RT Daily Blog

Holiday Gift Guide: For The Romance Fans On Your List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s that time of year again, when you’ve got to make a list and check it twice to figure out what you’re going to get your loved ones. But don’t worry, we’re here to help with suggestions for each type of person on your list. Today we bring you our top suggestions of what to get for the hard to gift-to romance reader …

Novel Gifts

We love all the e-readers and think that every romance novel lover needs one — a true fan doesn’t read one or two books, we read hundreds! This holiday our hearts are set on the Kindle Fire. However, no matter which e-reader option you pick, if you opt to buy one from Amazon’s device family, or simply want to stock up your giftee's e-book shelf, you can fill it with one (or some) of these e-sets:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

December's Harlequin Medical Romances Are Full Of Holiday Miracles!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month's Harlequin Medical Romances feature couples with surprises. From unexpected reunions to old secrets, the heroes and heroines in December's Harlequin Medical Romances each need a miracle to get to their happily ever after. 


Swallowbrook's Winter Bride
By Abigail Gordon

Years ago, Dr. Nathan Gallagher broke Libby Hamilton's heart when he went to practice medicine in Africa. Now that he's back in town, he is facing his biggest challenge yet - winning back Libby by convincing her that she is the only woman he's ever wanted. 

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Judi McCoy Is In The Hospital But On The Road To Recovery!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 12/4/2011: Late last week we reported that Judi McCoy, who had been hospitalized since the end of November, was awake and responding. Sadly, this is not the case. A note on her Facebook page reads: “Judi is still in a coma, but does open her eyes frequently. Readers, fans, and fellow-authors are asked NOT TO SEND ANY FLOWERS OR WELL WISHES to Judi at this point, as she will not realize what has come to the hospital for her.”

McCoy is currently penning a series of cozy mysteries featuring the adventures of dog walker Ellie Engleman and her yorkie-poo sidekick, Rudy. The most recent book in the series is this year’s Till Death Do Us Barkwhich transported this crime solving duo to the Hamptons for some summer R&R, and of course, some sleuthing. 


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Charlotte Featherstone’s Pride and Passion

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our newest column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at Charlotte Featherstone’s latest, Pride and Passion.

Charlotte Featherstone is known for her extremely steamy historical romances. This month the author returns with the latest in her popular Brethren Guardian series. When Lucy Ashton agrees to wed the Duke of Sussex, she believes that her heart is held by another man — her new husband’s enemy. But the bonds of marriage reveal that not only is the Duke a passionate partner, his tender touches make Lucy question everything she’s ever believed. Will the joy they’ve found turn to despair when old ghosts threaten this new union?

RT’s Kathe Robin says, “…Featherstone mixes her haunting erotic style into a tale tinged with mystery, paranormal elements and the atmosphere of the era. Her characters have enough pride to fill the pages and plenty of passion as Featherstone stirs the pot, merging deep sensuality and a frightening, chilling mystery: a hunt for a madman that will have readers on the edge of their seats.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pamper Yourself With Jill Shalvis' Head Over Heels Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Have you worked hard all year long? Author Jill Shalvis wants you to remember to pamper yourself — and she's giving you the tools to do so in the comfort of your own home!

In the author's new release, Head Over Heels, heroine Chloe finally opens the Day Spa she's always dreamed of having in the inn she runs with her two sisters. And along the way she catches the eye of hunky town sheriff Sawyer Thompson.

To celebrate the release of her new Lucky Harbor romance, the author is giving away a Home Spa Day for one lucky winner and her two closest friends! The prize includes three luxurious terry-cloth lined robes, three spa tools kits and three Stress Management aromatherapy kits (along with three free copies of the book, of course).

Six runners-up will win a pedicure kit and a copy of the book. And everyone who enters the contest will receive an emailable PDF with an exclusive do-it-yourself foot cream recipe.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
140COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Nora Roberts' The Next Always

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Nora Roberts kicks off her new The Inn BoonsBoro Trilogy with The Next Always. The series follows the Montgomery family’s project to bring an old inn back to life and maybe find love along the way. In this installment, the middle Montgomery brother, Beckett, finally gets a chance to make a move on the woman he’s always had a sweet spot for … but will he fit into this widow’s ready-made family or is he not cut out to be a father to three young boys?

Morgan: I’ve been reading La Nora for years and years and years. And I can say without a doubt this book is a Nora Roberts (capital N, capital R) through and through.

Whitney: But what genre is this Nora book? She is known for stories with paranormal elements with fairies and ghosts, romantic suspenses and then the sweet, small town contemporary romances ...

Morgan: This falls in the last category, however, even with the rock solid footing in very realistic small town life, we also may see a ghost or two ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Erickson On Historical Romance Novellas — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Want to read a hot romance but pre-holiday preparations have you too busy for a full-length book? We suggest you check out novellas to get your romance story fix. Today, author Karen Erickson tells us why she loves to read (and write) these quick stories and gives us a sneak peek at the latest in her Merry Widows series, "Her Christmas Pleasure." Plus, just in time for the holidays, Karen is giving readers a chance to win a gift card!

Sigh…I love a good historical romance. The first adult romance I ever read — after cutting my teeth on teen romances, especially the Silhouette ones — was The Flame and the Flower. I also became hooked on Jude Deveraux’s various series (Montgomerys and Taggerts — LOVED them all!) as well as LaVyrle Spencer’s heartfelt historical romances. I always wanted to write a historical romance but my first attempts oh, so long ago were…

Awful. Terrible. Which left me discouraged and I gave up (with reason, trust me).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
44COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: The Duke Is Mine by Eloisa James

BY Whitney Sullivan, NOVEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Eloisa James is without a doubt one of my all-time favorite historical romance authors. James’ 2002 Enchanting Pleasures has a special spot on my keeper shelf, but she’s introduced me to so many other fantastic characters over the years, she could easily take up an entire shelf! I’ve lost my heart to her (thankfully redeemable) rakes, and adventured alongside her misfit heroines. So to say that I go into a new Eloisa James book with high expectations is an understatement. I go in with stratosphere expectations. 

For her third re-worked fairytale James takes on the classic story “The Princess and the Pea”. And although The Duke is Mine doesn’t hit shelves until late next month, I got a chance to check out a copy. And I am happy to report that the author’s upcoming novel more than meets my rigorous standards.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take A Coffee Break With Debut Author Jessica Scott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

In her writing, author Jessica Scott takes inspiration from her career in the military and the difficulties of being a deployed spouse and parent. Starting her writing career as a blogger from Iraq, this month Jessica's debut book, a contemporary romance titled Because of You, releases as the first original title releasing in the revamped Loveswept line from Random House. For today's coffee break, we get to know a bit more about the author and her new series. 

***

What's your favorite kind of story to get lost in? 

A good post apocalyptic journey that shows mankind at its worst and still, goodness triumphs.

What's the first book you remember reading?

Fish is Fish

What's your favorite fairy tale? 

I don't think I have one. If I had to pick one, it would be the Boy Who Cried Wolf

What would your occupation be if you were no longer a writer? 

An army officer. I've got two of the best jobs in the world: I love them both.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

"Smart Bitch Sarah" and Her Latest Romance Nonfic

BY Liz French, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sarah Wendell is one smart bitch—and she’s proud of it! She’s also proud of being a romance fan, and that pride comes through loud and clear from almost every page of her newest nonfic, Everything I Know About Love I Learned From Romance Novels (Oct., Sourcebooks).

The powerhouse behind the crazy-popular website, Smart Bitches, Trashy Books (duh, I know you all know this but just in case there’s one person in the romance community who’s been living under a rock for the past five years....), Wendell writes reams about romance: on her blog, in the mainstream media and in a previous nonfiction tome (with Candy Tan) titled Beyond Heaving Bosoms: The Smart Bitches’ Guide to Romance Novels


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST