RT Daily Blog

Head To Head On Historical Accuracy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Two historical romance fans go head-to-head on the importance of historical accuracy in historical romances. When they debate about Renee Bernard's new release, Seduction Wears Sapphires, the author also weighs in on how historical facts influenced her writing.

Lizzie Poteet, one of RT's summer interns, is a stickler for historical accuracy. She says, "I understand that in fiction there is a level of, well, fiction and fantasy. But, I hate it when historicals are blatantly inaccurate that I notice things like medieval garb on a Regency duke or inappropriate speech patterns. My books don’t have to be 100% historically accurate. They just have to make sense."

Taking the opposite stance, RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan doesn't care so much about the facts. "I'd rather the story be fun than completely accurate. I mean, the number of dukes and earls and lords running around all getting married during the same time period ... well there are more Regency novels published than there were titled men looking for (or accidentally finding) women to marry!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Modern Advice From Historical Matchmaker Lady Sophia Dalby - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical matchmaker Lady Sophia Dalby is the renowned courtesan-turned-lady of Claudia Dain's historical series, The Courtesan Chronicles. Lady Dalby has just had her hands in the midst of the unexpected match between American miss Jane Elliot and the English Duke of Edenham in this month's Daring A Duke. Now, Lady Dalby stops by to answer RT's questions about flirting, men and the true value of scandal. And don't miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the interview!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Critiques The First Chapter Of The Upcoming Susan Elizabeth Phillips Release

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT web team has been abuzz today about the upcoming Susan Elizabeth Phillips release Call Me Irresistible (aka Ted’s book) after SEP posted the first chapter on her website.

The editors and interns just had to take a look at the excerpt and this is what we learned from chapter one. First, there are lots and lots and lots of old faces that will make an appearance. The daughter from 1987’s Glitter Baby is the heroine, the son from 1989’s Fancy Pants is the hero and other cast includes the characters from First Lady, Lady Be Good and more. Second, the hero Ted Beaudine is perfect and the heroine Meg Koranda is not. And third, the book starts with Ted marrying Meg’s best friend Lucy.

We had so many opinions around the office that we thought we would weigh in.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Big When This Multicultural Author Makes Her YA Debut - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author A.C. Arthur has won acclaim for her fiction writing skills - in the last five years she’s been an RT Reviewers Choice nominee three times. Now she is wowing fans again, with two wildly different novels set to hit shelves in August. The first novel is a Kimani series romance titled Summer Heat. But it’s Arthur’s other August release that is really making waves. Under the pseudonym Artist Arthur, the author has published her first young adult novel, Manifest. 

Manifest follows city-girl Krystal's struggle to adapt to her new suburban life and new-found ability to see ghosts. RT Reviewer Lauren Becker believes, “Teens will easily relate to the feeling of being out of control, with a splash of the paranormal to keep it really interesting.” Manifest kicks off Arthur’s Mystyx series, and while the content is suitable for readers twelve and older, don’t be surprised if you are an adult fan who can’t get enough of Arthur’s newest novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Mary Wine Is Captivated By Highlanders

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Mary Wine ponders the allure of captors (and highlanders) in romance novels.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Fairy Tale Romance (Novel) From Eloisa James

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

The latest Eloisa James historical novel, A Kiss At Midnight will be released on July 27th - but you can win your copy before it hits the shelves - check out the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

I was thrilled when an advanced reader copy of Eloisa James' newest novel, A Kiss At Midnight, came into the office. (Readers may remember that I got RT's Elissa Petruzzi hooked on James' novels which she, in turn, recommended to you here.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Patricia Rice Interview

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 07, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

I loved the latest Patricia Rice novel, The Wicked Wyckerly. It got 4 1/2 stars from RT Reviewer Joan Hammond and I absolutely agree that, using "her distinctive voice [Rice] combines a bit of whimsy, mayhem and a lot of love and laughter in this delicious and highly entertaining read."

After finishing the novel, I still wanted to know more about the making of the story (and the series it starts) so, I went straight to its creator for answers. Patricia Rice talked to me about her inspiration for the series and where she drew on her own experiences to create a different type of historical hero.

I was absolutely captivated by the relationship between Fitz and his daughter Penny, which involved alot of creative parenting. I knew that my first question for Patricia Rice would have to be what she loved best about her new release ...


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jennifer Ashley And The Mackenzie Family - WITH GIVEAWAY

BY admin, JULY 06, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

Author Jennifer Ashley offers RT readers unique insight into her Mackenzie family — and don't miss the EXCERPT and GIVEAWAY at the end of the blog entry!

Meet the Mackenzies: Rich, powerful, dangerous, eccentric. Rumors surround them — of tragic violence, of their mistresses, of their dark appetites, of scandals that set England and Scotland abuzz.

About four years ago, stories about Lords Ian, Mac, and Cameron, and Hart the Duke of Kilmorgan, began forming in my head and wouldn’t let me go. The characters haunted me; I couldn’t stop thinking about them! And so I started writing — long before I had a chance to pitch and sell the books.

Hart, the oldest, becomes duke upon his father’s death. He’s had his heart broken, but he’ll never admit it. He’s ruthless; had a brief, tragic marriage; has dark sexual appetites and the need to control … everything.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Mystery Of the Hohokam People Has Turned Author Liz Fichera Into A Captive Spirit

BY admin, JULY 02, 2010 | PERMALINK
  Author Liz Fichera delves deeply into the cultures of native american tribes for her historical romance Captive Spirit. Now she shares how she brings the mystery of the Hohokam people to life in her new release. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive* review of Captive Spirit.

Trivia likes to lodge itself in my brain and never leave. I can remember the most obscure facts and anecdotes. Whenever my friends and family play Trivial Pursuit or Jeopardy I’m suddenly popular, but if you’re ever stranded in Phoenix, Arizona, and happen to ask me for simple directions to a grocery store or gas station, I will most assuredly disappoint you with a blank stare.

I forget where I was when I learned about the Hohokam Indians but I most definitely remembered the history behind Phoenix’s original inhabitants. It stuck in my brain like a seed. And it’s also what inspired my historical romance novel, Captive Spirit.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hope Tarr Video Interview

BY admin, JULY 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus interviews author Hope Tarr. The pair chat about the changes in Tarr's writing over the last few years, why she writes historicals and contemporaries and the best city in the world.

 

Hope Tarr Talks About The Evolution Of Her Writing

Hope Tarr On Series Romance

Hope Tarr Chats About Loveable Scallywags and "Romance Novel Names"

Hope Tarr Talks About Her New Collaborative Christmas Anthology


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST