RT Daily Blog

Caught On The Cover: July 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on cover", their likenesses spotted on some July new releases. Check out who we found:

 

Sandra Bullock is no stranger to high-pressure situations, so we hope this cartoon copy of the superstar can follow her lead.

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tell Us What You Want: The RT Digital Magazine Survey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

We're in the process of creating a digital version of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine. And today, we need your help. We want to know what you look for when you're hunting for the perfect e-magazine and how you read digitally. So weigh in by taking our survey and be sure to stay tuned for more news about what's coming next from RT BOOK REVIEWS. 

Take The Survey >>

BLOG UPDATE 8/27/2012: The survey is now closed. Thanks to all who participated and expect to see a digital version of RT in the near future!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: July 2012 Harlequin Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

It’s all about weddings in July’s Harlequin Historical releases, from impromptu ceremonies to traditional "I dos." If you are eager to meet brides and grooms from different time periods, then this publisher certainly has a story for you.

First up, readers can travel to the American West with Carol Arens' Renegade Most Wanted to attend the nuptials of the desperate Emma Parker. She has vowed to wed anyone (and we mean anyone) who will help her keep her home. The first viable candidate doesn’t so much meet Emma, as much as he runs into her — literally — while he flees after robbing a bank. But Matthew “Singing Trigger” Suede is not a criminal. (Well, he is but in a very Robin Hood way, taking care of the poor at the expense of the rich.) For the price of an alibi he willingly marries Emma, but neither realize just how binding this temporary tie will be.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Urban Fantasy - Karen Chance will return with new books in not one, but two of her popular series. The Dorina Basarab books will be getting a fourth installment. Meanwhile, Chance will treat readers to books six and seven in the Cassandra Palmer series. No titles have been announced yet for these three books, so we set the inventive mind of RT's Whitney to the task of coming up with some possible titles. Here's what she had to say:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/6/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week debating what to do with your Invitation to the Prince's Palace?

Here's what you missed on the RT site:

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Take our reading suggestions for the 4th of July. They're Revolutionary >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Like modern-day tales? Harlequin American Romances Will Make You Grin >>

SCIENCE FICTION: Devon Monk brings readers up to speed on her new series. What You Need To Know >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page To Screen: Upcoming Film And TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Readers who also love to go to the movies or curl up in front of the TV have several reasons to cheer. Recently there has been a surplus of news about upcoming projects that will adapt favorite reads into movies and TV shows — and in some cases, the process will go in the opposite direction. Find out which of these adaptations are making our TBS (To Be Seen) List and find out which upcoming memoirs-turned-movies have us anxious for more news!

BIG NEWS FOR YOUNG VIEWERS

Libba Bray’s The Diviners may not hit stores until September, but we forecast that it’s going to be a hit — and we aren’t alone. Paramount Pictures and Fake Empire have already bought the film rights to this upcoming Young Adult tale. This early sale is not incredibly surprising, as Bray is an award-winning author (among these is a coveted RT Seal of Excellence for her 2011 summer release Beauty Queens). So what can fans expect from The Diviners? The book follows a group of New York City teens in the 1920s that have mysterious powers — and may be the only ones that can unmask the villain behind a series of occult-themed murders. But don’t expect the film adaptation to stray too far from the paper and ink version, Bray is on board to write the script and be an executive producer.

(Side note: This isn’t Fake Empire’s only adaptation project. The company is currently working on big screen versions of Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick the October 2011 RT Top Pick! by Joe Schreiber and The Luxe series by Anna Godbersen. The company is also involved in the CW’s prequel to Sex and the City, aka Carrie’s teen years, The Carrie Diaries.)

Teens looking for something a bit more gut-wrenching will want to start thinking about getting tickets to the film version of January 2012’s Why We Broke Up. Penned by Daniel Handler, an author readers may know better by his other name, Lemony Snicket, this tale follows the aftermath of the breakup of teens Min and Ed. True Grit’s Hailee Steinfeld, who is in line for a role in the upcoming film version Ender’s Game, is being tapped to play this silver screen teen. As Deadline.com puts it,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Michele Jaffe Talks Ghost Flower And Beyond!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you're hunting for that perfect beach book, we suggest that readers of all ages take a peek at author Michele Jaffe's summer 2012 release, Ghost Flower. This YA mystery won RT's Seal of Excellence in May and we can't get the compelling tale out of our heads. So for all those readers who haven't checked out this story about a runaway who assumes the identity of a missing rich girl, today we're bringing you an interview with the author! At the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention, Jaffe sat down with RT's Elissa to talk about how stealing someone's identity means changing yourself — sometimes in fundamental ways. But that's not all the pair discuss. Get an insider's look at Ghost Flower and then find out what Jaffe is working on next. (Here's a hint: this adult book will include Nazis, a New York socialite and the cabaret!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elisa And Regina Dish: Karina Cooper's Tarnished

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Karina Cooper kicks off with her new steampunk series, The St. Croix Chronicles, with this month’s release, Tarnished. Cherry St. Croix is a well-to-do miss who masquerades as a bounty hunter, and is stuck navigating between the worlds of high society of Victorian London above and the mysterious, magical streets of a dangerous London below. Her night job delivering bounty leads her down some dark roads, including capturing a killer and uncovering the secrets of a mad scientist. Read on to hear what RT's Elisa and Regina have to say about this unusual tale. 

Elisa: Let me preface this Dish by saying that my love for alternative history tales is far-reaching and I adore a good steampunk. But lately, I’d kind of been feeling a bit … uninspired ...

Regina: I feel ya’. Which is why I’m happy I got you to pick up Karina Cooper’s new series starter Tarnished.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Flirting with Ruin by Marguerite Kaye   

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Against the Wind by Virginia Kelly

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Putting Boys on the Ledge by Stephanie Rowe

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: The Casual Vacancy By J.K. Rowling

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

We all know that J.K. Rowling, of Harry Potter fame, will be embarking on a new type of adventure for her next novel. She has written a story primarily for adults. And today publisher Little, Brown is offering readers a bit more about what’s in store — and a peak at the cover! Rowling’s new novel is titled The Casual Vacancy. We told you back in February not to expect this novel to be “Harry Potter for adults” but now there’s a bit more news about the story itself.

Here’s what we know:

The small English town of Pagford is plunged into chaos when Barry Fairbrother, a member of the parish council, dies unexpectedly. Pagford seems like a classic country town, “an English idyll” says the press release. But beneath its calm veneer there is a culture war brewing as families — children/parents, married couples — and sub-cultures clash. However, it will all come to the surface as the election to fill Barry’s now-empty seat gets underway.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST