RT Daily Blog

RWA's 2012 RITA and Golden Hearts Contest Now Open!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance Writers of America’s 2012 RITA and Golden Heart contests are now accepting entries. These awards for published and unpublished authors, respectively, honor the best works of fiction created over the last year. These are some of the most prestigious fiction awards and are always coveted. The contest is open to all authors, both aspiring and published, as long as they meet the guidelines. Both the RITA and Golden Heart contests are held in two rounds, a preliminary round and a final round. Each contest is open to the first 1,200 entrants who are eligible and submit their entries and fees on time. To help you figure out if entering in the contest is right for you, we’ve broken the information down by how to enter into either contest.

***

Are you a published author? If so, your novel or novella may be eligible to win this year’s RITA contest. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Reunited Lovers We Can't Wait To Read About!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

All week long we've celebrated reunion romances, sharing some of our recent favorites, chatting with authors and more. Sadly, today we will be wrapping up our coverage, but there's a silver lining. We're leaving you with a look at some of our most-anticipated upcoming couples that get reunited, and it feels so good.


 

The Heart of a Killer
By Jaci Burton
Release Date: October 2011

 
Twelve years ago teenage sweethearts Dante Renaldi and Anna Pallino said goodbye to eachother. But now the ex-Special Forces agent and police detective are thrown back together when a copycat criminal tries to recreate a vicious attack that Anna barley survived as a teen. Can Dante's training help him protect the woman he's never stopped loving?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get The Look: Jeannie Lin's The Dragon And The Pearl

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jeannie Lin is one of those rare authors who is able to transport her readers into another time. I just finished her most recent series romance, The Dragon and the Pearl, and was utterly captivated by the tale's unusual setting, ancient China. This is a beautiful story about two people involved in the political upheavals of warring emperors and governors. When Suyin, a former royal courtesan, is caught in the middle of the fighting, she is captured/rescued by powerful warlord Li Tao. The two engage in an intricate dance between lies and truth, never fully trusting each other.

Lin's plot and characters are unique to their time, as are the cultural references made throughout the story. After readers "visit" the Tang Dynasty in The Dragon and the Pearl, I thought that they might want to bring some of the Asian influence into their own lives. So I have picked out a few modern pieces to share, my selections inspired from quotes from the text.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Reunion Romances: Find Out Why We Love To Read Them And Authors Love To Write Them

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

We’ve been celebrating reunited lovers all week long on the RT Daily Blog, sharing some of our favorite books and investigating some of this month’s new releases that feature reunion romances. But what actually makes these stories so near to our hearts? Today we’ll share our views and get the scoop from five authors whose tales of love lost and found have us swooning!

RT’s Morgan loves reading this type of story because, “there is an instant back story created when characters reunite. If a hero and heroine are meeting for the first time, the pacing in some stories can stretch a readers’ belief that they will rush into a relationship. But if the hero and heroine have a past together, the story moves along at a much more natural pace.”

RT’s Whitney is always happy to pick up a tale of reunited lovers because, “It’s like the ultimate happy ending. Even when it seems like a relationship is over, done, dead in the ground, love conquers all and brings the couple back together. And frequently, the relationship is better for everyone the second time around, characters are older, wiser and often more careful with their loved one’s heart!”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Once And Again By Lauren Dane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are featuring reunited lovers on the RT Daily Blog all week long. So for the Dish we picked Lauren Dane’s newly released e-book of love lost and found, Once And Again. Find out why this novel hit the New York Times bestseller list as we take an in-depth look at this contemporary romance.

Morgan: Okay, so I know we have to be careful not to confuse writers with their characters, but in this case I think I am totally justified to say that Lauren Dane is very much like her heroine Lily Travis in Once And Again.

Whitney: In the pictures I’ve seen of the author, she does wear some awesomely vintage clothes from the ‘50s. She certainly has Lily’s “classic pin-up” era style going for her. 

Morgan: There is definitely this, but Lauren also shares Lily’s no-nonsense attitude. Both of these ladies are strong and self-sufficient. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Sylvia Day On The Reunited Lovers In Her New Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week as we feature "reunion romances" on the RT Daily Blog, bestselling author Sylvia Day stops by to chat about her latest pair of reunited lovers, historical couple that is hoping to find their happily ever after the second time around in this month's Seven Years to Sin. For the first time in years, Sylvia Day has returned to her historical romance roots, creating a tale of passion and adventure set in the 1800s. Discover what tore this pair of young lovers apart and why this book is the longest that Day has ever written when the author sits down with RT's Morgan Doremus.

Sylvia Day Chats Reunited Lovers >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Loveswept Revisited: Morgan, Whitney and Elisa Dish About Three Re-Released Classics

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Earlier this summer, Random House re-started its iconic romances line Loveswept as a digital-only imprint, releasing e-book versions of previously published titles from the '80s and '90s. The publisher was proud to announce, “we haven’t changed a word of the original text or updated them in any way.” Good idea or bad idea? We wanted to know, so the web team each picked out a re-released book (priced right between $2.99 and $4.99) and got to reading. Here’s our Dish on what we thought about how well three Loveswept favorites stood the test of time. (Warning, there are spoilers ahead!) 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Power Of Love Resonates In September's Harlequin Medical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Love gives medical professionals the strength to overcome emotional challenges in this month's Harlequin Medical Romances. Readers will meet four couples who are stronger together than they ever could be apart — if only they can trust each other enough to take that leap of faith. 

Italian Doctor, No Strings Attached 
By Kate Hardy

Dr. Sydney Collins is both physically and emotionally scarred, and her ex's insensitivity left her hesitant to get involved with another man — even the sexy Italian Dr. Marco Ranieri. It is up to this dashing European doctor to convince Sydney that she is everything he's ever wanted!

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Carla Neggers Talks Saint's Gate

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Carla Neggers is kicking off her new series with Saint's Gate. Get an insider's look at heroine Emma Stone, a nun turned FBI agent, and then discover how the author's family inspired the focus on art in this novel. There's all this and more when RT's Morgan Doremus interviews Carla Neggers — including how the next book in this series will be unlike anything the author has ever written!

Carla Neggers On Saint's Gate And Beyond! >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elizabeth Jennings On Darkness At Dawn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's rare that a book gets rated a Top Pick Gold, the highest possible RT BOOK REVIEWS rating. So we knew that Elizabeth Jenning's Darkness at Dawn was an extremely special story. Today Jennings gives readers an insider look at the Lucy Merrit, the heroine who must overcome the ghosts of her past in this thrilling romantic suspense.

The heroine of Darkness at Dawn, Lucy Merritt, is a manuscript restorer. I gave her this job on purpose.

I spent most of my formative years in Florence, Italy. Florence is not only a spectacularly beautiful city but it is a city uniquely dedicated to art. UNESCO estimates that half of humanity’s art works are in Italy, and half of those in Florence. Think of it—one relatively small city containing a quarter of humanity’s art output!

Of course much of the artwork is old and fragile, so one of the major industries in Florence is art restoration. Many of my friends were art restorers and my mother worked at an American graduate school of fine arts specializing in restoration. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST