RT Daily Blog

LGBTQ Romance: Beyond the Pronouns - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

For the longest time, LGBTQ romance was a tiny part of the romance world — a segment often overlooked and underappreciated. But lately, more and more readers are flocking to the genre with fervor and excitement. Earlier today, Suzanne Brockmann, Heidi Belleau, SE Jakes (AKA Stephanie Tyler), K.A. Mitchell and Marie Sexton joined Riptide Publishing Senior Editor Sarah Frantz to discuss the many themes, issues and tropes presented in LGTBQ romance and why readers are so hooked.

A photo of the panelists

The panelists!

Sarah Frantz dove right in and asked the authors why they write LGBTQ romance and LGBTQ characters. Bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann said, "I'm writing about people ... As writers, we need to do our research and know what our characters believe in, what makes them tick."

SE Jakes said, "I can't control who shows up in my head."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Never Give Up! Jackie Kessler, Keri Arthur, Stacey Kade, Jenna Black & Linnea Sinclair On Persistence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Never say die! Listen, writing a book can be a hard slog. And that's to say nothing of the rest of the publishing process. How to make it all the way to your pub date ( … and the next one) without totally losing it? Today at the RT Convention in New Orleans Jackie Kessler, Keri Arthur, Stacey Kade, Jenna Black and Linnea Sinclair gave us some pointers to stay the course. Here are some of the highlights.

A photo of the panelists

Panelist Linnea Sinclair, Jackie Kessler, Stacye Kade, Jenna Black and Keri Arthur


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Read Nerdy To Me: Geeky Heroines Of Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Romance author and self-proclaimed geek Emma Shortt loves herself a nerdy heroine. We find we can relate, what with our Tardis T-shirts and great love of Internet cat photos. Nerdy heroes can't have all the fun, can they? Shortt's latest, Shackled by the Boss, features such a heroine, and we wanted to know more. Emma nicely obliged. Take it away, Emma!

The cover of One Con Glory

I've been an avid romance reader for a very, very long time, and if there's one thing I've found over all those years, it's that romance novels follow, and sometimes leap ahead of, our cultural curve.

In the '90s, when I was just starting to find my way into the world of romance, the pages were filled with business women galore. I loved reading about those smart, successful CEOs and negotiators. I particularly enjoyed it when their assistants were the men they fell for. There was a power flip there and it reflected the changing world I was growing up in — more than that it was inspiring. I totally could run a multi-million dollar company, quite happy in the knowledge that there was a man out there who would still be able to challenge me.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elyssa Patrick's Favorite Four Weddings And A Break Up

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

In Elyssa Patrick’s Four Weddings and a Break Up, a fake relationships becomes real — one of our favorite tropes! Enamored as we were by Elyssa’s title, we decided to make her tell us her very favorite four weddings and a break up from pop culture. Take it away, Elyssa.

The cover of Four Weddings and A Break Up

Wedding #1: One of the biggest weddings in the last few years was when Kate Middleton married Prince William. I woke up early to watch and loved every minute of it.

Wedding #2: A wedding is the focus of It Happened One Wedding by Julie James. In this laugh-out-loud, sexy contemporary romance, Sidney and Vaughn don’t get off on the right foot. In fact, their first meeting is the classic “meet cute goes wrong.” These two soon discover that they’ll be seeing a lot more of each other when her sister and his brother announce they’re getting married. Slowly but surely, their mutual dislike turns into something a whole lot hotter … and feels an awful lot like love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Boozy Books: Beer And Wine To Pair With Spring Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Confession time: aside from red and white, we can't really tell one type of wine from another. But with warm weather finally here, we're craving libations with our spring reads. So we turned to  wine and book pairing expert Nikki Steele for recommendations of what to drink with some May and June releases. And don't worry, beer lovers, she has recommendations for you too!

What better way to enjoy a spring release than with a glass of wine (or beer!) in hand? Taking up some of these pairings won't only help with your close reading, but they'll also give you a few suggestions for an upcoming book club meeting.

But really, do we actually need an excuse to drink wine?

Slightly Spellbound by Kimberly Frost, published May 6

Magick, faery knights, wizards, and … ex-husbands? Frost combines all of these characters into her fourth novel in the fast-paced Southern Witch series. While Tammy Jo grapples with feelings for her ex-husband, she also has to contend with the disappearance of a new friend.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Phenomenal X by Michelle A. Valentine

BY Elisa Verna, MAY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Phenomenal XWhen Elissa brought Phenomenal X to my attention, I bought it almost immediately. I am a pro wrestling nerd, folks, and have been hoping that with the surge in MMA romances, pro wrestling romances would soon follow. Tori McAllister wrote a really great article on why there needs to be pro wrestling romance and makes some awesome points: The guys are hot and the sport is both physically demanding (before you ask, it’s not as fake as you think it is) and entertaining. She even went as far as to suggest that the WWE have a romance imprint, which sounds ridiculous but actually makes a lot of sense. The WWE's storylines are riddled with romance. There have been secret babies, kidnappings, girlfriend stealing and plenty of weddings on the air, although the WWE has moved away from this in recent years. Still, romance and pro wrestling are pretty much made for each other, so I was thrilled to see Michelle A.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Vivienne Lorret

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

We know, your TBR pile is huge. But we also know you’d be peeved if we let you miss out on a great new author, right? Today for you we’ve got Vivienne Lorret, who published a novella this December with “Tempting Mr. Weatherstone” in Five Golden Rings: A Christmas Collection. And now she’s got back-to-back releases coming out in her Wallflower Wedding series, starting with this week’s Daring Miss Danvers. And we got her to answer all of our nosey questions.

The cover of Daring Miss Danvers with 'Debut Novel' underneath

Name: Vivienne Lorret

Book: Daring Miss Danvers

Genre: Regency Historical Romance

Series: The Wallflower Wedding Series

Author Icon: Wow, this is a tough question. I admire so many talented authors. However, Jude Devereaux holds a special place in my heart. A Knight in Shining Armor is one of my all-time favorite books. I remember blubbering all through the ending, and then I immediately started over and read it again.

Favorite Word: Onomatopoeia


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Headed North or South? Donna Alward And Shirley Jump on the Virtues of Their Vacation Spots

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Which would you choose for your summer getaway, North or South? While we do love embroidered khakis, we're kinda leaning towards heading South for guaranteed warmth (hey, this past winter was long), but both sound tempting. To help you decide Shirley Jump and Donna Alward both have new contemporary series out this year, and while Shirley's is set in Florida — her latest is The Sweetheart Rules — Donna has chosen to set hers smack dab in the middle of the Maine coastline — her series starter, House on Blackberry Hill, is also out now. Both authors join the blog today to chat about the virtues of North vs. South.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Why Street Artists Make Good Heroes — Jamie Brenner Schools Us

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Have you heard people talking about street art and Banksy and wonder just what exactly is happening? Because we are right there with you. Generally we just nod and try to look smart. But today we’ve got Jamie Brenner, author of the upcoming, street art hero-starring Ruin Me, to tell us about this latest phenom and how it inspired her latest romance. School us, Jamie!

You might have heard the term “street artist” bandied around lately — in the news, in television shows, in movies. Yeah, it’s a “thing.”

The cover of Ruin Me

The first real street artist on my radar was the notorious British artist called Banksy. No one knows his true identity. I learned about him by watching the documentary Exit Through the Gift Shop, and I basically got obsessed. Here’s a guy who dashes around in the dark of night, painting the sides of buildings or creating “installations” to provoke and entertain people. He’s managed to sneak his art onto the walls of major museums. He has something to say, and he didn’t wait for the art establishment to give him permission to say it. (This past fall, he spent a month in New York and made his mark all over the city.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday (Romantic Suspense) Free for All: M.L. Buchman's Pure Heat and Julie Ann Walker's Hell for Leather

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

The covers of Pure Heat by M.L. Bachman and Hell for Leather by Julie Ann Walker with the word 'Giveaway' across both covers

We made it to Friday! High five, Internet! We're so excited we think we should celebrate with some sexy intrigue and danger, eh? So today for you we've got five two-packs full of romantic suspense goodness to give away: M.L. Buchman's Pure Heat and Julie Ann Walker's Hell for Leather. Buchman's series starter is quite literally hot, her heroine is a forest fire specialist, thrown together with a former smoke jumper to combat forest fires. Combustible! Meanwhile in Walker's latest Black Knights Inc. title, Mac and Delilah will deal with terrorists, nuclear weapons — and steamy, steamy sexual tension. 

Want to win? Enter below! U.S. and Canadian residents only. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thanks so much for hanging out with us this week, we sure do appreciate you!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST