RT Daily Blog

Spoiled: Susan Mallery On Her New Blackberry Island Series Starter Barefoot Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today author Susan Mallery gives RT readers a peek inside her new Blackberry Island series before the series begins in April. Find out why her upcoming novel Barefoot Season was a story she simply had to tell — and what part of the book was inspired by a fan's photo!

***

Barefoot Season is what I like to call a “romance-plus.” There are two love stories in the book — with terrific men I think readers will adore — plus a focus on the complicated friendship between the two heroines. I will always love writing romance. My mainstream books give me the added pleasure of exploring some of the other relationships that mean so much to women. We are complex creatures; romantic love is just one of the emotions that make up the tapestry of our lives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Seven Romance E-Book Bundles On Sale Now!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

It is like Christmas all over again! We’ve were thrilled to discover an extensive selection of romance novel e-book bundles from across the genres, perfect for any reader looking for a new author to get into or for a booklover that wants to grab digital versions of some must-have romance favorites. And to make the news even better, these bundles of two, three or four titles are all available for less than $10.00.

***

HISTORICAL BUNDLE

Stephanie Laurens’ Rogues Reform Bundle consists of three classic stand-alone Regency romances, originally published in the 90s, which will sweep you off your feet. The Reasons for Marriage (1995), A Lady of Expectations (1995) and An Unwilling Conquest (1996) are packaged together for under $8.

Buy Now >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE BUNDLE

For those looking for contemporary romances featuring sexy Navy SEALs, look no further than Mary Margret Daughtridge’s SEALed Bundle. The first book in this authors highly rated SEALed series was the first book garnering a RT Reviewers Choice Award Nominee for Small Press Romance and all three books have earned 4 or 4 1/2 ratings from RT. You can pick up the first three SEALed books, Sealed With A Kiss (2008), Sealed With a Promise (2009), Sealed With a Ring (2010) for less than $8.

Buy Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Fit With Fellow Romance Readers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Get fit and get inspired with the second annual round of Romance Biggest Winner. In this program, authors and readers team up to encourage each other to make 2012 their healthiest year yet. Today Helen Seeley talks about what participants can expect and then we hear from several of the authors that will also be joining in the fun of the weight loss program's second round.

Every year the number one resolution is to lose weight and get healthy. Gym memberships go up, attendance is high. By February thirty percent of the people who joined a gym are no longer going. By the end of February fifty percent of those who joined gyms and started diets have stopped altogether.

Romance Biggest Winner (RBW) is the romance community’s answer to getting fit and losing weight. What is Romance Biggest Winner? It’s The Biggest Loser only tweaked a bit. The goal is to lose weight and get healthy, only we don’t kick any one out for not losing. Nope we give books to the biggest weekly winners with a grand prize to the biggest author winner and biggest reader winner!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: A Night Like This By Julia Quinn - With Exclusive First Line!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

We have the RT-exclusive first line of Julia Quinn’s next novel A Night Like This! Ever since learning that the divine Julia will be releasing her next historical romance this summer, I have been (just barely) restraining myself from typing in all caps because I am that excited. So to get the first line of the upcoming novel before anyone else did is a particularly special treat.

To the doubters, the people who think that Ms. J.Q.’s prose simply can’t be worth all this, I say, “Here, take this copy of To Catch an Heiress.” Because if you don’t like that book, I’m pretty sure you have no joy in your heart. And after you’re done reading To Catch an Heiress, you have more amazing reading ahead in the form of the entire Bridgerton series (and Quinn's nineteen other novels) in your TBR pile. While it wouldn’t be over the top to wax poetic about the Bridgertons for an entire blog post, I want to give you the joy of discovering the family — and Lady Whistledown — all on your own. So all I am going to say is that they are without a doubt my very favorite historical family.

By taking a look at the (luscious) cover of A Night Like This, we know that this novel will most likely include the Bridgertons, but it will most definitely include their family friends, the Smythe-Smiths. The Smythe-Smith clan has popped up in several Quinn stories and the family’s most defining feature is that are known throughout the ton for hosting terrible, absolutely painful-to-sit-through musical recitals each year. Thankfully, these loveable, if mostly tone-deaf characters are now getting their due. 2011’s Just Like Heaven marked the first story in the Smythe-Smith quartet and A Night Like This will be the series second.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Jillian Stone

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Jillian Stone

Book: An Affair With Mr. Kennedy

Current Home: Southern California

Job (when you are not writing): Freelance Advertising Creative

Author Icon: Diana Gabaldon

Do you write under a pseudonym?: I write under a quasi-pseudonym. My name is Jill Stone. I added the "ian" to make Jillian.

How many manuscripts do you have hidden under the bed?: 160,000 words of a medieval fantasy trilogy is hiding in a file folder snoozing in the cyber clouds.

How long did it take you to sell your first book?: I began writing fiction in earnest in 2006. (Sitting down at the computer and writing every day.) I started An Affair with Mr. Kennedy (Originally titled The Yard Man) in 2008 and sold in 2010.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Three “Legally Hot” Heroes In A New Romantic Suspense Anthology

BY Dawn Crowne, JANUARY 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

I love reading about a man in uniform. Firefighters, cops, soldiers. You really can’t go wrong with a hero that has dedicated his life to serving and protecting. And picking up the anthology Legally Hot I got to meet three especially hot heroes. These short stories include more than just a delicious helping of yummy men, each quick read also has several other key standout aspects. This collection is infused with high-stakes suspense, heroines in peril and some seriously scary bad guys.

Here is a rundown of what’s in store for readers:

“Shelia’s Passion” by Lora Leigh


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trend Watch: Lumberjack Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

As the weather gets colder, our thoughts turn to one of the most under-appreciated types of heroes out there — lumberjacks. With their plaid shirt-covered brawny arms and luscious beards, it’s no wonder these men are icons of masculinity. Big, strong and willing to get up close and personal with nature, these men are made to sweep us off our feet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Robards On Writing The RT Seal of Excellence Winning Sleepwalker - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month's RT Seal of Excellence winner is Karen Robards' Sleepwalker. This new romantic suspense novel swept the RT editors off their feet, so we asked the author which scene in the story she loved. Find out which scene takes the cake — and then enter to win your own copy of this brilliant book!

One of my favorite scenes from Sleepwalker is this exchange, which makes me smile every time I read it. I love the characters of Mick and Jason, and I feel it showcases their personalities and relationship. Mick the cop and Jason the crook were never even supposed to meet. When circumstances (okay, a botched robbery) threw them together, she wanted to arrest him, and he — well, he thought she was hot, but escape was actually what he had in mind. They were natural enemies who never meant to fall in love — but they did. I had a great time telling their story, and I hope readers enjoy it as well.

- Karen Robards


Read Karen Robards' Favorite Passage >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
24COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Mary Burton Talks Romantic Suspense — And Shares A Peek At What's Ahead

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Mary Burton has written romance across the subgenres but she is undoubtedly best known for her romantic suspense novels. Today RT's Morgan chats with the author about what is happening in the genre today. Then Burton reveals which elements make a really tense suspense and how she turns up the scare factor to create a chilling villain. Plus she goes behind the scenes for a look at the characters in her upcoming release, Before She Dies, and drops a few hints for what's coming next. (Fans should get ready for a setting change because Burton will be taking readers to Texas!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Courtney Milan's Unlocked

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

I read my first Courtney Milan historical romance back in September. I’d heard good things about the author, but I have to admit (and I want you to picture me shamefaced, here, lots of shame) I’d simply never managed to make my way through my TBR pile to a Milan. But after reading her novel Unclaimed, I became a Courtney-convert. When I came across her novella “Unlocked” in the Kindle bookstore, I knew I was in for a delicious, 99-cent treat. The novella turned to be all that I’d hoped for and more. A story of love gone awry, second chances and new beginnings, there is no word better for this story than transfixing. From the stunning characterizations to the dark moments of reflection and beyond, Milan’s gift shines.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST