RT Daily Blog

Extended Review: The Duke Is Mine by Eloisa James

BY Whitney Sullivan, NOVEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Eloisa James is without a doubt one of my all-time favorite historical romance authors. James’ 2002 Enchanting Pleasures has a special spot on my keeper shelf, but she’s introduced me to so many other fantastic characters over the years, she could easily take up an entire shelf! I’ve lost my heart to her (thankfully redeemable) rakes, and adventured alongside her misfit heroines. So to say that I go into a new Eloisa James book with high expectations is an understatement. I go in with stratosphere expectations. 

For her third re-worked fairytale James takes on the classic story “The Princess and the Pea”. And although The Duke is Mine doesn’t hit shelves until late next month, I got a chance to check out a copy. And I am happy to report that the author’s upcoming novel more than meets my rigorous standards.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take A Coffee Break With Debut Author Jessica Scott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

In her writing, author Jessica Scott takes inspiration from her career in the military and the difficulties of being a deployed spouse and parent. Starting her writing career as a blogger from Iraq, this month Jessica's debut book, a contemporary romance titled Because of You, releases as the first original title releasing in the revamped Loveswept line from Random House. For today's coffee break, we get to know a bit more about the author and her new series. 

***

What's your favorite kind of story to get lost in? 

A good post apocalyptic journey that shows mankind at its worst and still, goodness triumphs.

What's the first book you remember reading?

Fish is Fish

What's your favorite fairy tale? 

I don't think I have one. If I had to pick one, it would be the Boy Who Cried Wolf

What would your occupation be if you were no longer a writer? 

An army officer. I've got two of the best jobs in the world: I love them both.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

"Smart Bitch Sarah" and Her Latest Romance Nonfic

BY Liz French, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sarah Wendell is one smart bitch—and she’s proud of it! She’s also proud of being a romance fan, and that pride comes through loud and clear from almost every page of her newest nonfic, Everything I Know About Love I Learned From Romance Novels (Oct., Sourcebooks).

The powerhouse behind the crazy-popular website, Smart Bitches, Trashy Books (duh, I know you all know this but just in case there’s one person in the romance community who’s been living under a rock for the past five years....), Wendell writes reams about romance: on her blog, in the mainstream media and in a previous nonfiction tome (with Candy Tan) titled Beyond Heaving Bosoms: The Smart Bitches’ Guide to Romance Novels


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Navy SEAL Anthology To Benefit Medical Research For Veterans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of Veterans Day, Bell Bridge Books has released a Navy SEALs anthology, SEAL Of My Dreams, featuring short stories from 18 romance authors about heroic soldiers the women who love them. As if patriotic tales about men in uniform from some of our favorite writers wasn’t enough, all of the proceeds from the book will go to the Veterans Research Corporation, a non-profit organization that funds medical research for veterans.

Ranging from heartwarming to heart racing, SEAL Of My Dreams is packed with stories from Stephanie Bond, Jami Alden, Alison Kent, Cindy Gerard and more. From suspenseful tales such as “Panama Jack” by Tara Janzen, to lighter reads like Leslie Kelly’s “Wrapped and SEALed,” SEAL of my Dreams is sure to have something for every romance fan. 


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four New Families In November's Harlequin Medical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month's Harlequin Medical Romances feature couples struggling with issues concerning babies, pregnancy and parenthood. From fertility troubles to unexpected pregnancies, the heroes and heroines in November's Harlequin Medical Romances face difficult situations and wrestle with heartbreaking questions. But at the end of these emotional challenges, will these couples be able to create the families they've always wanted?


The Fiancée He Can't Forget
By Caroline Anderson


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Razor's Edge by Shannon K. Butcher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Convinced to take up writing by her famous husband Jim Butcher, Shannon K. Butcher has found her own success with her wildly popular Sentinel Wars paranormal romance series. Shannon has also recently launched an extremely spicy romantic suspense series called the Edge. Today, Whitney and Morgan take on Razor’s Edge, the third outing of the covert ops from the Edge security agency.

Morgan: I love that Razor’s Edge opens with a girl-fight. In the first few pages, security expert Roxanne Haught, aka Razor, faces down an angry woman who is determined to steal corporate secrets from an important client. This is no polite disagreement, but an all out knife fight.

Whitney: I give the author props, this is a really well written fight. And the incident is not just fun to read; it also shows that Razor is seriously able to take care of anything. 

Morgan: Except her ex-boyfriend who is hassling her.

Whitney: Who wouldn’t be upset if they were trailed by goons sent by a jealous ex?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

This Week Is Harlequin’s Online Writing Conference So You Think You Can Write

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Harlequin’s online conference, So You Think You Can Write, officially launched today. All this week, Harlequin editors will be checking in on the SYTYCW site to give tips and critiques on how to write a series length book for Harlequin. That’s five days of expert advice from the acquiring editors at one of the biggest publishers in romance. In addition to enlightening blog posts, podcasts, live chats, and Tweets, Harlequin will also be offering one aspiring writer a contract to be published

Excited about the opportunity, but don’t know how to get started? Here is what we recommend to make sense of it all. 

Step One: Learn About Harlequin

If you are unsure about the differences between Harlequin’s imprints, we suggest you head over here to listen to podcasts where editors give simple descriptions about eight of the different Harlequin lines. 

Step Two: Meet the Editors


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Toni Blake On Her Latest Destiny Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today RT's Morgan talks with contemporary romance author Toni Blake. The interview covers everything from Toni's early writing career and which author prompted her to take the plunge into writing romance, all the way through to Toni's newest release Holly Lane. They also discuss what's next for the author (hint: fans of the Destiny Series get ready because your favorite couple is finally going to get their happily ever after!).

Toni Blake On Her Latest Contemporary Romance >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sharon Page On When The Heroine Is Right — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today, historical romance author Sharon Page gets readers ready for her new novel, Engaged in Sin. Get a behind-the-scenes look at how the author connected with her newest leading couple, and then don't miss your chance to enter to win a copy of the new novel!

I have so many things I love about writing romance, and I got to experience each one while I was writing Engaged in Sin. First, I got to create a sexy, tortured but noble hero in Devon Audley, the Duke of March. Then, I got to live through my feisty survivor of a heroine, Anne Beddington, who has escaped from a London brothel. Since Anne desperately needs a powerful man’s protection, she works very hard to seduce Devon. When Devon reveals to Anne the reasons why he has nightmares of the battlefield, I was wiping the tears from my cheeks while typing. And of course, I got to savor the happy ending.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The November 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online.

So which novel won the November 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: This "charming" pirate hero will capture readers' hearts!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST