RT Daily Blog

Royalty Gone Wild: We Pair Real Life Scandals With Our Favorite Historical Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Pics or it didn’t happen? That’s the one thing Prince Harry won’t have to worry about now that he’s slunk back home in disgrace to Buckingham Palace. He’ll have no trouble proving his wild night of excess in Vegas since leaked photos of his naked (and royal!) derriere already grace the ‘net. But there’s one person in the palace who most definitely won’t be amused by Harry’s latest hi-jinx — his grandmother, the Queen Mum.

Still, Prince Harry isn’t the first royal to go buck wild. Over many a year — actually, over many a century — the supposedly illustrious nobles have provided enough fodder to keep scandal sheets in business. And we love every bit of it! Because when they make a cake of themselves, they have the means to really go over the top.

***

Here’s a list of our favorite real-life Royals going wild, and our picks for stories reminiscent of the scandal:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Robin Covington And Her Husband Talk Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance author Robin Covington had an interesting conversation with her husband (aka "The Main Man") about where she gets her ideas and inspiration for her books, including her most recent release A Night of Southern Comfort. We're glad she shared it with us — and you — because while this author is making a name for herself in romantic suspense, she also knows how to make us laugh!

***

So ... it isn’t easy being with a woman who writes romance novels. The Main Man and I have been married for 18 years (we married when I was 5-years-old) and he is immensely proud of my writing but we both work as attorneys in a conservative environment where many people are a little surprised/shocked when they discover that I write “those kinds of books”. And while they hesitate to ask me about where I get my ideas and my inspiration, they don’t bat an eye at asking him.

So, when he returned recently from a night at our local pub, we had the following conversation:

The Main Man: So, the guys were talking about your book tonight.

Me: Really? How did that come up?

The Main Man: Well, actually they started reading the first scene with an app on someone’s phone. You know the one with the bar pick-up and sexy, explicit one-night-stand?

Me: Yeah, I wrote it. I vaguely remember that scene.

The Main Man: Well, they asked me where you get your inspiration.

Me: You told them it was you, right?

The Main Man: They didn’t believe me.

Me: Morons. You should have set them straight on that fact.

The Main Man: I didn’t want them to be intimidated.

Me: Good call.

The Main Man: So, I need something to tell them. People ask me all the time. They want to know where you get your inspiration.

Me: Well, I usually start with photos. I’m a visual person so I find photos and put them on my inspiration wall in my office.

The Main Man: The one with the half naked guys all over it?

Me: That’s the one! So, I find a guy who evokes my hero and I’m off and running. For Jackson Cantrell, I used Joe Manganiello – you know Alcide on True Blood. He’s in my top five.

The Main Man: Yeah, yeah. You know if he shows on the doorstep looking for you, it’s done, right? That guy is huge. I’ll just wave goodbye and keep my teeth.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free: Nine Harlequin Series Titles!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today we’re bringing you a steal of a deal, because nothing’s better than free! That’s right: Free. Harlequin is offering a number of titles across its series to be downloaded for the low, low price of $0.00. If you’ve ever wanted to get your feet wet in series romance, now’s the time to dip your toes! From romantic suspense to blazing passion, Harlequin’s got you covered - and we have the links below for your freewheeling clicking pleasure. 

The Italian's Inexperienced Mistress by Lynne Graham 

To gain her father’s freedom, Gwenna Hamilton would do anything; even offer her innocence to the brooding Italian tycoon seeking revenge. But neither finds themselves satisfied with only one night ....

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

 

The New Deputy in Town by BJ Daniels

Laney Cavanaugh can’t help but notice the new man in town, Deputy Sheriff Nick Rogers. When a murder brings them together, can she convince him to let down his guard to embrace small-town life and her?

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

 

Cowboy Dad by Cathy McDavid

Natalie Forrester’s job was to roll out the welcome mat, but she wants rodeo star Aaron Reyes to feel he’s more than a guest. She wants to handsome cowboy to feel he’s found his home ... with her.

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Interview With Dee J. Adams' Bad Boy Rock Star Seger Hughes!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the third book of Dee J. Adams’ Adrenaline Highs series, Dangerously Close, rock star Seger Hughes finds himself in some serious need of R&R. To evade the paparazzi, he dons a disguise and takes up residence in an isolated cliff-side mansion in Malibu. There he finds more than he ever expected: Ashley Bristol, the love of his life. But their romance is not without obstacles. Ashley is recuperating from an accident that has taken her sight, and Seger, no matter the precautions he takes, can’t shake one very persistent and dangerous fan.

Now, back in the limelight and creating music with his love by his side, Seger spills his story to famous-actress-turned interviewer, Julie Frasier (from Adams' Danger Zone ). And Julie, it turns out, is a very persuasive interviewer. Look at all the secrets she convinces Seger to spill:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Juliana Gray’s A Gentleman Never Tells

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, AUGUST 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Since Juliana Gray’s historical debut in August, with RT Top Pick! A Lady Never Lies (which also won our August Seal of Excellence), I’ve been metaphorically stalking her characters all over the Tuscan countryside in anticipation of her second Affairs By Moonlight novel, A Gentleman Never Tells. I mean, seriously: Give me six smart characters, a touch of mystery, a splash of skullduggery and the backdrop of Victorian progress and I am yours. I will follow Juliana Gray anywhere — or at least to the end of this trilogy!

However, romance for Lilibet and Roland, the main duo in November’s A Gentleman Never Tells doesn’t come quite as easily. Six years ago, Miss Elizabeth Harewood and Lord Roland Penhallow were a young pair on the cusp of a grand love, full of hope for the future until duty and distance pulled them apart. Now, coming face-to-face in an Italian inn, neither of them is precisely who they were … or who they seem to be. Lilibet, now Countess of Somerton and on the run from her ruthless earl husband, hides a wealth of emotion under a veil of calm while Roland plays featherbrain to conceal a razor-sharp mind. Though they each wear carefully constructed masks, what they can’t hold back is the passion they still harbor for each other. It’s a passion that could destroy them both … or forge a bond even stronger than the one they thought lost forever.

Stuck in a Tuscan castle while their friends engage in a merry battle of the sexes and gamble with their hearts, Lilibet and Roland will realize that their biggest risk — rekindling their love — is also their best bet. That is, if Lilibet’s estranged husband doesn’t get in the way …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christi Barth's Heroine Ivy On Planning For Love

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Christi Barth's new contemporary romance, Planning For Love, treats readers to a tale of unsuspecting romance when wedding planner Ivy Rhodes falls for handsome videographer Bennett Westcott. But after a one-night stand leaves Ivy thinking Bennett is afraid of commitment, the two are thrown together to work on a wedding reality TV show. Now Ivy and Bennett must decide if there's any future for their own "I dos."

We love the idea of a wedding planner finding her own HEA. And we were curious to know what Ivy has learned about marriages and romance after all of her time spent planning other people's nuptials. So we went to Ivy herself to debunk commonly held perceptions about The Big Day. We now leave the blog in the capable (and expert!) hands of Ivy Rhodes:

Thanks to my reality television show, Planning for Love, many of you know that I’m Chicago’s premiere wedding planner. Which means you can trust me to kibosh some stale wedding traditions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Checking In With Maya Banks' Kelly Group International - With Giveaway

BY Dawn Crowne, AUGUST 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Maya Banks’ legion of dedicated fans grew even larger when the author introduced her Kelly Group International romantic suspense series in 2010. KGI is a private special ops security force that is sent in when others fail. But making enemies out of the most dangerous terrorists in the world is not without its price — darkness and violence haunts all of the Kelly brothers, which often means that the women in their lives are put in peril. Most of the time these ladies are saved by their guys, but what I love about these women is their will to survive. However, their experiences are not without consequences. Banks doesn’t let these ladies off this easy or whitewash the abuse they suffer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three New Historicals To Get Your Heart Racing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

Do you love historical tales that throw in thrills and chills? Then you’ll love this month’s new releases! There is not one, but three stories that turn on the scare-factor while getting you in a “days of yore” mindset. Take a look at the books we think will satisfy your craving for a fright, and then let us know which one will have you rushing to the bookstore!

 

 

 

Deception by Kris Kennedy

Where It Is Set: Medieval England

Who You’ll Root For: Heroine Sophia and hero Kier put their past problems behind them as they team up, pretending to be a wealthy shipping magnate and her employee. They're setting out to retrieve a book whose contents could destroy the balance of power in England.

What The Big Bad Is Up To: There’s a secret association that is determined to hold onto the book at all costs and wouldn’t mind taking Sophia out of the picture — for good.

Why This Is A Must-Read: RT’s Senior Reviewer Kathe calls this story “a winner” noting that there’s witty banter, high-octane adventure and characters who will capture your imagination — all rolled into this “marvelously atmospheric medieval romance.”

Read The Review >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Christmas Gift: Lisa Kleypas Novel To Be Televised This December

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2012 | PERMALINK
The holidays come early for fans of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas and her Friday Harbor series thanks to the Hallmark Hall of Fame. Yesterday Kleypas revealed on Facebook, that filming for Christmas with Holly, an adaptation of her 2010 novel, Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor has begun. Set to premiere on December 9 on ABC, the movie will star Sean Faris (The Vampire Diaries, Leverage) as Mark Nolan and Eloise Mumford (The River, Lone Star) as his love interest, Maggie Collins.

Read More>>

Tags: Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get The Look: Liz Carlyle's The Bride Wore Pearls

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

I have been following Liz Carlyle’s St. James Society series since the very first book, 2010’s One Touch of Scandal. Learning about the secret St. James Society and its members, who protect England using inherited extrasensory skills, has been amazing. We get the best of two romance worlds — great historical locals and manners and also a good dose of paranormal mysticism.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST