RT Daily Blog

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Paranormal Romance - In Valhalla’s Vikings, Asa Marie Bradley’s debut novel, a headstrong woman must join forces with an immortal Viking King and his band of warriors in order to keep Loki from carrying out his villainous plans.

NEW SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Lauren Layne’s Frisk Me, the first her upcoming contemporary romance New York’s Finest series, stars an NYPD Officer who winds up in the spotlight after a heroic act goes viral. Sparks fly when a skeptical reporter tries to discover the truth behind the good deed. Look for this sizzling series starter in July 2015.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 6/27/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week trying To Catch a Camden ?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Grace Burrowes discusses rewriting societal roles. Keep Reading >>

MAINSTREAM: DJ breaks down Lauren Oliver's cover for Rooms. Check It Out >>

EROTICA: Read this week's Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Mechanics are super hot right now. Find Out Why >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Giveaway: Witches of East End Season One DVD

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Things got a little witchy last year when Lifetime's Witches of East End premiered. Based on Melissa de la Cruz's adult series of the same name, the show immediately drew in new and old fans alike. We certainly were hooked and are eagerly counting down the days until the July 6 premiere of the second season. And for those of you who need to catch up, we have you covered with today's giveaway!

We have not one, not two, but three sets of the first season DVD to give away and we think you should win them. For a chance to win one of these spellbinding DVD sets, fill out the form below! This is open to US residents only and will conclude on Monday, so the winners have time to binge-watch before season two starts. (You can cast a good luck spell to improve your chances, but we can't guarantee it's effectiveness.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

For even more magical giveaways, visit our Everything Paranormal page and stay tuned for Witches of East End season two coverage! Catch the season premiere on Lifetime on July 6 at 9/8c!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rewriting Societal Rules With The Heroine From The Captive by Grace Burrowes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a historical heroine who's not afraid to bend the rules of courtship? In Grace Burrowes's The Captive, hero Christian, Duke of Mercia, is a traditional fellow, while heroine Gilly, the Countess of Greendale, thinks he could use a few pointers. Today the author tells us how Gilly sets Christian straight.

Christian, Duke of Mercia, was raised as the heir to any great title would be, with a firm grasp of the rules of courting. He’s been married, so he knows those rules lead to a proper conclusion at a proper altar with a pretty, smitten lady wearing a pretty, expensive ring of his choosing. He relies on the tried and true procedure when pursuing his second duchess, Gilly, the widowed Countess of Greendale, but the results suggest his rules need revising.

Rule No. 1: Propose on bended knee.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

World Cup Fever: Six Soccer Romances to Heat Up Your TBR Pile

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying things have been heating up thanks to the World Cup. People are excited, Twitter’s all abuzz and there are hot soccer players on our screens left and right. (And if you’ve been living under a rock these past few weeks, trust us, they’re super hot.) And if the World Cup isn’t enough, here’s a rundown of soccer romances that deserve a spot on your ereaders. All books are available as ebooks only unless otherwise noted.


Striker by Michelle Betham - Local TV Sports reporter and daughter to an ex-professional soccer player, Amber Sullivan knows better than to get involved with a player. But when she snags an exclusive story on Ryan Fisher, one of the hottest and most talented players, she finds her resolve wavering.

Buy it now: Amazon | Kobo


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Suzanne and Melanie Brockmann Take On YA

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Back in May, while we partied it up at the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention, we sat down with bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann and her daughter, Melanie Brockmann, for an interview in which the Brockmann's discussed their upcoming YA novel, Night Sky. This series opener is set in the same futuristic world as Suzanne's Born to Darkness. Watch the video below to hear Suzanne and Melanie talk about what it's like writing together, their creative processes and what readers can expect to see in the new series. Take a look:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Luckiest Lady in London by Sherry Thomas

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Barefoot in the Sand by Roxanne St. Claire

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Rusty Nailed By Alice Clayton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

We did it! Hump Day is finally here! Are you ready for some more smut? This week we've got a scene from book two in Alice Clayton's Cocktail series, Rusty Nailed. Caroline and Simon are now "officially" in a relationship, but can they keep things hot when Caroline's job demands so much of her time? We think yes, she can make it work, and here's a scene to prove it. Enjoy!

“So you came home early just to see little ol’ me?” I breathed into his ear, sneaking a wet kiss just underneath it. His hands dug a little deeper into my hips as he shifted on the bed.

“I did.”

“Think you can help me with this turtleneck?”

“I do.”

“And then after that, you wanna show me your hammer?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Rooms by Lauren Oliver

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

In our Cover Breakdowns feature, I've been taking closer looks at recently revealed covers that have caught my eye. Today, I examine the cover for Lauren Oliver's upcoming adult novel, Rooms, due out on September 23. As a major Lauren Oliver fan, I'm super excited to read Rooms and I'm rather in love with the cover. Take a look:

Isn't it pretty?

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family — bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton and unforgiving daughter Minna — have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST