RT Daily Blog

Beloved Author Maeve Binchy Passes Away

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

It is with great sadness that we report the passing of Maeve Binchy. This Irish author was beloved by readers worldwide, and will be remembered for her humorous take on small-town life in Ireland.

Binchy published her first novel, Light a Penny Candle, in 1982 after pursuing careers first as a teacher and then as a journalist. Although her first book was rejected by publishers five times, she never gave up hope. And we’re glad she didn’t! The author went on to sell 40 million books — among them the fan favorite Circle of Friends, which was adapted for the big screen in 1995. Praised for her natural storytelling ability, Binchy’s witty and heartwarming tales helped her outsell even celebrated Irish writers such as Oscar Wilde and James Joyce. In fact, according to an online BBC News Article, readers who took part in 2000's World Book Day poll ranked Binchy as more popular than both classic authors, such as Jane Austen, and contemporary ones, such as bestseller Stephen King. Binchy published her final book, Minding Frankie, in 2010.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA 2012: A Chat With Julia Quinn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Ever since her first novel, Splendid, hit the historical romance scene, Julia Quinn’s unforgettable characters have won a place in the heart of romance readers everywhere. Eleven of her novels have earned the Top Pick! status from RT reviewers, all well deserved. So when we learned that Julia would be Chatting at an RWA Conference Workshop, it went right to the top of our “must attend” list. She answered questions from the audience and had the entire room on the edge of their seats as she shared her perspectives on writing.

Julia Quinn at RWA 2012

On Historicals

Julia Quinn is known for her Regency-era romances. In the pages of her books readers are likely to find balls, coach rides, English manors (and manners) and of course, several excellent historical heroes. But are stories about love in the past the only types of books you’ll be able to read from this talented author?

She told the panel, “I never said I won’t write anything else. But I just haven’t had a fabulous idea for another genre. I do know I will never write a suspense. I am not a great plotter and everyone would know who did it by the third page.”

On Research


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander By Diana Gabaldon To Be Adapted For Small Screen

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you wanted to give me the best birthday/Christmas/anniversary present combined, it might be the news I’ve just heard. (Quick, someone go tell my boyfriend he’s off the hook for gifts this year.) What is it that has me so gosh-darned giddy with delight? Diana Gabaldon’s fantastic Outlander series starter, 1991's Outlander, may soon be coming to TV. And if that weren’t enough to send me over the moon, Ron Moore, aka the Battlestar Galactica developer/executive producer, will be turning the book into a script. (I may be doing a dance of geek joy, that might be what's going on right now.)


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces The 2012 RITA Award Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

In April, we presented you with a veritable buffet of the 2012 RITA Award nominees — a fantastic selection of 2012's authors and titles (many of which earned an RT Reviewers’ Choice Award nod as well). This Saturday the RWA judges picked over the fare to present readers with the most delicious morsels. We’re pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 RITA awards. So dive in, feast and enjoy! We hope you’ll find the favorites you crave and pick up some new tastes along the way:

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: The Earl Is Mine By Kieran Kramer

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

It’s no secret that Kieran Kramer stole my heart with her cleverly titled 2010 debut When Harry Met Molly, and since then the author has penned not one, but four more stories of equal parts sweetness and hilarity. These are Regency romps in the finest sense of the phrase, but because of the fast-paced plot and witty dialogue, these books also appeal to contemporary romance fans. Clocking in with five RT Top Picks, Kramer is a must-read new author who keeps me at rapt attention.

In September the author will start on her second series, the House of Brady books, which are an homage to the '70s sitcom The Brady Bunch. (The concept has more than one of us here at RT wondering how the famous theme song would have sounded if it were played by historical instruments. Thankfully, I found this gem, which set our minds at ease. Am I the only one who can hear this wafting over the crowds at a Regency era ball?) In September, Loving Lady Marcia kicks off the collection about six Regency-era siblings from a blended family. However, for those fans who simply can’t wait to pick up the series starter, early this week the author dropped another piece of news that has me veritably frothing at the mouth — Kramer has just released the look of book two!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: At RWA Nationals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

As series authors know, the best romances can come in small packages. The writers of these category-length tales are especially adept at making sure that every glance and every word spoken is infused with meaning. Each scene in these books must count and oftentimes the most important scene is the first meeting between the hero and the heroine. This year at the RWA Nationals we had the chance to ask series authors to reveal which one of their “meeting scenes” between the hero and heroine they consider their most memorable.

Jane Porter, Harlequin Presents

When asked to reveal her favorite meeting scene, Jane Porter immediately mentioned her May 2008 Harlequin Presents title, King of the Desert, Captive Bride. When wrongly imprisoned on trumped up charges in the Middle East, travel agent Olivia Morse has no one to turn to — except Sheikh Khalid Fehr. To get her out of jail, he must claim her as his betrothed. “The heroine is in a horrible prison,” explains Porter, “so he uses his Alpha-ness to save her.” And with this unconventional start, these characters have secured a place in the author's and readers' hearts.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Shawna Dish: Delilah Marvelle's Forever A Lady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

Delilah Marvelle’s Forever a Lady takes readers on a realistic journey from the gritty slums of 1820s New York to tonnish London as she sets the scene for a “wrong side of the tracks” romance. Lady Bernadette Marie Burton is a wealthy widow and she’s looking to enjoy her well-earned freedom. Having no need of a husband, Bernadette’s on the lookout for a lover. When a darkly handsome Irish-American man saves her from an attacker, she believes she’s met her match. Matthew Joseph Milton wants to be everything that Lady Bernadette needs. But after falling into some hard times in New York, the journalist’s once pleasant life has taken a dark turn — forcing him into the slums that he would eventually come to protect as a gang leader. Can this couple ever bridge such wildly different backgrounds to find the love they both crave? Read on as RT’s Shawna does her first-ever Dish with Morgan for this week’s in-depth look at a read that has just hit shelves …

Morgan: When the story begins, hero Matthew Joseph Milton and his father are having a pretty bad day.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Rodeo: Choose Your Cowboy Cutie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month, three is the magic number when it comes to cowboy heroes. The July 2012 releases feature three stories from different settings so that you’ll wind up with the cowboy of your dreams. You can let your eyes do the picking with a look at these excellent covers but if you’re anything like us, the sight of not one but three cowboy hat-clad yummy heroes might leave you even more indecisive. So today we’re breaking these books down, telling you where (and when) you’ll find these dudes who are home, home on the range and have lassoed our hearts. And remember, no one said you have to choose just one ...

 

 

 

Cowboy Contender One: Brody Armstrong

Where You’ll Find Him: In the historical romance Brody by Emma Lang

When You’ll Find Him: Texas, 1836

Why You’ll Love Him: This Texas Ranger fearlessly hunts for a young man who was stolen by ranchers — a job that would be a lot easier if the boy’s sultry older sister Liv weren’t along to help. But as the pair of strangers turn into partners (in more way than one in this steamy story) you’ll love every second of their adventure that takes you through the lone star state and into 1800s Mexico!

Read The Review >>>

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: Piper's Popularity

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Recently, we have been seeing a lot of Pipers, Pias and Pippas in series romances. Could it be that a year ago, when these books were most likely being written, that one “P” name was dominating the headlines? Maybe we have Pippa Middleton, sister to the Duchess of Cambridge, to thank for some of the feisty heroines gracing our recent reads. In order to get to know these fictional heroines a bit better, we are spotlighting three "Pipers" that may have you seeing the newly fashionable name in a different light.

***

No Holds Barred by Cara Summers

Meet this Piper: Piper MacPherson 

Her Best Feature: Piper is a defense attorney who knows how to get her man - both in and out of the courtroom. When she becomes the target of a killer, her bodyguard turns out to be the one man who has been at the top of her fantasy list for years. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Jill Shalvis' Forever And A Day

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Jill Shalvis Forever And A Day will sweep readers off of their feet and back to the author’s fictional small town of Lucky Harbor. When a sunny but directionless heroine, Grace, accepts a job walking the handsome Dr. Josh’s dog, it’s not long before she’s also babysitting Josh’s young son and living in his guesthouse. But as feelings grow between these two adults, will they be able to realize that they are perfect for each other before it’s too late?

Morgan: This story is A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E! Absolutely adorable (and I’m not just talking about the young boy and puppy who play important roles).

Whitney: I completely agree. This whole story is a delicious treat from start to finish!

Morgan: It all begins with Grace — a heroine who you really want to spend time with. And it continues with the totally hot doctor hero Josh. He’s to die for.

Whitney: But as attractive as Josh is — and I’d walk Dr. McHottie’s dog any day of the week — unfortunately, his life isn’t in such a good shape.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST