RT Daily Blog

Amazon Will Publish Romance Novels In Both Print and E-book Versions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Amazon, the leading online retailer, announced yesterday that they are launching a book imprint that will publish romance novels. Named Montlake Romance after a Seattle neighborhood, the imprint will release original, previously unpublished titles from popular romance authors in many different subgenres including romantic suspense, fantasy and paranormal stories as well as in general contemporary and historical romances.

Currently it is unknown how many titles Montlake Romance will be releasing, however, Amazon did reveal that award winning author Connie Brockway will launch the imprint with her novel The Other Guy's Bride this fall. Amazon will make Brockway's story available in Kindle, print and audio formats. 

So why the decision to move into publishing romance? Amazon's Vice President of Publishing Jeff Belle says, "romance is one of our biggest and fastest growing categories, particularly among Kindle customers." But don't expect Amazon to stop with just romance. Belle also adds that there will be more fiction publishing deals in the future. "[We] know our customers enjoy genre fiction of all kinds, so we are busy building publishing businesses that will focus on additional genres as well."


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Taylor Quinn Shares The Best Advice She's Ever Received - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Tara Taylor Quinn shares her past with readers and explains how (and why) she incorporates her own experiences into her writing. And don’t miss your chance to win a copy of her new novel, It Happened on Maple Street, at the end of this post!

My life is an open book. At least, as of April 1, 2011 it is. Before that I had fifty-five books published with Harlequin and MIRA and I lived my life in hiding. I was living with a twenty-seven year secret of domestic violence. That changed with the publication of It Happened on Maple Street, co-authored with Tim Barney, my husband and the love of my life. It Happened on Maple Street is our true love story. And the story of the healing power of love. I am all over those pages, by name. My shame, my guilt, and my struggle to find faith in myself and trust in love are all there for the world to see. My family and friends, as they read this book, are finding out for the first time about the secrets I kept all those years. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Guardian By Margaret Mallory

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week, Whitney and Morgan Dish about The Guardian the first book in Margaret Mallory’s new The Return of the Highlanders series

***

Morgan: I choose this week’s selection because I loved the reviewer’s summary of the story and how, when the hero, Ian MacDonald, returns home after years of war he “assumes his responsibility, vowing to win [the heroine Sileas’] respect and create a real marriage.” Characters that grow and change always get my attention. Oh, and it doesn’t hurt that he wears a kilt. Nothing wrong with that!

Whitney: I tend to stick to the Regency era for my historical romances, but I’m glad that you selected this medieval tale. It’s much less cold-drafty-castle than I thought it would be. Instead, it’s much more about “passionate hearts on the Highlands.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Interview Historical Romance Author Kate Noble About Her Fourth Regency Romance And More!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Kate Noble has just released her fourth Regency romance with this month’s Follow My Lead, which takes her characters across Europe on a quest that turns unexpectedly dangerous. Today we chat with the author for an insider look at Follow My Lead and where she’s headed next!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In Follow My LeadWinnifred “Winn” Crane is attempting to gain membership to the all-male Historical Society when she meets Jason. How did this Regency miss originally become interested in such scholarly pursuits?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Behind The Scenes With Eloisa James And Sarah MacLean

BY MORGAN, APRIL 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Considering the similarities in their novels — both the humor and the heart — it is almost inevitable that veteran romance novelist Eloisa James and up-and-coming star Sarah MacLean have a lot in common. But even I was surprised by just how alike the two authors were when I got a chance to watch them in front of the camera as they filmed a feature for Avon's Romance Live on Livestream earlier this week.

As the authors answered questions from fans, their similarities emerged almost immediately. First, I learned that both authors take cues from real life as they write their historical tales. Eloisa shared that in her Potent Pleasures, her hero, Alexander, mirrors her real life husband Alessandro. She explained that both men have fiery tempers and the same salt and pepper hair. Although Eloisa did admit to indulging in a bit of artistic license, Alexander's marriage was annulled due to impotence (a fact that real-life Alessandro was none too happy about).

For Sarah, she revealed one of the ways that she wove true life into her newest novel, Eleven Scandals To Start To Win A Duke's Heart. The novel's heroine, Juliana, is very much like Sarah's father while hero Simon is close in temperament to Sarah's mother. Additionally, both of Sarah's parents were born outside of the US and use idiomatic language and speech quirks that crack her up and that she often incorporates into her dialogue.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

T.L. Schaefer Gets Inspired By A Man In Uniform

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author T.L. Schaefer (aka Keira Ramsay) chats about the enduring appeal of a man in uniform. Learn why Schaefer gravitates towards a hero who is part of the armed forces and what is distinctive about the man who holds the heroine's heart in Schaefer's latest tale, Behind Blue Eyes.

Is there anything sexier than a man in uniform? Be they armed services members, cops or firefighters, a man in uniform has always pushed my happy buttons. Heck, I found them fascinating even before I realized they were sexy!

After I figured it out, I didn’t wait long to find my very own man in uniform, and we celebrated our twentieth anniversary earlier this year. So when I started writing, it was only natural that my first hero would be a cop, my heroine an Air Force officer. 

Now, over a decade later, writing about these warriors is still one of my favorite things to do. 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cherry Adair On Hush - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Cherry Adair embarks on a new romantic suspense series with this week's Hush. Today we chat with the author about an important aspect of the series and then don't miss your chance to win a copy of this new romantic suspense tale at the end of the blog post.

Recently I learned the difference between a tourist and a traveler. 

A traveler wants to immerse himself in the culture. He wants to drink something smelly and impossible to identify out of a <shudder> hairy goat skin, and sleep hanging in a harness off the edge a mountaintop. He doesn’t need hot or cold running water, a cell phone, or pretty postcards to remind himself of why he was ever there.

A tourist wants a nice clean room, her own bathroom, and room service that delivers chocolate dessert after midnight. She likes hot and cold running waiters, an artfully arranged fruit plate, and scented soap. If possible, she’d like her sheets turned down with a mint on the pillow.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which New Paranormal Historical Romance Should You Be Reading?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month we noticed a spike in paranormal activity in our historical section. With so many fabulous new tales coming out, we’ve created a quiz to help you find the historical story that will satisfying your particular paranormal craving. Should you be picking up the latest from Amanda Quick or are you in the mood to get bitten by Colleen Gleason’s newest novel? We can help you figure it out with our handy quiz!

***

Which setting do you prefer to read about?
A) Victorian England
B) Medieval England
C) Regency England
D) Sixteenth Century Scotland

Choose your favorite ‘feature creature’.
A) Psychic
B) Shapeshifter
C) Vampire
D) Fairy

What’s your heroic ‘type’?
A) Paranormal Hunter
B) Cursed Warrior
C) Guardian Vampire
D) Highland Laird

Which heroine do you relate to the most?
A) An independent woman who fights her own battles
B) An innocent lady engaged to another
C) A brave sister protecting her family
D) A magical fairy princess

Which movie do you like the best?
A) Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1931)
B) Ladyhawke (1985)
C) Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992)
D) Willow (1986)

***

If you choose mostly A’s:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Samantha James' The Sins of Viscount Sutherland

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings readers an exclusive first look at Samantha James' upcoming Regency romance. Get a special look at this new novel that puts a twist on the classic revenge tale as we go beyond the back cover blurb with the book's author!

***

The Sins of Viscount Sutherland is the first in my brand new series, the Lords of Sheffield Square. I, like so many readers, love those dark and sexy heroes. This book features such a man, Viscount Grayson Sutherland, who is (obviously!) a sinner, a rogue, a rake . . . on it goes. Yes, he’s a bad boy. Yes, there’s vengeance. Murder. Revenge. I think there’s a classic appeal to this romantic theme, just as there is with the marriage-of-convenience, the kind of story that has an everlasting appeal. Because each story -- each hero and heroine- - is unique. They have a story of their own to tell.

When Gray came alive in my mind, I knew he’d be one of the darkest heroes I’d ever created. Gray is reckless and dangerous. His life had once been so perfect. But all that changed in the space of an instant. Fate had left him battered and embittered and forever lost. He has hardened his himself against everything and everyone.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Head Around The World With April's Harlequin Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month you can enjoy five new historical tales of love from Harlequin. These stories will whisk you around the world and through several different time periods. And although we know some of you are still suffering with snow, by the time you are done reading these novels, May flowers may have even started sprouting!

Set Sail to Singapore

Wanted: Mail-Order Mistress
by Deborah Hale

Setting: Singpore 1825

Simon and Bethan's relationship begins as one night of passion, but their love grows into something so much more. Will Bethan be able to overcome her past when Simon asks for her hand in marriage? Hale will delight with the final story in her latest trilogy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST