RT Daily Blog

Trend Watch: Mild Romance Is Hot, Hot, Hot!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite things about reading romance is the wide range of stories that fall under the genre. And that’s certainly the case when it comes to the spice, sizzle and steam factor of these stories. These days many authors are writing tales that are hot, hot, hot — the erotic romance sub-genre has exploded and even contemporary romances are skewing towards the fuego. But where does a romance reader go for a story that sweet not scorching? Today we chat about books that don’t skimp on the romance, but prove that sometimes less is more when it comes to the bedroom scenes.

Physical intimacy is an important part of a romantic relationship, but it’s not always something that needs to be seen on the page. This month Hester Browne’s novel, Swept off her Feet has RT’s B. Nakia Garner saying, “It is refreshing to see a book focus more on the idea of romance as opposed to actual romantic overtures.” Not having explicit sexual scenes on the page can give authors a chance to focus more on the development of the relationship a la the romance classics, Austen and Bronte.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Return To The Black Hills By Debra Salonen

BY MORGAN, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week, Whitney and I Dish about Debra Salonen's series romance Return to the Black Hills.

Morgan: I picked this week’s Dish book because the heroine is a Parkour expert. Ever since I watched the chase scene in Casino Royale with Daniel Craig, I have loved this sport.

Whitney: It’s pretty amazing and has definitely gained popularity in the past few years.

Morgan: For those unfamiliar, Parkour is all about moving through an urban space as fast as you can, but instead of going around obstacles, you use them to go faster. So you wouldn’t go around a fence, you would climb to the top and do a flip to the other side.

Whitney: If you YouTube “Parkour advertisement” you can see some really cool stunts! (But YouTubers be warned, that’s hours of good reading time that might slip down the drain.)

Morgan: I think Jessie’s Parkour really added a great physical aspect to the story. Debra Salonen could have just made her an adrenaline junkie, but by adding Jessie’s training to the mix, we see her as an athlete.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Jacquie D'Alessandro's Summer at Seaside Cove

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Jacquie D'Alessandro's upcoming novel, Summer at Seaside Cove. We go beyond the back cover blurb for a special look at this contemporary romance, which the author explains is very different from anything else she has ever written. 

***

First, I’d like to thank RT for giving me the opportunity to give readers a Sneak Peek at my upcoming book, Summer at Seaside Cove. It’s my first contemporary mainstream novel, and I’m so excited about it! All my previous contemporary stories have been either short, category length books or novellas that, because of their tight word count, have focused solely on the romance between the hero and heroine. While Summer at Seaside Cove is at its heart a romance, it’s also a multi-generational story, exploring the intricacies and difficulties of the heroine’s relationships with her mother, sister, and teenage niece. So, while it’s a romance, there’s also a lot more going on. I like to call it Romance--But More. 
 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meg Maguire (AKA Cara McKenna) On The Difference Between Writing Romance And Erotica

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Meg Maguire impressed us with her Harlequin Blaze debut, Caught on Camera. The tale overflows with witty banter between the heroine and hero, who take a chance on their chemistry to turn a work relationship into something much more. Today Maguire, best known for the erotic romances she writes as Cara McKenna, gives us an inside look at her series romance and reveals the challenges of writing across genres. 

Thanks so much for having me today!

For those who haven’t heard of me—which is nearly everyone—I actively write contemporary romance, as well as erotica (under the name Cara McKenna). When I was invited to post, I was asked to talk about the differences I encounter, writing in my two genres. My romances are rather steamy and explicit, so on the surface the differences may not seem so great, aside from the obvious—the numbers of bodies rolling around and the particular bedroom shenanigans they get up to. But the differences run quite a bit deeper than that. The main genre rift for me is all about the external conflict, or lack thereof.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Harper And Erin Quinn On Writing Irish Characters - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! We celebrating the holiday with a very special interview. Karen Harper and Erin Quinn two of our favorite authors who bring the Emerald Isle to life in fiction with their Ireland-set tales! And don’t miss your chance to win Karen Harper’s The Irish Princess and an ADVANCED READER COPY of Erin Quinn’s Haunting Desire at the end of this interview

***

Both of you are obviously attracted to Ireland as a setting for your historicals. What drew you to use Ireland, other, perhaps, than Irish descent?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
28COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: What I Did For A Duke By Julie Anne Long

BY MORGAN, MARCH 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week, Whitney and I Dish about Julie Anne Long's historical romance What I Did For A Duke.

Whitney: As many of you know I am a fiend for historical romances. I have a few stock authors who I always keep my eyes open for when I head to the bookstore and Julie Anne Long is absolutely on that list. But time — and my reading allowance — being what it is, I’ve only read one of her previous five Pennyroyal Green stories. (As many might remember, I raved for months about Violet, the heroine of Long’s July novel, I Kissed An Earl.)

Morgan: And while Whitney has definitely mentioned Julie Anne Long before, What I Did For A Duke is my first time reading the author. And I don’t know why historical romance authors always do this to me, but I can't help but compare them to other authors. I would say that my first foray into a Long book made me immediately think of all the usual suspects: Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, Liz Carlyle, Sophie Jordan ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Then and Now: Jane Feather

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK
 

Jane Feather then ...

 
 
... and now. 

Beloved historical romance author Jane Feather is known for her sweeping dramas and dark heroes. Feather began publishing books back in 1984, writing contemporary romances for two years as Claudia Bishop before she released her first historical romance as Jane Feather in 1986. Over the course of twenty five years the author has written thirty seven novels and her works have been included in several anthologies. Today we chat with this bestselling author about how the romance genre, and her writing, has evolved since she debuted on the scene.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Anna Campbell's Midnight's Wild Passion

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Anna Campbell's upcoming novel, Midnight's Wild Passion. For this book Campbell puts her own spin on the Cinderella story. No we go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at this new historical romance which will hit bookstores in April.

***

Rakes, Duels, Balls, House Parties, Elopements - Oh, My! 

My latest historical romance, Midnight’s Wild Passion, goes on sale April 26th. It’s my sixth book for Avon and it’s the closest I’ve come to writing a classic Regency romance like the wonderful Georgette Heyers I grew up reading. As you’ve probably gathered from the heading, classic elements abound in this story! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
35COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fiona McArthur On Her Newly Released Harlequin Medical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fiona McArthur is one of the series romance authors whose March Harlequin Medical Romance is getting a *Web Exclusive Review*. Today she stops by to chat about what fans can expect from her latest tale, Midwife, Mother ... Italian's Wife.

Hi, I'm Fiona McArthur and I write for HMB Medicals Romance, and I'm a midwife.

Leon Bonmarito is my favourite hero so far. But I’m not going to rave about a sexy Italian widower who didn’t know he had a sense of humour until he found Lyrebird Lake, or about Tammy, a feisty, independent midwife and mother who doesn’t need a man to try and run her life.

Instead, Morgan’s asked me to talk about my core theme, and that’s women being there for women. Or Midwifery.

It’s not money that drives the world, it’s babies and their promise for the future, and women are the ones that are in charge of birth. Did I confuse you? Doctors are in charge of sick people and sometimes we forget birth is a normal event not an illness.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Men Writing Romance: An Interview With Series Romance Author Wayne Jordan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we interview series romance author Wayne Jordan. Jordan has been praised for his relatable characters and skill at pacing his stories. Now he shares his perspective on what it means to be a man writing romance novels.

***

What type of romance do you write? I write series/category romance for Harlequin’s African-American line, Kimani Romance.

When did you first get published as a romance author? My first book, Capture the Sunrise, was published in November 2005 as part of the Arabesque line published by BET Books. Ironically, Harlequin purchased BET Book in the December of that year so I automatically became a Harlequin author. Devon Vaughn Archer and I were the first two male authors for that line and the then editor, Demetria Lucas, wanted us to write under our own names. Fortunately, the editorial committee agreed. Our first books, came out in a 2-in-1 volume called Slow Motion.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST