RT Daily Blog

Share Your High School Prom Photos With Hope Ramsay And Win Big! — Updated With Winner Photos

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Were you the high school prom queen? Neither was author Hope Ramsay, and we certainly weren't!

High school may not have been our best four years but we’ve come a long way since then. However, we haven't forgotten our special night of too much hairspray, sequined dresses, spiked punch and a date with two left feet. 

Now that we can look back at our youth and laugh (or, at the very least, cringe minimally), we want to see your prom photos: the good, the bad and the ugly in all their glory!

Post your high school prom photo as a comment on Hope Ramsay's blog here and Hope will choose two lucky readers to receive a $25 Sephora gift card — because it's never too late to make up for that bad neon blue eye shadow decision — the winners will also each receive and a copy of her latest small town contemporary romance, Last Chance Beauty Queen

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Elizabeth Hoyt's Thief Of Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Thief of Shadows, the new Maiden Lane historical romance from Elizabeth Hoyt, brings together a worldly widow and a virtuous schoolmaster as they attempt to save a foundling house for orphans in one of London’s most notorious slums. But, as sparks fly between this unlikely pair, all is not as it seems. The proper teacher, Winter, hides a dark secret — he moonlights as the Ghost of St. Giles, a legendary crime fighter who is intent on putting an end to the evil that is preying on young girls in his neighborhood. But with his work at the charity, and his mission at night, is there any time left for falling in love?

Morgan: Welcome everyone to Elizabeth Hoyt’s Thief of Shadows where we meet at the Ladies’ Syndicate for the Benefit of the Home for Unfortunate Infants and Foundling Children.

Whitney: Let’s just pause for a moment, that is quite a mouthful! But the HFUIFAC —

Morgan: Gesundheit!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Vs. Film: Two Dark Knights Face Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

We can’t get enough of fictional heroes, so it should be no surprise that we’ve fallen for not one but two “Dark Knights.” There’s something about a hero who is shrouded in mystery, a man we long to get to know better. But two guys who both have the same calling card may cause some confusion. Although these men share some features, they also have several defining differences. So how do you know if you’ve picked the right dark knight? Today, we’re taking a look at how Elizabeth Elliott's The Dark Knight stacks up against the Christopher Nolan-directed blockbuster film.

Nolan's The Dark Knight

 

 

Elliott's The Dark Knight

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Loretta Chase

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

At the recent RT Booklovers Convention, the incomparable Loretta Chase sat down with RT's Morgan to talk about the author's popular Dressmakers series. Book two, Scandal Wears Satin, hits stores today. But before you head out to pick up your copy, check out this RT-exclusive interview! Chase chats about the scandalous French Noirot sisters, working women who run a dress shop together. And although they have money and independence, their job is not conducive to hobnobbing in high society. After Chase discusses these sisters, get inside this author's head to find out how her writing is influenced by what she reads. (Chase loves to spend time with her nose in a 19th-century ladies magazine!) Plus, don't miss your chance to find out what's coming next for the Noirot sisters. We bet you'll never guess what sister three's story has in common with Vogue's Anna Wintour!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: Harlequin Cover Reveal

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

I admit it, I love to judge a book by its cover! And I know I’m not the only one. So each week when Harlequin reveals the first look at the art of upcoming series romances on Facebook, well, you can bet that I’m there. This week Harlequin posted some of the upcoming August 2012 books that readers can soon get their hands on. Take a look at my top three picks as I snapshot of the new series romances that are now in my TBR pile!


 

Puppy Love In Thunder Canyon by Christyne Butler

Imprint: Harlequin Special Edition

The Book In A Blurb: Pet therapist Annabel Cates and the sexy orthopedic surgeon Dr. Thomas North may seem like they’ve got nothing in common but from the amount of time they’ve been spending together, we bet this Thunder Canyon couple isn’t just bonding over the cute dogs on the cover.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Casanova Code By Donna MacMeans Was Inspired By Victorian-Era Personal Ads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Donna MacMeans is known for writing sultry Victorian romances. In her latest release, The Casanova Code, heroine Edwina Hargrove finds the rakish Ashton Trewelyn through a personal ad he places in a local newspaper. We were surprised to find that personal ads were a common way for men and women to meet during the era. The author told us that she was actually inspired by some Victorian personal ads that she found on Advertising for Love, a blog that is run by Pam Epstein. Today, the author shares some actual Victorian personals with us, as well as how the courtship worked.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bride Sale: 10 Tales Of Betrothal For Under $3

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

Cheaper by the Dozen, our weekly column that rounds up inexpensive e-book deals, will be available later this week. But today we've rounded up 10 tales of brides that will steal your heart and are a steal ... each is available for under $3.00. Check out all the mischief that these brides get into — and the historical heroes who help them get their happy endings!

Secrets of a Scandalous Bride by Sophia Nash

Can Elizabeth's new champion, the scandalous Rowland Manning, save her from a future married to the man she thinks killed her father?

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

And the Bride Wore Plaid by Karen Hawkins

Kat Macdonald and Devon St. John seem made for each other, but will it be Kat that meets this groom at the end of the aisle or will another be in her place?

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Bride of a Wicked Scotsman by Samantha James

Mix one highland hellion, one duke and one ancient artifact and you get a marriage that may just lead to Happily Ever After!

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Historicals Wrapped In Brocade

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite things about reading historical romances is imagining the opulent settings (and beautiful ball gowns) that are par for the course in this genre. And frankly, who among us hasn’t dreamed of being draped in silk and outfitted in pearls? So it is perfectly fitting that a trend on the covers of recent and upcoming releases mirrors our desire to be swept away to another time and place: brocade. Keep reading to see which new books are swathed in this luxe look!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: June 2012 Harlequin Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you love romances set in the past, this month's Harlequin Historicals offer you a bevy of intriguing destinations.

One look at the cover of Jeannie Lin's My Fair Concubine and you know that this story will take you beyond Regency England. The book is set in ancient China and will definitely appeal to fans of My Fair Lady since the hero of this tale attempts to transform a teahouse servant into a suitable bride for a rival leader.

This month RT readers can also find out why the Wild West-set Weddings Under a Western Skythe new anthology from Lisa Plumley, Elizabeth Lane and Kate Welsh was rated 4 stars. You can also get a taste of two Regency era romances, Deb Marlowe's Unbuttoning Miss Hardwick, an unusual Cinderella story and Marriage of Mercy by Carla Kelly which focuses on the Americans fighting in the War of 1812. Readers can find the full reviews of these four books in the June issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Authors Share Their Least Favorite Parisian Moments

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

In our July 2012 issue, we loved talking to five authors who’ve featured Paris in their books, and generally we got very enthusiastic answers about the City of Light. But we wondered if there was a dark side to their experiences in the city. So we asked Eloisa James, Laura Florand, Cara Black, Joanna Bourne and Anna Davis, who all have recent releases set in Paris, this question: Was there any point where Paris let you down or didn’t deliver? Did you have a “bad day,” Parisian style?

***

Eloisa James, whose memoir Paris in Love discusses her year abroad in Paris:

Oh, yes. I did have a very bad day—and my whole family experienced it with me. It was my son’s 16th birthday, a day that included our only encounter with that famous movie staple, the “Rude French Waiter.” It was hilariously awful, and I can’t help thinking with some satisfaction that I got my revenge in print.

Laura Florand, author of The Chocolate Thief:

Oh, yes, often! It rained pretty much my entire first year there and people really did seem quite rude to someone coming from a small town in the South who had spent her previous time overseas on a friendly tropical island. And as a young female on my own, the level of harassment was well beyond the scope of anything I knew how to deal with at first. In fact, when Cade Corey in The Chocolate Thief pushes someone into the Seine, it’s my little creative revenge. When you come from a small town where smiling is the de facto interaction with everyone, there’s a steep learning curve to dealing with a city like Paris. But ... it has the most delicious chocolate and pastries in the world, among many other moments of gustatory bliss, and that makes up for a lot. As does the Seine at night.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST