RT Daily Blog

Backstage With A Bad Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Jaime Rush gives us an insider's look at the man that RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith calls a “bad boy extraordinaire”. We couldn’t help but fall just a little bit in love Eric Aruda, the hero from February's Top Pick novel Burning Darkness, even though we understand why Fonda Raine wants him dead. Discover why we were desperate for Eric’s story in this special interview and then enter to win your own copy of his adventure!

Fonda Raine lives for one thing: killing Eric Aruda for slaying her lover. But she'll have to be careful--Eric can set fires with his mind. Seconds from plunging a knife into his heart, an assassin tries to take them both out. Now, she must choose: join forces with the man who's burning through her defenses or go down in flames.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laura Griffin and the Story Spark – With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Bestselling romantic suspense author Laura Griffin shares the moment that inspired her latest novel in her Tracer series, Unforgivable. Although Griffin's heroine may be solving a cold case murder, the pace is fast and furious as Mia, a forensic expert, works to keep her family safe. And don’t miss the giveaway at the end of the post!

Thank you so much for inviting me to drop by RT! People often ask me where my story ideas come from, so today I thought I’d talk about that wonderful (and sometimes elusive) thing every writer needs: Inspiration.

For me, the most important source of inspiration is people. I write crime fiction, and because I don’t personally carry a badge or a semi-automatic pistol, I have a long list of experts I turn to when I need help with the details of a story.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Living In The Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Ann Christopher gives readers a sneak peek at her first multicultural romantic suspense novel, Deadly Pursuit. Learn why her hero, Special Agent Jackson Parker, is trapped in the shadows of an un-ending nightmare. And be sure to check out the excerpt at the end of this post!

What would you do if a vengeful drug kingpin wanted you dead?

Would you leave your job, move to the other side of the country and change your name?

Would you live your life in the shadows?

What if he found you anyway?


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maggie Shayne Shares Advice On Writing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Maggie Shayne is not only a best-selling romantic suspense author, she is also a nominee for Best Paranormal Author in RT’s 2010 Career Achievement Awards. Now the author shares some of the writing advice that has helped make her a star.

When RT BOOK REVIEWS asked me to write a blog with tips for aspiring romantic suspense writers, I thought, great! How is it going to sound when I tell them how I work? I mean, the way I do it is to puke everything that pops into my head out onto the page, and then look at it from different angles to see what shapes it made. You know, like when you read entrails to predict the future. I then re-arrange it all and flesh it out, changing my mind several times about countless key aspects of the story, including whodunnit most of the time, along the way, and then trust myself to make it all make sense in the final draft. 

My final drafts take one week. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Carla Neggers Doesn't Let The Cold Get Her Down - With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Carla Neggers talks about the chilling suspense and frigid weather in the “Cold” stories of her Black Falls series. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

Ah, winter in northern New England. The cold, the snow, the quiet, cozy evenings by the fire. We have a fire crackling in the woodstove right now at our Vermont hilltop home! I love the openness of the winter landscape and the stunning beauty of the snow-covered mountains. It's a beautiful time of year…but with nor'easters, frostbite, hypothermia, icy falls and icy roads, it can also be dangerous. The perfect backdrop for my stories. 

In my Black Falls novels, set in a fictional Vermont town, the humans create the drama, but the weather ratchets up the stakes. In Cold Dawn, the latest book in the series, Rose Cameron and her search dog, Ranger, get to warm up by the big stone fireplace at her family's lodge, but the dangers of winter are never far away. The murderous serial arsonist that she and Nick Martini are after would be frightening anytime of year, but the ever-present perils of the Vermont winter add to the tension. 


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Cherry Adair

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Blockbuster Romantic Suspense author Cherry Adair sits down with RT's Whitney Sullivan for a chat about her latest T-FLAC novel, her take on her stories being turned into films and what readers can expect from Adair's two unusual new trilogies, set outside<


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Questions For Linda Howard

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Elusive Romantic Suspense mega-star Linda Howard answers RT's top five burning questions! Find out what the author has to say about her latest release, Veil of Night, the evolution of her writing, and the novel she's hard at work on right now!

Question #1: Before we start to discuss your newest release, Veil Of Night, let's do a bit of a rewind on your previous works. There is not a romance fan out there that has not read your books and fallen in love. Can you discuss some of the highlights of your writing career?


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Brenda Novak Starts A Heatwave

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Brenda Novak's new trilogy starter, White Heat, releases today. The novel follows two special operatives working to infiltrate a religious cult deep in the Arizona dessert. It's "page-turning suspense" says RT Reviewer Joyce Morgan, as White Heat demonstrates "how a handful of 'leaders' can manipulate other people to achieve their own ends through a self-made religion." Things are not what they seem in the cult or out. As the story unfolds, readers learn that the two operatives, Rachel and Nate, are partners with a turbulent past.

In a special Author's Message, Novak shares how growing up in Arizona - and the state's "dog days of summer" - inspired her new series. And this excerpt gives fans a feel for that famous burn of White Heat.

And the writing isn't the only thing that's hot about this new series. Tech-savvy Brenda Novak is hosting a party for the series on Twitter on August 4th from 8-10 p.m. (Eastern time). Use the hashtag #bnparty to be part of the conversation!


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Nancy Bush

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus interviews Nancy Bush about the author's new release Blind Spot. The pair chat about the author's inspiration for the romantic suspense, which takes place mainly in a mental institution, and the emotional heartache Bush puts her heroines through.

Nancy Bush On Blind Spot >>

Nancy Bush Discusses The Colony Series >>


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 6/29/2010

BY admin, JUNE 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

  Love In The Afternoon by Lisa Kleypas

"Uncoventional, delightful, touching and unforgettable."

 

Mystery/Suspense/Thriller


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST