RT Daily Blog

Jane Austen With A Paranormal Twist

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

There have been many Jane Austen adaptations over the years - traditional retellings, contemporary spins (including my favorite, Clueless) and even the inclusion of a monster or two. This month readers can enjoy a whole new take on Jane Austen's beloved stories when four historical romance authors use Ms. Austen's characters as inspiration for their new paranormal anthology Bespelling Jane Austen. So how does one go about picking an Austen story to adapt? Find out here.

Susan Krinard writes "Blood & Prejudice"

Pride & Prejudice is my favorite Austen story. I like it most because Darcy is the kind of hero I really enjoy: standoffish, apparently arrogant, but also deeply compassionate underneath. He's a strong man who is also responsible, and it doesn't hurt that he's tall, dark and handsome! Lizzy, too, is my favorite kind of heroine: "spunky," acerbic, and a match for any man. How could I not love this story? (Plus, Darcy makes a fantastic vampire!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Big Move For Debbie Macomber!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Debbie Macomber is moving, but not out of Port Orchard, Washington. The author is changing publishing houses. Starting in 2012, Macomber will be releasing six new novels with Ballantine Bantam Dell!

Readers need not worry, Macomber's new publisher is devoted to keeping the same small town charm of her previous novels. “The values of family, community and service are integral elements of Debbie Macomber's storytelling, which are cherished by her readers and admired by her peers,” says Theresa Zoro, the director of publicity at Random House which owns Ballantine Bantam Dell. 

The first three of these six books will hit shelves in 2012, with Ballantine planning to publish three Macomber novels the following year. The even better news is that Macomber will be starting a new series set in Port Orchard, Washington — the inspiration for her popular Cedar Cove books!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Small Town, Big World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jo Leigh may live in a small town, but that didn't keep her from incorporating a much larger world into her new series romance, ShiverThe story impressed RT Reviewer Andrew Shaffer as being, “Smart, funny and awash in pop-culture references, Shiver is exactly the type of book that’s needed to attract new readers under 30 to contemporary romance.” Find out how a woman who lives so far off the beaten path creates novels that are pitch-perfect to readers ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Night Out At The Honky Tonk - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Ever wonder what it would be like to spend a night hanging out with some line-dancing, beer-drinking, Texas cowboys? Now you can get in on the action without ever leaving home. Author Carolyn Brown's October release, My Give a Damn's Busted, is the latest installment of her down-home contemporary romance series that revolves around a cowboy bar in Mingus, Texas. And after this special trip to the Honky Tonk, the author will be giving away two signed sets of her entire series!

Put on your tight fittin’ jeans and boots! Tonight we’re going honky tonkin’ in Mingus, Texas. There are several beer joints in town but we are going to the Honky Tonk. It’s still hot in Mingus, Texas even though it’s the first of October so don’t be thinkin’ about a jacket. Dress to work up a sweat because you will be two-steppin’ and line dancin’.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
24COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Into The Holiday Spirit With Debbie Macomber - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

With the winter right around the corner, the RT staff is looking forward to the holiday-themed romances that will be out all season long. Today Debbie Macomber chats with us about her new Christmas romance novel, Call Me Mrs. Miracle. In this exclusive interview, learn Macomber’s favorite holiday traditions, including a special family-favorite recipe from the author. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?

Debbie Macomber: My favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays is setting up my Nativity Scenes all over the house. I collect them and have more than 100 now. No matter where you go in our house, baby Jesus is watching every move you make! And, of course, I treasure the times I have with my children and grandchildren baking and cooking Christmas goodies. I have dozens of recipes for fruitcake.

RT: Does your family have any holiday traditions that make Christmas special? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Author's Arctic Voyage

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Nicola Cornick’s new series starter was inspired by her own Arctic adventure. Learn how a winter wonderland became fodder for the regency romance, Whisper of Scandal. And don’t miss the excerpt of this new novel at the end of the post!

Unusual backgrounds and settings have always inspired me. I love to read them and I love to write them. Right from my very first book, which featured a Somerset cider wassail, I’ve enjoyed incorporating different elements into my Regency historicals. Whether this takes the form of a plot twist or a setting doesn’t really matter but there is always something unusual going on!

With Whisper of Scandal I have taken this to a new level by setting the book in Regency London – and the Arctic. Two years ago I was on a small cruise ship sailing around the island of Spitzbergen in the Arctic Circle. It was the most extraordinary trip of my life. The land was stunning – remote, lonely, beautiful. The history of the island was fascinating and I knew I wanted to set a book there. So the idea for Whisper of Scandal was born.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go Behind The Scenes Of Liz Carlyle's Latest Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Liz Carlyle's new novel, One Touch of Scandal, blends ancient magic, a heroine framed for murder and undeniable passion. In this exclusive interview, discover how the author researched the novel's Indian influences, peek into the minds of the lead characters and learn Carlyle's rule of thumb for measuring if a relationship will stand the test of time. And don't miss your chance to "comment for a cause" at the end of this post to help Avon and Liz Carlyle support the charity Cat Angels!

RT: In One Touch of Scandal there is a lot going on. High society, murder, mind reading. Is it possible for you to describe the plot for readers in, say, 10 words or less?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christmas Comes Early With Sherryl Woods - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romance readers know it’s the start of the holiday season when the weather turns crisp and the Christmas-themed love stories start appearing in bookstores. This year, contemporary romance maven Sherryl Woods is at the top of our TBR list with A Chesapeake Shores Christmas. In this exclusive interview we talk to the author about some of her favorite holiday memories and why she decided to return to her Chesapeake series. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caroline Linden's Lady Spy Tells Her Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Caroline Linden's latest heroine, Angelique Martand, was born a French heiress so how did she become an English spy? Now, in her own words, Angelique shares her story. And after this special message, don't miss the excerpt from Linden's You Only Love Once.

I never meant to be a spy.

It is, after all, a brutal and disreputable profession for a woman, and it would horrify my parents to know what I have become. They did everything in their power to have me smuggled out of France as an infant, just days before they lost their heads to the guillotine in the dark days of the Terror. I do not remember either of them, but I have never forgotten that they were killed for no reason other than the demands of an angry mob. If they would not be proud of me, I hope nonetheless that they would understand why I chose this path.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Robyn Grady On Bad Jobs And Silver Linings

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Robyn Grady's latest series romance is Fired Waitress, Hired Mistress. Learn about the author's inspiration for her heroine's unfulfilling job as a waitress. And find out which eclectic jobs four other Harlequin Presents authors held before becoming writers!

I’ve been lucky on the vocation front. For sixteen years I was employed behind the scenes in television - great fun! Then, four years ago, I landed my absolute dream job…writing fulltime for Mills & Boon and Silhouette, creating new ways for two strong-minded deserving people - who can’t possibly make it together – reach their happily-ever-afters. Some days I could pull out my hair wondering where the story should go next. Many more nights, however, I keep my laptop company into the early hours because the characters have taken over the plot. Needless to say, every minute I write romance, I’m living in my own private heaven.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST