RT Daily Blog

Trend Watch: Sewing Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Gone are the days where historical heroes and heroines were only of noble pedigree. We've been watching the trend of authors giving characters working class jobs. And in a great twist, many of these new heroines are employed in the fashion industry (which is a fancy way of saying these ladies are seamstresses and dress designers). Most readers are familiar with the scenes of the heroine and her entourage visiting such a woman at her establishment, but now these ladies are getting the spotlight. We found several heroines in recent and upcoming books whose handiwork, their skill with a needle and thread, have us considering taking up dressmaking — or at the least envious of the great wardrobes of the past. So where can you find such hard working, fashion conscious heroines?

 

Passion Wears Pearls by Renee Bernard

Meet The Heroine: Eleanor Beckett, seamstress

When gentleman artist Josiah Hastings rescues Eleanor from an attacker, he instantly recognizes that this overworked seamstress is his muse. He convinces Eleanor to leave her position under an awful employer, and come stay with him. Josiah promises her that she can go as she'd like as soon as his masterpiece is finished — but can she convince him that she'd like nothing more to be his muse for as long as they both shall live?

Release Date: 3/6/2012

   

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Spies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

It doesn’t take a master sleuth to discover that we love to read about spies in our historical romances. The intrigue, danger and tension adds highstakes adventure to stories. Today, we are featuring some of our favorite spies from the last year. And what a year it has been for historical heroes (and heroines) who are determined to protect their country but along the journey end up losing their hearts — in the very best way, of course. If you like action-packed books, then make sure to check out these fantastic reads. And as a special bonus at the end of this list we also look at a few of our favorite historical spies that are part of must-read series!

RECOMMENDED READS

Book: My Wicked Little Lies (February 2012)
Author: Victoria Alexander
Meet The Spy: Now that heroine Evelyn Hadley-Attwater aka “Eve” is a married woman will she have to give up her secret work — and flirting with her boss, the mysterious “Sir” in this Top Pick! rated story?

Book: The Price of Temptation (January 2012)
Author: Lecia Cornwall
Meet The Spy: Captain Sinjon Rutherford aka “Sam” is forced to pose as a footman in Lady Evelyn’s home to catch a traitor, however, it soon becomes clear that the situation is murkier that it first appeared.

Book: The Black Hawk (November 2011)
Author: Joanna Bourne
Meet The Spies: Justine De Cabrillac aka “Owl” and Adrian Hawkhurst, were child spies in France and have had a rocky past, but when they reunite can these two suspicious characters create a future together? This novel is a Top Pick! and nominated for RT Reviewers' Choice 2011 Historical Romance of the Year.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

At A Glance: March's Harlequin Medical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin is treating readers to four all-new tales of love and medicine with the newest releases from their Medical Romance imprint.

To beat back the March doldrums, we suggest you take a trip to two of our favorite series romance destinations. You can check in with the good folks of Penhally Bay by picking up the new release from Margaret McDonagh. The new-to-town single father, Dr. Luca d’Azzaro, goes on a quest to find A Mother for the Italian’s Twins. He may have found the perfect woman in fellow Dr. Polly Carrick, but only if he can convince her that their chemistry is genuine! Meanwhile there’s also someone new at Sydney Harbor Hospital: Luca’s Bad Girl. E.R. doctor Mia McKenzie has a passionate night with Sicilian Dr. Luca DiAngelo (not to be confused with the Italian doctor who is making a connection in Penhally Bay). But will this couple’s passion lead to a lifetime of love in this story from Amy Andrews?


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Strangers In The Desert By Lynn Raye Harris

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

In Lynn Raye Harris’ new Harlequin Presents book, Strangers in the Desert, widowed Prince Adan ibn Najib Al Dhakir is weeks away from remarrying so he can officially take his throne when he gets a report that his first wife, who is presumed dead, is actually alive. Adan immediately goes to collect Isabella only to find that she has amnesia. He doesn’t believe her claims, however, Isabella’s surprise at hearing she has a husband seems real, as is her shock at learning that she has a young son.

Whitney: Poor Isabella, Lynn Raye Harris doesn’t pull any punches when setting up this scenario.

Morgan: Actually, I think Isabella has a great life. She lives in Hawaii working as a singer that has got to be pretty comfortable.

Whitney: But then Sheik Adan bursts into her life and tells her that not only is he her husband, but she has a two-year-old son that she abandoned.

Morgan: Over a year ago, it seems, Isabella wandered into the Jahfaran desert and into a sand storm. Nobody thought she survived.

Whitney: The only question was whether or not she chose “death by desert” or if it was an accident.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

5 Questions For Romance Author Ruthie Knox — WIth Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

New author Ruthie Knox debuts with this month's lighthearted, sexy contemporary romance Ride With Me. When cyclist Lexie places an ad for a someone to bike across the country with her, she's hoping for a fun companion. Instead, she gets Tom, her polar opposite. But as the two journey across the country on their bikes, sparks fly and soon it's clear that Lexie and Tom may just be the perfect pair. Today we take readers inside the story with an author interview, and then give you a chance to win a copy of Ride With Me!

***

Ride With Me is all about extreme cycling. What made you think about writing a romance that literally takes place on the TransAmerica Trail?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sarah MacLean: Gateway Romance Author

BY Elissa Petruzzi, FEBRUARY 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Working at a RT, people often ask me for romance novel reading suggestions. And for a long time I didn't have a good answer. I read romance, sure. But the genre I loved was YA, and I also read mystery and erotica and science fiction ... and basically anything else I could get my hands on. But I didn't have a go-to romance.

But then one day I picked up Sarah MacLean's Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake, on recommendation of historical romance buff Whitney. And well. I stayed up all night reading! I was hooked. I ran into the RT office the next day and said to her, "You didn't tell me these books were this good! I WANT MORE."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hope Tarr Discusses Tempting - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Hope Tarr has just digitally released her 2002 RT Reviewers' Choice Award-nominated Victorian romance, Tempting. Readers will be delighted to follow hero Simon Belleville, the head of her Majesty's Morality and Vice Commission, as he rescues and then falls in love with Christine Tremayne, a young woman on the run. Today the author answers our questions about this charming tale and explains the revisions that she made to get the story ready for it's e-version. Plus, don't miss your chance to check out an excerpt of the story at the end of this interview, and enter to win a copy of Tarr's Vanquished!

***

You've said that Tempting is the book of your heart. Can you tell us a bit about the story as well as what makes it so special to you?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

TV Thoughts: Reasons Romance Readers Should Watch The Vampire Diaries

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

The recent EW cover series for The Vampire Diaries really got me thinking. The magazine covers look like they could have been lifted from romance novels. And while considering just how much I adore this television series, it occurred to me that these fantastic shots of Elena, Stefan and Damon aren’t the only thing that this television show has in common with a good romance novel. So, today I am going to break down exactly why all romance fans should check out The CW’s The Vampire Diaries.

Okay, first let me set the stage. It’s the Civil War-era in Mystic Falls, VA, and Stefan and Damon — aka the two next-to-naked men on the EW cover — are brothers who have just been turned into vampires by the beautiful, duplicitous vamp named Katherine (think Scarlet O’Hara, but with less remorse). Fast forward to present day Mystic Falls, where Stefan has returned to get to know orphaned high school student Elena, who just happens to look exactly like Katherine. They promptly fall in lurv and everything looks like smooth sailing, except for the fact that Stefan is, you know, a vampire. And he’s not telling Elena that she could basically be Katherine’s twin sister. However, those aren’t the only things rocking the S.S. Stefan & Elena 4 Eva. Stefan's big brother, Damon, who is incredibly bad news, has also come back Mystic Falls. He believes can free Katherine from a tomb where she was imprisoned after a complicated chain of events back in the (Civil War-era) day. And if that is not enough drama, the situation gets even more complicated because it's not long before Damon also develops feelings for Elena. Oh, and Elena’s best friend, Bonnie, has just discovered she’s a witch and she hates all vampires. And that's just the set-up that's revealed in the first few episodes.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kristen Callihan Reveals Her Favorite Character — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debut author Kristen Callihan’s Firelight won this month’s RT Seal of Excellence in a blaze of glory. Today, because we've promised not to tell any of her other characters, Kristen Callihan reveals why her masked and mysteriously disfigured hero is her very favorite character. Plus, find out how to win your own copy of this new novel!

If pressed to make a choice, I would have to admit that my hero Archer is my favorite character in Firelight, and as his maker, I sure do love him.

However, Archer and I got off to a bit of a rocky start. I had planned to write Firelight entirely in my heroine Miranda’s point of view. (No, I don’t know what I was thinking.) After struggling to write a scene in Miranda’s point of view and failing because a certain man would not keep quiet inside my head, I gave in and let Archer have his way. What came out was pain. Loneliness and isolation had beaten him down.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Readers And The Books We're Reading: We Investigate The Harlequin Romance Report

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

The third annual Harlequin Romance Report has just hit the airwaves. The annual study surveys 1,500 female romance readers who are single and between the ages of 18-40. This year respondents were asked to answer that age old question, "What do women want?" and also respond to the equally interesting, "What do women think they're really getting?" Today, we’re taking a look at what the report has uncovered about the modern woman and how these findings compare to what we're seeing in the world of books!


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST