RT Daily Blog

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Trilogy of the City of K by Agota Kristof

Inside or outside, true or false, it doesn't matter: hell exists and it's in this book.

Plot: One horror and lie after another.

Rating: ●●●●○ 

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro 

Somewhere there's someone who loves like us, lives worse than us and dies for us; an Anglo-Japanese science fiction tale which coincides with our daily reality. 

Plot: In a college people are raised for transplanting organs. 

Rating: ●●●●○ 

Hopscotch by Julio Cortázar


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Places to Submit Your Manuscript: July 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

You’ve written a book - congratulations! But if you thought that was hard, how about trying to find publishers open to submissions? Lucky for you, we gather open calls each month to help make the submission process a bit easier. This month, we have seven exciting opportunities for you and your book. Take a look:

Vinspire Publishing - Vinspire Publishing is currently open to submissions for historical romances, Amish romances and romantic suspense. For historical submissions, Vinspire is only looking for Highlander and Regency stories. To learn more about Vinspire Publishing and their submission guidelines, visit them here.

Forever Yours - Forever Yours, an imprint of Hachette, is currently open for romance submissions for all subgenres. So whether you write historicals, paranormals, or erotica, Forever Yours might be for you! But if you write YA, you’re out of luck. They’re looking for novellas and full-length novels, though, and to learn more about what they want to see, click here.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Strange and Ever After: Susan Dennard Talks Series Finale and Future Projects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cover of Strange and Ever After by Susan Dennard When the last book in a series releases, it's a bittersweet time for both the author and the readers. Neither wants to truly let their favorite characters go, but it's also an exciting time because the author is most likely preparing their next project, giving readers plenty to look forward to. Today, to celebrate the release of Strange and Ever After, the last in her Something Strange and Deadly trilogy, Susan Dennard shares her thoughts on the series and gives readers a glimpse of what's coming next.

Strange and Ever After — there couldn’t be a more appropriate title for the finale of this series. Eleanor and the Spirit-Hunters have been through so much, but in the end, they’ve stayed true to who they are.

Or who they’ve become in Eleanor’s case.

And wow, did Eleanor Fitt grow. From a teenage girl who wanted nothing more than her mother’s, her brother’s and her society’s approval, she became a woman who makes her own choices — good or ill — and faces the consequences unflinching and unafraid.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julia London's Guide To San Antonio

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you're in San Antonio for RWA, you might appreciate an insider's guide on what to do, what to see and, most importantly, where to eat. And what better guide than romance author and San Antonio native Julia London? Today the author shares her favorite go-to spots for fun in the Alamo City.

If you’re like a lot of people I meet, the only thing you know about San Antonio is the battle of the Alamo, and you probably think the actual Alamo is a lot bigger than it really is. You’ll see for yourself: The Alamo is a short walk from the conference hotel, and a whole lot smaller than Hollywood has made it.

It seems to me San Antonio doesn’t get the buzz other cities in Texas get (hello, Austin), but it is truly one of our most unique cities. I love the laid-back, Latin American, tropical vibe. But at the same time, the city is also progressively urban. In town for a day or a week, here are a few suggestions for what to see and do:

Mission Concepcion

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 7/22/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

TRAPPED AT THE ALTAR

"Feather displays her talent for writing strong, well-developed characters and mixes them with sizzling sensuality, political intrigue and trust. Sit back and enjoy this captivating read."

THE GAME AND THE GOVERNESS

"Writing from a male point of view, Noble presents an entirely different way of seeing a romance evolve, as a rather vapid young man becomes a hero. The charming characters will sweep readers away into the story."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT At RWA 2014 - How To Find Us

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RWA logo

This week romancelandia is descending on San Antonio for the annual RWA national conference — including some of the RT staff. And we want to meet you!

Features Editor Mala Bhattacharjee and Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small — who represent RT's magazine faction — are currently accepting pitches for the January 2015 issue through the spring. Mala is not accepting formal appointments and says, "people can feel free to stalk me everywhere but the bathroom." You can find her on Twitter and contact her via email. Regina is accepting formal appointments with publishers and agents, and authors should feel free to email her and/or say hello in person. You can also find her on Twitter.

Elisa Verna, our Website Director, will be attending her first RWA and is accepting appointments with everyone. The best way to contact her is via Twitter and email. She also loves random hellos and spontanious margarita dates.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Never Have I Ever: Historical Romance Edition

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a good round of Never Have I Ever as much as the next person — after all, learning a person's secrets is always fun. But when you play with a group of feisty historical heroines with wild tales to tell, the game gets even better. Which heroine has or hasn't turned down a proposal? Has Gillian really dressed in men's clothing? Let's find out:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap: 2.3 - "The Old Man and the Key"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

All right, it’s time for more Witches! This week: some slightly confusing backstory and a shirtless (but bloody) Freddy! 

We start with a flashback, the first of the season, if you can believe it. Jo, dressed in trippy white robes, comes through the portal, sans Freddy. Back in real time, Jo covers a sleeping Freddy with a blanket, discovering the symbol branded on his chest. Jo rushes to tell Wendy: it’s the king’s symbol, which Wendy exposits is the ultimate symbol of loyalty to bad granddad. Jo admits to having suspicions about her son. Never fear, our girl Wendy has plan!


You know you missed the crazy flashback wardrobe.

source

Freya, looking smoking in a blue bustier — because that’s what I wear when I fly, sure — is ready to chase after her man. She’s saying goodbye to Ingrid, who’s packing. They remind us that Dash has powers, and Freya says “shit!” “Did she just say shit? They can do that?” my husband asks. Indeed! Ingrid wants to help Dash, Freya wants to leave him alone. Freya follows a packing Ingrid into the hall closet, where they discover a door. It’s locked. Jo lies badly, telling them it’s just leftover from the remodel. The girls clearly don’t believe her. “Why are you being weird?” Freya asks her mother, speaking for all of us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page to Screen - Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Page to Screen logo of a film reel

Summer is a great time to catch a movie at the theatre or to get comfy on the couch for some good old TV watching. And while we can’t beat the summer heat with these exciting book-to-screen adaptations yet, our enthusiasm and excitement is unwavering. This month, there were a ton of YA deals announced. Let’s take a look:

Nora Roberts Makes the Move to Screen

In late June, Nora Roberts announced the film rights for her In Death mystery series, which she writes as JD Robb, were optioned by Amber Entertainment. The option is for a feature film, which is in the early stages of development. Learn more about what this means on Nora’s site here.

I’ll Give You the Sun to Light Up Theaters Everywhere


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Mainstream - In Bob Prohel’s debut, Unstable Molecules, the former bookseller tells the story of four people whose lives cross paths in an alternate universe of comic-cons. Readers will meet former sci-fi TV star in the midst of a mysterious cross-country road trip. Coming soon in 2016.

Historical Fiction - In Alyssa Palombo’s The Violinist of Venice, passion and music come together as composer and priest Antonio Vivaldi and his secret mistress let their love continue to grow. Set in Venice, this heartwrenching tale is sure to leave readers breathless.

NEW SERIES

New Adult - Surrender, the first in Violetta Rand’s Devil’s Den series, stars a sexy MIT graduate who returns to his Texas hometown and meets an alluring college student who works as an exotic dancer.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST