RT Daily Blog

Giveaway: The White Queen DVD

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

 

No one writes historical fiction quite like Philippa Gregory, so when we heard Starz and the BBC were going to adapt her 2009 novel The White Queen for television, we may have done a happy dance. We'll never tell. With royal drama, steamy kisses and Max Irons, this adaptation has a lot going for it. See for yourself:

 

Unfortunately, not everybody has cable and could catch the Golden Globe-nominated miniseries when it aired on Starz last summer. But fear not, because we have four sets of the complete series on DVD to giveaway!

FIll out the nifty Rafflecopter widget below to enter! This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only and ends next Friday! Good luck! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hunting for Pirate Treasure With Carla Neggers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ahoy, mateys! Are you at your computer, but daydreaming of embarking on an exciting adventure, like maybe a treasure hunt? Today we’re talking pirate treasure with Carla Neggers, whose latest contemporary romance, Cider Brook, makes a return to picturesque Knight’s Bridge, where Samantha Bennett is back to atone for her mistakes and search for some 18th-century pirate treasure. (There is also a sexy firefighter hero.) Today Carla’s with us to share some treasure hunting secrets, so you’re prepared the next time you run into Johnny Depp. Oh, sorry, that was our daydream. Take it away, Carla!

My heroine Samantha can’t resist the lure of pirates and treasure, and neither can I. I’ve always been fascinated by pirates. Now we have the discovery of the wrecks of sunken pirate ships—like “Black Sam” Bellamy’s Whydah off Cape Cod—that tell more about the real men (and the occasional woman) who turned to this illegal activity and often paid with their lives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tessa Dare Spent The Night In A Haunted Castle (And Survived!)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Authors! They’ve got just about the best job going, right? To wit, for Tessa Dare’s latest Top Pick! rated Romancing the Duke, she traveled to England to stay in a haunted castle. By herself. And then she told us all about it. Take it away, Tessa!

Ghosts aren’t real.

That’s my general belief, anyway. Considering the number of people who have lived and died on this planet, it would seem to me that if ghosts were real, we would be tripping over them everywhere. They would have been seen by a great many more people, and they would find some better way to communicate than shuffling footsteps, clanking chains and the occasional woo-woo noise. So I don’t really think ghosts are real.

However, I am not ashamed to admit that I am deeply afraid of being proven wrong.

When I was beginning my research for Romancing the Duke, I knew my heroine, Izzy, was going to inherit a cold, creepy, reportedly haunted castle in Northumberland. So naturally, I knew I would need to visit a cold, creepy, reportedly haunted castle in Northumberland — and, if possible, spend the night.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Real Life Romance: Kate Meader's Fairytale Love Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

In case you couldn't tell, we love a good swoon-worthy romance. And while some of the best ones are fictional, every so often we hear a real life story that just knocks us off our feet. Today author Kate Meader shares the fantastic tale of how she sealed the deal with her hubs, because who better to write romance than someone with a great story of her own?

In Feel the Heat, the first book in my sizzling contemporary series Hot in the Kitchen, we meet the DeLucas—a slightly dysfunctional, not-so-typical Italian family of Chicago restaurateurs. These people would rather eat their problems instead of talk about them and it takes a sexy British chef some time to convince an Italian girl unused to being the center of attention that she’s worthy of a great passion. Euro-U.S. relations for the win! And not unlike my own story…


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Jennifer Haymore's One Night with an Earl (AKA We Want Those Shoes)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for a cover reveal? We've got a great one for you today, for Jennifer Haymore's upcoming novella, "One Night with an Earl", which will be out April 1. 

Before we get to the goods, let's go to the back cover copy!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ride Cross Country with Laura Drake

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ever driven cross country — on a motorcycle? Why not come along today as Laura Drake takes us on the back of her hog to experience small-town America, which she writes about in her latest, Nothing Sweeter. Ready to hit the road? Take it away, Laura!

Laura on her red BMW R100M named Elvis

I ride a motorcycle. A lot. I rode 100,000 miles behind my husband before learning to ride my own. I’ve since logged 100,000 miles on my two: A red BMW R100M named Elvis, and a bumblebee yellow BMW R1100 named, Sting.

Camping in Utah with a motorcycle camping trailer

I’m so grateful for our motorcycles, because through our trips, I’ve gotten to know the small Western towns in my books’ settings. I could have traveled to all these places in a car. But in a car we generally tend to Go Somewhere. On the bike, we didn’t go looking for them; we happened upon most of the above places on our way to somewhere else. And I wouldn’t trade those memories for anything! Like:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Sherryl Woods takes us Home to Seaview Key

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Is it cold where you are? Because it’s awfully chilly here at RT HQ. So if you’re looking to escape the freezing temps as much as we are — or if you’re lucky enough to live somewhere tropical, in which case, we are super jealous — come along with us on today’s excerpt escape! Because Sherryl Woods is taking us Home to Seaview Key, her latest Top Pick! rated romance. Want to take a peek as divorcee Abby and paramedic Seth get to know each other? Read on!

Whether he was merely to serve as a buffer to keep the gathering on an even keel or whether dinner was a setup for him and Abby, Seth was surprisingly eager for Luke and Hannah’s dinner party. It had been a long time since he’d taken such care getting ready for an evening out. Apparently his time had been well spent.

“You look great,” Hannah said, grinning when she greeted him at the door. “I love your aftershave.”

Seth flinched, fighting a desire to run home for a shower. “Too much?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Kristen Ashley's Motorcycle Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

We made it! The weekend is just about here! (We won't tell anyone if you sneak out early … ) To celebrate bidding adieu to a week that was awfully cold and snowy here at RT HQ, we've got a great giveaway for you: Kristen Ashley's Motorcylce Man!

… are you still reading? Or did you already enter? KA's fans are legion, we know, and Motorcycle Man, out next Tuesday, is as awesome as the rest. The latest in her Dream Man series, Motorcycle Man has mega-alpha Tack finally meeting his match in Tyra. Ready to watch her wrangle him — in and out of bed? Then enter to win one of five copies below! Winners will be announced next Monday, just in time for Motorcycle Man to hit shelves.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sabrina Jeffries Tells Us: Royal Gems I Covet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, shiny baubles. Whether you’re ogling Jennifer Aniston’s eight-carat diamond (or, yannow, her fiancé’s abs) or just the sparkler on your own hand, there’s something about jewelry, isn’t there? Which is why Sabrina Jeffries’s latest heroine, diamond jeweler Isabella Cale, so caught our attention in the RT Top Pick! When the Rogue Returns. Sabrina’s here today to tell about the prettiest royal gems she covets.  

Even though I gave the profession of diamond jeweler to my heroine in my second book in my Duke’s Men series, I’m not actually that fond of diamonds (I prefer colored gemstones). But it’s hard not to love this sweet little crown of Queen Victoria’s, which I first saw at the Tower of London’s crown jewels exhibit.

Victoria had it made because the larger crown was so heavy that it plagued her with headaches. She also wanted to wear it over her mourning veil, and, unlike colored stones, diamonds could be worn for mourning back then. Of course, “small” doesn’t mean quite the same thing to a Royal—this darling crown contains 1187 diamonds!


Read More>>

Tags: Historical Romance, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Historical Overview: January

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let’s be honest: nicknames are rather awesome. We have “McDreamy” and “McSteamy” from Grey’s Anatomy, “Kitten” from Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Lux series — and this month’s historical recommendations offer up even more epic monikers. While browsing through our favorite picks, think of an awesome nickname for your RT Web Team, because we’re feeling left out!

To start things off, Alison DeLaine makes a sensational debut with A Gentleman ‘Til Midnight, in which Lady Katherine Kinloch is not just any ordinary lady — she’s also known as Corsair Kate, an infamous sea captain. Between trying to save her family’s estate and rejoicing in her hard-won freedom, Katherine manages to save a man from the sea. Captain James Warre doesn’t realize his savior is the same woman he helped capture. When he does, he assumes a new identity as the two struggle to fight off mutual attraction.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST