RT Daily Blog

Series Saturday: Harlequin Goes To Hollywood!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin heads to Hollywood to treat readers to four stories that sizzle. If you enjoy reading about star-crossed lovers who are actually stars, acting gigs that turn into real life love stories and tales of celebrity crushes that become boyfriends, then we suggest you check out these new books. And if you do so with a bag of popcorn by your side, well you won’t be the only one enjoying the mix of movies, television and reading in June’s series romances!

Janice Maynard’s actress heroine will find it Impossible to Resist the feelings that blossom between her and Dr. Jacob Wolfe. Yes, Ariel hired the sexy doctor to pretend to be her boyfriend so that her movie crew wouldn’t know that she’s seriously ill. But, they say you can’t buy love, so what sizzles between this pair must be real — however, will it be enough to last a lifetime? RT Reviewer Pat says of this RT Top Pick!-rated read, “Maynard’s return to the Wolfe family opens another window into the heart of what it means to be family, and she once again nails it perfectly.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Upcoming Adaptation: Hallmark Channel To Adapt Cedar Cove Series By Debbie Macomber For Primetime Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debbie Macomber readers — and fans of Andie MacDowell — take note. The popular actress has just signed on to star in the primetime television series adaptation of the talented author’s beloved Cedar Cove series. The series, titled Cedar Cove, will kick off with a two-hour pilot on the Hallmark Channel. This is not Macomber’s first time seeing her work on screen, she’s previously worked with the Hallmark Channel as they turned two of her novels into made-for-tv holiday movies.

The fictional town of Cedar Cove is a familiar setting for readers. The town is loosely based on Macomber’s hometown of Port Orchard, Washington. (If you’d like to learn just how similar the two costal towns are, click here.) And for this upcoming series, the Hallmark television series will certainly have lots of material to use because Macomber has created a twelve book series beginning with 2001’s 16 Lighthouse Road and wrapping up with 2011's 1225 Christmas Tree Lane. You can learn more about the entire series here.

So where does Andie MacDowell figure into this news? The actress made her mark in classic ‘90s movies, Groundhog Day and Four Weddings and a Funeral. Most recently, MacDowell has been seen co-starring on the ABC Family television show, Jane By Design.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: Contemporary Romance Authors Share What Makes Their Heroines Great!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s nothing quite like relaxing into a contemporary romance and losing yourself in someone else’s trauma and triumphs. At BookExpo America 2012 we got a chance to spend time with several of our favorite authors of modern day love stories and get a behind the scenes glimpse at their latest heroines. Carla Neggers, Susan Mallery and Robyn Carr all weighed in when we asked each author to answer, “What is a skill that your latest heroine has which you are jealous of?” See what they had to say …

During Harlequin’s contemporary romance author signing, Carla Neggers shared with us that the heroine of her latest contemporary release Secrets of the Lost Summer, Olivia Frost, is a talented drawer and graphic designer, and the author wishes this was a skill she shared with her heroine. If you want to learn more about Olivia and her story, Morgan and Whitney Dished about Secrets of the Lost Summer back in February, which you can read here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: We Check In With Historical Romance Authors James, Rodale, Hoyt and Elliott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance is always a popular reader genre and during BookExpo America 2012, the annual publishing conference in New York City, we got a chance to catch up with a few of our favorite authors to treat you to something special this season: an insider’s look at each authors' next hero. Eloisa James, Elizabeth Hoyt, Maya Rodale and Cara Elliott all weighed in when we asked each author to answer (honestly), “Why wouldn’t you let your sister date your newest historical hero?” See what they had to say …

Elizabeth Hoyt said that when it comes to her next hero, Winter, who stars in Thief of Shadows, the hero is not right for her sister for two reasons. “I know my brother-in-law and that would be weird …” And then the author continued that her sister would also not like the fact that, “Winter is a virgin at the start of the story."

Author Elizabeth Hoyt with RT's Morgan


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: The Harlequin Medical Romances Of June 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month romance and healing collide in the four new titles from Harlequin’s Medical Romance imprint. Readers will spend several delightful hours deep in the hospital drama — with fingers crossed that these couples will get their HEAs!

Author Abigail Gordon's latest heroine Laura thought that the hardest thing she would ever have to do is let her beloved husband, a top oncologist, go so that he could put his career first. But is she brave enough to accept that he's back in their life and wants a Marriage Miracle in Swallowbrook?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: The Ugly Duchess By Eloisa James

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

I’m a fairy tale fanatic. (It’s no secret that Beauty and the Beast is my absolute favorite. I mean, in the Disney version, monster or not, he gives the girl a library. A library, ladies and gentlemen, a library. Case closed, heart melted, what I wouldn’t give.) But I don’t just like the mainstream tales of royalty in disguise and magical high jinks. Give me some Snow White and Rose Red, rock me an adaptation of The Wild Swans or The Twelve Dancing Princesses.

So clearly, I’ve been watching Eloisa James’ fairy tale-inspired books with an eager eye. James started out on the more well known princesses, however, slowly but surely she’s working her way toward the lesser known characters and I can’t get enough of these books. She’s just announced that book four in the Happily Ever After series will be The Ugly Duchess and Iet me tell you, fellow romance lovers, this book looks like a solid gold winner.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Artist Carrie Ann Schumacher Crafts Dress Out Of Romance Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

We love it when people get creative with their books. But our latest discovery of re-purposed romance novels truly left us breathless. It's a stunning gown, hand-crafted entirely from the pages of romance novels. We immediately reached out to the piece's creator, Carrie Ann Schumacher, to get more information. Today the artist shares the very personal story behind the dress and how the project — like any good romance novel — moved from the spark of an idea to something truly beautiful.

When I came across a box of 50 free romance novels at the library where I was working, I initially had no idea what I was going to do with them. But something within them spoke to me, and I knew I had to take them. Otherwise, I would wake up with a brilliant, life-changing idea and be devastated that I didn’t have them. So naturally, into the trunk of my car they went.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Friends Victoria Alexander And Mariah Stewart Discuss Their Sinclair Families

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance authors Victoria Alexander and Mariah Stewart aren't just two NYT bestselling authors, they're also close friends who both happen to write about two different families — one historical and one contemporary — with the same name, the Sinclairs. Today, Victoria Alexander gives us a peek at each Sinclair family and shares how the two author's real life friendship has helped shape their stories.

Once upon a time, because that's how all good stories begin, there were two very good writer friends. One wrote amusing historical romance and lived in Nebraska. We'll call her Victoria Alexander. The other lived in Pennsylvania amidst rolling hills and groundhogs and wrote warm, heartfelt contemporary romance as well as wicked tales of romantic suspense. We'll call her Mariah Stewart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: Billionaires On A Budget

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

Money comes with privileges but it does not guarantee love. That’s why it is so fun to read about rich, handsome men falling for Ms. Right. And if you are a sucker for a wealthy man with a wounded heart, then you will be thrilled to hear that Harlequin is currently offering almost a dozen “Billionaires on a Budget!” So if you want to read about a great series romance billionaire, they are on sale until the end of the month. And in case you’re the kind of reader who has a hard time choosing which book to buy, we’re here to help. We’ve picked out our favorite billionaires that have us swooning.


 

More Than Perfect by Day Leclaire

Meet the Billionaire: Lucius Devlin, a successful businessman in desperate need of a wife


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: The White Swan Affair By Elyse Mady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

RT’s Morgan and Whitney are back to discuss a digital historical romance as we continue our month of e-Book Dishes. This week it’s a look at The White Swan Affair by Elyse Mady. When Hester’s beloved brother disappears, she turns to landlord Thomas Ramsey for help. Hester has loved this swashbuckling man from afar, and he is equally entranced by her. But with Hester’s brother in prison (and her scandalous past) standing in the way of a happily ever after, does this couple have any hope for a future together? 

Whitney: This story is a historical romance lover’s dream. With an uncanny accuracy for both setting and language, The White Swan Affair sweeps the reader back in time to 1810 London.

Morgan: The author goes to great lengths to craft an authentic tale. And because I’m not first and foremost a historical romance reader, the story’s language — all the “whilsts” and such — threw me a little, but it wasn’t long before I fell headlong into the story.

Whitney: I can say without a doubt that this e-book has the most compelling plot I have read in a very long time.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST