RT Daily Blog

Lisa Hendrix On The Ten Worst Curses To Endure

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Lisa Hendrix's paranormal medieval historical romance, Immortal Champion, was rated a January RT Top Pick! RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin praised Hendrix's "talent for seamlessly blending magic, myth and romance." So it is no surprise that the Vikings of Hendrix Immortal Brotherhood series suffer from a curse that would make us give up all hope! Discover what this author considers to be the ten worst curses that can be cast on a man or beast.

In the early days of the Viking raids on England, one chieftain heard rumors of a great treasure, and he sent his best men to steal it. Unbeknownst to the raiders, however, the treasure was guarded by a powerful sorceress named Cwen, and when the warriors killed her son in the ensuing battle, she spun dark magic to curse them. She condemned them to live as were-beasts, changing back and forth between man and animal at dawn and dusk every day. And in her fury, she also made them immortal, so that their torment would go on and on...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Want To See More Of The Gilded Age!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

We wish there were more historical romances set in the Gilded Age. RT’s Lizzie Poteet gives readers a refresher of the era that was full of Robber Barons, fancy mansions and much more. Then Lizzie speaks with author Laura Lee Ghurke whose new novel, Wedding of the Season, is set during the period. And don’t miss your chance to read an excerpt of Wedding of the Season at the end of the post!

I love historical romances. But when I take a look at my bookshelf, I have the occasional medieval, a couple of Westerns, a shelf of Regencies and maybe even a few Civil War or Revolutionary era novels. I have a thousand and one historical novels, but there is one time period I don’t have: the Gilded Age. And really that’s quite a shame. The Gilded Age was an era of both opulence and destitution, the perfect setting for a romance novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Night Raven News Interview with Benemerut Neshi

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get an exclusive look at Janet Elizabeth Jones' new paranormal series romance, Incubus, as the powerful vampire known as the Alchemist, who transformed the novel's hero into an incubus, speaks to the host of Night Raven News.

Night Raven News: Welcome to another Night Raven News interview with the cast of Janet Elizabeth Jones' paranormal romance Incubus, new from Harlequin Nocturne. If you missed the first two interviews, you can find them here and here. As promised, Night Ravens, we've saved this very special, very elusive guest for last. Please welcome Benemerut Neshi, aka the Alchemist. 

In his human life, Ben was a physician in ancient Cairo. As a vampire, he's the closest thing to a druggist that vampires have, but his efforts to find a way to transform vampires into incubi and succubi have made him an outcast among his own people. It's a deadly process, and only one vampire, Meical Grabian, has survived it. Night Raven News wants to take a closer look at the vampire who made Meical's incredible, if perilous, transformation possible.

Ben, you don't look a day over twenty-five, but I've been told that you're the oldest and most powerful vampire in the New England enclave. 

The Alchemist: I fear it's a dubious distinction. One cannot claim to be the oldest and most powerful of any vampire society. We don't know exactly how many Ancients live on in this world, maintaining a dormant state to escape their intense hunger. That is a compassionate act on their part; if they were to wake, their need would be so extreme that neither human nor vampire would survive it. As for the New England enclave, I'm hardly considered a member of their family. I am, and always will be, an outlaw among them.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Strong Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's nothing quite like the joy of watching a feisty heroine get her guy in a historical romance. These rule-breaking ladies turn on the sass, outwit the obstacles in their paths and inspire us to turn up the can-do attitude in our own lives. So we were excited to hear that Sue-Ellen Welfonder's newest series is full of women who bring it all to the table. We went right to the author to find out what readers can expect in her newest batch of heroines.

I love strong heroines.

Courageous and resourceful women with enough fire in their blood and steel in their backbone to use wits and wiles to win a hero’s heart and also make a difference in the world they lived in.

My new Highland Warriors trilogy features my strongest ever heroines. In book one, Sins of a Highland Devil (GCP, Jan. 2011), Catriona MacDonald knows bloodshed alone won’t stop the feuding between her family and the two other clans who share a glen. The men see things differently, so this book has more fierce battle scenes than any story I’ve yet written.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Sabrina Jeffries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Historical author Sabrina Jeffries is known for her light-hearted Regency romps. But we can't get enough of the family that stars in Jeffries newest series, The Hellions of Hallstead Hall. The author recently sat down with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus to chat about the latest Hallstead Hellion, heroine Lady Minerva Sharpe, and her romance in How to Woo a Reluctantly Lady. Get all the details about this feisty heroine and learn what's coming next for these lovable hellions!

Sabrina Jeffries on Lady Minerva Sharpe >>

Discover what's next for the Hellions of Hallstead Hall >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Alix Rickloff's Earl Of Darkness

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Alix Rickloff combines two of our favorite genre in this month’s Earl of Darkness, a January RT Top Pick! This novel's inventive paranormal and historical elements has RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin praising the story as “a tangled tale of good and evil, magic and mystery, passion and desire — one that won’t be easily forgotten.” Check out a behind the scenes look at Rickloff’s inspiration and don’t miss the excerpt of Earl of Darkness at the end of the post.

“Where do you get your ideas?”

Every writer has been asked this, and, if they’re like me, they dread answering. I’d love to say, “Oh, I send $19.99 and receive a huge box of ideas in the mail. Any idea I’m not completely satisfied with, I can send back guaranteed.” 

If only it were that simple. 

But asking a writer how they come up with their stories is like asking a runner how they run so fast. Call it a gift or a talent or simply good luck, it just happens—without explanation.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Unique Jobs That Are Catching Our Eye In Series Romance!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the early days of series romances (just a few decades ago) heroines who were employed tended to work as secretaries, nurses and teachers. Today women hold jobs in all different sectors of the workforce and series romances certainly reflect this diversity. They work all around the globe and in a variety of fascinating careers. Get a special look at three of the January heroines whose unique occupations have us considering a job change!

 

Jane Harper, life coach in Because of Jane
by Lenora Worth


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

All I Know About Being a Romance Heroine I Learned from Powder Puff Football

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Then He Kissed Me, by Christie Ridgway, heroine Stephania (Stevie) Baci is the middle of three sisters and the tomboy of the family. On New Year’s Eve Stevie discovers it’s up to her to usher through the nuptials of her ex-boyfriend and his fiancée, scheduled to take place at her family’s winery at the end of the month. Below check out the author's special message about how Stevie copes with her problematic ex and how she puts her tomboy skills to good use when a new man enters into her life.

Stevie knows about powder puff football and poker games, not veils and wedding vows! And her ex kinda sorta broke her heart, not that she wants anyone to know about that. So she can’t refuse, nor can she get away from the bride’s older brother, a half-American, half-European playboy prince who can say “you’re beautiful” in five languages—and seduce her in two seconds flat. Stevie will have to rely on her experience on the playing field to figure out how to make it through her story… Below are Stevie’s Rules for surviving the man intent on winning her love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview with Jennifer Greene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jennifer Greene has been writing tales of romance since the early 1980s. In the past twenty years she has published over 80 novels under three different names, and is still going strong today! Not only is she nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice Award this year, Carina Press is re-releasing her early as e-books. Now RT’s Whitney Sullivan catches up with the author to get a unique perspective on the many ways the genre has evolved and get a special look at some of the re-releases from Carina Press that have received *Web Exclusive Reviews* on the RT site this season.  

Whitney Sullivan: Carina Press is re-releasing several of your best-selling stories from the eighties; which tale are you most excited to see back in reader’s hands? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Timely Trip Off The Beaten Path With Harlequin's Newest Regencies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Just after New Year's, Harlequin has us thinking about trips off the beaten path with two newly released Regency romances. Readers can visit Northumberland in Michelle Styles' Impoverished Miss, Convenient Wife or head to Bershire, England for MIss Winbolt and the Fortune Hunter by Sylvia Andrew

Reviewer Dawn Crowne was particularly taken by two aspects of Styles' Regency romp. She says of the tale,"Heroine Phoebe is a wonderfully strong character and the Northumberland setting unique." And who doesn't love a story of redeeming love just as we start failing at our New Year's resolutions? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST