RT Daily Blog

Author Interview With Kieran Kramer - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Kieran Kramer is thrilling historical romance fans with her back-to-back releases, November's When Harry Met Molly and December's upcoming Dukes to the Left of Me, Princes to the Right. These two Regency romps are full of witty dialogue and lovable characters and both received Top Pick! ratings from RT. So Web Editor Morgan Doremus had to ask the new author about the magic behind her fantastic books and what is up next.

Morgan Doremus: Two books in two months and both Top Picks - editors around the RT office are stunned at your accomplishment and wondering where did this author come from?!? You have to share your story. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Seal of Excellence Winner B.J. Daniels Talks About Her Romance-Filled Small Town

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author B.J. Daniels won RT’s November Seal of Excellence for her latest series romance, High-Caliber Christmas. This novel won the attention of the RT editors with its fast-paced suspense and sweet romance. Now the author shares how the fictional small town of Whitehorse, Montana has become the home to so much romance and what fans can expect to occur there next!

There is nothing more exciting than writing a book, falling in love with it and having someone else love it too.

With High-Caliber Christmas, I liked the characters from the first time I met them on the page. I’m a seat-of-the-pants writer so I am always surprised when I first meet my characters. I’m also surprised when I find out who the killer is. Heck, I’m surprised by most everything that happens in my books, I guess that’s why I love writing so much.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Beauty and the Danger of the African Continent

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Stephanie Tyler shares how her own relationship with Africa shines through in her portrayal of the continent in her romantic suspense novels. Delve into the wilds of this beautiful and dangerous land with Tyler's newest heroine, Dr. Olivia Strohm, who learns her own true strength in this month's Promises in the Dark. And don't miss the excerpt at the end of the post!

I always tell people that I could easily live in Africa and I truly mean that. The continent will always has a special place in my heart, as my husband was born in Songea, Tanzania and we’ve returned many times. Africa is a study in contrasts, with so much lush beauty and so much heartache mingling together, spectacular and tragic at the same time in an almost overwhelming way. It’s a place I understand, a place that contains so much beauty and danger and to me, that’s what romantic suspense is all about. Many of my books are set in Africa for this very reason.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Hawkins On What Makes Scottish Men The Best Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Karen Hawkins embarks on a new series with One Night in Scotland, which releases today. The novel is not only an RT Top Pick! it has also been nominated to win the Best Scotland-Set Historical Romance category of the 2010 RT Reviewers' Choice Awards. So the author has stopped by to share her reasons why a Scot makes the best type of romance hero. And don’t miss the excerpt of One Night in Scotland at the end of the post!

Sometimes a good book (or series) can change your life. Such is the case when I discovered Elizabeth Peters' beloved Amelia Peabody series. Amelia’s intrepid curiosity, dry wit, and desire to unlock the mysteries of the ancients while simultaneously raising a family, civilizing her husband, and battling evil in the present time, made her a woman to admire. For me, she set a new standard for the term ‘heroine.’  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take a Guided Tour of Konigsburg, a Fictional Texas Town Alive With Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Meg Benjamin takes readers on a guided tour of the fictional Texas town of Konigsburg. Her latest Konigsburg-set novel, Long Time Gone, won the author a nomination for Best Small Press Romance in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards. And don't miss the excerpt of Long Time Gone at the end of the post!

William Faulkner used to have a sign in his study: “Yoknapatawpha County, William Faulkner, Sole Owner and Proprietor.” That’s sort of the way I feel about Konigsburg, Texas, the Texas Hill Country town I created for my first novel with Samhain Publishing, Venus In Blue Jeans. I’ve returned to Konigsburg several times since then, for Wedding Bell Blues, Be My Baby, and Long Time Gone, which was a Contemporary Romance RT Book Reviews Top Pick! in the December issue. My fifth Konigsburg book, Brand New Me, will be published by Samhain on December 7.

Konigsburg resembles other Hill Country towns like Kerrville, Marble Falls, Fredericksburg, and Boerne. But it’s unique in that (besides being mythical), it’s home to the Toleffson brothers and their families.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Taylor Quinn On Psychological Twists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Tara Taylor Quinn’s romantic suspense series, The Chapman Files, has been full of unexpected twists and turns. This is especially true for Kelly Chapman’s latest adventure, this month’s The Fourth Victim. During this stop on the author's blog tour, she shares how her own life was affected by the psychological nightmare of domestic abuse, what she is doing to support a shelter in need and how readers can get also lend a helping hand. And don’t miss the author’s special giveaway at the end of the post! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sandra Brown Talks About Seeing Smoke Screen Come To Life

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Sandra Brown's novel Smoke Screen comes to life on the Lifetime Movie Channel this Sunday night. The mystery, which got an RT rating of 4 1/2 stars when it was released in August 2008, follows TV reporter Britt Shelley as she attempts to prove her innocence after waking up next to a dead cop. Now RT's Morgan Doremus interviews the bestselling author to find out what her fans can expect from this movie adaptation.

***

What are your plans for Sunday night when Smoke Screen premieres on the Lifetime Movie Channel?

My husband and I will watch together from our "chairs" in the TV room of our house. Dogs Chase and Lucky will be nearby. We'll probably open a bottle of champagne. I'll have a flute in one hand and my phone in the other. I expect calls from family and friends.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Collected Inspirations for a Surprising Romantic Suspense

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

With thousands of books published every year, it can be difficult for authors to come up with a unique premise for a book. So when we found out that the e-book Trash Course revolved around a mystery set in a hoarder's booby-trapped house, we were immediately intrigued. We knew that we had to find out Penny Drake's inspiration for this unusual romantic suspense.

Humans collect stuff. But for some of us, this natural instinct goes haywire, and the victims discover they can’t throw anything away because they might need it some day. It’s not laziness or stupidity. It’s a psychological illness that’s very difficult to treat.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tips and Tricks For Surviving Family During The Holidays

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Shannon Stacey’s latest novel, Undeniably Yours, is a heart warming contemporary romance that revolves around an unexpected pregnancy. As parents-to-be, Beth Hansen and Kevin Kowalski work on their relationship, their future is shaped by their very different relationships with their families. So with the holidays — and all that family time — right around the corner, the author considers how to enjoy the festivities without the strife. 

Big families and the holiday season…a recipe for love, laughter and a little bit of chaos. Every family celebrates in a different way. Some have quiet, semi-formal dinners. Some small, intimate celebrations with their spouses and children. And some have rowdy family get-togethers that threaten to topple the Christmas tree.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Donna Grant's Sources Of Inspiration

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Donna Grant’s Dark Sword novels are fast-paced historical adventures and the series second, Forbidden Highlander, has been nominated for the Best Historical Fantasy/Parnormal in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice awards. Now discover what modern and ancient sources Grant looked to when she was creating the latest medieval intrigue with these very special highlanders. 

There are many things that inspire me before - and during - a book. I can become inspired by something as simple as a lyric in a song or a line in a movie. Often times it’s the look of a character in a movie that will make me think of an upcoming hero or heroine in one of my books, and its like a light goes off in my head, an “ah ha!” moment. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST