RT Daily Blog

Historical Romances Set In The Middle East And Africa

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

It’s no secret that despite the large span of time and places that the term “historical” covers, historical romance novels are typically set in a few locations. The most popular tales generally take place in Europe during the Medieval, Victorian and Regency eras, and America, either on the Wild West frontier or in the Southern ballrooms of the Civil War era. However, we’ve recently been spotting books with more exotic locales, from the deserts of the Middle East to the wilds of Africa.  

Here’s a list of recent releases that really got our attention, some from popular authors that have long been on our historical romance radar and others from new talents that are just making their mark. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Karen Robards' Sleepwalker

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at this month’s RT Seal of Excellence winner, Karen RobardsSleepwalker.

Author Karen Robards has a long history of excellence. She penned her first book in 1981, a historical romance titled Island Flame. Since that time she has written over thirty novels set in both the past and present. Since 1995, she has published 22 stories and all of them have received RT ratings of 4 stars or above — 17 of those were 4 1/2 stars or above. The author's 2002 historical romance Irresistible took home that year’s RT Reviewers' Choice award for Historical Romance of the Year and she was nominated for four additional Reviewers' Choice Awards. Robards has also won two coveted RT Career Achievement Awards, for contemporary romance in 1995 and the Romantic Suspense award in 2006. Although she has written across the romance genres, Robards' undeniable focus has been in romantic suspense. She writes gripping tales of ordinary women who land in extraordinary circumstances, and must fight to survive the ordeal.

In her latest novel, Sleepwalker, Robards introduces heroine Micayla "Mick" Lange a cop with a tragic past. Mick's life has never been easy and she is about to learn one more hard lesson — betrayal can come from even those closest to you. On the run for her life, Mick has no one to trust except a notorious thief. Jason may be a scoundrel, but he is still honorable, in his own way. Unable to leave Mick in danger, Jason helps her avoid capture and they are soon both running for their lives. Trust between the criminal and the cop is slow to build. But loyalty is earned and, unexpectedly, passion between the two explodes. The couple first brought together by necessity finds that they can't say goodbye. 

RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith says about Sleepwalker, “It’s nonstop action from the first to last page as Robards takes readers on a whirlwind caper that finds a cop and a thief running for their lives. In a story that’s reminiscent of her early romantic adventures, Robards doesn’t allow either her characters or her readers the chance to take a deep breath as events proceed at a breakneck pace. This is romantic suspense at its finest: fast, furious, funny and passionate!”

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

In Search Of Contemporary Classics That Stand The Test of Time

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

I love falling headfirst into a good contemporary romance, getting swept up by daydreams of a sexy hero, a relatable heroine and a seemingly insurmountable modern day problem. But I can't help but notice that, all too often, the stories I enjoy don’t hold up through the years. Despite how much I may have liked them when they came out, the novels simply don’t stand up to a re-reading.

Unlike historicals, fantasy novels or to a large extent, paranormal reads, contemporary-set stories are the only ones that really suffer from outdated references. For the most part the other genres age gracefully, historical phrases remain the same no matter if the book was written in 1992 or 2012. The same goes for a futuristic tale, it doesn’t matter so much when the story was created, in these books contemporary slang will look out of place no matter what unless it is justified within the world of the story. In comparison, older contemporary books don’t just show their age, they look like a middle aged mom trying to wear her teenager’s clothes. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Romance Gets Academic

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the February issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, we profiled the nonfiction academic study of romance, New Approaches to Popular Romance Fiction: Critical Essays, edited by two professors, Sarah S.G. Frantz and Eric Murphy Selinger. The volume, which will be published this year by McFarland, contains 18 essays about the romance genre and community, from luminaries in the academic world as well as romance authors and bloggers. The editors had so much to say about romances and genre fiction and their fascination with the books, that we wanted to continue the interview in online. So today we're bringing you the extended Q&A with the book's editors and RT Managing Editor Liz French. Read on to learn about how Frantz and Selinger formed the International Association for the Study of Popular Romance (IASPR) and what kind of books they like, not to mention how fun it is to teach college students about genre fiction!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: OK, I want to know a little more about you both. I see in the book’s bio listings that Sarah’s a professor in Fayetteville. How long have you been there?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Whitney And Elissa Dish: Julie Anne Long's How The Marquess Was Won

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Want to find out How the Marquess Was Won? You’ll have to read Julie Anne Long’s latest historical romance in her Pennyroyal Green series. But today you can get a taste of the tale in a very special guest Dish with Whitney and RT Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi!

Whitney: So I think it’s important to start out by saying, I totally take pride in the fact that I introduced you to Julie Anne Long’s Pennyroyal Green books. 

Elissa: Ha! I fully give you credit for handing me I Kissed an Earl this summer. And therefore I also blame you for when I accosted Julie Anne Long at RWA Nationals, gushing over how much I love her series. Pennyroyal Green: it’s the Stars Hollow of historical romances. 

Whitney: The series certainly delivers. It's small-town romance, historical style, and Long’s latest, How the Marquess Was Won, is no exception. There’s the author’s signature witty banter, an excellent romance and a cast of extremely lovable characters. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Go Between The Covers With Jayne Ann Krentz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Jayne Ann Krentz aka Amanda Quick, is an undeniable maven of romance. With over one hundred and twenty published tales under her belt, she is a true genre superstar. Today the talented author sits down with RT's Morgan to chat about the author's three favorite elements to include in her writing: romance, suspense and a psychic edge. Hear from Krentz about what it's like to write under several very different pen names. And then get an insider's look at the new trilogy that kicks off with her most recent release, Copper Beach. Find out everything you need to know just before Krentz's latest hits stores!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Harlequin Medical Romance Heroes Who Are Sure To Please!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month the Harlequin Medical Romances feature four very different types of heroes. Do you like Mr. Nice Guy or prefer a bad boy hero? Do you adore the dedicated bachelor or a dream of a foreign lover? No matter what type of hero makes you swoon, Harlequin will treat you to a medical professional that is just what the doctor ordered!

Doctor's Guide to Dating in the Jungle
By Tina Beckett

Hero Type: Mr. Nice Guy

Meet The Man: Dr. Matthew Palermo travels the rivers of the Amazon, treating the people who live in the jungle. He's had his heart broken before, when his last girlfriend lost her life to an Amazon fever, so he's not sure that he can love again. But when the new doctor who has signed on to work with him turns out to be a woman, can he keep Stevie out of his heart?

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Cecilia Grant

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Cecilia Grant 

Book: A Lady Awakened 

Current Home: Seattle, WA 

Job (when not writing): Data wrangler 

Do you write under a pseudonym?: Yes. A non-writing friend of mine calls Cecilia Grant my “secret superhero identity,” and I like having one of those.

How many manuscripts do you have hidden under the bed?: One complete, and about half a dozen that I started, abandoned after a short time, but never could bring myself to throw away.

How long did it take you to sell your first book?: From the time I first submitted something to an agent, until the day I got The Call, about 2 and 1/3 years.

What was it like writing A Lady Awakened? Did you know at the time that it was going to sell to a major NYC publishing house?

Considering the number of people who write books as compared to the number of debut authors actually picked up by the big houses each year, it’s hard to imagine that anyone knows their book is going to sell! I certainly didn’t.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: Jude Deveraux

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance author extraordinaire Jude Deveraux chats with RT's Morgan Doremus in this exclusive author podcast. The pair bond over their mutual love for Deveraux's long-running fictional Taggert/Montgomery family and discuss some of the author's fan-favorite titles. And then the author shares an insider's look at her latest romance, Moonlight in the Morning, which starts an all-new trilogy in the small Southern town of Elidean.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

January's Harlequin Historicals Are Full Of Secrets

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Secrets old and new twist up the plots of this month's Harlequin Historical Romances. Perceived betrayals, hidden treasures and fake identities keep these heroes and heroines struggling to determine what is the truth  — and whether or not they can trust the objects of their affection. 

 

A Dark and Brooding Gentleman
By Margaret McPhee

When Sebastian Hunter finds his mother's companion searching for a family heirloom, he is aghast. Should he trust the lovely Phoebe Allardyce when she says she's being blackmailed to steal?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST