RT Daily Blog

Throwback Thursday Giveaway: Romance Audiobooks Of The 1990s

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're in the process of moving our offices here at RT, which means we've been finding all sorts of classic gems that have accumulated on our shelves over the past few decades. Including these three audiobook cassettes from 1995:

3 Audiobooks - Viking by Fabio, Forever in My Heart by Jo Goodman and Almost Eden by Dorothy Garlock

Why yes, that is a cassette of Fabio's Viking, and no, there is nothing more 90s than that. Romance Alive Audio Books was an audiobook company at its pique in 1995, publishing romances on cassette like the ones above. Back in the day we would sell audiobooks out of the office, and the $1.00 price tag indicates these were marked down for quick sale. (Don't tell Fabio.) We unfortunately don't have a cassette player, otherwise we'd be blasting Viking right now.

For you romance relic collectors out there, we're giving away two audiobook cassette copies of Fabio's Viking. You can shelve it next to your collection of classic Harlequins. This giveaway is open to U.S. readers only and ends next Thursday, August 7. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Outlander NYC Premiere: Interviews With The Cast And What Fans Can Expect

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last night, RT’s Elisa and DJ were invited to a special pre-screening and panel discussion event for Starz’s upcoming adaptation of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander. Diana was in attendance and was joined by the show’s producer, Ronald D. Moore, and the three lead actors Sam Heughan, Caitriona Balfe and Tobias Menzies.

Prior to the screening, they took part in a mini-Red Carpet event, where they interviewed the stars. Watch the interviews below:

Afterwards, attendees, which included excited fans who bought tickets to the event and members of the press, were treated to an advance screening of the first episode of the show, which was very impressive.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.R. Ward And Nalini Singh Announce New Contemporary Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

A photo of J.R. WardYesterday Publishers Weekly announced J.R. Ward's new three-book deal with Penguin's NAL imprint for a contemporary romance series — the Bourbon Kings — about a series of wealthy Kentucky families who made it big in the bourbon industry. The first currently untitled book is set to release in late 2015. While J.R. Ward is renowned for her paranormal romances, writing contemporary romance is nothing new for her. She wrote contemporary romances as Jessica Bird as early as 2002, including a handful Harlequin Special Edition titles.

Chatter about Ward's new series began when the author casually announced it on her Facebook page early last week saying, "I'm writing book one of my new series, The Bourbon Kings, right now- and then starting Trez and iAm's book September 1! IMMORTAL, the last of the Fallen Angels series, comes out in October so get ready for Jim's final battles!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces the 2014 RITA Award Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

This past weekend, Romance Writers of America announced the 2014 RITA Award winners at their annual conference in San Antonio, Texas. And while there could only be one winner for each category, this year's finalists all are worthy of praise and more. So, without further ado, we’re pleased to bring you a colorful visual of all the 2014 RITA Award winners.

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Jane Feather Became Trapped And Beguiled By Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Since it's Throwback Thursday, we decided to ask veteran romance author Jane Feather — whose latest, Trapped at the Altar, released this week — how she became enraptured by romance, specifically the timeless historicals that helped shape the genre. If you're on Twitter, check out the #TBTRom hashtag to see which classic romances readers hold near and dear to their hearts.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Broken Open by Lauren Dane

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

While Lauren Dane's The Best Kind of Trouble, the first in her new Hurley Boys series, doesn't hit shelves until next month, I'm already counting down the days until the sequel, Broken Open, releases. The moment I saw the cover, I fell in love. It's not often you see an interracial couple on a mainstream romance cover, so for that alone it's a winner. But the premise is equally as intriguing - especially the hero, musician and rancher Ezra - which makes this a book I have to read. Let's take a look!


Five years ago, Tuesday Eastwood’s life collapsed and left her devastated. After an empty, nomadic existence, she’s finally pieced her life back together in the small Oregon town of Hood River. Now Tuesday has everything sorted out. Just so long as men are kept for sex, and only sex ...

Then she met him.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julia London's Guide To San Antonio

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you're in San Antonio for RWA, you might appreciate an insider's guide on what to do, what to see and, most importantly, where to eat. And what better guide than romance author and San Antonio native Julia London? Today the author shares her favorite go-to spots for fun in the Alamo City.

If you’re like a lot of people I meet, the only thing you know about San Antonio is the battle of the Alamo, and you probably think the actual Alamo is a lot bigger than it really is. You’ll see for yourself: The Alamo is a short walk from the conference hotel, and a whole lot smaller than Hollywood has made it.

It seems to me San Antonio doesn’t get the buzz other cities in Texas get (hello, Austin), but it is truly one of our most unique cities. I love the laid-back, Latin American, tropical vibe. But at the same time, the city is also progressively urban. In town for a day or a week, here are a few suggestions for what to see and do:

Mission Concepcion

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT At RWA 2014 - How To Find Us

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RWA logo

This week romancelandia is descending on San Antonio for the annual RWA national conference — including some of the RT staff. And we want to meet you!

Features Editor Mala Bhattacharjee and Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small — who represent RT's magazine faction — are currently accepting pitches for the January 2015 issue through the spring. Mala is not accepting formal appointments and says, "people can feel free to stalk me everywhere but the bathroom." You can find her on Twitter and contact her via email. Regina is accepting formal appointments with publishers and agents, and authors should feel free to email her and/or say hello in person. You can also find her on Twitter.

Elisa Verna, our Website Director, will be attending her first RWA and is accepting appointments with everyone. The best way to contact her is via Twitter and email. She also loves random hellos and spontanious margarita dates.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Never Have I Ever: Historical Romance Edition

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a good round of Never Have I Ever as much as the next person — after all, learning a person's secrets is always fun. But when you play with a group of feisty historical heroines with wild tales to tell, the game gets even better. Which heroine has or hasn't turned down a proposal? Has Gillian really dressed in men's clothing? Let's find out:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Giveaway: DVDs + A Sherrilyn Kenyon Audiobook!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy almost weekend, readers! It's been quite a week for us as we pack up our offices and prepare to move, but guess who reaps the benefits with an awesome giveaway? You! We came across some unclaimed goodies from previous giveaways, and we're bundling them for one lucky person to win. This giveaway includes copies of the film Endless Love (DVD/Blu-ray) and season 1 of Witches of East End, (DVD) plus an audiobook CD copy of Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark-Hunter novel Time Untime. This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only. Good luck!

An image of the DVDs and audiobook being given away

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST