.

Chatter about Ward's new series began when the author casually announced it on her Facebook page early last week saying, "I'm writing book one of my new series, The Bourbon Kings, right now- and then starting Trez and iAm's book September 1! IMMORTAL, the last of the Fallen Angels series, comes out in October so get ready for Jim's final battles!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces the 2014 RITA Award Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

This past weekend, Romance Writers of America announced the 2014 RITA Award winners at their annual conference in San Antonio, Texas. And while there could only be one winner for each category, this year's finalists all are worthy of praise and more. So, without further ado, we’re pleased to bring you a colorful visual of all the 2014 RITA Award winners.

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST