RT Daily Blog

Unusual Occupations For October's Harlequin Historical Romance Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

In October Harlequin introduces readers to several historical heroines with unusual occupations. From a brothel's accountant to a nobleman's page, this month's female protagonists are not your average leading ladies. But will their unlikely jobs help them find love? 

 

The Captain's Forbidden Miss
By Margaret McPhee

Gwyneth McCloud is a lady-in-waiting to the widowed Mary Queen of Scots. It is during Gwyneth's time as part of the royal court that she meets Rowan, Lord of Lachraven, the new advisor to the queen. Although Gwyneth and Rowan disagree on many fronts, will their loyalty to Mary's family help bring these two together?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Bad Boys Do By Victoria Dahl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last month, Morgan and Whitney Dished about Victoria Dahl’s contemporary romance series starter Good Girls Don't. They are back this week for series second Bad Boys Do. For this installment, readers return to the Donovan Brother’s Brewery to see if the family’s black sheep, Jamie, will be able to find his happily ever after. 

Morgan: I will admit I went into this book ready to dislike Jamie Donovan. In Good Girls Don’t, he’s described as such a player — I mean, he ruined his brother’s business deal by sleeping with the client! That kind of behavior is a huge turn-off for me.

Whitney: You know, I felt the same when I started this story, but Dahl totally turns the situation around for me. 

Morgan: By illustrating the motivations behind Jamie’s past bad behavior, the author does a great job of making him a multi-dimensional character. 

Whitney: It’s great how Dahl shows both sides of him — he is both a fun loving, kind-of ladies’ man and a dedicated business owner. And while Jamie’s passion for the family run brewery comes through, I admit I am most interested in his charm! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The October 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online.

So which novel won the October 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: Readers will meet a hunky vet and several adorable animals in this smalltown contemporary romance!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harlequin Authors Get Inspired By Real-Life Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month you can help Harlequin recognize important real-life heroines who are improving their communities by participating in Harlequin’s More Than Words contest.

For this contest, readers, Harlequin staffers and the general public nominated hundreds of special women who dedicate themselves to helping others. The nominees were each evaluated on how they inspire those around them to contribute to their communities. 

Now it is up to you to vote for the woman you feel is the biggest inspiration. Three winners that will each receive $15,000 towards a selected charity. These women will also be the inspiration for the heroines in Harlequin’s eighth annual More Than Words anthology, penned by some of the biggest names in the romance genre. 

MEET THE FINALISTS:


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susanna Kearsley On The Setting For The Rose Garden — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
31COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dueling Trend: Sham Marriages In Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month three new historical romances feature couples pretending to be husband and wife. This got us to thinking, which of these situations rings most true? So to judge these "sham marriages" we decided on three criteria: what is the motivation for the fake marriage, how permanent is it and what's the true Happily Ever After-potential of the marriage. Find out how these three novels stack up and which one comes out on top!

Meet the Contestants:

Always a Temptress
By Eileen Dreyer 

Major Sir Harry Lidge plans to kidnap Lady Kate Seaton on the orders of his government. He certainly never planned on pretending to be her husband, but that is just what the situation calls for when he must help free her from an asylum where her evil brother has stashed her.

Read the Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October's Harlequin Medical Romances Are Heating Up The Operating Room

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Lust turns into something more serious for the medical professionals in this month's Harlequin Medical Romances. Readers won't need medical training to diagnose these four cases of love in the operating room!

Tempted by Dr. Daisy
By Caroline Anderson

Dr. Ben is new in town and is trying to focus on building a better relationship with his daughter. But he can't stop himself from falling in love with the delicious Dr. Daisy. However, Daisy's been burned by love before — can Ben convince her that together they can have a happily ever after?

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Talking Titles: Harlequin's New Trend

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

The Multi-Millionaire’s Virgin Mistress, The Infamous Italian’s Secret Baby, The Virgin Secretary’s Impossible Boss, The Secret Mistress Arrangement, other than a whole lot of secrets, mistresses and virgins, what do all of these book titles have in common? You won’t be seeing any upcoming Harlequin series romances with this type of of title. Recently the behemoth romance publisher has moved away from the racier, giggle-inducing types of names they’ve used for years, in order to showcase these books in a different light. To find out more about this shift in titles, I contacted several series romance authors and asked them the process they went through in order to name their recent books. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan and Whitney Dish: Unclaimed By Courtney Milan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we are Dishing about Courtney Milan’s latest historical romance, Unclaimed. A twist on the playboy hero and innocent heroine, Milan’s Sir Mark Turner is known for his chastity, while Jessica Farleigh is an experienced courtesan. Interested in this role reversal, we decided to dig deep and see if Jessica’s reputation could be redeemed or if she instead would jeopardize Mark’s standing in society.

Morgan: I’ve definitely never gone looking for a book with a courtesan heroine before, but I am so glad that we picked up Courtney Milan’s newest. It is very different from other historical tales because of the great characters. 

Whitney: This is actually the second book that I have read this month with a “worldly” heroine, the other being Suzanne Enoch’s upcoming A Beginner’s Guide to Rakes. I really appreciate how Milan and Enoch’s heroines have a bit more edge to them, then say, a debutante fresh out of the schoolroom. These ladies know what they want and are going to do whatever it takes to reach their goals. 

Morgan: Well, in Unclaimed, Jessica certainly isn’t going to let anything stand in the way of getting out of “the biz”.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA's 2012 RITA and Golden Hearts Contest Now Open!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance Writers of America’s 2012 RITA and Golden Heart contests are now accepting entries. These awards for published and unpublished authors, respectively, honor the best works of fiction created over the last year. These are some of the most prestigious fiction awards and are always coveted. The contest is open to all authors, both aspiring and published, as long as they meet the guidelines. Both the RITA and Golden Heart contests are held in two rounds, a preliminary round and a final round. Each contest is open to the first 1,200 entrants who are eligible and submit their entries and fees on time. To help you figure out if entering in the contest is right for you, we’ve broken the information down by how to enter into either contest.

***

Are you a published author? If so, your novel or novella may be eligible to win this year’s RITA contest. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST