RT Daily Blog

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Readers Get Racy At An Explicit Game Of Purple Prose Taboo Game

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Some romances are sweet, some are spicy, and a few authors walk the fine line between the two. But in today's Purple Prose Taboo game the focus was on the graphic language that takes a steamy relationship to the next level. Authors Victoria Dahl, Tessa Dare and Courtney Milan are all known for their titillating sex scenes in their romance novels. But today they were put on the spot as they led readers in an explicit version of the popular board game Taboo. The room was filled with laughter as authors challenged readers to "guess that purple prose!"


While the fun was going on, we got a chance to chat with the authors about what inspired them to host this workshop and what exactly qualifies as 'purple prose'. 

*READER WARNING* some of their answers are NSFW (not safe for work) and include graphic sexual language.

***

Victoria Dahl got us started ...


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Keeping Your Historical Romances Fresh

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

This afternoon historical romance writers (and a sprinkling of readers, too) got a treat with the workshop "Tackling Historical Realities in Today's Historicals". Captained by Renee Bernard, the panel was also made up of Victoria Alexander, Cheryl Holt, Julianne MacLean and Sophia Nash. From the glittering ball rooms of the ton to the harsh beauty of the highlands, all five of these authors are renowned for bringing their historical romances to life with detailed settings and characters who act according to the social norms of the time. 

We were thrilled to be able to catch up with Captain Renee Bernard for a quick chat about what inspired her (and her band of merry authors) to create this workshop:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Allie Pleiter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Allie Pleiter is known for her inspirational romances. This month her Steeple Hill Love Inspired Historical romance, Yukon Wedding releases. Today the author chats with her editor Krista Stroever and RT's Morgan Doremus about her new novel and what fans can expect next.

Allie Pleiter On Yukon Wedding And Other Projects In The Works >>

Allie Pleiter Talks About Writing Series Romance For Harlequin >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Than Words: A Moving Romance Anthology

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

It is always wonderful to hear about women making positive changes in their communities. Mix this charity work with sweet romance and you get this month's Harlequin anthology More Than Words Volume 7. For this book, contemporary romance authors Carly Phillips, Donna Hill and Jill Shalvis teamed up to write love stories inspired by real life heroines who work to better others' lives. We were so enamored with this great collection of stories that we asked the authors to tell us a little bit more about their characters and the work they do.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Cheryl Ann Smith

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Cheryl Ann Smith 

Book: The School for Brides 

Age: 40-ish 

Current Home: SE Michigan 

Author Icon: My favorite book is Shanna, so Kathleen Woodiwiss. 

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: 8-10 full manuscripts and many, many partials.

Time it took to sell first book: This book took only a couple of months to sell once my agent read the finished manuscript and submitted it to editors. But I’ve been writing for about 16 years.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Inside Look At Gaelen Foley's Inferno Club Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Gaelen Foley's historical romance series third, My Irresistible Earl is an April RT Top Pick! Today, the author gives us a guided tour of the popular establishment that her new hero is part of, The Inferno Club. But readers be warned — all is not as it seems for these members of the English peerage.

The Inferno Club is a raucous, decadent gentleman’s club that is actually a front for a spy ring in service to the Crown. What makes my dark and sexy spy guys different than every other Regency spy ring on the market today is that rather than being attached to the Foreign Office, my heroes are members of an ancient secret chivalric order, the Order of St. Michael the Archangel, that was founded during the Crusades. The Order does not fight an ordinary enemy, but an evil, centuries-old secret society of highborn conspirators that have infiltrated every court in Europe, modeled on the Illuminati.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Elizabeth Boyle's Lord Langley Is Back In Town

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Elizabeth Boyle's upcoming historical romance novel, Lord Langley is Back in Town. We go beyond the back cover blurb to find out what readers can expect from the latest in this author's Regency-era series.

***

Meet Lord Langley, my elusive hero of Lord Langley is Back in Town. Readers first “met” him in This Rake of Mine as the devil-may-care diplomat father of Felicity and Tally Langley. I say “met” because until now, Lord Langley has never set foot on the page, making him all that much more of an enigma.
 
But I couldn’t shake the one known fact about Lord Langley: he’s a seducer of the first order—a real lady killer--having claimed the hearts of duchesses and princesses and ladies from one side of Europe to the other. He needed a strong woman who could match him witty retort for witty retort, outwit him at every turn, and most of all, harbored just as many secrets as he did.
 
And then came Minerva Sterling, one of the Standon widows, and I realized I’d had the perfect heroine for him all along. This is one of the mysteries of writing—when you look at the page one day and realize you’ve unintentionally written the perfect heroine for your rake-in-waiting. Here was a woman with secrets—Big Secrets—and Langley is just the sort of man who could uncover them—since that’s exactly what he’s been doing for the Foreign Office all these years—seducing ladies to uncover secrets of state.
 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Katharine Ashe Talks Pirates With The Hero Of Her New Novel Captured By A Rogue Lord

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Katharine Ashe's new take on a pirate romance, Captured by a Rogue Lord, got a Top Pick! Now she shares a look at what a pirate’s day might actually be like.

Since for my “Rogues of the Sea” Regency trilogy I did quite a lot of research on pirates, I decided to write a little piece about a typical day in the life of a buccaneer. The trouble was that as I wrote it, Alex Savege, the hero of Captured by a Rogue Lord, kept adding his observations. Here I offer you the result, a rakish earl’s commentary on the life of a pirate. 

A pirate’s day follows the sun, commencing at dawn when he stowes his hammock. This is no great hardship, as he often sleeps fore in the sea-tossed gundeck where the bow’s pitch is severe, jammed between crewmates who haven’t bathed in weeks. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harlequin's Series Books Reunites Lovers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin is reuniting lovers in three of its series books. Authors Beth Kery, Kate Walker and Katherine Garbera each take on stories of couples that spent time apart only to find each other again for their happily-ever-afters. Always ready to root for true love, we went to the authors to learn more about what tore these couples apart and how they found their way back together again.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Making Of The Anthology It Happened One Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Authors never seem to run out of plots to write about. But it's rare for readers to get a look behind the curtain to see this magic take place. And in even fewer instances, do we get a chance to actually impact the stories that authors create. However, the upcoming historical romance anthology It Happened One Season is the result of four authors taking a reader's idea and running with it.

Authors Stephanie Laurens, Mary Balogh, Jacquie D'Alessandro and Candice Hern have teamed up before. In their 2008 anthology, It Happened One Night, the authors all used the same plot points to write four very different stories. For their new anthology their publisher, Avon, set up a competition where readers submitted the criteria that each of the authors would use in their novellas. After a long process that involved both the authors as well as their fans, reader Phyllis Post's ideas were given to Laurens, Balogh, D'Alessandro and Hern to each see what type of story they would craft. Here were the guidelines they were given:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST