RT Daily Blog

Neighborhood Watch: Nora Loves Rear Window, Just Like Us!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

So it’s Monday, sure, and tomorrow’s tax day. But it’s also spring and there’s a new Nora Roberts book out this week, The Collector! This time, la Nora latest takes on a Rear Window-esque vibe, one of our very favorite homages. We thought that as we wait for release day, we’d walk through some of our other favorite Read Window call backs as we torture the rest of the RT staff with our very best James Stuart impressions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Score! Six Sports Romances Readers Can Root For

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Hey there, sports fan! While we mostly appreciate sports because we can drink beer while watching them, and also those tight pants the athletes often wear — we mean, is that spandex? — there’s a growing subgenre of sports romances that are hitting it big (scoring big? winning … matches? Like we said, we’re mainly in it for the beer and pants.).

If you’re already a fan or want to try these romances out, you’re in luck, because this week, six steamy sports romances are being published by Carina. Each of the books features a different sport, so the authors have stopped by today to tell us why their sport is best! (Also we made them include pictures of hot athletes. Because we care.)

RUGBY

Kat Latham (Playing It Close) - In a sport where players have thighs like redwoods, tackle each other with the force of high-speed car crashes, yet are almost always respectful to referees, it’s no wonder rugby is often called “a sport for thugs, played by gentlemen.” Not only are they strong, devoted and passionate, but they also have a sense of honor and fair play — and that makes them perfect romance heroes!  

Rugby player Jonny Wilkinson

English rugby player Jonny Wilkinson

Image © Lena via Wikimedia Commons

TENNIS


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Working Girls: Heroines with Careers We Covet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

We sometimes daydream about what it would be like to be the heroine of a romance novel — the angst, the drama, the hero. But several of this month's romances have caught our attention, not only because of them swoonworthy love story, but because of the heroine's awesome profession! Here's a roundup of our favorite  heroines on the job this month. 

The cover of Night Diver by Elizabeth Lowell

What a Reckless Rogue Needs by Vicky Dreiling - Not only is Vicky's heroine in her second Sinful Scoundrels series a divorcée — very edgy for Regency England — she's an architect and interior designer. Get it, Lady Angeline! Do you know how much math you need to understand to be an architect? A lot, that's how much. (You need significantly less to be a website editor.) She falls in love during a restoration project, which is not how most of those home projects go that we see on HGTV, but hey! That's why romance novels are so great. Fantasy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Up by Five by Erin Nicholas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Up by FiveYou made it to Friday! We're so proud of you, because this week was kind of a long one, huh? Today we've got a treat, an exclusive excerpt from rising contemporary star Erin Nicholas, and an awesome giveaway. Erin's the author of the addictive Counting on Love series, the fifth entry of which, Up by Five, is out next week.

It's the story of Connor Dixon, who finally has his sisters' lives sorted out. He's ready for some solitude, some guy time. So of course he ends up rooming with fellow paramedic Gabby, who all of the sudden is looking pretty sexy. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Navy SEAL Hero Happy To Retire; Didn’t Really Want To Pursue That Vendetta, Anyway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Close up of veteran's dog tags and military medals

source

Annapolis — Former Navy SEAL and all-around bad ass Redd Stone was all smiles the week following his retirement after an illustrious and top secret 15 year career. “You know,” he told us between long drags of beer, “it feels good to be outta the game.” He patted his stomach. “Some of my buddies have missed it, started up security firms, taken on last minute, killer missions. Not me, no thanks. I want to sleep through the night. In a bed.”

Stone explained the constant travel, risky missions and gunfights get to a person after a while. “I missed out on a lot of TV, you know? I don’t even know whatever happened at the end of Lost.” He held up his hand, “Don’t tell me, I’ve got it all recorded.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Woman Considers Moving Back To Small Hometown, Realizes She Made The Right Decision In Leaving

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

Kristen Manning, 30, returned to her small hometown of Petunia Springs, Montana, only to realize that she was better off living in San Jose, where she’s resided for the past 10 years.

“I came back to visit my sister, Amanda, who was pregnant with twins. And I thought maybe I could reconnect with some old friends, especially … Russ Dannings.”

But Russ isn’t the same as Kristen remembers. “Time has not been kind to Russ. He has a huge beer gut now and still smokes, which was kinda hot in high school, but not anymore. I swung by to visit the gas station where he still works, and saw him through the service station window, sitting behind the counter picking his nose. I got the hell out of there before I could see if he ate his boogers or not.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cowboy Confesses He Knew About “Secret Twins” All Along

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

Montana rancher Brant Hubbard, 32, has confessed he knew he was the father of his now-wife Amanda Manning’s twin daughters months before they were born. “I acted surprised when I found out, but, I mean, Petunia Springs has a population of 1,500. My best friend’s dad is the town doctor. And Amanda’s pretty thin, so it was obvious soon enough that she got pregnant right after sleeping with me.”

The couple met in high school, where they dated briefly but broke up over a misunderstanding right before Amanda left for college. “I saw him hanging out under the bleachers with Tiffany LeDuke, and I knew what that meant, so I up and left early for school,” Amanda explained.

Brant, who runs his family’s cattle ranch, has always been hurt by Amanda’s sudden departure. “She left without saying goodbye. Good thing I had Tiffany to keep me company that summer.”  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: March 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists at The New York Times, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords to put together our picks of the bestselling self-published titles of the month. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Just to Be With You by Bella Andre

Genre: Contemporary romance

Release Date: March 2014 

The Story: If you haven’t already discovered Bella’s amazing Sullivan series, now is as good a time as any to get on board!

Just to Be With You stars powerful CEO Ian Sullivan, who’s kicking butt at life — except for, you know, those pesky personal relationships. Enter smoking hot actress Tatiana, who’s been waiting for her one true love. She thinks Ian is it. Ian has other ideas …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Four Friends By Robyn Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

A photo of Robyn Carr next to a poster of her book, Four Friends

This week we had the pleasure of attending a lunch to celebrate Robyn Carr's mainstream women's fiction novel, Four Friends. If you haven't had the pleasure of meeting Robyn and you get the chance to chat her up, do it because she is absolutely charming and hilarious. Reviewer M.H. Morrison loved Carr's latest novel, saying: "Moving from her usual small-town setting to the suburbs hasn’t changed the full-bodied life Carr brings to this cast of mature women on the cusp of transformation." If you're intrigued, we've got four paperback copies to give away! This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only and you can enter using the widget below. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vicky Dreiling's Bloopers From What A Reckless Rogue Needs

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Getting a book ready to publish is a team effort — just ask the editors! Today author Vicky Dreiling shares a peek at the book's bloopers, errors her editor caught in the first draft of her latest historical romance What A Reckless Rogue Needs. Thankfully Forever romance editor Michele Bidelspach was able to offer the author constructive — as well as amusing — feedback.

I’m really excited about What A Reckless Rogue Needs, Book two in my Sinful Scoundrels series. In book one, What A Wicked Earl Wants, I confessed that I occasionally make some rather interesting errors. Fortunately, my editor Michele Bidelspach has a great eye for spotting some of my accidental bloopers with stage direction. I like to think this is because I’m so riveted by the story that I’m carried away by my own prose. This is particularly true while I’m writing sensual scenes. I can see it all in my head. The perfect setting with candles, a cheery fire, and of course—a bed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST