RT Daily Blog

B.J. Daniels Is Publishing Her Out-Of-Print Short Stories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author B.J. Daniels is best known for writing about Whitehorse, Montana in her Harlequin’s Intrigue series romances. (She is also the first series romance author to ever receive an RT Seal of Excellence.) But readers are now able to see another side of the author with some early short stories that Daniels is re-releasing through Smashwords. This month "Dance With Me" and "The Snow Woman" were both released for only 99 cents each! We recommend you head over to download these, but first hear a bit more about these stories. 

RT BOOK REVIEWS: You have said that you chose two of your favorite short stories to publish. What is it about these two stories that makes them special to you? 


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: In-Depth With Historical Romance's Julia Quinn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week at BEA we have enjoyed spending time with some of our favorite authors from across the genre. But without a doubt one of the highlights of this convention is the time we spent interviewing historical romance's Julia Quinn. The author spoke candidly about June novel, Just Like Heaven, and shared exclusive details about the project she is working with fellow romance mavens Eloisa James and Connie Brockway as they team up for another not-quite-anthology to follow-up winter 2011's reader favorite, The Lady Most Likely ...

Julia Quinn On Her New Projects >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: Spotlight On Romance Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

This year some of our favorite romance authors from across the sub-genres are attending BEA. Today were able to chat with some fan-favorite authors to find out what it is about their newest heroes that will make readers swoon.

Rachel Vincent is excited about her paranormal September release Blood Bound. She says that readers will love Cam Caballero because he will do anything to be with his heroine and protect her. She also warns readers not to skip to the last page ... hmm, sounds like we are in for something exciting!

Elin Hilderbrand gave us a peek inside of her mainstream novel, Silver Girl, and told us that readers should expect to fall in love with the main hero of the story, because this handsome sailor spends his summers tooling around tropical waters. This laid-back hero has us dreaming of hot summer days and long summer nights!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Donovan And Celeste Bradley On Their Co-Written Novel A Courtesan's Guide To Getting Your Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month beloved romance authors Celeste Bradley and Susan Donovan team up to bring readers a very unusual tale of love. Their co-written novel, A Courtesan's Guide to Getting Your Man, is part historical and part contemporary, an RT Top Pick and sure to please. Today the authors chat about why their new novel is like nothing you have ever read before. From the intertwined chapters set in the past and present, to the way that the characters effect each other's lives and the scintillating historical scenes that Celeste Bradley calls her most racy yet, find out why you've got to check out this new novel!

Co-authors Bradley and Donovan chat about A Courtesan's Guide to Getting Your Man>>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bookselling and Back Again With Author Stefanie Sloane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Stefanie Sloane fell in love with romance novels while working for the largest online book retailer in the world. She eventually decided to use her newfound expertise at picking winning stories to write her own. Today she describes how she went from being an "Amazonian" to being a debut author with the release of the first book in her Regency Rogues trilogy The Devil in Disguise.

If you would have told me when I was in college that in the very near future, I was going to be intimately involved in the building of the most successful online bookseller in the world, I wouldn’t have believed you. First, because I had no idea what “online” meant. Second, because I was a college student and couldn’t see past the well-worn pages of my favorite Jane Austen novel. Third, really, no clue about the internet.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Ciji Ware Writes About Disaster - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today Ciji Ware gives readers an insider look at how she creates the disasters in her novels. And don't miss your chance to win your own copy of her newest novel, the historical fiction tale, A Race to Splendor!

“…Blindly Amelia inched along a floor pitching as violently as the deck of a boat in a midwinter storm. Her hands touched the threshold opening onto the ninth floor foyer at the instant the glass transom over her head exploded into a thousand pieces…She crumpled beneath the doorframe, curling into a ball…and screamed again as a twenty-five foot expanse of wood paneling and masonry pitched outward and plunged nine stories to Montgomery Street below. She knew that no structure on landfill, no matter how well built, could withstand much more shaking without collapsing. Then, just as suddenly, the convulsions subsided.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Life Imitates Art In Stephanie Bond's New Trilogy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

As author Stephanie Bond begins her new series of contemporary romance novels, she reflects on the destructive power of nature and the strength of the human heart to overcome any obstacle.

When I first proposed the idea for the Southern Roads trilogy that begins in June with Baby, Drive South where three brothers unite to rebuild their hometown that was destroyed by a tornado ten years previously, one of the questions that arose was whether readers would believe that a town would be so completely devastated that residents would literally abandon their property. At the time, it was a legitimate question. I layered in extenuating circumstances—the rural town of Sweetness, Georgia was already in a state of decline before the storm hit because its location in the North Georgia mountains meant it was cut off from the rest of the world, geographically and technologically. I also researched the type of storm it would take to reduce a town and outlying area to rubble.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Any Man Of Mine By Rachel Gibson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

The course of true love does not run smoothly in Rachel Gibson's newest novel, Any Man of Mine. Pro hockey player Sam LeClaire broke Autumn Haven’s heart when he left abruptly the morning after their quickie Vegas wedding. But their resulting child, Conner, is not an obligation that Sam is willing to walk away from, despite the fact that Autumn wants nothing to do with Sam. Will five years of growing up help these divorced parents bridge the difference between “I don’t” and “I do”?

Whitney: I am notorious around here for my love of Rachel Gibson. She is one of my favorite contemporary romance authors, up there with Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Jennifer Crusie and Susan Andersen. So when I saw this was releasing, I pretty much demanded we read it! 

Morgan: And while I have never read a Gibson before, I couldn’t wait to dive in as soon as I heard this was a sports-themed romance. Ever since SEP’s Chicago Stars series, I have loved these kinds of books. And I thought Gibson did a fantastic job with the scenes on the ice. The guys talking smack, the fights, the pure male testosterone. Good times. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Six Historical Tales Of Damsels In Distress From Harlequin

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

The handsome hero riding to my rescue, slaying a dragon, or untying me from train tracks ... it may not be realistic but it's certainly a nice fantasy. While I've got faith that I could eventually rescue myself from any of these situations — given some time and hopefully access to some power tools — occasionally it's nice to kick back and imagine a hero who wants to do the hard work for me. This month's Harlequin Historical romances bring this fantasy to life from the ballrooms of Regency England to the Wild Wild West, these are six tales of damsels in distress and the handsome men who come to their rescue — whether or not they need it!


 

Sir Ashley's Mettlesome Match
by Mary Nichols


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Ask Sarah Bower About Her Historical Fiction Novel Sins Of The House Of Borgia - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are really enjoying the new trend of controversial historical figures being featured on TV, such as Showtime's The Tudors and The Borgias. But we aren't just seeing this on screen, writers have also been delving into the lives of the rich and privileged. This month author Sarah Bower caught our attention with her latest historical fiction which was rated an RT Top Pick. Today we interview the author about her novel, Sins of the House of Borgia. And make sure to enter our giveaway to win Bower's book at the end of the interview!

*** 

Sins of the House of Borgia follows La Violante, who begins her life as Esther, a Jewish girl who becomes entangled in the Borgia court politics at her father’s insistence. Which of Esther’s character traits does her the most good in her new life, and which ends up being the most harmful?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST