RT Daily Blog

Susan Mallery's Holiday Treat

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK
 
 

 

Contemporary Romance fans will delight in devouring the newest treat from bestselling author Susan Mallery. (And this is a holiday goodie that won't pack on the pounds!) The author has created a special digital magazine titled "Fool's Gold Holiday Wishes" based on her popular new contemporary series.

The author's Fool's Gold series began in May 2010 with Chasing Perfect, which was quickly followed by two more installments all set in the fictional California town of Fool's Gold. All three books have received RT ratings of 4 stars or above and have left readers anxiously awaiting the next Fool's Gold-set stories. 

Between the books Mallery helps fans stay in the know about everything going on in the town with the website www.foolsgoldCA.com. There you can explore the city, read the most recent Fool's Gold news, send a Fool's Gold postcard and check out some of the town's leading citizens. There's a wealth of entertainment at this quirky site that is sure to enchant both old fans and readers new to the series.

However, Mallery is turning our heads again with her newest addition to the experience of the Fool's Gold that goes well beyond the books. She has created a holiday magazine that features exclusive articles about Fool's Gold, a list of the 6 best things to do in town during the month of December, holiday recipes and more. We particularly enjoyed the clever advertisements that even had one of the RT editors thinking that this was a real magazine!

Be sure to check out the magazine here and mark your calendars for Mallery's next two books, which will both be available in April 2011.

View the Fool's Gold Magazine >>

 

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Primer of Unusual Historical Romance Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

As part of our weeklong look at historical romances set in unusual times and places, today we've put together a sort of primer on the best of this exotic corner of the genre. Several of the authors who contribute to the popular blog Unusual Historicals have volunteered their absolute must-reads. Perhaps one of these romances will be your invitation to a much wider world!

 

"I've chosen Zoe Archer's paranormal-tinged romance, Warrior, the first of her Blades of the Rose series. Come on, Mongolia! The hero is a brawny English soldier, the heroine is a not-at-all-proper Victorian miss, and their passion is playfully sexy. And did I mention adventure? Like Indiana Jones but with all the good mushy stuff I want in a romance."

- Lorelie Brown, the author of Jazz Baby. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Author Kate Hewitt on What Cannot be Bought

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the Harlequin Presents line of series romances, problems are frequently solved with the hero's fortune. However, Kate Hewitt's new novel, Zoe and the Tormented Tycoon, breaks this mold. Her hero is going blind and no amount of money can fix his sight. This unusual series romance has been nominated for a 2010 RT Reviewers' Choice award and today the author is here to share what inspired her to write about this imperfect, perfect hero that faces an uncertain future.

If you’ve ever picked up a Harlequin Presents, you know what to expect: a fantastic, glamorous setting, a gorgeous, billionaire alpha hero who has it all, and an emotionally intense conflict--all of it whisking you away on a ride, according to the writing guidelines, ‘in the fast lane of romance!’

Yet what if that billionaire alpha hero doesn’t have it all? What if inside he is struggling, doubting himself and everything he’s believed in? What if money can’t buy what he wants, and I don’t just mean love?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Behind the Scenes of Sherry James' The Cowboy and the Hellcat

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Sherry James is known for her contemporary tales of love and passion, but with her new release, The Cowboy and the Hellcat, the author embarks on her first historical series. Now get an insider look at this tale that whisks readers to Christmastime in Nebraska during 1876 for a whirlwind romance between two people who never thought that love would be in their future. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of this holiday western novella after this interview!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In The Cowboy and the Hellcat Adam has recently suffered the loss of his father and Ellie is soon to lose hers as well. What inspired you to write a holiday romance laced with such sadness? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michelle Styles on Speaking Your Words in Foreign Tongues

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

All week long we have been talking about "unusual historicals" on The RT Daily Blog. And we knew our coverage would not be complete without addressing the changes a story can undergo when being marketed to readers around the world. So today, author Michelle Styles chats about her own “accidentally global” writing career and discusses some of the ways that historical romance readers' tastes vary from country to country.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet the guys (and girl!) from Kelly Group International (KGI)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romantic suspense is a genre full of hunky heroes and can-do heroines, and we love every action-packed moment of these adventures. So when Maya Banks introduced her private security firm Kelly Group International, we knew that we needed an in-depth look at these heroes (and heroine) that are making us swoon!

KGI is a private firm run by Sam Kelly and his two younger brothers, Garrett and Donovan. They are three of six Kelly brothers, all of whom served in different branches of the U.S. military.

Right now they have two teams, but they plan to build at least one more as they expand their base and operations.

Here’s a run down of the brothers and the two KGI teams:

Sam is the oldest at 36. He tends to be an anal hardass, though the title of “uptight son of a bitch” goes to Garrett Kelly, who is second oldest at 34. Garrett has a weakness for…caramel. Yes, caramel! His caramel hoarding very nearly gets him into trouble in Hidden Away (his book, which releases in March 2011).

Donovan Kelly…Ah Van, as his family calls him. He’s the super sexy geek. Lover of all things techy. His computer is named “Hoss” and he gets cranky when other people touch it. (I just love sexy, smart men!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Legend Behind Duchess of Sin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Laurel McKee's new series of Irish-set historical romances all have their roots in the mythology that the author has loved since she was a child. Discover what tales inspired these romances and don't miss the special excerpt of the newest Daughters of Erin novel, Duchess of Sin, at the end of the post!

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve been obsessed with mythology. It all started with a volume of children’s stories about the Greek gods (not quite as naughty as the adult versions!) followed by library books about Egyptian and Russian tales. I loved stories of gods and goddesses, magic, and feats of bravery as well as the exotic settings. But my favorite tales of all were in a book of Celtic mythology I found on my grandparents’ bookshelves. These were full of danger and adventure with the fascinating, complicated characters I loved, all in a gorgeous Irish setting. It also featured dark, dangerous warriors sent on vital quests—and they’ve inspired my heroes to this day.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Changing View of History

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

In our week of focusing on "unusual historicals" we knew that we had to chat with someone who pushed the boundaries of the moment in time when historical romances become contemporary stories set in the past. Author Elizabeth Lane has written several stories set at the edge of this moment. Now she reflects on how “the time line” has changed over the past sixteen years of writing historical romances. And be one of the first to see the cover of Lane's upcoming March release, The Widowed Bride, which is revealed at the bottom of this post!

For as far back as I can remember, the traditional cutoff date for historical novels was the end of the 19th Century. Happily, for authors and readers, that definition seems to be changing. Stories set in the early 1900s are increasingly being written, published and read. My own writing career is a case in point.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Blythe Gifford on Encountering the Unexpected With a Historical Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romance author Blythe Gifford’s medieval heroes are all “born on the wrong side of the royal blanket” but that is just the tip of the iceberg for these heroes who defy readers’ expectations! Now Gifford chats about the comfort that romance fans find in these historical stories and shares how she works to create heroes who a reader would follow anywhere.

Laura Kinsale famously observed that in romance, “it’s the hero who carries the book.”

This, I suggest, is a major challenge facing those who write historicals set in times and places unfamiliar to the audience.

The reader does not know what kind of hero to expect. 

When a reader picks up a book set in Regency England or the Scottish Highlands, the two most popular historical settings, they are getting more than a return to a familiar time and place. They are returning to a particular type of hero.

Regency England means a rakish duke who will be tamed by the heroine, of course, to achieve a “happy ever after” ending.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pushing Boundaries With Unusual Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

There are only so many times a historical romance fan can read about a handsome duke who is secretly a spy, a crusty cowboy soon to be tamed by a saloon girl with a heart of gold or a beautiful Scottish lass abducted by the laird of a warring clan. After a certain point, it all gets, pardon the pun, old. So what’s a historical romance fan to do? Visit the group blog Unusual Historicals, of course! Created by author Carrie Lofty, the site is a gathering place for authors and readers who are seeking stories that are off the beaten path. Now Lofty talks about pushing the boundaries of historical romance – literally by setting her novels in Austria, South Africa and medieval Spain - and she shares what readers can expect as the website marks its fourth anniversary celebrating these reads!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST