RT Daily Blog

Series Romance Fans Unite

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

This morning we started the day singing the praises of all that is excellent in the world of series romance. These short format stories capture our imagination (and are quick reads, perfect for fitting into our already-busy lives) and today we got to hang out with some of the readers that supply us with these fantastic tales. At the “Celebrate the Passion and Power of Series Romance” reader event, we met authors from several of Harlequin’s series romance lines. These popular writers included Zuri Day, Caitlin Crews, Lynn Raye Harris, Jade Lee (aka Kathy Lyons), Kimberly Lang, Lisa Renee Jones and Maisey Yates.

Before the event started each of them introduced themselves and gave readers a bit of an insider's look at their new covers.

Zuri Day revealed that it is actually actor Christian Keyes who is on the cover of her new book, Diamond Dreams.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Up Close And Personal With Some Of Our Favorite Historical Romance Writers: Blake, Chase And MacLean

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

How does an author tune out the modern world and channel bygone eras? Historical romance authors are able to not just take themselves back to days past, they re-create worlds and transport readers, too. Today RT convention attendees got a chance to get some inside information about how authors Lorraine Heath, Jennifer Blake, Loretta Chase, and Sarah MacLean craft their historical romances. These big names in the genre shared a look at the characters that they love, how they create the stories we love — and of course what readers can expect next!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

At A Glance: The Harlequin Medical Romances Of April

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you can't get enough medical drama mixed into your series romances, this month's new releases from Harlequin’s Medical Romance imprint are sure to satisfy.

This month RT Reviewers' Choice Award-nominated author Fiona Lowe adds a new tale to the SHH series with Sydney Harbor Hospital: Tom's Redemption. When this head of neurosurgery looses his eyesight, can nurse Hayley Grey convince him that he's still worthy of love?

Author Fiona McArthur introduces readers to heroine Carmen O'Shannessy, who agrees to be the midwife for a royal family only to discover that she's Falling for the Sheikh She Shouldn't. But we certainly don't fault her because her Prince of Zafar sounds absolutely sinful!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Married Authors Zoe Archer And Nico Rosso Talk Co-Writing — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

Married authors Zoë Archer and Nico Rosso both write tales of adventure and romance — but until now, they’ve never written together. However, their latest stories take place in a new Steampunk series of their joint creation, the Ether Chronicles. The first book, Archer's Skies of Fire, hits stores this week and today the authors stop by to interview each other about co-habitating, co-writing and of course, co-creating their newest fictional world. Plus don't miss your chance to win a copy of the series starter at the end of this exclusive interview!

***

If someone was sitting at the table next to us at breakfast while we were working on the Ether Chronicles, what are some of the things they might overhear?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Julie James

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Julie James' latest novel About That Night will be in stories today. But before you pick up your copy, make sure to check out this video interview which goes behind the scenes of this anticipated novel. At a recent conference, RT's Morgan got a chance to chat with the author about her new reunion romance. Years ago young tycoon Kyle Rhodes shared a soul shattering kiss with Rylann Pierce, however, circumstances tore them apart before they could fully investigate the attraction. Now, they are back together but Rylann is an Assistant US Attorney — and Kyle is a man her office has prosecuted. It's a gripping scenario full of vibrant, career-driven characters, but just how real is this courtroom drama? James dives into how she used her own experiences as a lawyer to give her stories a ring of truth. But if you're new to James' work, don't expect this to be a dry tale — the author is well known for crafting witty repartee that engages and delights readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
38COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Suzanne Enoch's Taming an Impossible Rogue

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Taming an Impossible Rogue, Suzanne Enoch’s latest historical romance, has both RT’s Morgan and Whitney buzzing. When the notorious Keating “Bloody” Blackwell returns to London, in order to fulfill his part of a bargain — to convince his cousin’s errant fiancée to return to the other man’s arms — he doesn't expect to fall in love with the chit himself. But he should have known that the woman would defy his expectations; after all Camille Pryce did desert a marquess at the altar and has spent the last year working at the gentlemen’s haunt, the Tantalus Club.

Morgan: I am in love with the Tantalus Club. The second book in Enoch’s Scandalous Brides series gives readers an even closer look inside the workings of this not-so-scandalous, yet often gossiped-about gentleman’s club, which is owned and staffed by women.

Whitney: And what makes the establishment all the more intriguing is that the (incredibly varied) women at Tantalus “[have] fled their previous lives for a hundred different reasons and found sanctuary at the oddest place imaginable.”

Morgan: And among these women is the disgraced Lady Camille Pryce. She has made a new home for herself working and living at the club ever since she left her groom, the Marquess of Fenton, standing at the altar a year ago.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

All Aboard The Traveling Tessa Dare Blog Tour — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Tessa Dare returns to Spindle Cove for her new release the Top Pick! rated A Week to be Wicked. The story introduces readers to a pair of very unlikely partners: bluestocking Minerva Highwood and local ne’er-do-well Colin Sandhurst, Lord Payne. For several reasons, spinster Minerva suggests that Colin accompany her on a highly unusual trip to Scotland. There, she is sure she will win a prestigious competition at a science symposium. Minerva is willing to pay the destitute lord for his trouble, which will make the trip worth his while. But as this pair slowly goes from reluctant traveling companions to something much more difficult to label, will they be able to make it to Scotland in time?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
61COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Sophia Nash On The Art Of Duke Hunting — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Sophia Nash's second Royal Entourage book The Art of Duke Hunting hits stores tomorrow. In this tale the handsome Duke of Norwich falls for the Countess of Derby, despite his best intentions. But if this couple, which has no interest in marriage, isn't careful, the Prince Regent will sniff out their connection and demand they walk down the aisle. Today, get an insider's look at this new release as we interview with the author — and then find out how you can win a copy of the first two books in the Royal Entourage series!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
25COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Sexy Navy SEALS Part 2 — Seals In Series And True Tales

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance readers have always known that Navy SEALs make great heroes. Yesterday we featured some of the fictional Navy SEALs who have made our hearts race in the last year and shared a few that have lived on our keeper shelves for years. Today, we are rounding up some of the must-read romance series that feature these brave warriors. But we don't stop there. For readers who want to get a feel for what the SEAL experience truly all about, we've also turned the spotlight on non fiction books, highlighting three must-reads. 

 

SEALS IN SERIES

Suzanne Brockmann has an impressive 6 titles that were all rated 4 1/2 star gold Top Picks! And each feature Navy SEAL heroes and five of them are precursors to her beloved Troubleshooters series. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Sexy Navy SEALS Part 1 — Recent Recruits And Classic Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s been an upswing in the popularity of stories that feature the experiences of Navy SEALs heroes. As the USA government calls our soldiers home, it’s not surprising that many of us are eager to get a glimpse of their accounts of war, especially after SEAL Team Six became a household name for their work eliminating the threat of Osama bin Laden. Recent bestsellers featuring these soldiers include SEAL Team Six and American Sniper. And publishing houses are taking note of readers’ interest. An article in The New York Times notes that readers can get ready for a raft of new books about these fighters, from a SEAL Survival Guide about how thinking like a SEAL can help you survive dangerous situations to a batch of new fictional tales. However, the romance community has always had a soft spot for these hardened warriors. Today we round up several new SEAL stories, as well as our favorite classics, and then we will continue our SEAL spotlight tomorrow with SEALs in series and three non fic tales of true heroes.

 

RECENT RECRUITS: SEAL HEROES INTRODUCED IN 2010 - 2012


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST