RT Daily Blog

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.12 - "We Are Grounders, Part 1"

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

We begin on the Ark, where the Chancellor informs the survivors that the ship is (still) dying, but he’s proud of the strength the 100 have shown. He then makes the remaining supplies available to everyone instead of rationing, but nobody’s looking too hopeful. Especially Abby, who seems a bit distracted and runs out of the room to check on a patient. And Kane? Well, he’s still feeling guilty and a bit restless.

On the ground, Raven, Bellamy and the others are setting up landmines to protect themselves from the Grounders. Bellamy’s not letting people leave the camp, which gets Raven riled up because they need to go save Finn, Clarke and Monty. Bellamy seems to have lost all hope and is getting rather desperate.

A Grounder named Tristan, who’s taking over Anya’s unit, introduces himself to Clarke, who’s tied up and not looking too good. Anya’s not too pleased about getting replaced, but she doesn’t have time to brood because she spots a signal fire in the distance. Knocked unconscious, Clarke’s fate is left in the hands of the Grounder who killed Finn.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Videos Of Lee Child And Charlaine Harris From The 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the best things about RT Con is all the photos and videos that pop up after convention is over. It feels like we're doing it all over again — kind of. It actually just makes us want to fast-forward to next year, to be honest. Below are some videos posted on Lee Child's official YouTube account of Lee Child and Charlaine Harris' fantastic author chat from convention. If you watch these while sipping a hurricane it almost feels like you're back in NOLA. Enjoy!


You can find more 2014 RT Convention coverage here and you can find our full recap of Lee and Charlaine's panel here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Firelightby Kristen Callihan

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Breathe by Kristen Ashley

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

New Adult

Best Kind Of Broken by Chelsea Fine

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: King Of Thieves By Jane Kindred

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another Hump Day is upon us — which means another smutty excerpt for you! You know when you're craving something really specific? Like a paranormal, M/M BDSM story? That's how we're feeling today. So we've got a scene from Jane Kindred's King of Thieves, the second in her Demons of Elysium series, which reviewer Tori Benson calls "wickedly erotic." Enjoy!

It would be an abuse of the term to call Vasily a submissive. Belphagor’s “boy” was about as submissive as a cat in a bathtub. You could hold him down long enough to accomplish the needful, but you’d damned near drown yourself when the contained outrage burst without warning from every limb, and you could count yourself lucky if all he did was draw blood. And yet he insisted this relationship was what he wanted, to belong so thoroughly to Belphagor that his will was no longer his own.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cleis Press' Big Gay Ebook Sale + #OutWriters On Why Diversity Is Important

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

An image featuring the covers of Cleis Press titles that are on sale

June is LGBTQ pride month, and Cleis Press is discounting several of their LGBTQ erotica books to celebrate — each ebook is only $1.99 on Amazon for the entire month of June. Not only that, the publisher has launched the #OutWriters hashtag to facilitate a discussion between readers and writers on why LGBTQ representation is important in books. There's some really interesting dialogue going on via Twitter and we encourage you to check it out!

Gay

Hot Gay Erotica edited by Richard Labonté


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Madeline Ash On The Accessibility Of Writers And The Mytique Of The Author

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

With social media, sites like Goodreads and author blogs, writers have never been more accessible. But before all that, the only way readers and authors could connect was at author signings or via written letters. Today romance author Madeline Ash shares her thoughts on an Margret Atwood's theory on the double nature of writers and how writer accessibility has changed.

I’ve been going through some of my old university fiction readings, and rediscovered an interesting extract called Duplicity: the Jekyll hand, the hyde hand, and the slippery double, by Margaret Atwood. It discusses the theory of writers having double natures.

Basically, the theory is this: to be a writer is to have two identities cohabiting in the same body. One, the Person who exists when no writing is taking place (the one who brushes their teeth, does the grocery shopping, and clips their toenails) and ‘that other more shadowy and altogether more equivocal personage who shares the same body, and who, when no one is looking, takes it over and uses it to commit the actual writing’ — aka the Writer.

The cover of The Playboy's Dark Secret by Madeline Ash


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The Purple Cloud by Matthew Phipps Shiel

What is the best ingredient in a realistic post-apocalyptic novel? A crazy narrator/protagonist. Our “hero by elimination” thinks randomly and acts erratically, insomuch as he makes you wonder if the author is also mad.

Plot: A guy reaches the North Pole and a toxic cloud kills all living creatures except him and a Turkish princess.

Rating: 78 out of 100

Les Enfants Terribles by Jean Cocteau


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June 2014 Audiobook Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

An image of an MP3 player that says 'Audiobook Releases'

We all know print and audiobook titles don't always have the same release date. Starting this month, we're going to be bringing you monthly audiobook releases across genres. So whether you read or listen to your stories, we've got your TBR list covered!

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE

Sweet Nothing by Alison May

Narrator: Geraldine Sharrock, Julia Barrie and Leighton Pugh

Format: Download

Buy It >>

From the Moment We Met by Marina Adair

Series: St. Helena Vinyard, Book 5

Narrator: Renee Raudman

Format: CD & download

Buy It >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BookCon 2014 Thoughts - A Review Of BEA's New Reader Event

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

We should’ve known BookCon was going to end up being a flailing mess when their lack of diverse panelists caused widespread criticism. But I think we all hoped it would turn out okay because they wound up with a great line-up and interesting panels. Boy, we were wrong.

The main problem with BookCon was the lack of organization. To begin, BEA exhibitor booths were spread out across two rooms of the Javits Center third floor, with one of the rooms designated for BookCon. The author Autographing Area was on the BookCon side, which caused a lot of chaos when Saturday rolled around and the estimated 9,000 BookCon attendees arrived in full force. The Autographing Area quickly became a mosh pit of sorts with a high possibility of being trampled. This caused confusion for both parties, especially since many BookCon attendees didn’t seem to be paying attention to how they needed to line-up or what to do in general. With all the pushing and shoving, it was like all the tourists from Times Square who forget the basic rules of walking and general manners were thrown into the Javits. Not fun.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Shiloh Walker Tells Us: When A Romantic Suspense Hero & Heroine SHOULDN'T Have Sex

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Romantic Suspense is great, and the thrilling situations the characters find themselves in can make for some hot tension. But sometimes this tension leads to the hero and heroine having sex in some interesting places (in the middle of a natural disaster scene, when being chased by someone who might kill them, etc.). Romantic Suspense author Shiloh Walker (who is also a nurse!) is here to tell us when a romantic suspense hero and heroine should probably keep their pants on.

So… I have this thing. I love romantic suspense. With a fine and burning passion — the spookier, the better. But I also have issues. You see, Romantic Suspense also comes with a lot of tension. A lot of adrenaline. Leads to a lot of potential for getting the sexin’ on right?

Well … not always. Let me explain.

There are certain times it’s NOT good to have the hero and heroine getting it on…

The cover of Deeper Than Need by Shiloh Walker


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST