RT Daily Blog

Alice In Wonderland Vs. Gena Showalter's Lord Of The Vampires

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month begins the not-to-be-missed Harlequin Nocturne mini-series, Royal House of Shadows. These four books bring together a dream team of paranormal authors, and follow royal siblings who must fight to regain their kingdoms. During the next four months, authors Jill Monroe, Jessica Andersen, Gena Showalter and Nalini Singh will each release a Nocturne story that is loosely based on their chosen fairy tale.

Up first is Showalter’s Lord of the Vampires, a dark, sexy take on Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Now, if you are anything like me, you might be wondering just how close the author stuck to her inspiration. So today I've broken it down for you. In the left column we have Alice's Adventures in in Wonderland. Originally published in 1865 by Lewis Carroll, the tale has stood the test of time and has dozens of films and other related projects. And in the right column is Showalter’s Lord of the Vampires publishing today with hopes of hitting bestseller lists everywhere. Let's see how the two tales stack up:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go Behind The Scenes With Turn It Up Author Inez Kelley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT's Morgan Doremus got sucked into the drama of Inez Kelley 's new steamy contemporary romance, Turn it Up. She raved, "Readers are sure to love this battle of wills between two very determined people." So, wanting to share the love for this frank and funny new tale, Morgan sat down with the author herself to take readers behind the scenes of Turn it Up

***

At the very beginning of the novel, you have your hero confessing his undying love for the heroine — and then you still have over 300 pages left to go in the book. Generally romances are about getting to the big L word, but yours starts there. Bold choice.

Maybe. But it was what came to me. And although Bastian and Charlie platonically loved each other, I wrote the story of their accepting and embracing a romantic love and believing in each other.

Your plot is a friends-to-lovers scenario. What first made Bastian know that he wanted Charlie for his friend and vice versa? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Psychics Prey On Bestselling Author

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Jude Deveraux was among those swindled by the Florida-based group of self-proclaimed psychics arrested early last week. The Orlando Sentinel reports that the Marks family ran this scheme for over two decades, bilking people of  approximately $40 million since 1991. Victims of the Marks family “psychics” were allegedly told that if they didn’t follow the Marks’ advice, they and their loved ones would be in danger.

It is estimated that Deveraux paid the Marks close to $20 million over the course of several years, and even considered Rose Marks to be a friend. Deveraux lost her adopted son in a motorcycle accident several years ago. However, Marks apparently told Deveraux that the boy was “somewhere between heaven and hell.”  

Prosecutors say that if Rose Marks is convicted of the charges against her, she could spend as many as 27 years behind bars. 

To learn more about this heartbreaking story, click here >>


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Happy Birthday Georgette Heyer E-Book Sale!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week marks the 109 birthday of author Georgette Heyer. Although almost four decades have passed since her death, the English author remains beloved around the world for her brilliant and intriguing novels. She is undeniably one of the foremost trailblazers of the romance genre. Heyer is best known for her historical romances and mysteries, but she also wrote contemporaries, historical fiction and short stories.

To honor her amazing talent we've come up with a list of three facts that all readers should know about her:

1) Heyer published her first novel The Black Moth in the year 1921 — when she was just 19 years old!

2) Heyer was always lauded for her historical accuracy, and wrote with incredible historical detail even while she and her husband were living in Africa and Macedonia. Once they returned to England she published a mystery and a historical romance each year between 1934 and 1941

3) Heyer wrote up until her death in 1974. Her final book My Lord John was published posthumously — she had intended it to be the start of a new trilogy. She wrote for over five decades and during that time published fifty-six full-length novels and several more short stories.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Too Hot To Touch Hero Chef Max Lunden Shares An Exotic Summertime Recipe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Craving a respite from your boring dinner routine? Today chef Max Lunden, the hero of Louisa Edwards' new contemporary romance Too Hot To Touch, shares an exotic — and refreshing — summer recipe to help spice up your evening.

Namaste, boys and girls! My name is Max Lunden. I’ve traveled the world, tasted a lot of exotic dishes, and learned to cook some crazy stuff…but nothing I saw out there in the wilds of South America or the mountains of Japan prepared me for what happened when I finally went back home to New York.

Not only did my family need my help to enter the Rising Star Chef competition—and let’s not even get into my issues with my family! Hello, there was a good reason I left home in the first place—but not everyone at my parents’ restaurant was excited to see me.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love Conquers All In Regency England

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Two penniless misses meet their match in Regency England in this month's Harlequin Historicals. Although both Helene and Beatrice are worried about their futures, things may not be so bleak after they've won the attention of Max and Julius. But will these relationships be able to survive the challenges ahead?

In An Innocent Debutant in Hanover Square by Anne Herries, the well-mannered miss Helene Henderson worries that the venerable Lord Maximus Coleridge will feel he can not marry her after he learns of her lower class heritage. However, it turns out that there are much more dangerous problems stalking Max — he's in the crosshairs of an assassin! But this handsome lord won't let anything, not questionable lineage or life-threatening incidents, keep him away from the woman who has stolen his heart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debbie Macomber’s Youngest Son Dale Passed Away On August 9

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

It is with profound sadness that we report that bestselling author Debbie Macomber’s youngest son Dale, passed away on August 9. Our thoughts and prayers are with Debbie and her family at this most difficult time. Dale Macomber passed away on August 9. His older brother Ted wrote a poignant obituary for Dale, which you can read here.

The family will have a memorial service for Dale on Tuesday morning in Port Orchard, Washington. Those who wish to express their condolences can make a donation to Special Olympics Washington in lieu of flowers. The family decided that as Dale always cared for those with special needs, this would be a wonderful tribute to his memory. The Special Olympics Washington can be contacted at their website here or via postal mail at 1809 7th Ave Ste 1509, Seattle, WA 98101.

To send Debbie Macomber and her family messages of condolence, you can visit the author’s website to sign her guest book or you can send your thoughts via postal mail to P.O. Box 1458 Port Orchard, WA, 98366.

To share your own memories of Dale, you can visit the memorial Facebook page, “Remembering Dale Macomber” here.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Family Upheaval Rocks Four Tales In The Harlequin Medical Romance Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

In this month's Harlequin Medical Romances, readers will find cases of intense family upheaval that have left lasting emotional scars. These men and women have been through loss and now struggle with serious issues in their relationships. So will these men and women be able to overcome the challenges that stand in the way of living happily ever after?

 

The Doctor and the Runaway Heiress 
By Marion Lennox

Dr Riley Chase has just found out that the eighteen-year-old daughter he didn't know he had is also an expectant mother. Can Riley's budding relationship with nurse — and heiress — Pippa Fotheringham survive this new revelation?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Christy Reece

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fan favorite author Christy Reece is a master of the romantic suspense genre. Readers just can't get enough of her Last Chance Rescue series, which follows a team of private contractors who help recover kidnapping victims. You can get a special look at the newest Last Chance trilogy in the September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. And today the author chats with RT's Morgan about how she came to write romantic suspense novels, this month's Last Chance Rescue mini-series starter, Sweet Justice, and why she's so interested in tales of reunited lovers!

Christy Reece Talks "Reunion Romances" >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Author Interview With Lynn Kurland - With Reader Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are focusing on time travel romances all week long on the RT site and we knew that our spotlight would not be complete without author Lynn Kurland. She has been writing these stories in different incarnations for the past fifteen years, and has moved from historical romance to the fantasy genre and back with her tales of characters that transcend both space and time. So today we caught up with Lynn Kurland to pick her brain about what it really means to write time travel tales!

***

Why a time travel romance? What is it about your characters being out of time and place that appeals to you?

For me, time travels are the ultimate fish-out-of-water stories. I think having characters completely out of their comfort zone forces them to confront things they might not otherwise, which hopefully makes for a good story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST