RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are 'just like everyone else'.   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Croco Designs logoSelf-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Today with us is Frauke Spanuth, owner and creative director for Croco Designs. We hope you enjoy all Frauke has to say, and come back next week for part two! 

***

What should a self-published author keep in mind when working with a cover artist?

As a self-published author you are also in charge of all tasks a publisher usually takes care of. You have to keep a publication schedule as well as a budget in mind, so availability and pricing may be most important for you. But please keep in mind that if a cover is poorly executed, people may also think your book is of poor quality. It’s said that one should not judge a book by its cover, but very often people still do.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Prom Ever After: Liz Czukas Dishes On Her Best and Worst Prom Memories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Prom is as momentous to a high schooler as a winning an Oscar is for an actor. Seriously, it's a big deal. And one of the biggest deals with prom is finding a date. So when Liz Czukas's Ask Again Later popped up on our radar, we were instantly intrigued. After all, it's the story of a teen who has not one, but two potential prom dates. Today, Liz tells us some of her best and worst prom memories — but don't worry, there's a happy ending to her woes. Take it away, Liz!

I went to my first prom as a sophomore. My boyfriend was a senior at another school and I thought I was the business. It’s all well and good to be the only sophomore at prom, but as it turns out you’re also the only sophomore at prom. I didn’t know anyone. Worse though, everyone knew my date. He had more than one ex-girlfriend in attendance. That's a quick way to shrink the ego, believe me.

Cover of Ask Again Later


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Location, Location, Location: How the Big Easy Inspired Mur Lafferty, Kristen Painter — And Their Vampires

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

That's it, we're calling it. 2014 is the year of New Orleans in book publishing. There are so many sexy, spooky, spectacular NOLA-set books being put out this year, we'd be planning a trip — if we weren't already going for this year's RT Convention! Today two New Orleans-inspired authors, Mur Lafferty and Kristen Painter, share what makes the Big Easy such a ripe setting for fiction and their recent releases, Lafferty's Ghost Train to New Orleans and Painter's House of the Rising Sun.

***

New Orleans has a special connection with vampires — how did you tackle that particular creature in your book?

Mur Lafferty: I actually didn't, for the most part. My main vampire characters were the ones who came from New York City, and NOLA vampires were bit parts. But my vampires are pretty standard — drink blood, powerful ones can fly, they're faster than people, can mesmerize. I did cover more vampires in the travel guide sections in the book, telling some of the local history from the POVs of various monsters. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mainstream Overview: March

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Come a little closer, we'll tell you a secret … don't tell a soul, but this month’s mainstream recommendations are built on secrets! As these books reveal, some risks are worth taking and others can lead to disastrous consequences. Take a look at our mainstream choices for March:

Cover of Always Unique by Nikki Turner

In Rachael Herron’s Pack Up the Moon, Kate Monroe’s life is nothing short of chaotic. It’s been three years since her former husband killed their terminally ill son — or was it an accident? To make matters more complicated, the daughter she gave up for adoption 22 years ago tracks Kate down. Kate never told her ex-husband about her daughter, and it's time to face the consequences.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

A Duke of Her Own by Lorraine Heath

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Just the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Twisted By Emma Chase

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's hump day! Are you chair dancing yet? Are you thinking about which shoes (that aren't your ugly-but-functional snow boots) to wear out on Friday night? The weekend is nearly upon us and we've got another steamy erotica excerpt to help get you one day closer to it. Today for Hump Day we have a scene from Emma Chase's Twisted, the sequel to her highly acclaimed erotic rom com Tangled. Enjoy!

Women walk a fine line.

Prude.

Slut.

Bitch.

Doormat.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Your New Adult Guide To New Orleans Hot Spots

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Booze, sunshine, skimpy clothes and, of course, hook ups with hot guys! What could be better? The four authors of Avon's latest erotic new adult anthology, Spring Fling, agree, as they've each contributed a story young women spending their spring breaks in New Orleans — we couldn't think of a better setting — and finding true love — or just some hot, hot loving. With the upcoming RT Booklovers Convention in New Orleans this May, we asked each author to share their favorite New Orleans hot spots. Because who knows, maybe we'll relive a spring break moment or two. (We behaved, Mom, we swear.)

***

Julia Kent: The allure of Maison Bourbon, New Orleans’ notorious jazz club, isn’t the music. What draws me in is the sense of timelessness, of enormity. Those first hesitant steps across the threshold of a jazz bar in the wee hours of the night make me feel like I'm crossing over into world unknown. The music turns into my own pulse as my senses take over. The air is redolent of a part of myself I know I possess, but that is too buried to be known just yet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Mardi Gras World Carnivále!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Besides the fantastic food and rich history, New Orleans is most famous for Mardi Gras. And although this year’s festivities are now sadly over, RT Convention attendees can still experience the celebrations by joining us on Wednesday, May 14 at 7:15pm** for Mardi Gras World Carnivále! This all-night extravaganza is co-sponsored by a host of today’s leading publishers, and you will not want to miss it. Trust us.

Attendees will get an intimate look at the floats used in the Mardi Gras parade.

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

A world just a bit more extreme than ours created by a talented writer who will hold your attention for many pages — but not all of them. Tons of footnotes in a book with so many pages made me stop reading at page six hundred-and-something. 

Plot: In an allegorical world where everyone’s on drugs, some allegorical (and addicted) characters are looking for the ultimate drug.

Rating: 73 out of 100.

The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST