RT Daily Blog

T.L. Schaefer Gets Inspired By A Man In Uniform

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author T.L. Schaefer (aka Keira Ramsay) chats about the enduring appeal of a man in uniform. Learn why Schaefer gravitates towards a hero who is part of the armed forces and what is distinctive about the man who holds the heroine's heart in Schaefer's latest tale, Behind Blue Eyes.

Is there anything sexier than a man in uniform? Be they armed services members, cops or firefighters, a man in uniform has always pushed my happy buttons. Heck, I found them fascinating even before I realized they were sexy!

After I figured it out, I didn’t wait long to find my very own man in uniform, and we celebrated our twentieth anniversary earlier this year. So when I started writing, it was only natural that my first hero would be a cop, my heroine an Air Force officer. 

Now, over a decade later, writing about these warriors is still one of my favorite things to do. 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cherry Adair On Hush - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Cherry Adair embarks on a new romantic suspense series with this week's Hush. Today we chat with the author about an important aspect of the series and then don't miss your chance to win a copy of this new romantic suspense tale at the end of the blog post.

Recently I learned the difference between a tourist and a traveler. 

A traveler wants to immerse himself in the culture. He wants to drink something smelly and impossible to identify out of a <shudder> hairy goat skin, and sleep hanging in a harness off the edge a mountaintop. He doesn’t need hot or cold running water, a cell phone, or pretty postcards to remind himself of why he was ever there.

A tourist wants a nice clean room, her own bathroom, and room service that delivers chocolate dessert after midnight. She likes hot and cold running waiters, an artfully arranged fruit plate, and scented soap. If possible, she’d like her sheets turned down with a mint on the pillow.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which New Paranormal Historical Romance Should You Be Reading?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month we noticed a spike in paranormal activity in our historical section. With so many fabulous new tales coming out, we’ve created a quiz to help you find the historical story that will satisfying your particular paranormal craving. Should you be picking up the latest from Amanda Quick or are you in the mood to get bitten by Colleen Gleason’s newest novel? We can help you figure it out with our handy quiz!

***

Which setting do you prefer to read about?
A) Victorian England
B) Medieval England
C) Regency England
D) Sixteenth Century Scotland

Choose your favorite ‘feature creature’.
A) Psychic
B) Shapeshifter
C) Vampire
D) Fairy

What’s your heroic ‘type’?
A) Paranormal Hunter
B) Cursed Warrior
C) Guardian Vampire
D) Highland Laird

Which heroine do you relate to the most?
A) An independent woman who fights her own battles
B) An innocent lady engaged to another
C) A brave sister protecting her family
D) A magical fairy princess

Which movie do you like the best?
A) Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1931)
B) Ladyhawke (1985)
C) Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992)
D) Willow (1986)

***

If you choose mostly A’s:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Samantha James' The Sins of Viscount Sutherland

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings readers an exclusive first look at Samantha James' upcoming Regency romance. Get a special look at this new novel that puts a twist on the classic revenge tale as we go beyond the back cover blurb with the book's author!

***

The Sins of Viscount Sutherland is the first in my brand new series, the Lords of Sheffield Square. I, like so many readers, love those dark and sexy heroes. This book features such a man, Viscount Grayson Sutherland, who is (obviously!) a sinner, a rogue, a rake . . . on it goes. Yes, he’s a bad boy. Yes, there’s vengeance. Murder. Revenge. I think there’s a classic appeal to this romantic theme, just as there is with the marriage-of-convenience, the kind of story that has an everlasting appeal. Because each story -- each hero and heroine- - is unique. They have a story of their own to tell.

When Gray came alive in my mind, I knew he’d be one of the darkest heroes I’d ever created. Gray is reckless and dangerous. His life had once been so perfect. But all that changed in the space of an instant. Fate had left him battered and embittered and forever lost. He has hardened his himself against everything and everyone.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Head Around The World With April's Harlequin Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month you can enjoy five new historical tales of love from Harlequin. These stories will whisk you around the world and through several different time periods. And although we know some of you are still suffering with snow, by the time you are done reading these novels, May flowers may have even started sprouting!

Set Sail to Singapore

Wanted: Mail-Order Mistress
by Deborah Hale

Setting: Singpore 1825

Simon and Bethan's relationship begins as one night of passion, but their love grows into something so much more. Will Bethan be able to overcome her past when Simon asks for her hand in marriage? Hale will delight with the final story in her latest trilogy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

First Look: Jade Lee's Dragonborn Concept Art

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Jade Lee shares a sneak peek at the art of her new Dragonborn comic/graphic novel with RT readers. Comic book issues will be released this summer from Sea Lion Books and the complete graphic novel is scheduled to hit shelves this fall — but you don't have to wait that long to get a look at some of the ways that artist Wilson Junior is bringing Lee's beloved characters to life!


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Celebrating Royal Babies In Aprils Series Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we get excited for the upcoming royal nuptials we are putting the carriage before the horse and taking a look at the pregnant royals in this month’s series romances!

The Accidental Birthright
By Maisey Yates

Alison Whitman is a career woman. A driven “planner” who likes to have control over every aspect of her life, and when she chooses to have a baby, she thinks she's thought of every eventuality. Until she finds out that, thanks to an IVF clinic mix-up, her baby's father is a prince. Nothing about that follows a plan.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Lynn Cullen On Elizabeth Taylor's Wandering Pearl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Have you ever wondered who a piece of jewelry belonged to before it became yours? Or maybe you've wondered what happened to a particular ring or bracelet that you saw in a piece of art? We'll you aren't the only one. Questions like these tickled author Lynn Cullen's mind until she decided to create a historical fiction tale to document the movements of one particular pearl in the collection owned by the recently deceased Elizabeth Taylor.

Elizabeth Taylor owned many spectacular jewels, but none of them has a more fascinating pedigree than the pearl called La Peregrina (The Wanderer). The pearl lives up to its name. Since its first appearance in the sixteenth century, it has made its way from breast to breast of many a famous woman.  

It has lain upon the stiff bodice of Mary I of England, known to us, perhaps unfairly, as Bloody Mary. It has dangled jauntily from the cap worn by Elisabeth of Valois, the teenaged wife of the Spanish King with the ill-fated Armada, Philip II. It has posed for its portrait by the first female painter of the Renaissance, Sofonisba Anguissola. If it could talk, the stories it would tell!

According to legend, the world’s largest (originally 55.95 carats) and most perfect white pear-shaped pearl was found in the Gulf of Panama by a slave who was given his freedom by presenting it to his master. A conquistador was said to then give it to Philip II, who in turn bestowed it upon his first wife, Bloody Mary.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Author Chat With Coulter, Adair and Hurwitz

BY Whitney Sullivan, APRIL 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are millions of memorable moments at the RT Booklovers Convention every year, but one of the standout panels that I attended this year was the Author Chat with Catherine Coulter, Cherry Adair and Gregg Hurwitz. The three authors candidly spoke about their writing, books, careers and lives in this special hour-long session.

With Coulter's background as thriller and historical romance author, the contemporary and paranormal romantic suspense perspective from Cherry Adair and Gregg Hurwitz's experiences producing/screenwriting and writing mysteries, each author brought different ideas to the discussion. And that was even before they started taking questions from the audience!


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Readers Get Racy At An Explicit Game Of Purple Prose Taboo Game

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Some romances are sweet, some are spicy, and a few authors walk the fine line between the two. But in today's Purple Prose Taboo game the focus was on the graphic language that takes a steamy relationship to the next level. Authors Victoria Dahl, Tessa Dare and Courtney Milan are all known for their titillating sex scenes in their romance novels. But today they were put on the spot as they led readers in an explicit version of the popular board game Taboo. The room was filled with laughter as authors challenged readers to "guess that purple prose!"


While the fun was going on, we got a chance to chat with the authors about what inspired them to host this workshop and what exactly qualifies as 'purple prose'. 

*READER WARNING* some of their answers are NSFW (not safe for work) and include graphic sexual language.

***

Victoria Dahl got us started ...


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST