RT Daily Blog

Hope Tarr Discusses Tempting - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Hope Tarr has just digitally released her 2002 RT Reviewers' Choice Award-nominated Victorian romance, Tempting. Readers will be delighted to follow hero Simon Belleville, the head of her Majesty's Morality and Vice Commission, as he rescues and then falls in love with Christine Tremayne, a young woman on the run. Today the author answers our questions about this charming tale and explains the revisions that she made to get the story ready for it's e-version. Plus, don't miss your chance to check out an excerpt of the story at the end of this interview, and enter to win a copy of Tarr's Vanquished!

***

You've said that Tempting is the book of your heart. Can you tell us a bit about the story as well as what makes it so special to you?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

TV Thoughts: Reasons Romance Readers Should Watch The Vampire Diaries

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

The recent EW cover series for The Vampire Diaries really got me thinking. The magazine covers look like they could have been lifted from romance novels. And while considering just how much I adore this television series, it occurred to me that these fantastic shots of Elena, Stefan and Damon aren’t the only thing that this television show has in common with a good romance novel. So, today I am going to break down exactly why all romance fans should check out The CW’s The Vampire Diaries.

Okay, first let me set the stage. It’s the Civil War-era in Mystic Falls, VA, and Stefan and Damon — aka the two next-to-naked men on the EW cover — are brothers who have just been turned into vampires by the beautiful, duplicitous vamp named Katherine (think Scarlet O’Hara, but with less remorse). Fast forward to present day Mystic Falls, where Stefan has returned to get to know orphaned high school student Elena, who just happens to look exactly like Katherine. They promptly fall in lurv and everything looks like smooth sailing, except for the fact that Stefan is, you know, a vampire. And he’s not telling Elena that she could basically be Katherine’s twin sister. However, those aren’t the only things rocking the S.S. Stefan & Elena 4 Eva. Stefan's big brother, Damon, who is incredibly bad news, has also come back Mystic Falls. He believes can free Katherine from a tomb where she was imprisoned after a complicated chain of events back in the (Civil War-era) day. And if that is not enough drama, the situation gets even more complicated because it's not long before Damon also develops feelings for Elena. Oh, and Elena’s best friend, Bonnie, has just discovered she’s a witch and she hates all vampires. And that's just the set-up that's revealed in the first few episodes.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kristen Callihan Reveals Her Favorite Character — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debut author Kristen Callihan’s Firelight won this month’s RT Seal of Excellence in a blaze of glory. Today, because we've promised not to tell any of her other characters, Kristen Callihan reveals why her masked and mysteriously disfigured hero is her very favorite character. Plus, find out how to win your own copy of this new novel!

If pressed to make a choice, I would have to admit that my hero Archer is my favorite character in Firelight, and as his maker, I sure do love him.

However, Archer and I got off to a bit of a rocky start. I had planned to write Firelight entirely in my heroine Miranda’s point of view. (No, I don’t know what I was thinking.) After struggling to write a scene in Miranda’s point of view and failing because a certain man would not keep quiet inside my head, I gave in and let Archer have his way. What came out was pain. Loneliness and isolation had beaten him down.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Readers And The Books We're Reading: We Investigate The Harlequin Romance Report

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

The third annual Harlequin Romance Report has just hit the airwaves. The annual study surveys 1,500 female romance readers who are single and between the ages of 18-40. This year respondents were asked to answer that age old question, "What do women want?" and also respond to the equally interesting, "What do women think they're really getting?" Today, we’re taking a look at what the report has uncovered about the modern woman and how these findings compare to what we're seeing in the world of books!


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Heroes And Heroines Keep It Casual

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

We've been spotting several less-than-dressed hotties on the fronts of recent releases. It seems that when the weather gets cold, our heroes and heroines strip down to their tank tops for cover appearances. We certainly don't fault these good looking men and women for ultilizing the right to bare arms, and showing off what their mama (and clearly, many hours at the gym) gave them. With inspiration in mind like this iconic shot of Battlestar Galactica's Apollo and Starbuck, we aren't surprised to be seeing so many tank topped characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Carly Phillips

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Carly Phillips is known for her hot contemporary romances featuring strong male characters, especially the hunky heroes of her current Serendipity series. At the last RWA conference in New York City, the author sat down with RT's Morgan to talk about the unexpected places she gets her inspiration (like soap operas). Phillps also shared several tips for aspiring authors, including how to develop a strong support system. There's all this and more in this RT-exclusive video interview.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Tempted Again by Cathie Linz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at this month’s new release Tempted Again by Cathie Linz.

Author Cathie Linz has penned 57 novels since she began writing in 1982. She is best known for her series novels and, of course, her popular contemporary romance series, Girls Do (and Don’t). In her latest novel, Tempted Again, librarian Marissa Bennet has just returned to her small hometown of Hopeful, Ohio, only to discover that her old flame, Conner Doyle, has also come back. He’s now the town’s sheriff and he doesn’t even recognize Marissa … at first. Will working together on a community-building project help this couple find true love the second time around? The story, which received an RT rating of four stars, has RT’s Debbie saying, “This delightful contemporary romance will warm up a cold winter’s day. The characters that fill these pages are all memorable, the romance is touching and realistic and the love scenes are hot enough to melt snow — and your heart.”

 

Matching The Cop Hero ...

My Hero by Marianna Jameson is a terrific contemporary romance novel. And because the heroine is a romance author, we’ll be using some special terminology for this explanation. You’ll fall HoH (that’s head over heels) for Chas Casey, the sexy detective from Stamford, who is reluctantly letting romance author Miranda Lane do a tag-along. However, when Miranda’s research jeopardizes Chas’ career, it’s clear that what seemed like fun and games is actually incredibly serious. Will Miranda be able to write the HEA (that’s Happily Ever After) that she wants with Chas into their future? You’ll have to pick up your own copy of 2005’s My Hero to find out!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway Alert: Go Inside The RT Seal Of Excellence-Winning Story, Kristen Callihan's Firelight

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Kristen Callihan set readers aflame with Firelight. This debut novel won this month’s Seal of Excellence, engulfing the competition. The RT editors were mesmerized by the story’s supernatural Victorian setting, we lost our hearts to the enigmatic (but oh-so-attractive) masked hero Lord Benjamin Archer and dreamed of becoming the beautiful heroine Miranda Ellis. So when we learned that one lucky reader has a chance to literally go inside of this world, we could not have been more excited.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
41COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Recommended Reads And Our Valentine's Week Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today is the final day to win our Valentine’s Week giveaway. For the last week we’ve updated our recommended reads section with one year per day, starting with 2005. Now, we’re up to 2010! We’ve highlighting the greatest books and authors across all the genres to help you make sure that you got a chance to read all the highlights. And we also grew our giant Valentine’s Giveaway, a special prize-pack of books by selected authors from our Recommended Reads lists.

For the last day of our giveaway, we look back on 2010 which was a year of big changes. Several authors made big deals including million plus projects from Janet Evanovich, Debbie Macomber and James Patterson. Meanwhile other fan-favorite authors such as Allison Brennan, Anne Stuart and Meljean Brook started new series. And readers met several new talents who would quickly become beloved voices, including Sarah MacLean, Courtney Milan and Mary Robinette Kowal.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
26COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Samhain To Take Out Jumbotron Ad In Times Square

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

You can soon see Samhain Publishing at the crossroad of the world — and by that we mean, the independent publishing company’s ad will soon be playing in Times Square. Nearly half a million people pass through the area every twenty-four hours. (We’d say each day, but as you know, New York is the city that never sleeps and Times Square is no exception, it’s a hopping area at any hour.) So the company knows that that’s a lot of eyes that will see this announcement about their e-books and print books.

The ad will soon be on the CBS Jumbotron display at Times Square in New York City. It is scheduled to start mid-February and is set to feature several books that were recently published by Samhain’s romance and horror imprints.

The publisher, which launched in 2005, has never undertaken any sort of jumbotron advertising before but we promise to bring you a shot of the ad in all of its Times Square Glory when it does go up! For now, you can view the ad below:

See The Ad Here >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST