RT Daily Blog

Take A Coffee Break With Historical Fiction Author Karleen Koen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

This morning we spend a coffee break with historical fiction author Karleen Koen, for a special look at how she recreated two of the women in the court of the young French King Louis XIV for her new novel, Before Versailles.

All the women in Before Versailles came from the same short version history always gives women. Nobody bothered to write a thing about them, except in their relationship with the man in their life … in this case Louis XIV. As a woman, it makes me mad. As a writer, it gives me lots and lots of leeway, and that, I like. 


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Random House Publishing Re-Launches Loveswept Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance fans will be thrilled to learn that publisher Random House has made plans to bring back their popular Loveswept imprint as an exclusively digital line of books. Loveswept was a staple of the romance publishing industry through the '80s and ‘90s and helped launch the careers of many bestselling authors including Janet Evanovich and Tami Hoag. 

Romance fans will be able to get some of their favorite classic romance titles in e-book format from the re-launched line. These classic titles will come with all-new bonus content and updated packaging. Readers can also be on the lookout for original e-book titles as well. 

The Loveswept line is set to re-launch in August with eight titles including Iris Johansen’s This Fierce Splendor, Remember The Time by Annette Reynolds and more.

Until the books become available in August, you can visit Random House’s new website RomanceatRandom.com, where Sue Grimshaw — who many may remember from the Borders’ True Romance blog — will be sharing news about what is happening with the Loveswept and Ballantine Bantam Dell titles.

For more information click here >>


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Online Auction to Help Raise Money for L.A. Banks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

As many of you may know, beloved author Leslie (L.A.) Banks is gravely ill and undergoing aggressive chemotherapy for late-stage adrenal cancer and her prognosis is not good. To add to this tragic situation she does not have health insurance. Ironically in March 2010 she pleaded her case at a healthcare reform rally in Glenside, Penn., where she was selected to introduce President Obama but not before telling her story as a single mom with a daughter in college who was faced with the dilemma of choosing between insuring her daughter or herself. Her prophetic words are haunting. (See her speech here.)


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julianne MacLean On Cowboy Sex Appeal - Give Me A Real Good Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

This morning author Julianne MacLean stops by to chat about Taken by the Cowboy, her new self-published romance that hits releases today. Get a special look at one of sources of inspiration and find out where you can pick up this new read!

I’m a romance writer, and I love my job. Want to know why? I get to do research, and some of it is mind-blowingly enjoyable.

Today I am releasing a new book called Taken by the Cowboy, and it’s a time travel romance, where a contemporary heroine is flung back to the Wild West. As soon as she gets there, she dodges bullets and squares off with a gorgeous, hunky, gunslinging sheriff in a black hat who makes her heart go pitter-patter.

What kind of man is he? I will now turn the stage over to YouTube for a visual demonstration, and I highly recommend that you click on the link and enjoy yourself. Seriously. Watch this. It doesn’t matter that it’s a Monday morning. In fact, that is all the more reason to watch it. Trust me, you’ll thank me afterward.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Highlanders

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are few characters more intriguing than the kilted warriors and fiery lassies of the Highlands. From Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander hero, Jamie, to the sparkling couples of Julie Garwood’s classic Scottish adventures, it’s no surprise that many of the spots on our keeper shelves are filled with these tales of love and brogue. But we count ourselves lucky that many of the authors who set their tales in the Highlands also can’t get enough of the area, and the age of Scottish Highlanders is not over! Today author Monica McCarty chats about why she loves the Highlands. Then we highlight some of the new crop of highlanders in current series, sagas that have just begun and a few extra credit Highlanders in this theme spotlight.

All it takes is a quick browse down the aisle (or virtual aisle) of your favorite romance store to see the number of covers with plaid to realize that Highlanders are hot (the books not just the men). With their sexy, usually-strapping, usually-alpha heroes, haunting castles, dramatic seascapes, windswept moors, and turbulent history, Scottish historicals have always been a popular sub-genre. But today, authors are putting fresh twists on the ever-expanding genre, giving a little something for everyone.

Readers can still find a good Romeo & Juliet style clan-feud or Outlander type time travel, but what if you want werewolves? Got it. Vampires? You bet. If you like Navy SEALS or Special Ops romance, I’ve got you covered. My new Highland Guard series—or what I call “Special Ops in Kilts”—is a genre-mixing blend of Scottish and military romance (think Suzanne Brockmann meets Braveheart). Whether you like a “wee” bit of history, a lot of history, medieval, Tudor or regency, family sagas, humor, drama, or mystery, you can find it between the pages of a Scottish romance.

- Monica McCarty

RECOMMENDED READS


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Falling For The Nanny By Jacqueline Diamond

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

In author Jacqueline Diamond's latest novel, Falling for the Nanny, high school sweethearts Patty and Alec are reunited when this single father hires P.I. Patty to keep his daughter safe, not realizing that he will be putting his heart on the line!

***

Whitney: This story really is the perfect illustration of what you can expect when you pick up a Harlequin American Romance story, from the small-town setting that realistically lends itself to everyone being in each other’s business to the sweet nature of this romance between re-connected high school sweethearts.

Morgan: It was interesting for me because usually I don’t read the Harlequin Americans. I’m not really sure why not. But this one was right up my alley. There is something really comforting about a sweet read where the hero and heroine genuinely like each other. No artifice, no games. Just a real-life friendship that turns into more.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Librarian's Quest with Robyn Bachar

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robyn Bachar invites readers behind the scenes for an up-close look at the paranormal world of her two most recent e-books.

When I began building the supernatural world of The Importance of Being Emily and Blood, Smoke and Mirrors, there were a few must-have details that I wanted. First, it was important to me to not have any “accidental” vampires. If a magician wants to live forever, she’s going to have to study her butt off, put in years of training, and run the risk of the transformation not working at all. Second, I wanted to include a wide variety of paranormal creatures and magic users. Witches, shapeshifters, faeries, sorcerers, seers, librarians—

Yes, librarians. Magic librarians. Even vampire librarians.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lend Your Support To Gravely Ill Author L.A. Banks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Leslie Esdaile is best known for her books written as L.A. Banks. However no matter which pen name she writes under, readers love her stories! Unfortunately we have just learned that Leslie is fighting against a very serious illness. 

As she battles this sickness, her friends and family ask that you keep her in your prayers. Although she is unable to accept visitors, answer emails or receive flowers, you can donate to a fund established to assist her with her ever-increasing medical bills. 

You can send your donations to the address below: 

Leslie Esdaile Fund
Account #81538801
Police and Fire Federal Credit Union
Operations Center
901 Arch Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107-2404
215-931-0300 

Additionally, if you are a Philadelphia resident, you can deliver your donation to any branch of the Police and Fire Federal Credit Union branch. (Please make sure you include the account number  #81538801.) Alternatively, you can send your donation to any of the Police and Fire Federal Credit Union Branch Locations, including the main branch:

Police and Fire Federal Credit Union Branch:
Main Branch:
901 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 

Or you can use this P.O. Box, or to send your good wishes and cards to the author, at this address:

Leslie Esdaile
c/o Tina Ryan Wise
P.O. Box 37189
Philadlphia, PA 19148


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Damsels In Disguise From Harlequin Historical

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin introduces readers to four historical heroines who find themselves in situations where they must pretend to be something they are not. From Regency ballrooms to the Wyoming frontier, find out how these women end up in these situations – with sometimes hilarious outcomes!

 

Dangerous Lord, Innocent Governess
By Christine Merrill

To investigate her cousin’s suspicious death, heroine Daphne Collingham poses as the governess to the widowed Lord Colton’s youngsters— despite lacking any knowledge about how to raise children. Will Daphne be able to juggle her feisty charges, the feelings that she develops for their father and solve the mystery?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Linda McMaken Reports From Lori Foster's Reader & Author Get Together

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

This past weekend bestselling author Lori Foster hosted her annual Reader & Author Get Together in Ohio. Over 400 readers, authors and industry personalities gathered for a fun-filled event. Today Linda McMaken, who pens RT’s Beyond the Books column for librarians, shares a look back at the weekend!

This was the seventh year for Lori's gathering and the fifth year I have attended and it gets better each year. Packed with authors, readers, editors, agents, raffle baskets and great food, this conference is a must for readers. The event draws authors from the bestseller lists to newbies attending their first book signing. If you've dreamed of having lunch with a favorite author or two or three, this is the place to make that happen. The authors chat, share news of upcoming books, their characters' lives, and their own. 


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST