RT Daily Blog

Debut Author Spotlight: Cecilia Grant

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Cecilia Grant 

Book: A Lady Awakened 

Current Home: Seattle, WA 

Job (when not writing): Data wrangler 

Do you write under a pseudonym?: Yes. A non-writing friend of mine calls Cecilia Grant my “secret superhero identity,” and I like having one of those.

How many manuscripts do you have hidden under the bed?: One complete, and about half a dozen that I started, abandoned after a short time, but never could bring myself to throw away.

How long did it take you to sell your first book?: From the time I first submitted something to an agent, until the day I got The Call, about 2 and 1/3 years.

What was it like writing A Lady Awakened? Did you know at the time that it was going to sell to a major NYC publishing house?

Considering the number of people who write books as compared to the number of debut authors actually picked up by the big houses each year, it’s hard to imagine that anyone knows their book is going to sell! I certainly didn’t.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: Jude Deveraux

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance author extraordinaire Jude Deveraux chats with RT's Morgan Doremus in this exclusive author podcast. The pair bond over their mutual love for Deveraux's long-running fictional Taggert/Montgomery family and discuss some of the author's fan-favorite titles. And then the author shares an insider's look at her latest romance, Moonlight in the Morning, which starts an all-new trilogy in the small Southern town of Elidean.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

January's Harlequin Historicals Are Full Of Secrets

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Secrets old and new twist up the plots of this month's Harlequin Historical Romances. Perceived betrayals, hidden treasures and fake identities keep these heroes and heroines struggling to determine what is the truth  — and whether or not they can trust the objects of their affection. 

 

A Dark and Brooding Gentleman
By Margaret McPhee

When Sebastian Hunter finds his mother's companion searching for a family heirloom, he is aghast. Should he trust the lovely Phoebe Allardyce when she says she's being blackmailed to steal?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Contemporary Author Emma Cane Is Gayle Callen — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

What do we really know about new author Emma Cane, besides the fact that her debut contemporary, A Town Called Valentine, received 4 stars from RT BOOK REVIEWS? In the February issue, we dropped a tantalizing hint about the true identity behind this mysterious newcomer. Everyone has wondered which author has crossed romance genres — and now we’re finally free to reveal the answer .... Debut contemporary romance author Emma Cane is none other than beloved historical romance author Gayle Callen! And here to introduce the town behind her new series is Emma/Gayle herself and then be sure to check out how you can enter to win your own copy of her new contemporary romance.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
42COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Reasons To Read Maya Banks’ Whispers In The Dark

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week author Maya Banks released the fourth book in her popular KGI series. And while Whispers in the Dark has a lot in common with the series’ previous stories, the author takes a turn towards the paranormal in this outing. The story opens as Nathan Kelly is held hostage in the caves of Afghanistan where his brothers can’t find him. There is only one person who can help, and she is in a whole lot of trouble herself. Shea Peterson has an inexplicable connection to the tortured soldier that allows her to not only communicate with the man, but she can also siphon off his pain. However, while Shea is able to help Nathan escape, she cannot escape from those who want to kidnap and study her for her amazing abilities. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Penny Jordan Has Passed Away

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are sad to announce that author Penny Jordan has passed away. The author lost her battle with cancer early Sunday morning. 

Jordan has been publishing romances since 1981’s Falcon’s Prey, when she was discovered by the Harlequin team (then Mills & Boon). Since that time, the prolific author wrote nearly 200 books across a variety of genres, from historical romance to contemporary tales. In addition to writing under the name Penny Jordan, she also used several pseudonyms including Caroline Courtney and Annie Groves.

But the author is undoubtedly best known for her series romances published as Penny Jordan, particularly her Harlequin Presents stories. In 2003, RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine recognized Jordan’s work with Career Achievement Award. From her own popular series, such as Sheikh’s Arabian Nights, to contributing to over twenty collections of series romances, Jordan has been a fixture in the genre — and a fan favorite — since she began writing. And the author has continued to wow readers, this month’s Passion and the Prince, was rated an RT Top Pick! Readers can also expect two more Harlequin Presents titles from the author, this spring’s The Price of Royal Duty and this summer’s A Secret Disgrace.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Katie MacAlister's It’s All Greek To Me

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

What do you get when you cross a Greek playboy, an opinionated author-turned-band manager named Eglantine and a secluded island paradise? It’s All Greek To Me by Katie MacAlister.

Morgan: You know those stories that are super realistic? With characters that you recognize from your everyday life? This is not one of those books.

Whitney: Yeah, the folks in It’s All Greek To Me are living the good life. 

Morgan: Hero Iakovos Papaioannou (and isn’t that a mouthful?) is a captain of industry. He’s making business deals with all of the most important people in the world, he’s so handsome he could be a model and, oh yeah, he is the world’s fifth most eligible bachelor. 

Whitney: And let’s not forget that he is, in the words of heroine Eglantine, “a gazzilionare”.

Morgan: The heroine, who goes by “Harry” (which is understandable because, really, who wants to be known as Eglantine), has it pretty cozy as well. She’s a bestselling author and because she can work from anywhere, an impromptu trip to Greece in order to act as a manager for a teen band is all in a day’s work for her.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Wandering Eye: Romance Characters Who Commit Adultery

BY Dawn Crowne, DECEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

The first romance I ever remember reading with a cheating heroine/hero was Jane Eyre. While plain, oh-so-shy Jane was falling in love with Rochester, he was hiding a deep, dark secret in the attic. His wife. Many readers are able to overlook the fact that Rochester was a cheater, and almost bigamist, but I just couldn’t stop thinking about how unfair this situation was to his wife. After all, we only know his side of it. Rochester said she was crazy, but perhaps she was just mad because she was imprisoned while her husband went after a younger woman. And in the end, Jane and Rochester get their happily ever after and Bertha gets killed in a fire.

When I later transitioned to reading modern romance novels, I realized that a cheating hero was pretty much par for the course, especially for books set in the Regency when many men kept mistresses. Readers see it again and again in books like Private Arrangements by Sherry Thomas, The Marriage Bed by Laura Lee Guhrke, Your Wicked Ways by Eloisa James, Prince of Dreams by Lisa Kleypas, and many, many others. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Critiquing The Newly Released Harlequin Selection App - Updated 12/28

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Do you have a difficult time keeping up with Harlequin’s newest releases? Can’t remember if this month it’s The Tycoon’s Troublesome Mistress or The Secretary’s Secret Babies that you were dying to read? Now there’s an app for that. ReadBooks, the online e-book retailer, has just created the Harlequin Selection App. Specially designed for iPhones, iPads and iPod touches, readers can download this free app for instant answers to their Harlequin new release questions. Today I am critiquing all of the application’s functions, using the iPad version of the app, to reveal what's great — and what’s not — about this handy new tool from ReadBooks.

 

THE FEATURES

New Releases Section


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hot Heroes With Great Hands: Carla Cassidy On Tool Belt Defender — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Women certainly love men who are good with their hands. At least this is true of the heroine in Carla Cassidy's latest Lawmen of Black Rock novel, Tool Belt Defender. Brittany Grayson didn't know she'd be getting more than a carpenter when she hired hunky Alex Crawford, but she's certainly not complaining about it. Today, the author shares an insider's look at her new suspense-filled series romance and chats about her inspiration for this story — her own handyman husband. And don't miss your chance to win your own copy of Tool Belt Defender at the end of this post!

Every heroine wants a hot, handsome hero in her bed and there’s nothing wrong with that, but how capable is that hero when he crawls out from under the sheets? 

When I started writing Tool Belt Defender, I knew I didn’t want my hero to be a cop or a military man. I wanted more of an ordinary man. Oh, he definitely had to be hot and a man with great hands…hands that could accomplish things besides caress the heroine with sweet seduction. My hero, Alex Crawford is handsome, sexy and a carpenter. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
46COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST