RT Daily Blog

A Changing View of History

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

In our week of focusing on "unusual historicals" we knew that we had to chat with someone who pushed the boundaries of the moment in time when historical romances become contemporary stories set in the past. Author Elizabeth Lane has written several stories set at the edge of this moment. Now she reflects on how “the time line” has changed over the past sixteen years of writing historical romances. And be one of the first to see the cover of Lane's upcoming March release, The Widowed Bride, which is revealed at the bottom of this post!

For as far back as I can remember, the traditional cutoff date for historical novels was the end of the 19th Century. Happily, for authors and readers, that definition seems to be changing. Stories set in the early 1900s are increasingly being written, published and read. My own writing career is a case in point.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Blythe Gifford on Encountering the Unexpected With a Historical Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romance author Blythe Gifford’s medieval heroes are all “born on the wrong side of the royal blanket” but that is just the tip of the iceberg for these heroes who defy readers’ expectations! Now Gifford chats about the comfort that romance fans find in these historical stories and shares how she works to create heroes who a reader would follow anywhere.

Laura Kinsale famously observed that in romance, “it’s the hero who carries the book.”

This, I suggest, is a major challenge facing those who write historicals set in times and places unfamiliar to the audience.

The reader does not know what kind of hero to expect. 

When a reader picks up a book set in Regency England or the Scottish Highlands, the two most popular historical settings, they are getting more than a return to a familiar time and place. They are returning to a particular type of hero.

Regency England means a rakish duke who will be tamed by the heroine, of course, to achieve a “happy ever after” ending.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pushing Boundaries With Unusual Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

There are only so many times a historical romance fan can read about a handsome duke who is secretly a spy, a crusty cowboy soon to be tamed by a saloon girl with a heart of gold or a beautiful Scottish lass abducted by the laird of a warring clan. After a certain point, it all gets, pardon the pun, old. So what’s a historical romance fan to do? Visit the group blog Unusual Historicals, of course! Created by author Carrie Lofty, the site is a gathering place for authors and readers who are seeking stories that are off the beaten path. Now Lofty talks about pushing the boundaries of historical romance – literally by setting her novels in Austria, South Africa and medieval Spain - and she shares what readers can expect as the website marks its fourth anniversary celebrating these reads!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Kasey Michaels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Kasey Michaels has wowed readers who enjoy contemporary romance, romantic suspense and even mystery fans, but she is best known for her tales of Regency romance. This month the author concludes her latest series with How to Wed a Baron, which she calls "a sort of salvation story." This in-depth interview takes readers behind the scenes of Michaels' new release and gives fans a sneak peek at what they can expect next from the delightful pen of this bestselling author!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Amazing E-Vent With Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson are adding a special touch of magic to their new novels, In the Dark of Dreams and Crown of Crystal Flame, which release this week. These authors are not only hosting a joint book signing at Joseph-Beth in Cincinnati, they are streaming the event live so that fans around the globe can participate!

We love Liu for her quirky characters, fast paced action and memorable romances. Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith has nominated In the Dark of Dreams for a 2010 Reviewers' Choice Award. She calls the latest Dirk & Steele adventure, "A terrific concoction filled with choice amounts of danger, passion and betrayal!"

Wilson, a fan favorite, is known for her richly detailed worlds full of adventure and fantasy. Her latest novel concludes the Tairen Song series. Not only did Crown of Crystal Flame receive an RT Top Pick! it was also nominated for RT's November Seal of Excellence.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christmas Memories With Lisa Plumley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Lisa Plumley is ringing in the holiday season this year with not one but two very different new romance novels! The first is the Christmas-themed contemporary, A Holiday Affair, and the second is a trip back to the American Frontier in Mail-Order Groom. But this Christmas-loving author took some time out of her busy schedule to share a very meaningful holiday memory with us. 

Some families take down their Christmas tree on Boxing Day, immediately after Christmas. Others haul their tinsel-sprinkled, crunchy-needled evergreen to the curb for recycling a week or so later. Either way, by New Year’s Day, most families have moved on.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cathy Maxwell On “Lickably Good” Romance Novel Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

We all know that we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover — but that doesn’t mean that we don’t! And over the past twenty years romance novels have certainly undergone some very distinctive trends. (They don’t call the romance genre “bodice-rippers” for nothing!) Now best-selling romance author Cathy Maxwell chats about the the covers have inspired her, the trends she loves and the art she covets!

When I visited Dame Barbara Cartland at her country estate (Yes, I did that and, yes, it was totally cool. The trip was organized by RT.), I was impressed by the four hundred plus book covers she had framed and hanging in her main hallway. The Cartland covers had a single, distinctive look. 

I asked her if the same artist had worked with her throughout her career.

She said in her lovely English drawl that the covers were the work of four different artists. “They keep dying on me and I must take on another.” (At the time of our meeting, I believe she was 98 and still writing 5,000 words a day. What a great career she had.) 

And I loved her covers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Wilde Shares Her Holiday Preparations With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

The weather outside is (almost) frightful, and although it hasn't snowed in Brooklyn yet, everyone at the RT office has caught the spirit of the season. So we are especially excited about this holiday themed interview with Lori Wilde. The author chats about her favorite holiday traditions, her new holiday romance, The First Love Cookie Club and shares a favorite recipe. And don't miss the giveaway at the end of this post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?

Lori Wilde: My favorite part is the cooking. I adore cooking but I’m normally too busy, so I look forward to baking Christmas gifts. I love decorating the tree as well and usually have a tree decorating party where I get to try out the recipes I’ve collected over the year.

RT: Does your family have any holiday traditions that make Christmas special?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Kieran Kramer - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Kieran Kramer is thrilling historical romance fans with her back-to-back releases, November's When Harry Met Molly and December's upcoming Dukes to the Left of Me, Princes to the Right. These two Regency romps are full of witty dialogue and lovable characters and both received Top Pick! ratings from RT. So Web Editor Morgan Doremus had to ask the new author about the magic behind her fantastic books and what is up next.

Morgan Doremus: Two books in two months and both Top Picks - editors around the RT office are stunned at your accomplishment and wondering where did this author come from?!? You have to share your story. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Seal of Excellence Winner B.J. Daniels Talks About Her Romance-Filled Small Town

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author B.J. Daniels won RT’s November Seal of Excellence for her latest series romance, High-Caliber Christmas. This novel won the attention of the RT editors with its fast-paced suspense and sweet romance. Now the author shares how the fictional small town of Whitehorse, Montana has become the home to so much romance and what fans can expect to occur there next!

There is nothing more exciting than writing a book, falling in love with it and having someone else love it too.

With High-Caliber Christmas, I liked the characters from the first time I met them on the page. I’m a seat-of-the-pants writer so I am always surprised when I first meet my characters. I’m also surprised when I find out who the killer is. Heck, I’m surprised by most everything that happens in my books, I guess that’s why I love writing so much.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST