RT Daily Blog

Tara Janzen On Her Fast-Paced Steele Street Series - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Tara Janzen reflects on the evolution of her extremely popular romantic suspense series that features the men and women of Steele Street. These romantic adventures are packed with government intrigue, lethal warriors and high-speed chases. Learn how the Steele Street gang has kept taking us (and their author) by surprise and then enter to win your own copy of this month’s Loose Ends at the end of the post!

Loose Ends, my new Steele Street book, is the culmination of a wild ride that has lasted over the course of eleven novels. I had no idea back when I wrote Crazy Hot and Crazy Cool that the story was going to come full circle, with all the bad guys having been working for one powerful, manipulative man, the ultimate traitor to our country and the soldiers who serve. The threads that tie all the books together, and the one woman from J.T.’s past who can save him, are revealed in Loose Ends.

I started writing the Crazy books with one clear goal in mind – to make the stories move as fast as the cars the guys were driving, all those gorgeous, roaring, muscle-machines Detroit was putting out back in the 60’s and early 70’s. I was in love with the cars and the guys and the rocket-speed of the books. When my publisher asked if I had ideas for two more books, I was thrilled – because, boy, did I have more ideas. I’d met Creed and Kid in the first two books, and I really wanted to write their stories, Crazy Wild and Crazy Kisses. Then my editor asked for two more stories, and I could feel a series coming on. Also, by Crazy Wild, after being with Creed and realizing how badly everyone on Special Defense Force, SDF, was struggling with the loss of J.T., I knew there was a whole lot more to these stories than the plots and the romances of each individual book. From the very beginning, J.T. echoed through the pages. He was always there, and the more books I wrote, the more obvious it became that he was the driving force of a bigger story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Cynthia Eden Looks Into A Killer's Mind - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Go behind the scenes of author Cynthia Eden writing process and learn how she comes up with her chilling romantic suspenses. Her latest tale, this month's Deadly Heat got an RT Top Pick! and at the end of this message you can check out an excerpt and enter to win a copy of this novel that RT Reviewer Annette Elton calls "seriously hot!"

When people ask me what I do for a living, I usually smile and say, “I write about monsters.” It’s true. I do. I spend my days deep in the minds of monsters—whether they are supernatural monsters in my paranormal books or human killers in my romantic suspense tales. My life is all about monsters.

When I first started writing my Deadly romantic suspense series for Grand Central, I knew that I’d have to go deep into the minds of killers. After all, my Deadly series focuses on killers. The agents in my fictional Serial Services Division spend their days and nights tracking and apprehending serials—killers, rapists, kidnappers. Not some fun, Hallmark Card-type job. Scary. Intense.

Fun to write (not so much fun to actually live).


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Nico Rosso A Rising Star In Science Fiction Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love to discover new authors, and were thrilled when RT Reviewer Dawn Crowne reported that she'd found a winner in the debut author Nico Rosso. Dawn praised Rosso's action packed novella and promises that sci-fi and romance fans will not want to miss "Taken To The Limit." Want to learn more about Nico Rosso and his writing? Look no further than this author interview with RT's Morgan Doremus.

Morgan Doremus: You have said that the great thing about sci-fi romance is the possibilities. “We can be the rescuer and the rescued, the fighter and the philosopher.” Do you consider yourself any of these things? All of them? 

Nico Rosso: I do think that there are all of these elements in me. Writing each of these archetypes makes me search them out inside, then use what I know to try to make them real on the page.

MD: Can you tell us a bit about your new novella "Taken To The Limit". What was the evolution of the story's plot?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Exclusive: Laura Moore's Radcliffe Sisters Discuss Jordan's New Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Laura Moore's contemporary western Rosewood Trilogy is equally driven by the Radcliffe sisters' relationships with each other and the romances that these women find along the way. This month the series second, Believe in Me, features the middle sister Jordan who must learn to love again. In honor of the Radcliffe's special bond, the author shares an RT-exclusive scene between Margot and Jade. And then don't miss your chance to meet Jordan's new man in the excerpt of Believe in Me at the end of this post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Heroine's Profile

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Isabel Sharpe reveals her heroine's dating dilemma, and the unique solution that Candy comes up with in this month's series romance, Turn Up the Heat!

Have you ever tried to write an online dating profile? I have. It’s not easy, especially when you’re not a person with simple moods and tastes. Here’s what mine could be like:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Ladies Who Love A Good Steam

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Reading romance is all about getting a glimpse into exciting times and new worlds and there is nothing more adventurous than the re-imagined Victorian-era tales of Steampunk fiction. To keep up with the new sub-genre, RT's Morgan interviewed Mari Fee, Sahara Kelly and Tilda Booth, authors who have Steampunk e-novellas from Samahin Publishing's Silk, Steel and Steam series. 

Morgan Doremus: Steampunk is still a relatively new sub-genre in the paranormal/fantasy category. Can each of you define what you see Steampunk as and how your story fits into the genre?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Modern Spin On The Marriage Of Convenience - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s an old fashioned marriage for the contemporary couple in Robin Kaye’s new release, Yours for the Taking. Now the author offers her advice for making this kind of partnership successful. And enter to win a copy of Yours For The Taking at the end of this post!

My latest book, Yours for the Taking is a modern day marriage of convenience story with an urban twist. I thought you might benefit from The Dos and Don’ts of Marriages of Convenience. I’m sure my heroine, Gina Reyez could have used the little cheat sheet below to help her on the rocky road that led to her happily ever after. 

THE DOS AND DON’TS OF MARRIAGES OF CONVENIENCE

1. Do get the sexual orientation of your marriage partner correct. Any mistake could prove embarrassing later on in the relationship. Then again, as in Ben and Gina’s case, it could prove to be rather exciting.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Hendrix On The Ten Worst Curses To Endure

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Lisa Hendrix's paranormal medieval historical romance, Immortal Champion, was rated a January RT Top Pick! RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin praised Hendrix's "talent for seamlessly blending magic, myth and romance." So it is no surprise that the Vikings of Hendrix Immortal Brotherhood series suffer from a curse that would make us give up all hope! Discover what this author considers to be the ten worst curses that can be cast on a man or beast.

In the early days of the Viking raids on England, one chieftain heard rumors of a great treasure, and he sent his best men to steal it. Unbeknownst to the raiders, however, the treasure was guarded by a powerful sorceress named Cwen, and when the warriors killed her son in the ensuing battle, she spun dark magic to curse them. She condemned them to live as were-beasts, changing back and forth between man and animal at dawn and dusk every day. And in her fury, she also made them immortal, so that their torment would go on and on...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Want To See More Of The Gilded Age!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

We wish there were more historical romances set in the Gilded Age. RT’s Lizzie Poteet gives readers a refresher of the era that was full of Robber Barons, fancy mansions and much more. Then Lizzie speaks with author Laura Lee Ghurke whose new novel, Wedding of the Season, is set during the period. And don’t miss your chance to read an excerpt of Wedding of the Season at the end of the post!

I love historical romances. But when I take a look at my bookshelf, I have the occasional medieval, a couple of Westerns, a shelf of Regencies and maybe even a few Civil War or Revolutionary era novels. I have a thousand and one historical novels, but there is one time period I don’t have: the Gilded Age. And really that’s quite a shame. The Gilded Age was an era of both opulence and destitution, the perfect setting for a romance novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Night Raven News Interview with Benemerut Neshi

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get an exclusive look at Janet Elizabeth Jones' new paranormal series romance, Incubus, as the powerful vampire known as the Alchemist, who transformed the novel's hero into an incubus, speaks to the host of Night Raven News.

Night Raven News: Welcome to another Night Raven News interview with the cast of Janet Elizabeth Jones' paranormal romance Incubus, new from Harlequin Nocturne. If you missed the first two interviews, you can find them here and here. As promised, Night Ravens, we've saved this very special, very elusive guest for last. Please welcome Benemerut Neshi, aka the Alchemist. 

In his human life, Ben was a physician in ancient Cairo. As a vampire, he's the closest thing to a druggist that vampires have, but his efforts to find a way to transform vampires into incubi and succubi have made him an outcast among his own people. It's a deadly process, and only one vampire, Meical Grabian, has survived it. Night Raven News wants to take a closer look at the vampire who made Meical's incredible, if perilous, transformation possible.

Ben, you don't look a day over twenty-five, but I've been told that you're the oldest and most powerful vampire in the New England enclave. 

The Alchemist: I fear it's a dubious distinction. One cannot claim to be the oldest and most powerful of any vampire society. We don't know exactly how many Ancients live on in this world, maintaining a dormant state to escape their intense hunger. That is a compassionate act on their part; if they were to wake, their need would be so extreme that neither human nor vampire would survive it. As for the New England enclave, I'm hardly considered a member of their family. I am, and always will be, an outlaw among them.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST