RT Daily Blog

Your Lucky Day: Some Luck-filled Romances for your TBR

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy St. Patrick's Day, dear readers! Are you celebrating with green beer? Some corned beef and cabbage? As always, our festivities mostly involve books, books and more books. So once you make it out of that crush of people at the bar, or finish up kissing the blarney stone, take a gander at our list of lucky reads to grant you good will all the way until next St. Patrick's Day. 

The original cover of THe Bad Luck Wedding Cake

Blind Luck Bride: This 2005 Harlequin American title from Laura Marie Altom tells the story of drunk, jilted Finn Riley, who bets that he'll be married within a week. So it's a good thing he soon runs into wedding dress-bedecked Lilly, who thinks Finn is her Marriage of Convenience groom. As luck would have it, wackiness ensues as they make their way to an HEA, ensuring a truly memorable read.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Virna DePaul's Turned

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? We know we are! Today we've got a treat for you, Virna DePaul's Turned, a intriguing vampire romance. It's the story of FBI Agent and vampire Ty, who's trying to recruit ex-gang member Ana to join Belladonna, a secret agency that monitors vampires. RT reviewer Melanie promises a crisp narrative and stellar pacing. Want to take a peek? Read on, vampire fans!

Ty strode out of Ana’s coffee shop and kept walking despite the strong urge to go back to her. To kiss her again. To do far more to her soft lips, her slick tongue, and her warm, fragrant body.

Lust the likes of which he’d never felt before, even during the first two months of his transition, was riding him hard, making him nearly dizzy. When he’d first been turned, his lust had been for sex, regardless of who it was with. Now, his lust seemed reserved for Ana alone.

The


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream - National Magazine Award-winning journalist Karma Brown is making her fiction debut with From the Ashes, which is being called a hybrid of Eat, Pray, Love and P.S., I Love You. It’s the tale of a woman learning the valuable lesson that even when life gets difficult, there’s nothing you can’t overcome. Look for it come fall 2015!

NEW SERIES

New Adult - Ann Aguirre is expanding her writing repertoire with I Want it That Way, which will kick off her New Adult trilogy about a college student who falls for a young single dad. Get your hands on it this fall!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 3/14/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week trying to unravel The Secrets of Her Past?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Event Alert: Authors In the City - New York City, Saturday, March 15th

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Don’t you just love hanging out with other booklovers and unleashing your inner fangirl and fanboy over your favorite authors? We sure do, which is why we’re pretty stoked about tomorrow’s Authors in the City event here in New York City at the New York Marriott Downtown! Organized and hosted by Stephanie from Stephanie’s Book Reports, this all day event is not to be missed.

But what exactly is Authors in the City? Well, it’s an all day event aimed at bringing readers and authors together for one giant book party. There are over 80 romance authors attending, including Jay Crownover, Shayla Black and Emma Chase. The main event is the four hour book signing from 1 to 6 PM, which will provide ample time for the close to 400 attendees to geek out and meet their literary idols. Following the signing, there’ll be a meet and greet, including food and an awards ceremony.

But that’s not all! A few of the authors are bringing their hunky cover models! Don’t worry, we’ll be taking lots of photos for those who can’t make it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Public Displays Of Romance - Week 2

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Tara Sue Me's Seduced by Fire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Seduced by Fire cover

We're giving you a high five, Internet, because we've made it to Friday! To celebrate, we've got a great giveaway for you today, Tara Sue Me's RT Top Pick Seduced by Fire! Tara's an up-and-comer in the erotic genre, and series starter Seduced by Fire will "titillate and captivate," according to RT reviewer Donna. It's the story of serious Dom Daniel and new to the scene sub Julie. As they explore the ins-and-outs of their sexual relationship, they also fall in love. Can they handle it? Enter below to win one of five copies and find out! (U.S. residents only, please.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are 'just like everyone else'.   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Croco Designs logoSelf-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Today with us is Frauke Spanuth, owner and creative director for Croco Designs. We hope you enjoy all Frauke has to say, and come back next week for part two! 

***

What should a self-published author keep in mind when working with a cover artist?

As a self-published author you are also in charge of all tasks a publisher usually takes care of. You have to keep a publication schedule as well as a budget in mind, so availability and pricing may be most important for you. But please keep in mind that if a cover is poorly executed, people may also think your book is of poor quality. It’s said that one should not judge a book by its cover, but very often people still do.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Prom Ever After: Liz Czukas Dishes On Her Best and Worst Prom Memories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Prom is as momentous to a high schooler as a winning an Oscar is for an actor. Seriously, it's a big deal. And one of the biggest deals with prom is finding a date. So when Liz Czukas's Ask Again Later popped up on our radar, we were instantly intrigued. After all, it's the story of a teen who has not one, but two potential prom dates. Today, Liz tells us some of her best and worst prom memories — but don't worry, there's a happy ending to her woes. Take it away, Liz!

I went to my first prom as a sophomore. My boyfriend was a senior at another school and I thought I was the business. It’s all well and good to be the only sophomore at prom, but as it turns out you’re also the only sophomore at prom. I didn’t know anyone. Worse though, everyone knew my date. He had more than one ex-girlfriend in attendance. That's a quick way to shrink the ego, believe me.

Cover of Ask Again Later


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST