RT Daily Blog

The Making of A Gentleman With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

In author Shana Galen’s latest historical romance, The Making of a Gentleman, her hero, Armand, is a shattered man. After being held captive by the French government for twelve years, he has completely retreated from the world. Learn which classic novel that inspired Galen’s tortured hero and how the author crafted a heroine strong enough to make Armand want to live again. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

When I began my Sons of the Revolution series, about three brothers separated as boys during the French Revolution, I knew Julien (The Making of a Duchess) would be the strong, responsible eldest brother, Bastien (The Making of a Rogue, April 2011) would be the mischievous, charming youngest brother, and Armand (The Making of a Gentleman) would be…scarred. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Diana Gabaldon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Diana Gabaldon is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus at the 2010 New York Comic Con. Learn about the author's new graphic novel, The Exile, her upcoming mystery series and the most surprising part of book eight in the Outlander series.

Diana Gabaldon Goes Behind The Scenes Of Her Outlander Series >>

 

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Whiddon's Latest Heroine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Profile for Seduction, author Karen Whiddon’s newest heroine, Lea, is on the hunt of the vicious serial killer who once held her captive. Learn what inspired this policewoman who refuses to give up, even in the face of unimaginable odds.

In my October Silhouette Romantic Suspense Profile For Seduction, my heroine Lea Cordasic is a police officer who was on the trail of a serial killer when the tables turned and he captured her. The huntress became a captive. Instead of being killed, she was forced to watch unspeakable acts of brutality. This experience shook her to the core and shaped her in ways unimaginable to the confident officer she’d once been.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jane Austen With A Paranormal Twist

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

There have been many Jane Austen adaptations over the years - traditional retellings, contemporary spins (including my favorite, Clueless) and even the inclusion of a monster or two. This month readers can enjoy a whole new take on Jane Austen's beloved stories when four historical romance authors use Ms. Austen's characters as inspiration for their new paranormal anthology Bespelling Jane Austen. So how does one go about picking an Austen story to adapt? Find out here.

Susan Krinard writes "Blood & Prejudice"

Pride & Prejudice is my favorite Austen story. I like it most because Darcy is the kind of hero I really enjoy: standoffish, apparently arrogant, but also deeply compassionate underneath. He's a strong man who is also responsible, and it doesn't hurt that he's tall, dark and handsome! Lizzy, too, is my favorite kind of heroine: "spunky," acerbic, and a match for any man. How could I not love this story? (Plus, Darcy makes a fantastic vampire!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Big Move For Debbie Macomber!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Debbie Macomber is moving, but not out of Port Orchard, Washington. The author is changing publishing houses. Starting in 2012, Macomber will be releasing six new novels with Ballantine Bantam Dell!

Readers need not worry, Macomber's new publisher is devoted to keeping the same small town charm of her previous novels. “The values of family, community and service are integral elements of Debbie Macomber's storytelling, which are cherished by her readers and admired by her peers,” says Theresa Zoro, the director of publicity at Random House which owns Ballantine Bantam Dell. 

The first three of these six books will hit shelves in 2012, with Ballantine planning to publish three Macomber novels the following year. The even better news is that Macomber will be starting a new series set in Port Orchard, Washington — the inspiration for her popular Cedar Cove books!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Small Town, Big World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jo Leigh may live in a small town, but that didn't keep her from incorporating a much larger world into her new series romance, ShiverThe story impressed RT Reviewer Andrew Shaffer as being, “Smart, funny and awash in pop-culture references, Shiver is exactly the type of book that’s needed to attract new readers under 30 to contemporary romance.” Find out how a woman who lives so far off the beaten path creates novels that are pitch-perfect to readers ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Night Out At The Honky Tonk - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Ever wonder what it would be like to spend a night hanging out with some line-dancing, beer-drinking, Texas cowboys? Now you can get in on the action without ever leaving home. Author Carolyn Brown's October release, My Give a Damn's Busted, is the latest installment of her down-home contemporary romance series that revolves around a cowboy bar in Mingus, Texas. And after this special trip to the Honky Tonk, the author will be giving away two signed sets of her entire series!

Put on your tight fittin’ jeans and boots! Tonight we’re going honky tonkin’ in Mingus, Texas. There are several beer joints in town but we are going to the Honky Tonk. It’s still hot in Mingus, Texas even though it’s the first of October so don’t be thinkin’ about a jacket. Dress to work up a sweat because you will be two-steppin’ and line dancin’.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
24COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Into The Holiday Spirit With Debbie Macomber - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

With the winter right around the corner, the RT staff is looking forward to the holiday-themed romances that will be out all season long. Today Debbie Macomber chats with us about her new Christmas romance novel, Call Me Mrs. Miracle. In this exclusive interview, learn Macomber’s favorite holiday traditions, including a special family-favorite recipe from the author. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?

Debbie Macomber: My favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays is setting up my Nativity Scenes all over the house. I collect them and have more than 100 now. No matter where you go in our house, baby Jesus is watching every move you make! And, of course, I treasure the times I have with my children and grandchildren baking and cooking Christmas goodies. I have dozens of recipes for fruitcake.

RT: Does your family have any holiday traditions that make Christmas special? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Author's Arctic Voyage

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Nicola Cornick’s new series starter was inspired by her own Arctic adventure. Learn how a winter wonderland became fodder for the regency romance, Whisper of Scandal. And don’t miss the excerpt of this new novel at the end of the post!

Unusual backgrounds and settings have always inspired me. I love to read them and I love to write them. Right from my very first book, which featured a Somerset cider wassail, I’ve enjoyed incorporating different elements into my Regency historicals. Whether this takes the form of a plot twist or a setting doesn’t really matter but there is always something unusual going on!

With Whisper of Scandal I have taken this to a new level by setting the book in Regency London – and the Arctic. Two years ago I was on a small cruise ship sailing around the island of Spitzbergen in the Arctic Circle. It was the most extraordinary trip of my life. The land was stunning – remote, lonely, beautiful. The history of the island was fascinating and I knew I wanted to set a book there. So the idea for Whisper of Scandal was born.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go Behind The Scenes Of Liz Carlyle's Latest Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Liz Carlyle's new novel, One Touch of Scandal, blends ancient magic, a heroine framed for murder and undeniable passion. In this exclusive interview, discover how the author researched the novel's Indian influences, peek into the minds of the lead characters and learn Carlyle's rule of thumb for measuring if a relationship will stand the test of time. And don't miss your chance to "comment for a cause" at the end of this post to help Avon and Liz Carlyle support the charity Cat Angels!

RT: In One Touch of Scandal there is a lot going on. High society, murder, mind reading. Is it possible for you to describe the plot for readers in, say, 10 words or less?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST