RT Daily Blog

Rewind: Loretta Chase's Early Romances Are On E-Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

In 1987 Loretta Lynda Chekani, better known as Loretta Chase, published her first historical romance novel, Isabella. Twenty-five years later, the author is still creating unforgettable stories filled with love and laughter. With countless awards and over a dozen books on bestseller lists, Chase is romance royalty. However, until recently, some of her earlier works have been difficult to find. That is until the author started re-releasing her backlist in digital format. Currently, readers can purchase six of Loretta's earliest works each for under $3. Today we are comparing these earlier works to the author's more recent releases to find which story you might want to begin your Great Loretta Chase Re-Read!

***

Do you love the mature heroine from Chase's 2004 novel Miss Wonderful? Then we suggest you begin at the beginning and pick up Loretta's debut novel Isabella. Marriage doesn't seem to be in the cards for 26-year-old Isabella Latham, but this is before she travels to London and has her pick of suitors ... some of whom seem more interested in Isabella's bank account than they are the woman who owns it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which Historical Romance Couple Do You Want To See Reunited?

BY Shawna Rice, NOVEMBER 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you are a sucker for tales of long-lost loves reunited, then November is the month for you! Fans of historicals have a plethora of star-crossed lovers to cheer for, and we’re curious: Which couple captures your fancy?

Not all reunited love stories are the same. It’s the small stuff, the nuances, between the couples that really grabs our attention and has us racing to the story's end. So, with this in mind, we present the details below of three couples who are Meant to Be™. We’re asking you to let us know which relationship you’d personally cheer to the finish line. There are no right or wrong answers here, just personal preferences. And the best part? Like an Oprah giveaway, all participants walk away as winners since a happily ever after for all is guaranteed!

***

Couple A comes to us from Margaret Mallory’s The Warrior


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Janet Mullany

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Janet Mullany infuses her historical romances and erotic love stories with Jane Austen flavor, and her latest release Hidden Paradise is no exception. Set in a contemporary English resort that gives readers a taste of Regency life, guests at Paradise Hall are able to indulge in a variety of fantasies. The author gave us a tour of the resort back in September, and recently she sat down with RT's Morgan to talk about the story, what taboos are allowed at Paradise Hall, the book's recent widow heroine and "horndog romantic" hero and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Contemporary Romance & Romantic Suspense

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our picks for our favorite Historical Romance, Young Adult, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Erotic Romance, Series Romance, Mystery/Suspense and Paranormal/Urban Fantasy books with other genres including Mainstream Fiction, Inspirational and more to come later today.) But right now, we are focused on the books that reflect our own lives. Here is a list of our nominations for our favorite Contemporary Romance novels of the year, followed by our picks for best Romantic Suspense reads.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Series Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our picks for our favorite Historical Romance, Young Adult, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Erotic Romance, Mystery/Suspense and Paranormal/Urban Fantasy books with other genres including Contemporary Romance, Mainstream, Inspirational and more to come later today.) But right now, we are focused on the books that give readers heart pounding romance in a small package. Here is a list of our nominations for our favorite Series Romance novels of the year. Readers can click on the book covers below to learn more about the book including the RT review, summary and rating.

***

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The First Wave Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees Is Here With Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

Award season is upon us, and the reviewers at RT BOOK REVIEWS have been busy compiling lists of their favorite books of the year. With over 3,000 books reviewed in the magazine and online this year, a lot of consideration went into this year's nominations for the RT Reviewers' Choice Awards. We will be listing our picks for best books of 2012 all week long on the RT Daily Blog.

We are starting our awards list with the Historical Romance nominees. Later today we will be announcing the Young Adult and Science Fiction/Fantasy nominees, tomorrow comes the Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Mystery and Erotica nominations. Then on Wednesday, we wrap up our awards list with Series Romance, Contemporary Romance and Romantic Suspense, Inspirational and Mainstream and Multicultural nominations. Also on Wednesday, readers will get to learn who is nominated for RT's Career Achievement Awards.

Read below for one of our largest (and most popular) categories — historical romances. Find out our picks for best historical romance novel of the year, first historical romance, innovative historical romance and more! Readers can click on the book covers below to learn more about the book including the RT review, summary and rating.

***

 

Nominated for Historical Romance of the Year


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Samantha Young Talks Switching Genres, On Dublin Street And More

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Samantha Young has made her mark writing several paranormal YA tales, but she's switching gears with her latest release. On Dublin Street is the author's first adult tale, and you won't find a trace of magic in this contemporary romance! Heroine Jocelyn Butler relocates from the U.S. to Scotland in an attempt to hide from her past. Although she's hesitant to begin a new relationship with anyone, Braden Carmichael is determined to change her mind. Interested to learn more about the story, we asked the author to tell us about her change in genres and what readers can expect from this fresh read.

 

***

You are a very well known young adult author. What made you decide to transition into contemporary romance written for adults? 

I always intended to transition into adult fiction at some point but contemporary fiction was something I considered doing in a few years’ time. Alas, the characters of On Dublin Street were persistent and decided they were too impatient to wait for me, so at the beginning of this year I started to tell their story, going back to it whenever I could, until during the summer when I realized it was ready to be heard.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How To Throw A Raging Regency House Party

BY Shawna Rice, OCTOBER 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

While there may be more than one way to skin a cat — and just who came up with that disgusting idiom anyway? — there’s definitely one guaranteed way to catch a rake: At a house party! If Regency romances have taught us anything, it’s that a house party is the natural habitat of the rake. And if you have had your eye on a sinfully delicious man for a while, but weren’t sure how to set the trap … have no fear, the RT Book Reviews Team is here! We’re bringing you tips that will make your party the cream of the crop, the talk of the season, the top of the ton!

Okay, maybe not the ton. But Facebook will most certainly be all abuzz over your smashing success. Ladies and gents, we are pleased to bring you:

Rolling with the Homies — The Top Three Tips To Throwing A Modern-Day, Regency-Style House Party They’ll Never Forget

We were going to think up a shorter, catchier title, but we decided to stay true to the Regency era and give our web-pamphlet a rather long-winded one. You can thank us later (and you totally will!).

Let’s dive right in:

Tip 1: Nooks and Crannies


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Katharine Ashe Chats With Her Hero From How A Lady Weds A Rogue

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Katharine Ashe continues her Falcon Club series with How A Lady Weds A Rogue. Wyn Yale is an agent for the top-secret Falcon Club, certainly doesn't seem like a hero. But when he rescues adventurous young lady Diantha Lucas he finds himself wrapped up in her quest to find her missing mother. We're always on the lookout for fantastic regency heroes and we're certainly taken by Wyn, so we asked Katharine if she could share details about some of Wyn's earlier adventures: 

Thank you to my lovely hosts for inviting me to the blog today! I’m so happy to be here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Dawn Dish: Hunk For The Holidays By Katie Lane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

In Hunk for the Holidays by Katie Lane, business rivals Cassie McPherson and James Sutton meet and sparks fly, but not for the reasons you would think. A case of mistaken identity brings the two together. Can their sizzling attraction make the romance worth the trouble when tomboy Cassie and loner James’ secrets are revealed? Read on to find out more about this fun, flirty contemporary romp.

Morgan: This book’s title is very on the nose. Cassie, the heroine, literally orders up a “hunk for the holidays” from Elite Escorts.

Dawn: And before anyone can ask — no, it is not that kind of an escort service. While Cassie has used Elite before, she doesn’t buy sex, just dates so she doesn’t have to go alone to family and business functions.

Morgan: With a huge family, including a bear of a father and four overprotective brothers, it's not such a bad idea that Cassie goes this route.

Dawn: However, this time is different. Cassie has always seemed to get the young, pipsqueaks from the agency, so imagine her surprise when a handsome, well-dressed man walks into her office just as she is leaving for the annual holiday party.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST