RT Daily Blog

Romance At the Brooklyn Book Festival

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Against a backdrop of lightly sprinkling rain, hundreds of authors and readers met in Brooklyn yesterday for the annual Brooklyn Book Festival. With guest authors including John Ashbery, Sara Shepard, Jessica Hagedorn, Salman Rushdie and more, Borough Hall Plaza was the place for New Yorkers to be.

Amidst the political discussion courtesy of Paul Krugman, sports talk with Venus Williams, comedy sketches featuring Sarah Silverman and a suspenseful conversation with Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane, there was also a panel on one of my favorite topics - the romance novel. Titled "Romancing the Novel" and featuring authors Donna Hill and Sarah MacLean, this panel delved into the some of the big questions in romance.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Fairytale Wedding Leads To Inspiration For A Historical Fiction!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Learn how author Kathryn Johnson's marriage at sea led her to the inspiration for her new historical fiction, The Gentleman Poet.  

As readers of romantic fiction, we’ve come to expect our stories to end happily, and often with a wedding. But at least one novel I know of started with a wedding, though not the heroine’s. It was the author’s wedding ceremony—mine—that inspired the story.

Let me explain. My husband-to-be and I had discussed just about every possible location for exchanging our vows. His priorities included "doing something creative, fun, different" and not spending a lot of money. My priorities included "a super-romantic setting" and not spending a lot of money. Neither of us, you see, had living parents or many close relatives, so whatever we planned the total cost would come out of our pockets, which weren’t exactly cash-plump. And although church weddings are an absolute for some couples, being married in a traditional venue wasn’t high on our wish list. We also wanted to keep the wedding ceremony intimate and guest list short.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Author Jade Lee and PW Blogger Barbara Vey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Jade Lee is interviewed by Publishers Weekly blogger Barbara Vey. The author chats about how how her new release, Wicked Surrender. With this novel she explores Regency London beyond the beautiful ballrooms of the ton. And learn why Lee has wanted to write Wicked Surrender since she was ten years old!

Jade Lee On September's Wicked Surrender >>

Jade Lee and Barbara Vey Chat About Writer and Reader Conventions >>

Jade Lee Shares Details About Her Upcoming Project ... A Graphic Novel Series! >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jenna Petersen On "Getting Physical"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jenna Petersen discusses why she considers sex such an important part of the romance novels that she writes. And don't miss the excerpt of her new release, The Unclaimed Duchess, at the end of this post!

Thanks so much to RT for asking me to write a few words on a topic that is quite near and dear to my heart. See, I’ve always liked a sexy romance. Give me the “good stuff”. And that’s always what I’ve written, whether under my Jenna Petersen name or my erotic romance name, Jess Michaels. But for some reason sometimes people seem to discount a sexy romance and somehow less valid or emotional because there is… horror of horrors… sex in it. Like somehow that cheapens the relationship, especially if sex comes before love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Paula Quinn And Her Arthurian-Inspired Historical Hero - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 31, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Paula Quinn talks about her Arthurian inspiration for the Scottish hero of Seduced By a Highlander. Learn how this hero's struggle for honor touched the author's heart. And don't miss the excerpt and the GIVEAWAY at the end of this post!

People ask me all the time where my heroes come from. Tristan MacGregor, the hero from my newest book Seduced By a Highlander, was inspired by my favorite knight in shining armor, Tristan de Lyones from the legend of Tristan and Iseult


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two Series Authors Weigh In On A Hot Trend In Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, RT's Liz French went in-depth on the recent romance trend of featuring heroes and heroines with disabilities. Now Series authors Liz Fielding and Donna Alward chat about the characters with disabilities in their novels. Learn about how heroine Matty from The Marriage Miracle by Fielding and hero Noah from Her Lone Cowboy by Alward grabbed these authors' attentions and wouldn't let go until their stories were told ...  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mariah Stewart's New Heroine On Motherhood And Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Dallas MacGregor, the heroine of Mariah Stewart's latest contemporary romance, Home Againis an award-winning actress who's starred in many top box office hits and a devoted mother. She recently moved her son out of the Hollywood spotlight and brought him back to her hometown of St. Dennis. Now she chats about her new life and disputes the old adage that you can't go home again.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tall, Dark and Dangerous: Olivia Drake Discusses The Historical Romance Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Olivia Drake, aka RITA-award winning author Barbara Dawson Smith, has had some time to think about historical romance heroes over her last 26 novels. In honor of her August release, Never Trust a Rogue, the author shares her wisdom about the five kinds of historical heroes and what readers (and heroines) can expect from each type of man.

Man of action, man of steel, master of his own destiny. All these descriptions fit the historical hero, a hard-edged, dominant male who is willing to take enormous risks to protect his property, his loved ones, and his beliefs. Besides being fierce and formidable, he is intelligent, loyal, and quick-witted. Readers can admire his boldness and bravery while living the fantasy of conquering the heart of a warrior prince. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Elizabeth Phillips Invites Readers To A Wedding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Look what we got in the mail:

That's right. We are all invited to Teddy and Lucy's wedding! Thank you Susan Elizabeth Phillips for reuniting us with some of our favorite friends from Lady Be Good, First Lady, Fancy Pants, What I Did for Love and Glitter Baby. Who wouldn't have a great time! That is...

So mark your calendars, the festivities begin on January 18th, 2011 with the release of Mr. Irresistible.



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Teresa Medeiros On First Impressions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Teresa Medeiros believes in the power of first impressions. The author shares where she found the inspiration for the daring moment in her latest novel, The Devil Wears Plaid, when hero Jamie sweeps Emma off her feet. And don't miss the excerpt at the end of the post!

I've often heard it said you'll never have a second chance to make a great first impression. That's why I wanted to give Jamie Sinclair, my Highlander hero from The Devil Wears Plaid, a very special entrance into Emmaline Marlowe's life. (And into your life, Dear Reader!) So Jamie ends up being the kilted version of the ultimate wedding crasher, riding his big, black horse through the doors of an ancient abbey just as Emmaline is about to marry the man of her nightmares and literally sweeping her off of her feet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST