RT Daily Blog

Two English Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Are you seeking tall, dark and English? Your search is over with two new series romances heroes from Harlequin Historical.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Wiggs' New Favorite Scene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance novel queen Susan Wiggs shares her very favorite scene from her newest novel. (No spoilers, she promises!)

The good news is, my favorite scene in Marrying Daisy Bellamy is touching, funny, emotional and entertaining. The bad news is, I can’t tell you what happens in that scene.

Why? Well, because it wouldn’t be fair to people who haven’t read the book yet. It’s got too many spoilers in it.

Part of the fun of Marrying Daisy Bellamy is the excruciating who-will-win-her-heart tension that has been running through all of the Lakeshore Chronicles, ever since Daisy burst onto the scene in Summer at Willow Lake, a troubled teen with a chip on her shoulder. Through the subsequent books, she has felt the push and pull of her heart between Logan–the father of her child–and Julian–the hunky Air Force pilot. So I can’t talk about that favorite scene and risk a spoiler.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Cara Elliott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

We go inside Cara Elliott’s historical romance series, Circle of Sin, for a special look at the series ender, To Tempt a Rake. Learn which beloved rake inspired the hero of this new romance, what true historical elements Elliott wove into the story and find out the three facts you must know about the hero of Elliott’s next series!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In To Tempt a Rake, the final installment of your Circle of Sin trilogy, the heroine Kate Woodbridge is a fiery botanist. What is Kate’s favorite part of studying botany?

Cara Elliott: Kate loves seeing buds unfurl and bloom into glorious shapes and colors. She’s had a tough, nomadic life up until now, and has felt rootless, so botany has been a balm for her troubled spirits. But now that she’s come to London, new relationships with friends and family are also beginning to blossom. 

Read the entire interview>>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Romance Community Aids The Australian Queensland Flood Relief Fund

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

When trouble strikes, the romance reading community is always quick to respond! Currently readers and authors are rallying to support the victims of the Queensland floods that swept through Australia in January. The natural disaster left several dead and missing, but many more people have lost their homes and livelihoods. When the Premier Anna Bligh estimated that cleaning up the flood damage could cost billions of dollars, the Australian Romance Readers Association knew that they needed to help.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Medical Themed Romances Get *Web Exclusive Reviews*

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

I adore Grey's Anatomy, Private Practice and Off The Map, and with sexy doctors like McDreamy and McSteamy saving lives, I know I'm not the only gal out there who can't get enough of hospital romance. So I was thrilled to learn that RT will now be running *Web Exclusive Reviews* of the series romances in the Harlequin Medical imprint!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Kat Martin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Kat Martin welcomes us into her world of romances in this special author interview. Get an insider look at the making of the contemporary romances in her latest series, her writing process and what we can expect from this fantastic author next!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The books in your current series, the Against Trilogy, are contemporary romances set in Wyoming. Was it difficult to switch from your last trilogy, a historical romance, into the world of the contemporary West?

Kat Martin: Actually, though all of the Raines brothers were born in Wyoming, only the first book,Against the Wind, is set there. The other two brothers, Gabe and Dev, have moved away, Gabe to Dallas and Dev to Scottsdale, Arizona. The switch from historical to contemporary turned out to be easier than I expected. Over the years, I had written ten contemporaries, two ghost stories, the rest romantic suspense. So I was just going back to the kind of writing I had dabbled in before.

Read the entire interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Tale Of Two Genres With Maureen Child (aka Regan Hastings)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's "Inside the author's studio" with Maureen Child who also writes paranormal romances under the pen name Regan Hastings. Today this talented author shares what it's like to write across genres and what she does to sweep fans off their feet, no matter which genre of books they read.

As Maureen Child, I’ve written a lot of books for Silhouette Desire (soon to be Harlequin Desire). As Regan Hastings, I launched my brand new Awakening series of dark paranormal romances last week with the release of Visions of Magic. In both the category novels and the single titles, I created a fantasy experience for the reader, but of a very different sort.

For example, with January’s Have Baby, Need Billionaire, I created billionaire Simon Bradley. Tula’s love for him will have nothing to do with his money, of course, but the reader will know that she’ll never have to worry about how to pay her utility bill. She’ll have a life with the man she loves and who loves her, plus she’ll live in comfort and security forever. Desire readers tell me all the time that they love imagining themselves living in the heroine’s shoes.

The fantasy world I created in Visions of Magic, on the other hand, is not a place you’d want to live. It’s a dark and dangerous world where women who are suspected of witchcraft are imprisoned without trial. Fear is ubiquitous and has been for ten years, since society learned that magic is real. And the fear is founded in eye witness accounts of witches doing terrible things like setting people on fire.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Heroine Named Hero

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

When it comes to historical romances, normally my favorite heroines are the women who break all the rules. Adjectives like quirky, spunky and feisty come to mind to describe them. So I was surprised when just a few pages into this month's RT Top Pick! Notorious Pleasures, I couldn't get enough of Elizabeth Hoyt's new heroine, Lady Hero. She's well-behaved, graceful and seems pretty much flawless, which makes the love triangle between the heroine and two brothers that much more scandalous. Now Elizabeth Hoyt gives us an inside look at the making of manner-minding Lady Hero who has made me love a new kind of heroine.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Seriously Un-Cinderella Or Eight Essential Steps For Performing A Successful Make-Under

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

What is a woman to do when she wants to focus on her career, but she is thrown into the path of a handsome prince? Perform a make-under, of course. Just like Tamsin, the heroine in Annie West’s latest Harlequin Presents Extra, Protected by the Prince. Learn the author's eight essential steps for performing a make-under like Tamsin’s just in case you need to disguise yourself from your own playboy prince. 

We all like to know we look good. Makeovers are a treat and they do wonders for our mood, our confidence and attitude to life. 

So why bother with a make-under? Maybe if you’re incognito, in hiding, or trying to avoid someone. My recent heroine, Tamsin, wanted to be invisible, left alone to focus on the one thing that had never let her down: work. She’d been burned badly by an unscrupulous man who used her feelings for him and her naivety against her. So when she takes up a new position, overseeing the royal archives for a gorgeous, debonair prince with a reputation as a ladies’ man, the last thing she wants is to attract attention. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Janzen On Her Fast-Paced Steele Street Series - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Tara Janzen reflects on the evolution of her extremely popular romantic suspense series that features the men and women of Steele Street. These romantic adventures are packed with government intrigue, lethal warriors and high-speed chases. Learn how the Steele Street gang has kept taking us (and their author) by surprise and then enter to win your own copy of this month’s Loose Ends at the end of the post!

Loose Ends, my new Steele Street book, is the culmination of a wild ride that has lasted over the course of eleven novels. I had no idea back when I wrote Crazy Hot and Crazy Cool that the story was going to come full circle, with all the bad guys having been working for one powerful, manipulative man, the ultimate traitor to our country and the soldiers who serve. The threads that tie all the books together, and the one woman from J.T.’s past who can save him, are revealed in Loose Ends.

I started writing the Crazy books with one clear goal in mind – to make the stories move as fast as the cars the guys were driving, all those gorgeous, roaring, muscle-machines Detroit was putting out back in the 60’s and early 70’s. I was in love with the cars and the guys and the rocket-speed of the books. When my publisher asked if I had ideas for two more books, I was thrilled – because, boy, did I have more ideas. I’d met Creed and Kid in the first two books, and I really wanted to write their stories, Crazy Wild and Crazy Kisses. Then my editor asked for two more stories, and I could feel a series coming on. Also, by Crazy Wild, after being with Creed and realizing how badly everyone on Special Defense Force, SDF, was struggling with the loss of J.T., I knew there was a whole lot more to these stories than the plots and the romances of each individual book. From the very beginning, J.T. echoed through the pages. He was always there, and the more books I wrote, the more obvious it became that he was the driving force of a bigger story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST