RT Daily Blog

Recommended Reads And Our Valentine's Week Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today is the final day to win our Valentine’s Week giveaway. For the last week we’ve updated our recommended reads section with one year per day, starting with 2005. Now, we’re up to 2010! We’ve highlighting the greatest books and authors across all the genres to help you make sure that you got a chance to read all the highlights. And we also grew our giant Valentine’s Giveaway, a special prize-pack of books by selected authors from our Recommended Reads lists.

For the last day of our giveaway, we look back on 2010 which was a year of big changes. Several authors made big deals including million plus projects from Janet Evanovich, Debbie Macomber and James Patterson. Meanwhile other fan-favorite authors such as Allison Brennan, Anne Stuart and Meljean Brook started new series. And readers met several new talents who would quickly become beloved voices, including Sarah MacLean, Courtney Milan and Mary Robinette Kowal.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
26COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Samhain To Take Out Jumbotron Ad In Times Square

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

You can soon see Samhain Publishing at the crossroad of the world — and by that we mean, the independent publishing company’s ad will soon be playing in Times Square. Nearly half a million people pass through the area every twenty-four hours. (We’d say each day, but as you know, New York is the city that never sleeps and Times Square is no exception, it’s a hopping area at any hour.) So the company knows that that’s a lot of eyes that will see this announcement about their e-books and print books.

The ad will soon be on the CBS Jumbotron display at Times Square in New York City. It is scheduled to start mid-February and is set to feature several books that were recently published by Samhain’s romance and horror imprints.

The publisher, which launched in 2005, has never undertaken any sort of jumbotron advertising before but we promise to bring you a shot of the ad in all of its Times Square Glory when it does go up! For now, you can view the ad below:

See The Ad Here >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

At A Glance: February's Harlequin Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin treats readers to several delicious tales of love set in the past. Booklovers will enjoy The Last Cahill Cowboy by Jenna Kernan. This tale that wraps up that Cahill series is a family affair. Says RT’s Kathe Robin about this four-star read, “[t]he entire clan plays a key role in this story, making it an integral part of the series.”

Historical romance fans can also dive into The Wicked Lord Rasenby by Marguerite Kaye which takes place in Georgian England, Ravished by the Rake by Louise Allen which sweeps readers away to India on the High Seas and Lady Rosabella’s Ruse by Ann Lethbridge a Regency tale with lots of heat. These four books are reviewed in this month’s issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Australian Romance Readers Association Award Winners Announced

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

We’ve just learned that a few of our favorite authors have been recognized by a few of our favorite readers! The booklovers of the Australian Romance Readers Association have just announced the winners of their fourth annual Romance Readers Awards. The awards were hosted this past week at Sydney’s Cello’s Restaurant at The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, where the ARRA recognized authors for their contributions to the romance genre in 2011.

The awards honored two writers whose names are synonymous with reading down under: Anna Campbell — for Favourite Australian Romance Author for 2011 and Favourite Historical Romance for Midnight’s Wild Passion and New Zealander Nalini Singh who took home three awards, Favourite Continuing Romance series as well as recognition for her novels Kiss of Snow and Archangel’s Blade.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Will You Be My Valentine? Meet The Fictional Heroes Who Make Our Hearts Flutter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Ahh, the men of fiction, they are there when you need them, they’d shower you with affection if you were their lover, and at the very least, you don’t have to remind them to put the toilet seat down. Today, as couples across the country celebrate romantic love, here at RT we’re taking a moment to appreciate the fictional men who make our hearts flutter. From historical heroes to super smart sleuths and even some paranormal protectors, find out which men we’d love to be in love with on this special holiday!

RT’s Morgan says: I was at the reading of Lauren Willig's The Garden Intrigue and her poet hero, Augustus Whittlesby, sounded awesome. I would want him to craft a sonnet or two for me, but not because he is a great writer — just the opposite. He is so dreadfully awful, that I think I would have just as much time making fun of Augustus as the story's heroine, Emma Delagardie, does. However, there is one thing that I know that Emma doesn’t. Augustus is really a spy for England and he hides messages to the War Office in his dreadful prose.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Stops By Lady Jane's Salon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

No group deserves the title “romance community” more than those who frequent Lady Jane’s Salon, NYC’s only romance reading series. For the past three years, Lady Jane’s founders Maya Rodale, Hope Tarr, Leanna Renee Hieber and Ron Hogan have welcomed romance authors and readers for a monthly get together to celebrate the genre. And while visitors may see new faces in the crowd, or may be a new face themselves, everyone is surrounded by friends, connected through of the shared love of romance. There is never a lack of conversation, never an awkward moment, because there is always something to talk about — books!

Last Monday’s anniversary event was kicked off by historical romance author Lauren Willig. Lauren is no stranger to Lady Jane’s; in fact the salon’s audience has heard the award-winning author read from several different books in her Pink Carnation series. This time the audience was wowed as Lauren launched into an excerpt from her brand new release The Garden Intrigue.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Them Over With These Literary Pickup Lines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Need ideas for Valentine’s Day? Twitter is here to help you get that special book-loving girl our guy with some great #litpickuplines. So whether you are trying to find a new love (perhaps you’ve locked eyes while hunting in a bookstore or while sitting in a cafe, over the edge of your hardcover or e-reader) or are enjoying a romance with fellow booklover, the Twitterverse has some clever turns of phrase to put a smile on that special face.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Meredith Duran On Her Upcoming Release At Your Pleasure

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Meredith Duran is one of the freshest new voices in historical romance. With several RT Top Pick! ratings and RT award nominations already under her belt, fans are eagerly anticipating the release of Duran's sixth book, At Your Pleasure, next month. Today the author shares with us some details about the revenge-seeking hero, Adrian, his hostage, heroine Lady Lenora, and how these two enemies become lovers.

***

Adrian Ferrers is a man seeking revenge. What can you tell us about his situation? 

I was in a dramatic frame of mind when I began writing At Your Pleasure. I wanted to tell the story of a truly epic love — and a star-crossed couple who, in the world’s eyes, absolutely could not be together. My aim was to capture that dreadful, wonderful, intoxicating feeling that comes of yearning desperately for someone whom you know in your bones you were meant for — but who is destined to never be yours. As a result, Nora and Adrian’s story is dark, intense, and (I think) the most romantic book I’ve written.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

At A Glance: February's Harlequin Medical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you love your romance mixed with a dose of medical drama, you should check out these four new titles from Harlequin’s Medical Romance imprint.

This month don’t be surprised if you find yourself Falling for the Playboy Millionaire like heroine Charlotte does for cardiac surgeon James Alexander in the newest Penhally Bay novel by Kate Hardy. Or you might find yourself wondering Heart Surgeon, Hero … Husband? Heroine Hannah Quinn is distraught when she learns her tiny son needs a heart transplant, and that her ex, Scott McIntryre, is the only one who is able to do the procedure. But will Hannah’s resolve to stay far away from Scott be a thing of the past once he saves her baby and reveals that she still owns his heart? To find out you’ll have to pick up your own copy of Susan Carlisle’s latest.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spend An Hour Talking About Jane Austen!

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you love Jane Austen, Regency life and hanging out with a few of YA’s hottest authors, then be sure to log onto Figment.com for next Monday evening’s live chat at 8 pm! Authors Shannon Hale, Elizabeth Euler and E. Lockhart will all be on hand for “After Austen,” an hour of chatting with readers about the Austen influences in their own books and why the talented writer remains one of literature’s most beloved ladies.

Shannon Hale has written many fantastic tales for teens from her popular Princess Academy series to the bestselling Austenland that is currently in the process of being adapted as a movie, which will star Kerri Russell. And the author has just released the story’s companion novel Midnight in Austenland.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST