RT Daily Blog

Cover Trend: Heroes And Heroines Keep It Casual

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

We've been spotting several less-than-dressed hotties on the fronts of recent releases. It seems that when the weather gets cold, our heroes and heroines strip down to their tank tops for cover appearances. We certainly don't fault these good looking men and women for ultilizing the right to bare arms, and showing off what their mama (and clearly, many hours at the gym) gave them. With inspiration in mind like this iconic shot of Battlestar Galactica's Apollo and Starbuck, we aren't surprised to be seeing so many tank topped characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Carly Phillips

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Carly Phillips is known for her hot contemporary romances featuring strong male characters, especially the hunky heroes of her current Serendipity series. At the last RWA conference in New York City, the author sat down with RT's Morgan to talk about the unexpected places she gets her inspiration (like soap operas). Phillps also shared several tips for aspiring authors, including how to develop a strong support system. There's all this and more in this RT-exclusive video interview.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Tempted Again by Cathie Linz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at this month’s new release Tempted Again by Cathie Linz.

Author Cathie Linz has penned 57 novels since she began writing in 1982. She is best known for her series novels and, of course, her popular contemporary romance series, Girls Do (and Don’t). In her latest novel, Tempted Again, librarian Marissa Bennet has just returned to her small hometown of Hopeful, Ohio, only to discover that her old flame, Conner Doyle, has also come back. He’s now the town’s sheriff and he doesn’t even recognize Marissa … at first. Will working together on a community-building project help this couple find true love the second time around? The story, which received an RT rating of four stars, has RT’s Debbie saying, “This delightful contemporary romance will warm up a cold winter’s day. The characters that fill these pages are all memorable, the romance is touching and realistic and the love scenes are hot enough to melt snow — and your heart.”

 

Matching The Cop Hero ...

My Hero by Marianna Jameson is a terrific contemporary romance novel. And because the heroine is a romance author, we’ll be using some special terminology for this explanation. You’ll fall HoH (that’s head over heels) for Chas Casey, the sexy detective from Stamford, who is reluctantly letting romance author Miranda Lane do a tag-along. However, when Miranda’s research jeopardizes Chas’ career, it’s clear that what seemed like fun and games is actually incredibly serious. Will Miranda be able to write the HEA (that’s Happily Ever After) that she wants with Chas into their future? You’ll have to pick up your own copy of 2005’s My Hero to find out!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway Alert: Go Inside The RT Seal Of Excellence-Winning Story, Kristen Callihan's Firelight

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Kristen Callihan set readers aflame with Firelight. This debut novel won this month’s Seal of Excellence, engulfing the competition. The RT editors were mesmerized by the story’s supernatural Victorian setting, we lost our hearts to the enigmatic (but oh-so-attractive) masked hero Lord Benjamin Archer and dreamed of becoming the beautiful heroine Miranda Ellis. So when we learned that one lucky reader has a chance to literally go inside of this world, we could not have been more excited.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
41COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Recommended Reads And Our Valentine's Week Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today is the final day to win our Valentine’s Week giveaway. For the last week we’ve updated our recommended reads section with one year per day, starting with 2005. Now, we’re up to 2010! We’ve highlighting the greatest books and authors across all the genres to help you make sure that you got a chance to read all the highlights. And we also grew our giant Valentine’s Giveaway, a special prize-pack of books by selected authors from our Recommended Reads lists.

For the last day of our giveaway, we look back on 2010 which was a year of big changes. Several authors made big deals including million plus projects from Janet Evanovich, Debbie Macomber and James Patterson. Meanwhile other fan-favorite authors such as Allison Brennan, Anne Stuart and Meljean Brook started new series. And readers met several new talents who would quickly become beloved voices, including Sarah MacLean, Courtney Milan and Mary Robinette Kowal.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
26COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Samhain To Take Out Jumbotron Ad In Times Square

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

You can soon see Samhain Publishing at the crossroad of the world — and by that we mean, the independent publishing company’s ad will soon be playing in Times Square. Nearly half a million people pass through the area every twenty-four hours. (We’d say each day, but as you know, New York is the city that never sleeps and Times Square is no exception, it’s a hopping area at any hour.) So the company knows that that’s a lot of eyes that will see this announcement about their e-books and print books.

The ad will soon be on the CBS Jumbotron display at Times Square in New York City. It is scheduled to start mid-February and is set to feature several books that were recently published by Samhain’s romance and horror imprints.

The publisher, which launched in 2005, has never undertaken any sort of jumbotron advertising before but we promise to bring you a shot of the ad in all of its Times Square Glory when it does go up! For now, you can view the ad below:

See The Ad Here >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

At A Glance: February's Harlequin Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin treats readers to several delicious tales of love set in the past. Booklovers will enjoy The Last Cahill Cowboy by Jenna Kernan. This tale that wraps up that Cahill series is a family affair. Says RT’s Kathe Robin about this four-star read, “[t]he entire clan plays a key role in this story, making it an integral part of the series.”

Historical romance fans can also dive into The Wicked Lord Rasenby by Marguerite Kaye which takes place in Georgian England, Ravished by the Rake by Louise Allen which sweeps readers away to India on the High Seas and Lady Rosabella’s Ruse by Ann Lethbridge a Regency tale with lots of heat. These four books are reviewed in this month’s issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Australian Romance Readers Association Award Winners Announced

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

We’ve just learned that a few of our favorite authors have been recognized by a few of our favorite readers! The booklovers of the Australian Romance Readers Association have just announced the winners of their fourth annual Romance Readers Awards. The awards were hosted this past week at Sydney’s Cello’s Restaurant at The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, where the ARRA recognized authors for their contributions to the romance genre in 2011.

The awards honored two writers whose names are synonymous with reading down under: Anna Campbell — for Favourite Australian Romance Author for 2011 and Favourite Historical Romance for Midnight’s Wild Passion and New Zealander Nalini Singh who took home three awards, Favourite Continuing Romance series as well as recognition for her novels Kiss of Snow and Archangel’s Blade.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Will You Be My Valentine? Meet The Fictional Heroes Who Make Our Hearts Flutter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Ahh, the men of fiction, they are there when you need them, they’d shower you with affection if you were their lover, and at the very least, you don’t have to remind them to put the toilet seat down. Today, as couples across the country celebrate romantic love, here at RT we’re taking a moment to appreciate the fictional men who make our hearts flutter. From historical heroes to super smart sleuths and even some paranormal protectors, find out which men we’d love to be in love with on this special holiday!

RT’s Morgan says: I was at the reading of Lauren Willig's The Garden Intrigue and her poet hero, Augustus Whittlesby, sounded awesome. I would want him to craft a sonnet or two for me, but not because he is a great writer — just the opposite. He is so dreadfully awful, that I think I would have just as much time making fun of Augustus as the story's heroine, Emma Delagardie, does. However, there is one thing that I know that Emma doesn’t. Augustus is really a spy for England and he hides messages to the War Office in his dreadful prose.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Stops By Lady Jane's Salon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

No group deserves the title “romance community” more than those who frequent Lady Jane’s Salon, NYC’s only romance reading series. For the past three years, Lady Jane’s founders Maya Rodale, Hope Tarr, Leanna Renee Hieber and Ron Hogan have welcomed romance authors and readers for a monthly get together to celebrate the genre. And while visitors may see new faces in the crowd, or may be a new face themselves, everyone is surrounded by friends, connected through of the shared love of romance. There is never a lack of conversation, never an awkward moment, because there is always something to talk about — books!

Last Monday’s anniversary event was kicked off by historical romance author Lauren Willig. Lauren is no stranger to Lady Jane’s; in fact the salon’s audience has heard the award-winning author read from several different books in her Pink Carnation series. This time the audience was wowed as Lauren launched into an excerpt from her brand new release The Garden Intrigue.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST