RT Daily Blog

Debbie Macomber’s Youngest Son Dale Passed Away On August 9

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

It is with profound sadness that we report that bestselling author Debbie Macomber’s youngest son Dale, passed away on August 9. Our thoughts and prayers are with Debbie and her family at this most difficult time. Dale Macomber passed away on August 9. His older brother Ted wrote a poignant obituary for Dale, which you can read here.

The family will have a memorial service for Dale on Tuesday morning in Port Orchard, Washington. Those who wish to express their condolences can make a donation to Special Olympics Washington in lieu of flowers. The family decided that as Dale always cared for those with special needs, this would be a wonderful tribute to his memory. The Special Olympics Washington can be contacted at their website here or via postal mail at 1809 7th Ave Ste 1509, Seattle, WA 98101.

To send Debbie Macomber and her family messages of condolence, you can visit the author’s website to sign her guest book or you can send your thoughts via postal mail to P.O. Box 1458 Port Orchard, WA, 98366.

To share your own memories of Dale, you can visit the memorial Facebook page, “Remembering Dale Macomber” here.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Family Upheaval Rocks Four Tales In The Harlequin Medical Romance Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

In this month's Harlequin Medical Romances, readers will find cases of intense family upheaval that have left lasting emotional scars. These men and women have been through loss and now struggle with serious issues in their relationships. So will these men and women be able to overcome the challenges that stand in the way of living happily ever after?

 

The Doctor and the Runaway Heiress 
By Marion Lennox

Dr Riley Chase has just found out that the eighteen-year-old daughter he didn't know he had is also an expectant mother. Can Riley's budding relationship with nurse — and heiress — Pippa Fotheringham survive this new revelation?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Christy Reece

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fan favorite author Christy Reece is a master of the romantic suspense genre. Readers just can't get enough of her Last Chance Rescue series, which follows a team of private contractors who help recover kidnapping victims. You can get a special look at the newest Last Chance trilogy in the September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. And today the author chats with RT's Morgan about how she came to write romantic suspense novels, this month's Last Chance Rescue mini-series starter, Sweet Justice, and why she's so interested in tales of reunited lovers!

Christy Reece Talks "Reunion Romances" >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Author Interview With Lynn Kurland - With Reader Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are focusing on time travel romances all week long on the RT site and we knew that our spotlight would not be complete without author Lynn Kurland. She has been writing these stories in different incarnations for the past fifteen years, and has moved from historical romance to the fantasy genre and back with her tales of characters that transcend both space and time. So today we caught up with Lynn Kurland to pick her brain about what it really means to write time travel tales!

***

Why a time travel romance? What is it about your characters being out of time and place that appeals to you?

For me, time travels are the ultimate fish-out-of-water stories. I think having characters completely out of their comfort zone forces them to confront things they might not otherwise, which hopefully makes for a good story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Jude Deveraux Answers Our Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are spotlighting time travel all week long and as you learned yesterday one of the web team's favorite time travel authors is Jude Deveraux. Although Whitney and Morgan can't decide which is a their number one travel tale, A Knight in Shining Armor and Remembrance top both of their lists for the must-read that they always suggest to readers looking to test the time travel waters. So it only makes sense to start our round of author interviews with the talent who got us hooked on this type of novel. Today we host an author interview with the incomparable Jude Deveraux!

***

A Knight in Shining Armor was first published in 1990 and has been in print ever since. What do you think it is about this story that continues to capture readers' imaginations?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Brian O'Reilly

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Brian O'Reilly

Book: Angelina's Bachelors

Genre: Contemporary Romance/Mainstream Fiction

Current Home: We live in the Greater Delaware Valley. It’s a great place to live (and my lifelong home, excepting short spurts in California and just outside NYC), within striking distance of great cities, museums, parks, and mountains, even an ocean. And home is where the kitchen is.

Career (in addition to writing): I’ve been a producer for about 25 years, and most recently, I was the creator and an executive producer of Dinner: Impossible on Food Network. I do some writing for political campaigns across the country and I’m currently developing a number of TV projects while working on a second “Novel with Food.”

Favorite Word: Beer. I think it’s one of the richest, most varied, friendliest words in the language, especially when paired with the interrogatory punctuation mark: “Beer?” I also love the word “slake,” as in “Come and slake your thirst, my friend.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spotlight On Time Travel Tales

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Whitney and I both love tales of time travel. So when better than the dog days of summer to feature stories about people coming and going across time? All this week we will be taking readers behind the scenes with some of our favorite time travel author aficionados and then we will share a look at what’s ahead for fans to anticipate! But we also wanted to do a bit of time traveling ourselves, so we decided to rewind to a few weeks ago to give you an insider's look at the conversation we had that prompted our spotlight on time travel romances ...

(Out the blue) Morgan: You know what book I love — Jude Deveraux’s A Knight in Shining ArmorIt is one of those stories that every romance fan should read at least once. 

Whitney: Time travel romance is hard to pull off, but Deveraux is a master. Another one of hers that really stands out for me is her reincarnation story Remembrance

Morgan: Let's spotlight time travel on the site! And we can choose our favorites to share.

Whitney: I call Remembrance! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Catch Up With Rachael Herron About A Life In Stitches

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

We adore the fresh voice of author Rachael Herron. (More than one RT Editor can't get over Rachael's contemporary western romances How to Knit a Love Song and How To Knit A Heart Back Home.) So we were thrilled to hear that she has just published a non-fiction read, A Life in Stitches. The memoir will give readers a look inside of Rachael's life as an author, 911 dispatcher and the creator of the popular blog Yarnagogo.

You can get a taste of the memoir with an excerpt in the September issue of Ladies' Home Journal, which is in stores now.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Do You Turn A Spy Into A Diplomat? Donna MacMeans' Redeeming the Rogue Heroine Has The Answers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Donna MacMeans' new historical novel Redeeming the Rogue is an August RT Top Pick. The novel follows English Lady Arianne Chambers who undertakes an unusual mission for her government, transforming spy Michael Rafferty into a man who could convince the world that he is a proper diplomat! We knew we needed to get the inside story on how Lady Arianne Chambers worked her magic. But we never expected the answer we got ... 

Good Morning. While it’s not considered proper to introduce oneself, I suppose under the circumstances it is necessary. Sometimes we all must sacrifice propriety when faced with the prospect of not otherwise achieving our goals. I know I did.

My name is Lady Arianne Chambers, sister to the Duke of Bedford. I’ve recently been commissioned by Lord Henderson to teach the finer points of international etiquette and in effect, mold, if you will, an Irish guttersnipe of a rogue named Michael Rafferty, so that he might catch the murderer of my good friend the British minister in Washington D.C.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
29COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Michelle Diener

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Michelle Diener

Book: In a Treacherous Court

Current Home: Western Australia.

Favorite Word: Prolific. :)

Author Icons: I think I have too many to choose. No one author stands out as being my inspiration. I've read and absorbed so many books through my life, it would be impossible. Authors that stand out to me? Salman Rushdie, Iain M. Banks, A.S. Byatt, Barbara Kingsolver, Terry Pratchett, Dick Francis, Mary Stewart. But if I thought about it even a few minutes more, I'd come up with another ten.

Inspiration for writing: I can't really say whether I just always was a storyteller, or my early and deep love of reading started me off. All I know is, I wanted to write from the moment I actually COULD write at age 5 or so.

Writing Trick: If I'm stuck, I'll change the room I'm working in. Sometimes I'll work outside on the patio, or move from my study to the lounge. And I switch off the Internet. That seems to help my productivity a lot. :)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST