RT Daily Blog

Excerpt Break: The Troublemaker Next Door By Marie Harte

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? Today we have a scene from Marie Harte's latest steamy contemp, The Troublemaker Next Door. The story earned our rare Gold rating, with reviewer B. Nakia Garner claiming the book has an "amazing storyline filled with strong-willed characters and a reluctant love affair." Heroine Maddie is set on keeping her fling with neighbor Flynn casual, and her hesitance to get serious might cool off their steamy affair before it even has the chance to turn serious. In this scene, Maddie gets to know Flynn's family. Enjoy!

"We’re not momma’s boys, but we love her. We have a tight family. It helped a lot when Lea passed. Mike’s wife,” he explained in a low voice. “When a tragedy like that hits, it hurts everyone. But we stepped in and took care of Colin and Mike, made sure they had time to grieve. And us too. We loved her; she was family. But you know, the cooking, cleaning, all that stuff. My mom and dad were really there for Mike and Colin, you know?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Wilde's Small Town Romance Ebook Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Not only are Kristen Ashley's books on sale this week, so are many of Lori Wilde's! Avon has put several of the author's small town romances on e-sale for $1.99 each. Don't miss out! We've linked to which retailers have which titles on sale, it's not the same across the board. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kristen Ashley's The 'Burg Series Is On Sale - $0.99 Per Ebook!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

We hope you've been saving your pennies because Kristen Ashley's The 'Burg series is on sale — each book is only $0.99 for a limited time on Amazon, Kobo and iTunes! Fans claim this series is a bit grittier than Ashley's other series, and there are plenty of twists and turns and an intense romance at the center of each book to keep readers hooked. If you're already an Ashley fan, you know this. But if you've always been meaning to try the author and just haven't gotten around to it, now is your chance. 4 books for less than $4 is a steal!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Confession: I Don't Mind Cheating In Romance

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week Mandi from Smexy Books blogged about how she can't stand emotional and physical cheating in romances. Specifically when the character doing the cheating is still with their significant other for the majority of the book. I know a lot of romance readers who can't stand cheating and I totally get it. Cheating is terrible in real life, so why should someone be ok with it in a story? And there are definitely situations in which a character should come clean about their cheating sooner than they do.

  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Madeline Ash On The Accessibility Of Writers And The Mytique Of The Author

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

With social media, sites like Goodreads and author blogs, writers have never been more accessible. But before all that, the only way readers and authors could connect was at author signings or via written letters. Today romance author Madeline Ash shares her thoughts on an Margret Atwood's theory on the double nature of writers and how writer accessibility has changed.

I’ve been going through some of my old university fiction readings, and rediscovered an interesting extract called Duplicity: the Jekyll hand, the hyde hand, and the slippery double, by Margaret Atwood. It discusses the theory of writers having double natures.

Basically, the theory is this: to be a writer is to have two identities cohabiting in the same body. One, the Person who exists when no writing is taking place (the one who brushes their teeth, does the grocery shopping, and clips their toenails) and ‘that other more shadowy and altogether more equivocal personage who shares the same body, and who, when no one is looking, takes it over and uses it to commit the actual writing’ — aka the Writer.

The cover of The Playboy's Dark Secret by Madeline Ash


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Shiloh Walker Tells Us: When A Romantic Suspense Hero & Heroine SHOULDN'T Have Sex

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Romantic Suspense is great, and the thrilling situations the characters find themselves in can make for some hot tension. But sometimes this tension leads to the hero and heroine having sex in some interesting places (in the middle of a natural disaster scene, when being chased by someone who might kill them, etc.). Romantic Suspense author Shiloh Walker (who is also a nurse!) is here to tell us when a romantic suspense hero and heroine should probably keep their pants on.

So… I have this thing. I love romantic suspense. With a fine and burning passion — the spookier, the better. But I also have issues. You see, Romantic Suspense also comes with a lot of tension. A lot of adrenaline. Leads to a lot of potential for getting the sexin’ on right?

Well … not always. Let me explain.

There are certain times it’s NOT good to have the hero and heroine getting it on…

The cover of Deeper Than Need by Shiloh Walker


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June Historical Romances With Assassins & Suspense

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Love sure can be a killer, can’t it? And with all the twists and turns, the road to romance is often a winding, yet rewarding one. This month, we’re taking a look at a handful of exciting new historical romances featuring assassins and suspense, two elements that make any book intriguing. Take a look:

In Zoe Archer’s Wicked Temptation, widow Brownwyn Parrish makes the startlingly discover that her late husband’s business partner, Devere, stole all her money, leaving her with little hope. But when ex-spy and Nemesis Unlimited member Marco Black offers to help her recover her money, Brownwyn embarks on a wild journey across England, France and Italy. Along the way, Brownwyn and Marco fall in love, but with danger at every turn, their new relationship faces some challenges.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: May 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords to put together our picks of the bestselling self-published romances of the month. Get your TBR list ready!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jane Austen, Contemporary Author? Jayne Fresina Schools Us

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Authors surely wish for a career with as much longevity as Jane Austen’s — a master who still captures our attention today! But what was it like for Jane back in the day? Jayne Fresina is here today to tell us. Jayne’s Regency romance Once Upon a Kiss, stars a heroine after our own hearts, she’s a member of the Book Club Belles, who are reading Austen in real time! We had to know more. Take it away, Jayne!

During the Regency period in England, several authors were making names for themselves with popular novels. Among them, of course, was Jane Austen — although she did not put her name on her work and was known simply as "A Lady.” When her first books were published, rumors abounded as to the actual identity of the author. One reader (a man, obviously) even refused to believe Pride and Prejudice was written by a woman as it was "much too clever"!

What a surprise it would be to Miss Austen if she knew her books were still enjoyed today, and were constantly re-imagined in various film and TV versions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sex and God: Not-So-Strange Bedfellows - 2014 RT Convention

BY Cyndy Aleo, MAY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

If there was one single panel I wasn't sure about attending, it was the Sex and God: Not-So-Strange Bedfellows panel that took place at RT Booklovers' Con on Thursday afternoon.

Those who follow my Twitter may be aware that I have a long and involved history with religion, including 16 years of Catholic school (yes, even college). But as I've reached adulthood and tried to come to grips with the issues plaguing the Catholic Church, I've drifted farther and farther from any sort of spirituality. The idea of listening to four authors talking about why God should be present in romance novels worried me a bit.

Wow, was I wrong.

It was actually Tiffany Reisz's involvement that led me to the panel; I've often had very frank conversations with her (most on Twitter) about religion, especially as it's applied to her books. But it was the moderation and input of authors Amber Belldene and Alice Gaines and editor Christa Soule that got me hooked. 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST