RT Daily Blog

Catherine Anderson On The Difficult Themes In Her New Novel Here To Stay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance author Catherine Anderson shares why she doesn't shy away from serious subjects in her stories of love. Discover the topics she tackles in this month's Here to Stay and find out why she thinks readers relate to her heavier tales of contemporary love.

It is said by many that I tackle difficult subjects as a writer, including but not limited to rape, weight issues, child and spousal abuse, racism, and physical disabilities. Morgan Doremus, RT BOOK REVIEWS' web editor, feels that, despite the “not-very-uplifting” core themes in my work, readers look forward to the emotion they find in my books, and she has asked that I address this for RT readers.

That’s quite an assignment. I’ve often wondered, myself, what readers find in my work that has inspired such a huge and loyal following.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Authors Of A New Anthology Issue Us An Invitation To Sin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

When we heard that historical romance authors Jo Beverley, Vanessa Kelly, Sally MacKenzie and Kaitlin O’Riley had pooled their talent to create this month’s anthology, An Invitation to Sin, our next move was clear. We went right to the four authors to tell us what surprised them about the unexpected relationships that bloom in each of their novellas!

The Surprise In “Forbidden Affections" by Jo Beverley:

I've always been fascinated by the gothic tales that gripped readers in the late 18th and early 19th century. People who think Regency misses were demure would get a shock to share their enjoyment of capture by bandits, terror from lascivious monks, and hauntings by a variety of ghouls. In my story, "Forbidden Affections", a young fan of such works finds herself plunged into a simulation of one of her favorite stories and like so many gothic heroines, can't resist exploring.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two English Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Are you seeking tall, dark and English? Your search is over with two new series romances heroes from Harlequin Historical.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Wiggs' New Favorite Scene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance novel queen Susan Wiggs shares her very favorite scene from her newest novel. (No spoilers, she promises!)

The good news is, my favorite scene in Marrying Daisy Bellamy is touching, funny, emotional and entertaining. The bad news is, I can’t tell you what happens in that scene.

Why? Well, because it wouldn’t be fair to people who haven’t read the book yet. It’s got too many spoilers in it.

Part of the fun of Marrying Daisy Bellamy is the excruciating who-will-win-her-heart tension that has been running through all of the Lakeshore Chronicles, ever since Daisy burst onto the scene in Summer at Willow Lake, a troubled teen with a chip on her shoulder. Through the subsequent books, she has felt the push and pull of her heart between Logan–the father of her child–and Julian–the hunky Air Force pilot. So I can’t talk about that favorite scene and risk a spoiler.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Cara Elliott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

We go inside Cara Elliott’s historical romance series, Circle of Sin, for a special look at the series ender, To Tempt a Rake. Learn which beloved rake inspired the hero of this new romance, what true historical elements Elliott wove into the story and find out the three facts you must know about the hero of Elliott’s next series!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In To Tempt a Rake, the final installment of your Circle of Sin trilogy, the heroine Kate Woodbridge is a fiery botanist. What is Kate’s favorite part of studying botany?

Cara Elliott: Kate loves seeing buds unfurl and bloom into glorious shapes and colors. She’s had a tough, nomadic life up until now, and has felt rootless, so botany has been a balm for her troubled spirits. But now that she’s come to London, new relationships with friends and family are also beginning to blossom. 

Read the entire interview>>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Romance Community Aids The Australian Queensland Flood Relief Fund

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

When trouble strikes, the romance reading community is always quick to respond! Currently readers and authors are rallying to support the victims of the Queensland floods that swept through Australia in January. The natural disaster left several dead and missing, but many more people have lost their homes and livelihoods. When the Premier Anna Bligh estimated that cleaning up the flood damage could cost billions of dollars, the Australian Romance Readers Association knew that they needed to help.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Medical Themed Romances Get *Web Exclusive Reviews*

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

I adore Grey's Anatomy, Private Practice and Off The Map, and with sexy doctors like McDreamy and McSteamy saving lives, I know I'm not the only gal out there who can't get enough of hospital romance. So I was thrilled to learn that RT will now be running *Web Exclusive Reviews* of the series romances in the Harlequin Medical imprint!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Kat Martin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Kat Martin welcomes us into her world of romances in this special author interview. Get an insider look at the making of the contemporary romances in her latest series, her writing process and what we can expect from this fantastic author next!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The books in your current series, the Against Trilogy, are contemporary romances set in Wyoming. Was it difficult to switch from your last trilogy, a historical romance, into the world of the contemporary West?

Kat Martin: Actually, though all of the Raines brothers were born in Wyoming, only the first book,Against the Wind, is set there. The other two brothers, Gabe and Dev, have moved away, Gabe to Dallas and Dev to Scottsdale, Arizona. The switch from historical to contemporary turned out to be easier than I expected. Over the years, I had written ten contemporaries, two ghost stories, the rest romantic suspense. So I was just going back to the kind of writing I had dabbled in before.

Read the entire interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Tale Of Two Genres With Maureen Child (aka Regan Hastings)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's "Inside the author's studio" with Maureen Child who also writes paranormal romances under the pen name Regan Hastings. Today this talented author shares what it's like to write across genres and what she does to sweep fans off their feet, no matter which genre of books they read.

As Maureen Child, I’ve written a lot of books for Silhouette Desire (soon to be Harlequin Desire). As Regan Hastings, I launched my brand new Awakening series of dark paranormal romances last week with the release of Visions of Magic. In both the category novels and the single titles, I created a fantasy experience for the reader, but of a very different sort.

For example, with January’s Have Baby, Need Billionaire, I created billionaire Simon Bradley. Tula’s love for him will have nothing to do with his money, of course, but the reader will know that she’ll never have to worry about how to pay her utility bill. She’ll have a life with the man she loves and who loves her, plus she’ll live in comfort and security forever. Desire readers tell me all the time that they love imagining themselves living in the heroine’s shoes.

The fantasy world I created in Visions of Magic, on the other hand, is not a place you’d want to live. It’s a dark and dangerous world where women who are suspected of witchcraft are imprisoned without trial. Fear is ubiquitous and has been for ten years, since society learned that magic is real. And the fear is founded in eye witness accounts of witches doing terrible things like setting people on fire.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Heroine Named Hero

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

When it comes to historical romances, normally my favorite heroines are the women who break all the rules. Adjectives like quirky, spunky and feisty come to mind to describe them. So I was surprised when just a few pages into this month's RT Top Pick! Notorious Pleasures, I couldn't get enough of Elizabeth Hoyt's new heroine, Lady Hero. She's well-behaved, graceful and seems pretty much flawless, which makes the love triangle between the heroine and two brothers that much more scandalous. Now Elizabeth Hoyt gives us an inside look at the making of manner-minding Lady Hero who has made me love a new kind of heroine.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST