RT Daily Blog

An Amazing E-Vent With Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson are adding a special touch of magic to their new novels, In the Dark of Dreams and Crown of Crystal Flame, which release this week. These authors are not only hosting a joint book signing at Joseph-Beth in Cincinnati, they are streaming the event live so that fans around the globe can participate!

We love Liu for her quirky characters, fast paced action and memorable romances. Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith has nominated In the Dark of Dreams for a 2010 Reviewers' Choice Award. She calls the latest Dirk & Steele adventure, "A terrific concoction filled with choice amounts of danger, passion and betrayal!"

Wilson, a fan favorite, is known for her richly detailed worlds full of adventure and fantasy. Her latest novel concludes the Tairen Song series. Not only did Crown of Crystal Flame receive an RT Top Pick! it was also nominated for RT's November Seal of Excellence.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christmas Memories With Lisa Plumley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Lisa Plumley is ringing in the holiday season this year with not one but two very different new romance novels! The first is the Christmas-themed contemporary, A Holiday Affair, and the second is a trip back to the American Frontier in Mail-Order Groom. But this Christmas-loving author took some time out of her busy schedule to share a very meaningful holiday memory with us. 

Some families take down their Christmas tree on Boxing Day, immediately after Christmas. Others haul their tinsel-sprinkled, crunchy-needled evergreen to the curb for recycling a week or so later. Either way, by New Year’s Day, most families have moved on.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cathy Maxwell On “Lickably Good” Romance Novel Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

We all know that we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover — but that doesn’t mean that we don’t! And over the past twenty years romance novels have certainly undergone some very distinctive trends. (They don’t call the romance genre “bodice-rippers” for nothing!) Now best-selling romance author Cathy Maxwell chats about the the covers have inspired her, the trends she loves and the art she covets!

When I visited Dame Barbara Cartland at her country estate (Yes, I did that and, yes, it was totally cool. The trip was organized by RT.), I was impressed by the four hundred plus book covers she had framed and hanging in her main hallway. The Cartland covers had a single, distinctive look. 

I asked her if the same artist had worked with her throughout her career.

She said in her lovely English drawl that the covers were the work of four different artists. “They keep dying on me and I must take on another.” (At the time of our meeting, I believe she was 98 and still writing 5,000 words a day. What a great career she had.) 

And I loved her covers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Wilde Shares Her Holiday Preparations With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

The weather outside is (almost) frightful, and although it hasn't snowed in Brooklyn yet, everyone at the RT office has caught the spirit of the season. So we are especially excited about this holiday themed interview with Lori Wilde. The author chats about her favorite holiday traditions, her new holiday romance, The First Love Cookie Club and shares a favorite recipe. And don't miss the giveaway at the end of this post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?

Lori Wilde: My favorite part is the cooking. I adore cooking but I’m normally too busy, so I look forward to baking Christmas gifts. I love decorating the tree as well and usually have a tree decorating party where I get to try out the recipes I’ve collected over the year.

RT: Does your family have any holiday traditions that make Christmas special?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Kieran Kramer - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Kieran Kramer is thrilling historical romance fans with her back-to-back releases, November's When Harry Met Molly and December's upcoming Dukes to the Left of Me, Princes to the Right. These two Regency romps are full of witty dialogue and lovable characters and both received Top Pick! ratings from RT. So Web Editor Morgan Doremus had to ask the new author about the magic behind her fantastic books and what is up next.

Morgan Doremus: Two books in two months and both Top Picks - editors around the RT office are stunned at your accomplishment and wondering where did this author come from?!? You have to share your story. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Seal of Excellence Winner B.J. Daniels Talks About Her Romance-Filled Small Town

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author B.J. Daniels won RT’s November Seal of Excellence for her latest series romance, High-Caliber Christmas. This novel won the attention of the RT editors with its fast-paced suspense and sweet romance. Now the author shares how the fictional small town of Whitehorse, Montana has become the home to so much romance and what fans can expect to occur there next!

There is nothing more exciting than writing a book, falling in love with it and having someone else love it too.

With High-Caliber Christmas, I liked the characters from the first time I met them on the page. I’m a seat-of-the-pants writer so I am always surprised when I first meet my characters. I’m also surprised when I find out who the killer is. Heck, I’m surprised by most everything that happens in my books, I guess that’s why I love writing so much.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Beauty and the Danger of the African Continent

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Stephanie Tyler shares how her own relationship with Africa shines through in her portrayal of the continent in her romantic suspense novels. Delve into the wilds of this beautiful and dangerous land with Tyler's newest heroine, Dr. Olivia Strohm, who learns her own true strength in this month's Promises in the Dark. And don't miss the excerpt at the end of the post!

I always tell people that I could easily live in Africa and I truly mean that. The continent will always has a special place in my heart, as my husband was born in Songea, Tanzania and we’ve returned many times. Africa is a study in contrasts, with so much lush beauty and so much heartache mingling together, spectacular and tragic at the same time in an almost overwhelming way. It’s a place I understand, a place that contains so much beauty and danger and to me, that’s what romantic suspense is all about. Many of my books are set in Africa for this very reason.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Hawkins On What Makes Scottish Men The Best Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Karen Hawkins embarks on a new series with One Night in Scotland, which releases today. The novel is not only an RT Top Pick! it has also been nominated to win the Best Scotland-Set Historical Romance category of the 2010 RT Reviewers' Choice Awards. So the author has stopped by to share her reasons why a Scot makes the best type of romance hero. And don’t miss the excerpt of One Night in Scotland at the end of the post!

Sometimes a good book (or series) can change your life. Such is the case when I discovered Elizabeth Peters' beloved Amelia Peabody series. Amelia’s intrepid curiosity, dry wit, and desire to unlock the mysteries of the ancients while simultaneously raising a family, civilizing her husband, and battling evil in the present time, made her a woman to admire. For me, she set a new standard for the term ‘heroine.’  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take a Guided Tour of Konigsburg, a Fictional Texas Town Alive With Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Meg Benjamin takes readers on a guided tour of the fictional Texas town of Konigsburg. Her latest Konigsburg-set novel, Long Time Gone, won the author a nomination for Best Small Press Romance in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards. And don't miss the excerpt of Long Time Gone at the end of the post!

William Faulkner used to have a sign in his study: “Yoknapatawpha County, William Faulkner, Sole Owner and Proprietor.” That’s sort of the way I feel about Konigsburg, Texas, the Texas Hill Country town I created for my first novel with Samhain Publishing, Venus In Blue Jeans. I’ve returned to Konigsburg several times since then, for Wedding Bell Blues, Be My Baby, and Long Time Gone, which was a Contemporary Romance RT Book Reviews Top Pick! in the December issue. My fifth Konigsburg book, Brand New Me, will be published by Samhain on December 7.

Konigsburg resembles other Hill Country towns like Kerrville, Marble Falls, Fredericksburg, and Boerne. But it’s unique in that (besides being mythical), it’s home to the Toleffson brothers and their families.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Taylor Quinn On Psychological Twists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Tara Taylor Quinn’s romantic suspense series, The Chapman Files, has been full of unexpected twists and turns. This is especially true for Kelly Chapman’s latest adventure, this month’s The Fourth Victim. During this stop on the author's blog tour, she shares how her own life was affected by the psychological nightmare of domestic abuse, what she is doing to support a shelter in need and how readers can get also lend a helping hand. And don’t miss the author’s special giveaway at the end of the post! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST