RT Daily Blog

Magazine Extras: Lisa Jackson Takes Us Inside You Don't Want To Know

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Do you love to go behind the scenes of a good book? Well, you aren't alone. And today with these exclusive photos and excerpts that we couldn’t fit into the August issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, Lisa Jackson continues her tour of the Pacific Northwest, the setting for her new thriller, You Don’t Want to Know. Jackson shares photos that inspired her story, as well as excerpts paired with each photo, showing how her inspiration translated onto the page ... 

This Victorian mansion in Oregon was behind the vision for Neptune’s Gate, the house in You Don't Want to Know. However, the house in Lisa Jackson’s book is much darker than the one pictured here (with Lisa herself standing on its porch). “The house and grounds [in the photo] are well-tended,” says Jackson, “they don’t have the sinister feel and look of Neptune’s Gate, but this is exactly the architecture that served as inspiration.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you are on the hunt for a fantastic inspirational read, this month it’s all about standout books from the various subgenres. From stories of suspense to love set in the past, this month fans will find a wide variety of stories about people wrestling with faith and real-world choices. The selection of July’s inspy new releases are sure to delight a reader of any age!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Guess The Heroine Of Katharine Ashe's How A Lady Weds A Rogue And WIn Big!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Katharine Ashe has us head over heels for the handsome heroes of the Falcon Club. This summer's How to be a Proper Lady has just hit shelves and fans who have already read the book don't have long to wait for the next series installment: September's How a Lady Weds a Rogue. We know that this novel will match one of the Falcon Club men with a country miss, but the heroine's identity has been a tightly wrapped secret — until now! All this week the author is giving readers a chance to guess the heroine's identity with a giveaway. Fabulous prizes will be awarded to first, second and third place winners. But don't worry; you won't be guessing blindly, each day Ashe will reveal a new clue to help you discover the heroine's identity. Now we're handing this post over to Katharine Ashe, so she can share how to enter and who is eligible to participate ... and of course, the very first hint of the contest!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
58COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month’s science fiction and fantasy releases are out of this world! So today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some of the hot spots of the genre. First up, Beth Bernobich gives us an insider's look at the sequel to her RT Award winning 2010 release Passion Play, this July’s Queen’s Hunt. Next, we spotlight some of the interesting supernatural creatures you can find in the month's new releases. Then Philippa Ballantine shares a behind the secenes look at the universe of her new fantasy series starter, Hunter and Fox. After that, we share our favorite space-y songs inspired by Rob Reid’s Year Zero. And finally, we bring you up to speed on the genre-related industry news that you need to know!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

All Season Long - A Summer Erotica Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here at RT, we’ve been feeling the summer heat wave — hard. Our AC is cranked and our glasses are overflowing with ice water. But that doesn’t mean it’s too hot to enjoy some of our favorite books of the “adult” persuasion. We’re talking sultry, steamy erotic romance, of course! To help get you through the rest of this hotter-than-average summer, we’re giving away a bundle of recent releases with something sure to please every erotica fan. From a sizzling historical love story to a sexy romantic suspense, these four books will have you forgetting all about the weather!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Flowers from the Storm by Laura Kinsale

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Rainshadow Road by Lisa Kleypas

    

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

How to Date an Alien by Magan Vernon

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July Mystery Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

July's heating up to be an exciting month for mystery readers. First up, there’s a new historical adventure from RT Seal of Excellence winner Carol McCleary, which brings back heroine Nellie Bly. But she’s not the only fan favorite character to return. Catherine Coulter’s Savich and Sherlock are also getting a new installment — and we reveal why this team’s adventures are on our summer must-read list. Plus, we take an in-depth look at a fictional woman that caused RT reviewer Jeff to proclaim Caitlin Strong "the best female thriller protagonist in the entire genre right now.” Find all this and more in July's mystery genre wrap-up!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Mala Dish: Starlight By Carrie Lofty

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Carrie Lofty continues her nearly Flawless Christies series with this month’s shining Starlight. Book two finds scientist, a widowed father to a young son, Alex Christie pulling his head out of the clouds and putting his mind firmly on task of making the Glasgow cotton mill profitable. Alex is desperately in need of the funds the mill can bring in, in order to fulfill the terms of his father's will and to keep his family intact. But this man of science is a world away from everything he knows — and he’ll need someone, not just constellations, to show him the way. Enter Polly, the daughter of a union leader, who will help Alex, but has an agenda of her own ... Check out why this book has RT’s Morgan and Mala seeing stars.

Morgan: I love a historical romance that takes me a lot of interesting places, and this one does just that. From a mansion in New York City to the slums of Glasgow, readers are in for some very interesting settings.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beauty & The Book: Jane Austen's Ring

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK
It’s a truth universally acknowledged by Jane Austen fans that, no matter how much we might wish it were so, Mr. Darcy’s ring will never grace our fingers. But yesterday, Sotheby’s, the world famous auction house, offered us the next best thing: a chance to own a ring that once belonged to Jane herself.

Although estimated to sell for 20,000-30,000 GBP, the gold ring set with a cabochon, turquoise stone was quickly snatched up for a whopping 152,450 GBP — that’s about $236,250 for those of us in the States. A family heirloom, the ring comes with an enclosed note signed by Eleanor Austen to her niece, Caroline Austen, which reads: “My dear Caroline. The enclosed Ring once belonged to your Aunt Jane. It was given to me by your Aunt Cassandra as soon as she knew that I was engaged to your Uncle. I bequeath it to you. God bless you!”

Now that it’s in the possession of one very lucky fan, the rest of us will just have to stick to our dreams. And for us, those dreams include one very delectable Colin Firth. Can’t put a price on that!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Molly O'Keefe Shares Her Recipe For Creating The Perfect Bad Girl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Readers on the hunt for an intriguing multidimensional heroine will be thrilled to meet Molly O'Keefe's Tara Jean Sweet. This contemporary romance leading lady starts out this month's Can't Buy Me Love as the hated gold-digging fiancée of hockey player Luc's elderly father. TJS even earns the not-so-loving nick name "Bimbo Barbie" from Luc, her sexy son-in-law to-be. But will Luc be able to see past her gold digger mask, and realize that she truly has a heart of gold? Today, the author stops by to give us a look at Tara Jean's life of hard knocks and talks about exactly what this heroine goes through to turn herself into "Bimbo Barbie" in the hope of escaping her past and finally finding some stability. (Little does TJS know that it may just be pro athlete Luc and not his rancher father who will be changing her life forever, in the very best of ways.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST