RT Daily Blog

Turning Points: Romantic Suspense Authors Discuss Their Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a great alpha hero, the kind of guy who will do everything and anything to protect his loved ones. But at what point do these heroes become the fighters we all love? Today, bestselling romantic suspense authors Rebecca York, Lindsay McKenna, Lynn Raye Harris, Julie Ann Walker and Melissa Cutler discuss their heroes' turning points.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

You're the Yin to My Yang: Critique Partner Success

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Writing can be a lonely slog sometimes, sitting at your laptop, writing, editing, proofing, submitting. Which is why critique partners are so great. Company, support, encouragement … and in the case of Mary Billiter and Dana Volney, publishing contracts! Mary and Dana are quite the success story: last summer they read and edited and each other’s work — and then they both got contracts by fall’s end! We love a happy ending, and had to know more.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Kendra Elliot's ALONE

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

The way today is going, either you’re stuck inside somewhere very cold, or you’re somewhere warm, tired of hearing everyone else complain about the freezing temperatures (if you live somewhere warm, we're incredibly jealous). Either way, we think it’s time for an excerpt break! Today we’ve got something to get your spine tingling with Kendra Elliot’s RT Top Pick! romantic suspense Alone. It’s the story of forensic anthropologist Dr. Victoria Peres, who must process a horrific crime scene with five dead girls, one clinging to life.

Kendra set the scene for us:

“I knew before I wrote Alone that I wanted to use a Pacific Northwest landmark as my setting and create a crime scene that felt hopeless yet ethereal at the same time. I wanted the reader to experience my characters’ reactions to the vulnerability of the victims and feel their determination to solve the teenagers’ deaths. My stories dive deep into the emotions of the people who solve the crimes and the families of the victims. I love to show my characters fighting for their happy-ever-after and taking down the criminals in the process.”

***


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maggie Shayne's Inspiration: Compelling Organ Donation Stories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

Have you bought your Halloween candy and decorations yet? We at RT are also a little behind, but this creepy blog post from romantic suspense author Maggie Shayne will surely get you in the mood. Today, Maggie's here to tell us about the inspiration behind her RT Top Pick! Sleep With the Lights On, out this week. Gather round, folks … 

In my new book, cornea transplant recipient Rachel De Luca gets more than she bargained for from her donor, a dead serial killer who is somehow still hunting from beyond the grave.

Today I’m here to talk about my research surrounding organ transplantation. The following things are true, and they helped inspire my ideas for this novel.

1. Claire Sylvia received a heart transplant, and afterward, began to change. Her tastes in food, craving things like chicken nuggets and beer, which she’d never liked before. Her habits and cravings, even her handwriting changed. She began to dream that another was living inside her. In her dream his name was Tim. She later learned that her donor’s name was Tim. He had chicken nuggest in his motorcycle jacket pocket when he died.


Read More>>

Tags: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far ... Debra Webb's Faces of Evil — with Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

Series are the name of the game in publishing these days, but what happens when you discover an amazing series … on book four? Or nine? Or 18? Where do you start? Do you need to head all the way back to book one, or do things really heat up in book three?

We at RT understand this conundrum. So today we're debuting our feature “The Story So Far … ” where we catch you up on a series’ happenings and give you the scoop on each title — straight from the author and RT’s crackpot staff of reviewers!

This month we’ve got Debra Webb’s Faces of Evil, a romantic suspense series. Started as a self-publishing venture by the veteran author, the series became a hit, and was soon picked up by Forever for print publication. This month, book six of a planned 12, Ruthless, hit stands, and received an 4-1/2 star review from RT. And if we pique your interest, see details at the end of this post for our series set giveaway!

1. Obsession


Read More>>

Tags: General Romantic Suspense, Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

JL Merrow: Where Everyone Knows Your Name ... and More!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

English villages aren't always quaint and perfect. Amidst the picturesque landscapes and the rowdy pubs can lie some pretty dark elements — like murder. Today, JL Merrow, whose Pressure Head impressed us with its M/M romance and characters who would "do Agatha Christie proud," dishes on the charms and complexities of life within an English country village, and warns us of the mysteries that lurk in the corners.

***

No, I’m not talking about a bar in Boston. I’m talking about something worlds removed from that scene—although curiously enough, associations with tea also spring to mind. I’m talking about the English country village.


Read More>>

Tags: General Romantic Suspense, Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Marie Force

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Marie Force has created a following with her Fatal series, these e-books are one part mystery, one part romantic suspense and a whole lot of fun. Today the author shares an in-depth look at the series' continuing hero and heroine, Senator Nick and Lt. Sam, respectively. Readers have followed them throughout their high-profile relationship and into marriage over the course of the series. In the fourth Force novel, we get to see what happens after the couple says "I do." But before you download your own copy of Fatal Flaw, get the author's take on what types of things keep a relationship between a crime-solving senator and a police lieutenant fresh — and what's ahead for Sam and Nick — when the author chats with RT's Morgan in this week's video interview.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Fifth Kingdom By Caridad Pineiro

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

This is the first e-book that we have Dished about and it's a good one. Caridad Pineiro’s The Fifth Kingdom is a fast-moving romantic suspense that had the RT reviewer raving, "This story is an Indiana Jones-style thrill ride".

Morgan: I think the first thing that struck me about this book is that it is really easy to read. I opened it on my iPad and before I knew it, I was halfway done.

Whitney: Agreed, it was so easy to devour! I think that in part this has to do with the fact that the story very naturally moves itself along. The heroine’s estranged mother, archaeologist Dr. Miranda Adams, has been searching for Montezuma’s tomb for the past fourteen years. When she locates it, she’s captured by a Mexican gang, Primera Mexica, that is determined to use her find for their own (nefarious!) ends. 


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debra Webb Debuts Her New Self-Pubbed Mystery Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we take a coffee break with popular romantic suspense author Debra Webb. Webb is known for her Colby books, series length tales of pulse-pounding action and romance, but this month she is embarking on a new project — a self-pubbed mystery series that kicks off with May's Dirty

***

Can you tell us a little about your newest release Dirty?


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Author Chat With Coulter, Adair and Hurwitz

BY Whitney Sullivan, APRIL 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are millions of memorable moments at the RT Booklovers Convention every year, but one of the standout panels that I attended this year was the Author Chat with Catherine Coulter, Cherry Adair and Gregg Hurwitz. The three authors candidly spoke about their writing, books, careers and lives in this special hour-long session.

With Coulter's background as thriller and historical romance author, the contemporary and paranormal romantic suspense perspective from Cherry Adair and Gregg Hurwitz's experiences producing/screenwriting and writing mysteries, each author brought different ideas to the discussion. And that was even before they started taking questions from the audience!


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST