RT Daily Blog

Magazine Extras: Cowboy Comments!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

In May, we ran a feature on contemporary cowboys and asked readers to tell us what they love about modern-day cowpokes. The incentive? A pack of western love stories by series and single-title authors! Now that the hunk-filled movie, Cowboys and Aliens, is coming to theaters this weekend, we want to share the comments from our contest winners (and a few runners-up).

WINNING REMARKS:

What I love about contemporary cowboys is that they bring back a feeling of foundation, strength, something that in my day-to-day life feels so rushed and washed out. Reading about contemporary cowboys reminds me to slow down, choose my battles and to be strong in the face of adversity. Most of all, it reminds me that at the end of the day, love and honor are what I want to sleep with.

- Dulcie B.

I love modern-day cowboys because they are the last real men in America and our last link to our adventurous past.

- Riccarla R.

I love modern-day cowboys because they still follow a code of honor.

- Laura P.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Kindle Or $100 Worth Of E-Books!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

No matter how much cash there is in our wallets, there’s never enough money in the budget for all of the books we want to buy. So we were over the moon to hear about the giveaway over at PrizesforReaders.com. A group of authors who write Harlequin Intrigues, as well as independently published stories have come together to offer readers a chance to win $100 worth of e-books or a Kindle. That’s right, they are giving away a Kindle.

The authors involved include RT’s December 2010 Seal of Excellence winning author B.J. Daniels, the talented Julie Miller, HelenKay Dimon and many more and signing up for your chance to win is as easy as entering your email and selecting which prize you’d rather win.

But remember the last day to enter the contest is July 31 — so head on over and enter today!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Nicole Peeler And Rachael Herron Talk Urban Fantasy And Contemporary Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Urban fantasy and contemporary romance seem to be on the opposite ends of the genre spectrum. But today authors Nicole Peeler, whose latest urban fantasy, Eye of the Tempest, hits stores this week, and Rachael Herron, who is currently working on her third contemporary romance, chat about how the hidden similarities in their work. Don't miss this intriguing discussion about the way that the themes of female empowerment and sexual exploration resonate through these very different tales!

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Unmatchmaking in Nicola Cornick's Notorious

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Nicola Cornick introduces readers to a very unusual heroine in this month's Notorious. Most Regency misses are hoping to find their perfect match, but Susanna Burney has made a reputation for her self as an un-matchmaker. Today the author stops by to chat about her heroine and reveals which famous historical couples Susanna would like to break up!

Susanna, the heroine of my August Regency historical, Notorious, has a very unusual profession. She is a match breaker rather than a matchmaker! She is paid by wealthy parents to break up unsuitable couples, to save an heiress from a fortune hunter perhaps, or to distract an impressionable young man from marrying an adventuress.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Insecure Heroes And Heroines Risk Their Hearts In This Month's Harlequin Historical Romances!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin introduces readers to four historical characters who must overcome insecurities. From the desserts of Arabia and the wilds of the Scottish highlands to glittering Regency ballrooms, can these troubled men and women overcome their fears to find their happily ever afters?

 

The Governess and the Sheikh
By Marguerite Kaye

Regency lady Cassandra Armstrong was burned by love when her fiance deserted her at the alter. Determined to never fall pray to the foolish emotion again, she travels to Arabia to accept a position as a governess. But when sparks begin to fly with her charge's father, Prince Jamil al-Nazarri, can this widower convince Cassandra that he truly loves her?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love Heals In July's Harlequin Medical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Dark and troubled pasts haunt the characters of all four of this month’s Harlequin Medical Romances. These men and women have lost people they’ve loved, suffered from abuse and endured traumas that have soured them on romance. But this month these medical professionals will only get their happily ever afters if they are able to overcome their pasts!

 

When One Night Isn't Enough 
By Wendy S. Marcus

Nurse Allison was a troubled teen who looked for love in all the wrong places. Although she is all grown up, her promiscuous past behavior has her convinced that she can never be in a healthy relationship. Will Doctor Jared be able to change her mind?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Cowboy Craze

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

We told you all about the current cowboy craze in contemporary romance with the article "Love, American Style" in the May issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine. RT's Managing Editor Liz French went in-depth to learn why cowboys are making a comeback, and along the way she got a chance to chat with some of our favorite authors including Linda Lael Miller and Kimberly Kaye Terry about their handsome horse-riding heroes. So we were thrilled to find out that today's PopWatch on the Entertainment Weekly website is all about the cowboy heroes who are in stores now. You can read the EW post here and, in case you missed article about contemporary cowboys click here!


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Mary Balogh Talks About The Secret Mistress and what's coming next!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Beloved author Mary Balogh writes sweeping Regency Romances that feature stories about all aspects of life during the era. This month, the author is treating readers to a prequel to one of her most popular series, the Mistress books, with this story about the sister of the original Mistress heroes, Angeline, and the man who wins her heart. Get all the details about The Secret Mistress and then don't miss your chance to find out what's coming next from this talented historical romance author.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: With this July’s The Secret Mistress you give your popular Mistress series a prequel, what prompted you to go back to the beginning?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Congratulations To Author Shannon Stacey And Her Publisher Carina Press

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've just learned that author Shannon Stacey has hit the New York Times Bestseller List with her latest contemporary romance Yours to Keep. This is the first e-book from by Carina Press to make the list since the Harlequin digital-first imprint began publishing books a little bit more than a year ago.

The author's two latest e-books, Yours to Keep and Undeniably Yours both received ratings of four and a half stars from RT's Kate Girard. Says our reviewer, "It is always a joy to spend time with the extended Kowalski family. And this contemporary tale is full of the love (and requisite family high jinks) that readers have come to expect from Shannon Stacey."

Want more Shannon Stacey? Check out our reviews of the books below and visit Carina Press to pick up your own copies!

 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Beg For Mercy By Jami Alden

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Jami Alden's new romantic suspense Beg for Mercy, heroine Megan Flynn is racing against the ticking clock of her imprisoned brother’s execution date. Will she be able to convince Detective Cole Williams to reopen the case of a man he believes is guilty of a heinous crime?

Whitney: This is my favorite romantic suspense to come along in a while. The romantic relationship is so tortured, the killer is so evil, this was literally a story I did not want to put down.

Morgan: Agreed. Right now I am riding high on the whole resurgence great romantic suspense out there (waving at Maya Banks, Marie Force and Jayne Ann Krentz). And this has got to be, hands down, the best I’ve read in a long time. It was intensely thrilling, but the romance was still there — lurking behind every piece of dialogue, every action. 

Whitney: Beg for Mercy really did read like a return to the early days of romantic suspense. Fans of classic Kay Hooper, Linda Howard and Catherine Coulter novels will devour this tale. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST