RT Daily Blog

Woman Considers Moving Back To Small Hometown, Realizes She Made The Right Decision In Leaving

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

Kristen Manning, 30, returned to her small hometown of Petunia Springs, Montana, only to realize that she was better off living in San Jose, where she’s resided for the past 10 years.

“I came back to visit my sister, Amanda, who was pregnant with twins. And I thought maybe I could reconnect with some old friends, especially … Russ Dannings.”

But Russ isn’t the same as Kristen remembers. “Time has not been kind to Russ. He has a huge beer gut now and still smokes, which was kinda hot in high school, but not anymore. I swung by to visit the gas station where he still works, and saw him through the service station window, sitting behind the counter picking his nose. I got the hell out of there before I could see if he ate his boogers or not.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cowboy Confesses He Knew About “Secret Twins” All Along

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

Montana rancher Brant Hubbard, 32, has confessed he knew he was the father of his now-wife Amanda Manning’s twin daughters months before they were born. “I acted surprised when I found out, but, I mean, Petunia Springs has a population of 1,500. My best friend’s dad is the town doctor. And Amanda’s pretty thin, so it was obvious soon enough that she got pregnant right after sleeping with me.”

The couple met in high school, where they dated briefly but broke up over a misunderstanding right before Amanda left for college. “I saw him hanging out under the bleachers with Tiffany LeDuke, and I knew what that meant, so I up and left early for school,” Amanda explained.

Brant, who runs his family’s cattle ranch, has always been hurt by Amanda’s sudden departure. “She left without saying goodbye. Good thing I had Tiffany to keep me company that summer.”  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: March 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists at The New York Times, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords to put together our picks of the bestselling self-published titles of the month. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Just to Be With You by Bella Andre

Genre: Contemporary romance

Release Date: March 2014 

The Story: If you haven’t already discovered Bella’s amazing Sullivan series, now is as good a time as any to get on board!

Just to Be With You stars powerful CEO Ian Sullivan, who’s kicking butt at life — except for, you know, those pesky personal relationships. Enter smoking hot actress Tatiana, who’s been waiting for her one true love. She thinks Ian is it. Ian has other ideas …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Four Friends By Robyn Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

A photo of Robyn Carr next to a poster of her book, Four Friends

This week we had the pleasure of attending a lunch to celebrate Robyn Carr's mainstream women's fiction novel, Four Friends. If you haven't had the pleasure of meeting Robyn and you get the chance to chat her up, do it because she is absolutely charming and hilarious. Reviewer M.H. Morrison loved Carr's latest novel, saying: "Moving from her usual small-town setting to the suburbs hasn’t changed the full-bodied life Carr brings to this cast of mature women on the cusp of transformation." If you're intrigued, we've got four paperback copies to give away! This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only and you can enter using the widget below. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vicky Dreiling's Bloopers From What A Reckless Rogue Needs

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Getting a book ready to publish is a team effort — just ask the editors! Today author Vicky Dreiling shares a peek at the book's bloopers, errors her editor caught in the first draft of her latest historical romance What A Reckless Rogue Needs. Thankfully Forever romance editor Michele Bidelspach was able to offer the author constructive — as well as amusing — feedback.

I’m really excited about What A Reckless Rogue Needs, Book two in my Sinful Scoundrels series. In book one, What A Wicked Earl Wants, I confessed that I occasionally make some rather interesting errors. Fortunately, my editor Michele Bidelspach has a great eye for spotting some of my accidental bloopers with stage direction. I like to think this is because I’m so riveted by the story that I’m carried away by my own prose. This is particularly true while I’m writing sensual scenes. I can see it all in my head. The perfect setting with candles, a cheery fire, and of course—a bed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far … Brenda Novak Takes us to Whiskey Creek

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a good small-town romance, which is why we’re always excited to spend some more time in Brenda Novak’s Whiskey Creek. This week she’s got a new title out, RT Top Pick! Come Home to Me. We figured this was the perfect time to get up to speed on all the Whiskey Creek happenings. And so Brenda tells us, The Story so Far …

The cover of When Lightening Strikes

When Lightning Strikes: In the first full-length book, we don’t start out in Whiskey Creek. We start with Gail DeMarco, who’s left Whiskey Creek to make it in the big city. She owns a PR firm in Los Angeles where she’s accumulated a roster of A-list clients, including the biggest box office hit of all—Simon O’Neal. But Simon is so busy self-destructing he won’t listen to anything she says. So she drops him—and he retaliates by taking the rest of her clients with him. Desperate, Gail makes a deal with Simon. The one thing he wants is custody of his son. In order to achieve that, he needs to marry some squeaky-clean girl who’ll drag him off to a small, obscure place like Whiskey Creek …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces The 2014 RITA Award Finalists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Today Romance Writers of America announced the 2014 RITA Award finalists — a fantastic selection of romance authors and titles. We’re pleased to bring you a colorful visual of all the 2014 RITA awards finalists. The winners will be announced at the end of July, at the RWA Annual Conference in San Antonio.

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Eloisa James Gives Five Tips For Surviving Your First Conference Presentation

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

You probably already love Eloisa James for her awesome, fun historical romances — her latest, RT Top Pick! Three Weeks with Lady X, is out this week — but did you also know she’s amazing at presenting conference workshops? It’s true! Your RT Web Team are unabashed fans. As the RT Convention and our time in NOLA quickly approaches, we asked Eloisa for some tips for all you first-time presenters prepping your workshops now. Take it away, Eloisa!

The cover of Three Weeks with lady X

Writers are famously solitary by nature, but these days, even the most hermit-like of authors must force herself out of the cave. Authors need a platform, a presence on the internet and at conferences. Giving a presentation can be frightening, but with the right preparation, it can also be lots of fun and result in a burst of enthusiastic readers. Here are my five tips for acing your workshop.

1. Figure out what you know.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Take a Roman Holiday with Ruthie Knox: The Finale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, dear readers. It's finally here. The finale to contemporary romance star Ruthie Knox's serialization, Roman Holiday. We'll be honest, the three-month break between halves was tough. (We recapped the first half, starting here.) As romance fans, we want our HEA, and we want it now. Having to wait several months, while we read a bunch of other great books, made us forget why we loved Ashley, why we wanted Roman to come out of his shell. But we're happy to report that once the second half of Roman Holiday gets rolling (pun intended, and also, it's being released in one big chunk, so no more waiting, yay!), it's a really lovely, wonderful romance. How much did we like it? Let us count the ways!

The Cover of Roman Holiday: The Adventure Continues

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Into the Archives with Kristan Higgins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the mood for a fun and flirty contemporary romance? (This is us every day.) Good news, there’s a new Kristan Higgins romance out this week, Waiting on You! Kristin’s written so many great romances, we forced her to pick her top five favorites. We apologize to your ever-growing TBR pile. Ready to go … Into the Archives … with Kristan? Let’s do it!

The cover of Too Good to be True

1. Too Good To Be True

What I love about Too Good is the commitment Grace has to her imaginary boyfriend. Oh, come on! We’ve all done it! But Grace really goes the extra mile, especially when the gorgeous ex-con moves in next door. 

2. My One and Only

The title says it all—Harper and Nick are made for each other, no matter how much they have may have screwed things up way back when. These two circle each other like feral cats, and I absolutely adore their razor-sharp, lightning-fast dialogue.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST