RT Daily Blog

Nalini Singh's Lord Of The Abyss - A True Beauty And The Beast Tale

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

My favorite scene from a Disney movie is at the end of Beauty and the Beast when the curse is lifted and the beast is transformed back to his true self. Belle takes one look at the handsome prince, doesn’t recognize him and she starts to turn away. But then their gazes meet and Belle knows she is indeed looking into the eyes of her one true love. 

Honestly, I’ve always been amazed that such a romantic scene takes place in a film that also stars a singing teapot and dancing candlestick.

Although it is only a cartoon, Beauty and the Beast captures one of the most enduring of all human needs — to be loved for your inner beauty rather than outward appearance. It can be difficult enough to try to recognize the person you are suppose to be with, adding a disfigurement on top of that just makes finding true love that much more challenging.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take A Coffee Break With Sandra Brown

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's nothing quite like sitting down with a Sandra Brown novel. You know that you are in for a fast-paced, intriguing ride. Today we sit down for a "coffee break" with the author for a special look at her latest romantic suspense, Lethal, her Loveswept reissues and what fans can expect next!

***

Lethal seems more romantic suspense-y than your recent thrillers, is there a reason you’ve gone more romantic in this outing?

The situation in this story lent itself to more sexual tension, and I was glad, because that’s my favorite thing to read as well as to write. It was the perfect “storm” of two people being co-dependent but unhappy about it. They’re also forced by circumstances to stay in each other’s company within close quarters. Add to that the mutual attraction, the forbidden aspect of the union, and it’s a classic set up for combustion.

Looking back on your illustrious career, what book from your past do your fans clamor for a return to? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: How To Make Author Amanda Usen's Sweet And Sour Peanut Sauce

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK
In the latest issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, RT's Faygie Levy and Stephanie Klose investigate some of the recipes featured in recent romance novels in the feature "Cook The Books". In that article, you can check out the sweet and savory recipes from love stories by authors Toni Blake, Louisa Edwards, Robin Kaye and more. And as an extra special treat, today we are bringing you the Sweet and Sour Peanut sauce recipe that goes along with Usen's "Scrumptious Thai Pot Stickers" that make an appearance in the author's debut novel Scrumptious, before the book hits shelves in January!

Sweet and Sour Peanut Sauce

1 cup rice wine vinegar

1 cup sugar

2 tablespoons soy sauce

Sriracha or hot chili sauce, to taste


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Making Of A Romance Cover With Elizabeth Hoyt

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're always excited to get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into the creation of our favorite books. (It's no secret that some of us are guilty of judging a book by its cover.) So today, we're bringing you footage from the photo shoot for Scandalous Desires, the newest historical romance novel by author Elizabeth Hoyt.

After seeing this video, we went straight to Elizabeth Hoyt to get her take on the process behind designing the cover for her latest Maiden Lane novel — and what she has planned for the covers of future books!

***

What is your favorite part about the cover of Scandalous Desires?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Unusual Occupations For October's Harlequin Historical Romance Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

In October Harlequin introduces readers to several historical heroines with unusual occupations. From a brothel's accountant to a nobleman's page, this month's female protagonists are not your average leading ladies. But will their unlikely jobs help them find love? 

 

The Captain's Forbidden Miss
By Margaret McPhee

Gwyneth McCloud is a lady-in-waiting to the widowed Mary Queen of Scots. It is during Gwyneth's time as part of the royal court that she meets Rowan, Lord of Lachraven, the new advisor to the queen. Although Gwyneth and Rowan disagree on many fronts, will their loyalty to Mary's family help bring these two together?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Bad Boys Do By Victoria Dahl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last month, Morgan and Whitney Dished about Victoria Dahl’s contemporary romance series starter Good Girls Don't. They are back this week for series second Bad Boys Do. For this installment, readers return to the Donovan Brother’s Brewery to see if the family’s black sheep, Jamie, will be able to find his happily ever after. 

Morgan: I will admit I went into this book ready to dislike Jamie Donovan. In Good Girls Don’t, he’s described as such a player — I mean, he ruined his brother’s business deal by sleeping with the client! That kind of behavior is a huge turn-off for me.

Whitney: You know, I felt the same when I started this story, but Dahl totally turns the situation around for me. 

Morgan: By illustrating the motivations behind Jamie’s past bad behavior, the author does a great job of making him a multi-dimensional character. 

Whitney: It’s great how Dahl shows both sides of him — he is both a fun loving, kind-of ladies’ man and a dedicated business owner. And while Jamie’s passion for the family run brewery comes through, I admit I am most interested in his charm! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The October 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online.

So which novel won the October 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: Readers will meet a hunky vet and several adorable animals in this smalltown contemporary romance!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harlequin Authors Get Inspired By Real-Life Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month you can help Harlequin recognize important real-life heroines who are improving their communities by participating in Harlequin’s More Than Words contest.

For this contest, readers, Harlequin staffers and the general public nominated hundreds of special women who dedicate themselves to helping others. The nominees were each evaluated on how they inspire those around them to contribute to their communities. 

Now it is up to you to vote for the woman you feel is the biggest inspiration. Three winners that will each receive $15,000 towards a selected charity. These women will also be the inspiration for the heroines in Harlequin’s eighth annual More Than Words anthology, penned by some of the biggest names in the romance genre. 

MEET THE FINALISTS:


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susanna Kearsley On The Setting For The Rose Garden — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
31COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dueling Trend: Sham Marriages In Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month three new historical romances feature couples pretending to be husband and wife. This got us to thinking, which of these situations rings most true? So to judge these "sham marriages" we decided on three criteria: what is the motivation for the fake marriage, how permanent is it and what's the true Happily Ever After-potential of the marriage. Find out how these three novels stack up and which one comes out on top!

Meet the Contestants:

Always a Temptress
By Eileen Dreyer 

Major Sir Harry Lidge plans to kidnap Lady Kate Seaton on the orders of his government. He certainly never planned on pretending to be her husband, but that is just what the situation calls for when he must help free her from an asylum where her evil brother has stashed her.

Read the Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST