RT Daily Blog

Then and Now: Jane Feather

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK
 

Jane Feather then ...

 
 
... and now. 

Beloved historical romance author Jane Feather is known for her sweeping dramas and dark heroes. Feather began publishing books back in 1984, writing contemporary romances for two years as Claudia Bishop before she released her first historical romance as Jane Feather in 1986. Over the course of twenty five years the author has written thirty seven novels and her works have been included in several anthologies. Today we chat with this bestselling author about how the romance genre, and her writing, has evolved since she debuted on the scene.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Anna Campbell's Midnight's Wild Passion

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Anna Campbell's upcoming novel, Midnight's Wild Passion. For this book Campbell puts her own spin on the Cinderella story. No we go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at this new historical romance which will hit bookstores in April.

***

Rakes, Duels, Balls, House Parties, Elopements - Oh, My! 

My latest historical romance, Midnight’s Wild Passion, goes on sale April 26th. It’s my sixth book for Avon and it’s the closest I’ve come to writing a classic Regency romance like the wonderful Georgette Heyers I grew up reading. As you’ve probably gathered from the heading, classic elements abound in this story! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
35COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fiona McArthur On Her Newly Released Harlequin Medical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fiona McArthur is one of the series romance authors whose March Harlequin Medical Romance is getting a *Web Exclusive Review*. Today she stops by to chat about what fans can expect from her latest tale, Midwife, Mother ... Italian's Wife.

Hi, I'm Fiona McArthur and I write for HMB Medicals Romance, and I'm a midwife.

Leon Bonmarito is my favourite hero so far. But I’m not going to rave about a sexy Italian widower who didn’t know he had a sense of humour until he found Lyrebird Lake, or about Tammy, a feisty, independent midwife and mother who doesn’t need a man to try and run her life.

Instead, Morgan’s asked me to talk about my core theme, and that’s women being there for women. Or Midwifery.

It’s not money that drives the world, it’s babies and their promise for the future, and women are the ones that are in charge of birth. Did I confuse you? Doctors are in charge of sick people and sometimes we forget birth is a normal event not an illness.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Men Writing Romance: An Interview With Series Romance Author Wayne Jordan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we interview series romance author Wayne Jordan. Jordan has been praised for his relatable characters and skill at pacing his stories. Now he shares his perspective on what it means to be a man writing romance novels.

***

What type of romance do you write? I write series/category romance for Harlequin’s African-American line, Kimani Romance.

When did you first get published as a romance author? My first book, Capture the Sunrise, was published in November 2005 as part of the Arabesque line published by BET Books. Ironically, Harlequin purchased BET Book in the December of that year so I automatically became a Harlequin author. Devon Vaughn Archer and I were the first two male authors for that line and the then editor, Demetria Lucas, wanted us to write under our own names. Fortunately, the editorial committee agreed. Our first books, came out in a 2-in-1 volume called Slow Motion.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

C.H. Admirand Reveals The Inspiration For Her New Contemporary Romance Tyler

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance author C.H. Admirand reveals the inspiration behind her new series that features contemporary cowboys. Discover how the decision to support a fellow author turned into Admirand's new series starter, Tyler.

It all started with a hurricane in a bar in Houston, Texas… My willingness to be supportive is how my real-life experience at LeBare Strip Club in Houston became the plot line behind Tylerpart of my new series The Secret Life of Cowboys. In my story, Tyler Garahan will do anything to save his family ranch, the Circle G, but he never thought that would include taking a job as a stripper at a local ladies’ club. I never imagined I’d end up at a strip club either, but as you know, the most unusual experiences make the best stories.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Kieran Kramer's Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Kieran Kramer's upcoming novel, Cloudy With a Chance of Marriage. Kramer debuted on the historical romance scene in November with two back-to-back RT Top Picks! No we go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at her next Regency-set love story which will hit bookstores in April.

***

I’m a MacGyver sort of person <G>. Are you? 

I’ve got a few seasons on DVD. The whole family enjoys watching the hunky hero use whatever resource he has at his fingertips—matches, paper clips, string, duct tape, credit cards--to escape bad situations. His ability to find a way out of danger is so uncanny that it’s made for some funny comic skits on Saturday Night Live.

But real-life situations in which we feel trapped don’t feel funny at all. To believe that there’s no way out…I can’t think of a feeling that’s worse. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Men Writing Romance: An Interview With Inspirational Romance Author Henry McLaughlin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we talk with male author Henry McLaughlin who has just released his inspirational historical romance, February’s Journey to Riverbend. This novel got an RT Top Pick! from Review Patsy Glans who praised McLaughlin’s multidimensional characters. Now McLaughlin answers our questions about what it’s like to be a man writing in what is classical considered “a woman’s genre”.

***

What type of romance do you write? Western/historical

When did you first get published as a romance author? Journey to Riverbend is my first published novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Interview With The Horror-Writing Heroine Of Jana DeLeon's The Secret Of Cypriere Bayou

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the new series romance Jana DeLeon's The Secret of Cypriere Bayou, horror writer Olivia Markham is thrust into a real-life mystery when cop John Landry turns to her for help. Now we "interview" Olivia Markham about writing, her belief in the supernatural and what her fans can expect next! 

***

Olivia, you have a unique writing style when crafting a horror novel. Tell us what you do and why?

Atmosphere is a big influence on my creativity. Creating the right tone and setting for a horror novel is equally as important as creating the right characters and plot. In order to get myself in the right mental mode for a book, I rent haunted houses and stay in them to write my current novel. Each house is selected based on location, look and feel and weighs heavily into the story I craft. The house may now be a bed & breakfast or it may be empty and remote, like laMalediction, the house where I came face-to-face with the evil I write about.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Men Writing Romance: An Interview With Science Fiction Romance Author Nico Rosso

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we host the second of this week’s four interviews with male authors who write romance. Author Nico Rosso made his debut this winter with e-book Taken to the Limit. The story got an RT rating of 4 1/2 stars from Reviewer Dawn Crowne who called the story “fantastic”. Today we get Nico Rosso's take on what it means to be a man who writes romance novels. 

***

What type of romance do you write? Sci-fi romance

When did you first get published as a romance author? November of 2010

Do you write in any other genre(s)? I worked as a screenwriter for a few years, but found that the form wasn't the best outlet for my voice. I have written in the literary thriller genre, but haven't yet been published there.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Men Writing Romance: A Chat With Historical Romance Author Leigh Greenwood

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we chat with four male authors who are penning tales of love, lust and passion for romance fans. Author Leigh Greenwood has been delighting romance fans for years with historical romances and series romance tales. The author is a master of longing glances, stolen moments and love stories that touch the heart. But what some readers may not know is that the author behind these books is a man. Today get a special look into the mind of author Leigh Greenwood!

***

What type of romance do you write? I write primarily western historical romances.

When did you first get published as a romance author? My first book came out in June of 1987. I’ve written over fifty books since then.

Do you write in any other genre(s)? Which genres were you first published in? I wrote four historicals which are not westerns. I also wrote seven contemporary romances.

How did you first start writing romance? I was trying to get my wife to write a book. Instead, she challenged me to write one. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST