RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Stephanie Laurens

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Stephanie Laurens wraps up her Black Cobra quartet with The Reckless Bride, the RT Top Pick! that hits bookstores today. Now the author shares insider details with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus in this video interview. Laurens discusses how the four concurrent stories take readers all around the world and the special challenges that the fourth hero, Rafe, faces in this exciting conclusion.

Stephanie Laurens On The Black Cobra Quartet conclusion, The Reckless Bride >>

Stephanie Laurens Talks Regency Romance and the Cynster Series >>

Stephanie Laurens Discusses Her "Unforgettable" Heroes >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lorraine Heath Asks "Can Love Conquer All?"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Lorraine Heath questions the true strength of love after her heroine betrays her marriage vows in this month's Passions of a Wicked Earl.

Can love conquer everything?

In real life, I don’t know that it can. Cheating spouses, spouses who refuse to get help with addictions, spouses with secret second lives, friends who put us down behind our backs, anyone who betrays our trust … can their actions be forgiven? Not easily. Sometimes, not ever.

Fortunately, I don’t write real life. I write fiction. And in fiction, everyone is redeemable, everyone gets a second chance. In fiction, sometimes even the most heinous acts can be forgiven, understood, possibly even cheered for. (Huge Dexter fan here—but let’s face it: The guy is a serial killer. Yet, I cheer for him; I empathize for him. In real, I’d be horrified by what he does.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Suzanne Enoch Offers Her Heroine Advice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Regency England, flirting was more than just a skill, but an absolute necessity. So what happens when a young woman doesn't have the faintest idea how to act in polite society, especially around men? In her new novel, Rules of an Engagement, author Suzanne Enoch provides a woman in just such a situation with some helpful advice. (Including some choice words from the author herself.)

When I began writing the Adventurers’ Club trilogy, it was supposed to be about male explorers, soldiers, men who’d seen the dark places of the world and returned to the even more dangerous land of fancy soirees and Society mamas. The third book, Rules of an Engagement, began precisely the same way, with the adventures of seafaring captain Bradshaw Carroway.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Quirky to Kick-Butt with Beth Ciotta's Into The Wild

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Beth Ciotta is known for her signature quirky characters. Now the author shares what inspired her to pit a “meek, neurotic” heroine against the Amazonian jungle in Into the Wild, which received a 4 1/2 stars Top Pick rating from RT.

I don’t know about you, but I have a thing for Indiana Jones. And Jack T. Colton (of Romancing the Stone) and Rick O’Connell (of The Mummy). Clearly I’m attracted to hunky treasure hunters with nerves of steel and razor sharp wit. I’ve watched theses movies again and again, always imagining myself in the heroine’s shoes. Living out any one of these romantic adventures would be the thrill of a lifetime. 

In my dreams. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Ladies Most Likely...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

‪Historical romance authors Julia Quinn, Connie Brockway and Eloisa James are officially at the top of our wish list for The Ladies Most Likely To Co-Write A Historical Romance. And these three authors are fulfilling our reading dreams with this January's release, The Lady Most Likely … A Novel Written In Three Parts. But what does "A Novel Writen in Three Parts" mean? We went to the authors to find out exactly how they collaborated to create a cohesive novel and what readers can expect from The Lady Most Likely ...

Julia Quinn: We wanted to do something beyond the traditional anthology. So we came up with the idea of a woman wanting to get her brother married off. He's not terribly interested in the process of courtship, though, so she gives him a list and invites all the young ladies to a country house party. He starts at the top and works his way down.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ask Susan Elizabeth Phillips!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

The January issue of RT will include an interview with Susan Elizabeth Phillips and she's taking your questions! What have you always wanted to know about this contemporary romance writing powerhouse and her books? What do you want to know about Teddy's book, Call Me Irresistible? What do you want to know about her writing style?

Post your questions below and we'll get them answered in the upcoming issue of RT!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

UPDATED: Unconfirmed Reports Say Harlequin Is Disbanding Silhouette

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

The Internet is buzzing with speculation that Harlequin will be discontinuing its Silhouette imprint as of April 2011. Currently three book lines are printed under the Silhouette banner: Silhouette Desire, Silhouette Romantic Suspense and Silhouette Special Edition. According to unconfirmed reports, these lines will be folded into the Harlequin brand.

Also slated for a shakeup is the Steeple Hill brand. Reportedly the "Steeple Hill" banner will be discontinued, though the Love Inspired lines will continue on as simply Love Inspired.

RT will give you more details when we have them. Also, look for a full report in the January issue of RT!

BLOG UPDATE 10/18/2010: We heard from Harlequin and will be posting their official statement soon. In the meantime, this is what we've learned: In an effort to strengthen the Harlequin brand, all Silhouette lines will remain intact but will now be known by the new names of Harlequin Desire, Harlequin Romantic Suspense and Harlequin Special Edition. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Top Pick Series by Anne Stuart With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

We were thrilled to see beloved author Anne Stuart return to historical romance with her three back-to-back releases, Ruthless, Reckless and Breathless. The novels begin the author's House of Rohan series and each of them has been an RT Reviewer Top Pick. Now Stuart shares an insider look at her popular new series and gives readers a chance to win the entire series in the GIVEAWAY at the end of the interview.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Making of A Gentleman With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

In author Shana Galen’s latest historical romance, The Making of a Gentleman, her hero, Armand, is a shattered man. After being held captive by the French government for twelve years, he has completely retreated from the world. Learn which classic novel that inspired Galen’s tortured hero and how the author crafted a heroine strong enough to make Armand want to live again. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

When I began my Sons of the Revolution series, about three brothers separated as boys during the French Revolution, I knew Julien (The Making of a Duchess) would be the strong, responsible eldest brother, Bastien (The Making of a Rogue, April 2011) would be the mischievous, charming youngest brother, and Armand (The Making of a Gentleman) would be…scarred. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Diana Gabaldon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Diana Gabaldon is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus at the 2010 New York Comic Con. Learn about the author's new graphic novel, The Exile, her upcoming mystery series and the most surprising part of book eight in the Outlander series.

Diana Gabaldon Goes Behind The Scenes Of Her Outlander Series >>

 

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST