RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Courtney Milan Chats With Dear Author Blogger Jane Litte

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Courtney Milan first made waves with her debut novel, Proof by Seduction in January 2010. The author has since published two more books, including this month's RT Top Pick! Unveiled, and is nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice Award. Now get to know the author better as Milan chats with Dear Author blogger Jane Litte in this RT-exclusive video. Learn what Milan thinks it takes to be a good writer, why she will never attempt a contemporary romance and which books are on her list of favorite reads.

Courtney Milan chats with blogger Jane Litte about writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Margo Maguire's The Rogue Prince Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Margo Maguire’s new historical romance, Seducing the Governess, got an RT Top Pick! Today Maguire reveals her inspiration for this steamy new tale in an author message. You can also enjoy an RT exclusive excerpt of this new novel.

If you missed Margo Maguire’s previous novel, The Rogue Prince, then today is your lucky day! Three RT readers will win a copy of this May 2010 novel that RT Senior Reviewer Kate Robin called, “a love story that reaches the heart with its inherent tenderness and pure romance.” And if that doesn't sounds like a delicious way to beat back the winter blues, we don't know what is.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
32COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julianne MacLean Aka E.V. Mitchell Talks About The Color Of Heaven

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Julianne MacLean is best known for her historical romances. Recently, writing under the pen name E.V. Mitchell,  MacLean moved in a different direction with her mainstream novel, The Color of HeavenThe story follows heroine Sophie who is struggling to stay positive during her daughter’s battle with leukemia. But when old secrets surface after a serious car accident, Sophie's world may never be the same. Now check out this author interview with Julianne MacLean about the process of creating her first novel as E.V. Mitchell.

***

The main character in The Color of Heaven, Sophie, is a writer. How much of your own experiences as an author went into creating Sophie’s character?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Catherine Anderson On The Difficult Themes In Her New Novel Here To Stay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance author Catherine Anderson shares why she doesn't shy away from serious subjects in her stories of love. Discover the topics she tackles in this month's Here to Stay and find out why she thinks readers relate to her heavier tales of contemporary love.

It is said by many that I tackle difficult subjects as a writer, including but not limited to rape, weight issues, child and spousal abuse, racism, and physical disabilities. Morgan Doremus, RT BOOK REVIEWS' web editor, feels that, despite the “not-very-uplifting” core themes in my work, readers look forward to the emotion they find in my books, and she has asked that I address this for RT readers.

That’s quite an assignment. I’ve often wondered, myself, what readers find in my work that has inspired such a huge and loyal following.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Authors Of A New Anthology Issue Us An Invitation To Sin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

When we heard that historical romance authors Jo Beverley, Vanessa Kelly, Sally MacKenzie and Kaitlin O’Riley had pooled their talent to create this month’s anthology, An Invitation to Sin, our next move was clear. We went right to the four authors to tell us what surprised them about the unexpected relationships that bloom in each of their novellas!

The Surprise In “Forbidden Affections" by Jo Beverley:

I've always been fascinated by the gothic tales that gripped readers in the late 18th and early 19th century. People who think Regency misses were demure would get a shock to share their enjoyment of capture by bandits, terror from lascivious monks, and hauntings by a variety of ghouls. In my story, "Forbidden Affections", a young fan of such works finds herself plunged into a simulation of one of her favorite stories and like so many gothic heroines, can't resist exploring.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two English Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Are you seeking tall, dark and English? Your search is over with two new series romances heroes from Harlequin Historical.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Wiggs' New Favorite Scene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance novel queen Susan Wiggs shares her very favorite scene from her newest novel. (No spoilers, she promises!)

The good news is, my favorite scene in Marrying Daisy Bellamy is touching, funny, emotional and entertaining. The bad news is, I can’t tell you what happens in that scene.

Why? Well, because it wouldn’t be fair to people who haven’t read the book yet. It’s got too many spoilers in it.

Part of the fun of Marrying Daisy Bellamy is the excruciating who-will-win-her-heart tension that has been running through all of the Lakeshore Chronicles, ever since Daisy burst onto the scene in Summer at Willow Lake, a troubled teen with a chip on her shoulder. Through the subsequent books, she has felt the push and pull of her heart between Logan–the father of her child–and Julian–the hunky Air Force pilot. So I can’t talk about that favorite scene and risk a spoiler.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Cara Elliott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

We go inside Cara Elliott’s historical romance series, Circle of Sin, for a special look at the series ender, To Tempt a Rake. Learn which beloved rake inspired the hero of this new romance, what true historical elements Elliott wove into the story and find out the three facts you must know about the hero of Elliott’s next series!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In To Tempt a Rake, the final installment of your Circle of Sin trilogy, the heroine Kate Woodbridge is a fiery botanist. What is Kate’s favorite part of studying botany?

Cara Elliott: Kate loves seeing buds unfurl and bloom into glorious shapes and colors. She’s had a tough, nomadic life up until now, and has felt rootless, so botany has been a balm for her troubled spirits. But now that she’s come to London, new relationships with friends and family are also beginning to blossom. 

Read the entire interview>>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Romance Community Aids The Australian Queensland Flood Relief Fund

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

When trouble strikes, the romance reading community is always quick to respond! Currently readers and authors are rallying to support the victims of the Queensland floods that swept through Australia in January. The natural disaster left several dead and missing, but many more people have lost their homes and livelihoods. When the Premier Anna Bligh estimated that cleaning up the flood damage could cost billions of dollars, the Australian Romance Readers Association knew that they needed to help.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Medical Themed Romances Get *Web Exclusive Reviews*

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

I adore Grey's Anatomy, Private Practice and Off The Map, and with sexy doctors like McDreamy and McSteamy saving lives, I know I'm not the only gal out there who can't get enough of hospital romance. So I was thrilled to learn that RT will now be running *Web Exclusive Reviews* of the series romances in the Harlequin Medical imprint!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST