RT Daily Blog

Jo Beverley On Researching The Georgian Era For A Scandalous Countess

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

We love Georgian era tales, like Brenda Joyce's new series starter, Seduction, Jane Feather's A Wedding Wager and Isobel Carr's Ripe series. And our list of delicious recent releases set in this glittering historical time period could not be complete without a mention of the Malloren series by Jo Beverley. The latest in her emotion-filled series, this month's RT Top Pick, A Scandalous Countess, will have readers forgetting all about modern conveniences in favor of the romance of this bygone era. Today Beverley gives us a look at how the Georgian period influenced this story's plot and shares one of her favorite "unexpected truths" of life during the era!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Suzanne Brockmann Begins Her New Fighting Destiny Series With Born To Darkness

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are very excited that beloved romantic suspense author Suzanne Brockmann will be kicking off a brand new paranormal series, Fighting Destiny! Today we take a look at what readers can expect from series starter, Born to Darkness, with an exclusive quote from the author on what prompted her newest project which will be releasing in March.

Born to Darkness begins Brockmann's Fighting Destiny series with a story about an ex-Navy SEAL who agrees to be a test subject at the Obermeyer Institute. However, soldier Shane soon realizes that this job is very different from his expectations. Amidst a group of extraordinary humans, he must fight to stop the spread of a designer drug with amazing powers during the hostile climate of America’s second great depression. Further complications arise when Shane and Michelle “Mac” Mackenzie have a one night stand that threatens their working relationship as well as their piece of mind. 

While fans of Brockmann will certainly recognize Navy SEAL characters, the paranormal aspects are certainly something new to the author. We had to ask her why the new subgenre, and here is what she had to say:


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Christina Courtenay's Highland Storms

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

RT Reviewer Maria Planansky is such a fan of Christina Courtenay's historical romance Highland Storms,  that she wants to share exactly what makes this tale a standout read. 

I hate starting in the middle of a series. In fact, I almost never do it — so when I found out Highland Storms was a sequel to Christina Courtenay’s acclaimed novel Trade Winds (confession: I hadn’t read it before taking on Highland Storms), I was floored.

My reaction comes from Highland Storm’s strength. This killer Scottish romance is seeped in fascinating history, with plenty of chemistry and action to go around. Brice Kinross and Marsaili Buchanan are a devoted couple with passion that simmers into a slow, satisfying boil.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: She Tempts the Duke by Lorraine Heath

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at this newest historical romance from Lorraine Heath.

Romance author Lorraine Heath has been crafting stories that sweep readers off their feet since the early 1990s. Since then she has written more than thirty romances set during the contemporary and historical time periods. However, the author is undoubtly best known for her historical tales of love and laughter. With an impressive nineteen RT Top Picks, 10 RT Reviewers' Choice award nominations (and two wins) under her belt, it's no surprise that she has been nominated for seven RT Career Achievement awards and won the award for the Americana Historical Romance category in 1996. It's a rare romance reader who doesn't have at least one Heath novel on their "keeper" shelf.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Carla Neggers' Secrets Of The Lost Summer

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney are Dishing about contemporary romance novel Secrets of the Lost Summer, which earned Carla Neggers a Top Pick! review. The story is about Olivia Frost a graphic designer who has come to a crossroads in her life. Tired of the big city life in Boston, she returns to her hometown of Knights Bridge where she hopes to open a Bed and Breakfast. But when a short note to an absentee home owner brings ex-hockey star Dylan McCaffrey to Olivia’s doorstep, she is not sure if she can juggle her growing feelings for him as well as the stresses of starting her life over.

Morgan: As soon as I found out this book was set near Boston, I got excited because while I haven’t visited the area a lot, I know that this is near where you grew up.

Whitney: I was raised not too far from Boston and have to say, this novel certainly captured the essence of the city and Massachusetts’ rural areas, too.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jennifer Haymore On Historical Romance And Her New Release!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Jennifer Haymore has only been on the scene for a few short years, since the publication of 2009's A Hint of Wicked, but she's already made a name for herself as one of the new faces of historical romance. RT's Morgan spoke with the author about how Haymore's loving spouse helps her write (by always trying to fit swordplay into her stories), why she loves to tell tales that involve sacrifice and what makes her latest novel the most "different" romance she has ever written. It's not just the heroine that makes Secrets of an Accidental Duchess stand out; this story is culled from Haymore's own personal experiences. Today, get all the details about this unusual historical romance and find out exactly why this novel is on our must-read list. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Susan Mallery On Her New Blackberry Island Series Starter Barefoot Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today author Susan Mallery gives RT readers a peek inside her new Blackberry Island series before the series begins in April. Find out why her upcoming novel Barefoot Season was a story she simply had to tell — and what part of the book was inspired by a fan's photo!

***

Barefoot Season is what I like to call a “romance-plus.” There are two love stories in the book — with terrific men I think readers will adore — plus a focus on the complicated friendship between the two heroines. I will always love writing romance. My mainstream books give me the added pleasure of exploring some of the other relationships that mean so much to women. We are complex creatures; romantic love is just one of the emotions that make up the tapestry of our lives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Seven Romance E-Book Bundles On Sale Now!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

It is like Christmas all over again! We’ve were thrilled to discover an extensive selection of romance novel e-book bundles from across the genres, perfect for any reader looking for a new author to get into or for a booklover that wants to grab digital versions of some must-have romance favorites. And to make the news even better, these bundles of two, three or four titles are all available for less than $10.00.

***

HISTORICAL BUNDLE

Stephanie Laurens’ Rogues Reform Bundle consists of three classic stand-alone Regency romances, originally published in the 90s, which will sweep you off your feet. The Reasons for Marriage (1995), A Lady of Expectations (1995) and An Unwilling Conquest (1996) are packaged together for under $8.

Buy Now >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE BUNDLE

For those looking for contemporary romances featuring sexy Navy SEALs, look no further than Mary Margret Daughtridge’s SEALed Bundle. The first book in this authors highly rated SEALed series was the first book garnering a RT Reviewers Choice Award Nominee for Small Press Romance and all three books have earned 4 or 4 1/2 ratings from RT. You can pick up the first three SEALed books, Sealed With A Kiss (2008), Sealed With a Promise (2009), Sealed With a Ring (2010) for less than $8.

Buy Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Fit With Fellow Romance Readers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Get fit and get inspired with the second annual round of Romance Biggest Winner. In this program, authors and readers team up to encourage each other to make 2012 their healthiest year yet. Today Helen Seeley talks about what participants can expect and then we hear from several of the authors that will also be joining in the fun of the weight loss program's second round.

Every year the number one resolution is to lose weight and get healthy. Gym memberships go up, attendance is high. By February thirty percent of the people who joined a gym are no longer going. By the end of February fifty percent of those who joined gyms and started diets have stopped altogether.

Romance Biggest Winner (RBW) is the romance community’s answer to getting fit and losing weight. What is Romance Biggest Winner? It’s The Biggest Loser only tweaked a bit. The goal is to lose weight and get healthy, only we don’t kick any one out for not losing. Nope we give books to the biggest weekly winners with a grand prize to the biggest author winner and biggest reader winner!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: A Night Like This By Julia Quinn - With Exclusive First Line!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

We have the RT-exclusive first line of Julia Quinn’s next novel A Night Like This! Ever since learning that the divine Julia will be releasing her next historical romance this summer, I have been (just barely) restraining myself from typing in all caps because I am that excited. So to get the first line of the upcoming novel before anyone else did is a particularly special treat.

To the doubters, the people who think that Ms. J.Q.’s prose simply can’t be worth all this, I say, “Here, take this copy of To Catch an Heiress.” Because if you don’t like that book, I’m pretty sure you have no joy in your heart. And after you’re done reading To Catch an Heiress, you have more amazing reading ahead in the form of the entire Bridgerton series (and Quinn's nineteen other novels) in your TBR pile. While it wouldn’t be over the top to wax poetic about the Bridgertons for an entire blog post, I want to give you the joy of discovering the family — and Lady Whistledown — all on your own. So all I am going to say is that they are without a doubt my very favorite historical family.

By taking a look at the (luscious) cover of A Night Like This, we know that this novel will most likely include the Bridgertons, but it will most definitely include their family friends, the Smythe-Smiths. The Smythe-Smith clan has popped up in several Quinn stories and the family’s most defining feature is that are known throughout the ton for hosting terrible, absolutely painful-to-sit-through musical recitals each year. Thankfully, these loveable, if mostly tone-deaf characters are now getting their due. 2011’s Just Like Heaven marked the first story in the Smythe-Smith quartet and A Night Like This will be the series second.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST