RT Daily Blog

Riding In Carriages With Boys: What A Man's Horse-Drawn Ride Says About Him

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

In romance novels, carriages are more than just a mode of transport. These rockin’ conveyances move the story along. Whether they provide the means for a gentleman to woo his lady on a scenic ride to the park or they serve as the meeting place for late-night trysts after the opera, they are always versatile. In Juliana Gray’s Top Pick! debut novel, A Lady Never Lies, which won our August Seal of Excellence award, the invention of the horseless carriage is a major plot point and bone of contention between the hero and heroine. It got us thinking: If we were alive in ye olden days, what sweet ride would we want to see pull up to the curb?

We can't deny it, a luxury ride does get a lot of attention. True today as it was in the Regency. Who’d want to be courted a by a man driving a busted buggy when she could have someone who pulled out all the stops — like Lionel Walter, Baron Rothschild? Now there was a man with presence. He trained a team of zebras to lead his carriage, and, as we all know, animal print never goes out of style.

Whatever chariot sets your soul a’fire, our modern historical heroes (mostly) had the means to choose the pick of the litter. Here’s an overview of their choices and what they would signify to a discerning lady.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Robards Gives Advice to Aspiring Writers - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Karen Robards, and recent winner of the RT Seal of Excellence in January for Sleepwalker, is back with her latest book, a heart-pounding romantic suspense with a paranormal twist, The Last Victim. And she is blogging here today to give hopeful authors the breakdown on what it takes to be a successful romance writer.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
25COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bring On The Scandalous E-Sale: Nine Historical Tales For Under $3

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

Cheaper by the Dozen, our weekly column that rounds up inexpensive e-book deals, will be available later this week. But today we've uncovered nine historical tales that will whisk you back in time — on sale for under $3.00 each! Check out this steal of a deal and discover new romances and happily-ever-afters that stand the test of time.

Your Scandalous Ways by Loretta Chase

James Cordier is a man on a mission working for the Crown, so he has no time for scandalous widow Francesca Bonnard. But she has no such problem and is excited to get her plan for seduction underway!

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

 

A Scandal to Remember by Linda Needham

Princess Caroline is looking for passion and finds it in the arms of Andrew, Earl of Wexford. But will their fragile love be destroyed when his secret is revealed?

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

 

Lady Scandal by Shannon Donnelly

Alexandria Sandal and Paxton Marsett have a past that both wish they could forget. But when this couple reunites and sparks begin to fly, perhaps it is time for a second chance at love.

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Join Jill Shalvis' Chocoholics Scavenger Hunt And Win A Sweet Prize

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Are you a chocoholic? Author Jill Shalvis is and she wants to share the love! Join her online scavenger hunt that starts today and you could win a very sweet prize. To play, check Jill’s social media — her blog, Twitter feed, Facebook page, and Pinterest account — every day for the next two weeks to discover a hidden letter. Keep track of each clue, which will spell out a word. Then send an e-mail here with the winning word in the subject line and your mailing address and you will be entered to win one of several prizes. (U.S. mailing addresses only, please.)

One random Grand Prize winner will receive all six novels in the author's Lucky Harbor series and a $25 Godiva giftcard. Four winners will receive a Godiva personal treat and the three latest Lucky Harbor novels. And 20 runners-up will receive signed copies of Lucky in Love.

And now, the first letter in the scavenger hunt revealed below:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: Widows And Widowers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

These widows and widowers have loved and lost, but this month they’re ready to put their hearts on the line again — for someone very special. Today we’re taking a look at the new series romances that explore several lucky characters’ second chances at love. We couldn’t resist these stories that tugged on our heartstrings and we bet that you won’t be able to, either!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An American Romance Author In Paris - Hope Tarr Visits The City Of Lights

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance author Hope Tarr isn't just sharing her tales of love and happily ever afters with American audiences, her stories are reaching overseas romance lovers as well! The author recently traveled to Paris where she met with her French publisher, chatted with a group of French bloggers and romance fans and of course spent some time taking in the sights and sounds of one of the world's most inspiring cities. Today the author shares the details of her trip with RT readers and reveals what she learned about what it means to be a romance reader in France.

Hope Tarr with French romance readers and bloggers

I’m just back from spending a wonderful week — okay, six days — in Paris visiting with three of the four French publishers that publish romance fiction in France: J’ai Lu (Flammarion Groupe), Milady (Bragelonne), and a new house, LeDuc. I was fortunate to have sit-down meetings with senior editors from each house as well as to tour the offices and meet staff from their marketing and art departments. I even got to mug for the camera with the Bragelonne mascot, a dragon!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beloved Author Maeve Binchy Passes Away

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

It is with great sadness that we report the passing of Maeve Binchy. This Irish author was beloved by readers worldwide, and will be remembered for her humorous take on small-town life in Ireland.

Binchy published her first novel, Light a Penny Candle, in 1982 after pursuing careers first as a teacher and then as a journalist. Although her first book was rejected by publishers five times, she never gave up hope. And we’re glad she didn’t! The author went on to sell 40 million books — among them the fan favorite Circle of Friends, which was adapted for the big screen in 1995. Praised for her natural storytelling ability, Binchy’s witty and heartwarming tales helped her outsell even celebrated Irish writers such as Oscar Wilde and James Joyce. In fact, according to an online BBC News Article, readers who took part in 2000's World Book Day poll ranked Binchy as more popular than both classic authors, such as Jane Austen, and contemporary ones, such as bestseller Stephen King. Binchy published her final book, Minding Frankie, in 2010.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA 2012: A Chat With Julia Quinn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Ever since her first novel, Splendid, hit the historical romance scene, Julia Quinn’s unforgettable characters have won a place in the heart of romance readers everywhere. Eleven of her novels have earned the Top Pick! status from RT reviewers, all well deserved. So when we learned that Julia would be Chatting at an RWA Conference Workshop, it went right to the top of our “must attend” list. She answered questions from the audience and had the entire room on the edge of their seats as she shared her perspectives on writing.

Julia Quinn at RWA 2012

On Historicals

Julia Quinn is known for her Regency-era romances. In the pages of her books readers are likely to find balls, coach rides, English manors (and manners) and of course, several excellent historical heroes. But are stories about love in the past the only types of books you’ll be able to read from this talented author?

She told the panel, “I never said I won’t write anything else. But I just haven’t had a fabulous idea for another genre. I do know I will never write a suspense. I am not a great plotter and everyone would know who did it by the third page.”

On Research


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander By Diana Gabaldon To Be Adapted For Small Screen

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you wanted to give me the best birthday/Christmas/anniversary present combined, it might be the news I’ve just heard. (Quick, someone go tell my boyfriend he’s off the hook for gifts this year.) What is it that has me so gosh-darned giddy with delight? Diana Gabaldon’s fantastic Outlander series starter, 1991's Outlander, may soon be coming to TV. And if that weren’t enough to send me over the moon, Ron Moore, aka the Battlestar Galactica developer/executive producer, will be turning the book into a script. (I may be doing a dance of geek joy, that might be what's going on right now.)


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces The 2012 RITA Award Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

In April, we presented you with a veritable buffet of the 2012 RITA Award nominees — a fantastic selection of 2012's authors and titles (many of which earned an RT Reviewers’ Choice Award nod as well). This Saturday the RWA judges picked over the fare to present readers with the most delicious morsels. We’re pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 RITA awards. So dive in, feast and enjoy! We hope you’ll find the favorites you crave and pick up some new tastes along the way:

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST