RT Daily Blog

Morgan And Elisa Dish: Jacqueline M. Battisti’s The Guardian of Bastet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

In Jacqueline M. Battisti’s new digital release, The Guardian of Bastet, cat shifter Trinity Morrigan-Caine is anything but your perfect paranormal. Other than transforming into a house cat, often at inconvenient times, Trinity thinks she’s practically useless as a supernatural being. But when someone in her small town summons a demon, Trinity finds herself in way over her head after she discovers that only she can help bring peace to her community. Battisti’s debut earned a Top Pick! in our September issue and since both Morgan and Elisa can’t resist a great urban fantasy tale, they had to check it out for themselves.

Morgan: After getting to know Trinity at the beginning of the story, I felt very sympathetic toward her. She has tremendous feelings of inadequacy and thinks of herself as un-spectacular.

Elisa: Yeah, I don’t think that that is actually a word.

Morgan: Well, I can’t use the term “unremarkable” because that just doesn’t fit. There is a whole bunch of remarkable things about Trinity, like the fact that her mom is a powerful spell-casting witch and her father is a puma shifter. And, oh yeah, Trinity herself can communicate with animals.

Elisa: Communicate! She can turn into an animal!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Where To Submit Your Manuscript: August 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 23, 2012 | PERMALINK
Aspiring authors, we know that it can be disheartening to look out into the abyss of potential publishing houses and only see the same old phrase, “no unsolicited manuscripts accepted.” These days many of the major publishing houses rely on their ties with literary agents and in-house promotions to find new authors. But don’t despair; today we’ve come up with a list of eight places — from off-the-beaten path publishers to special back doors of the big-name houses — that would welcome your query letter, manuscript or submission. 

***

Kensington: New York’s largest privately owned publishing house, Kensington, is currently searching for new talent! Editors are accepting queries via e-mail for fiction and non-fiction submissions. To learn more about Kensington’s editors and what they’re looking for, as well as to learn how to submit a query, visit their website here.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Robin Covington And Her Husband Talk Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance author Robin Covington had an interesting conversation with her husband (aka "The Main Man") about where she gets her ideas and inspiration for her books, including her most recent release A Night of Southern Comfort. We're glad she shared it with us — and you — because while this author is making a name for herself in romantic suspense, she also knows how to make us laugh!

***

So ... it isn’t easy being with a woman who writes romance novels. The Main Man and I have been married for 18 years (we married when I was 5-years-old) and he is immensely proud of my writing but we both work as attorneys in a conservative environment where many people are a little surprised/shocked when they discover that I write “those kinds of books”. And while they hesitate to ask me about where I get my ideas and my inspiration, they don’t bat an eye at asking him.

So, when he returned recently from a night at our local pub, we had the following conversation:

The Main Man: So, the guys were talking about your book tonight.

Me: Really? How did that come up?

The Main Man: Well, actually they started reading the first scene with an app on someone’s phone. You know the one with the bar pick-up and sexy, explicit one-night-stand?

Me: Yeah, I wrote it. I vaguely remember that scene.

The Main Man: Well, they asked me where you get your inspiration.

Me: You told them it was you, right?

The Main Man: They didn’t believe me.

Me: Morons. You should have set them straight on that fact.

The Main Man: I didn’t want them to be intimidated.

Me: Good call.

The Main Man: So, I need something to tell them. People ask me all the time. They want to know where you get your inspiration.

Me: Well, I usually start with photos. I’m a visual person so I find photos and put them on my inspiration wall in my office.

The Main Man: The one with the half naked guys all over it?

Me: That’s the one! So, I find a guy who evokes my hero and I’m off and running. For Jackson Cantrell, I used Joe Manganiello – you know Alcide on True Blood. He’s in my top five.

The Main Man: Yeah, yeah. You know if he shows on the doorstep looking for you, it’s done, right? That guy is huge. I’ll just wave goodbye and keep my teeth.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Miss Hillary Schools a Scoudrel by Samantha Grace

    

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Burning Up by Susan Andersen

Buy For $1.24 >>

 

Young Adult

Dark Territory by J. Gabriel Gates and Charlene Keel

Get It For Free >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lexxie Couper

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Eager to get the scoop on the hot stuff coming from the land down under, RT’s Morgan snatched up erotic author Lexxie Couper at the last RT Booklover’s Convention. In the video below, the two discuss the author's latest Aussie hero from Love’s Rhythm. Starring rock god Nick Blackthorne (who first appeared in the titillating ménage, Tropical Sin), this is one book that is guaranteed to heat up your e-readers. Then Morgan and Couper chat about some of our most favorite subjects: Naughty reads, Aussie men and upcoming projects. Find out why Couper is considered a "jack of all trades" in erotica and discover the author's newest project which is a definite departure from her previous books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free: Nine Harlequin Series Titles!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today we’re bringing you a steal of a deal, because nothing’s better than free! That’s right: Free. Harlequin is offering a number of titles across its series to be downloaded for the low, low price of $0.00. If you’ve ever wanted to get your feet wet in series romance, now’s the time to dip your toes! From romantic suspense to blazing passion, Harlequin’s got you covered - and we have the links below for your freewheeling clicking pleasure. 

The Italian's Inexperienced Mistress by Lynne Graham 

To gain her father’s freedom, Gwenna Hamilton would do anything; even offer her innocence to the brooding Italian tycoon seeking revenge. But neither finds themselves satisfied with only one night ....

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

 

The New Deputy in Town by BJ Daniels

Laney Cavanaugh can’t help but notice the new man in town, Deputy Sheriff Nick Rogers. When a murder brings them together, can she convince him to let down his guard to embrace small-town life and her?

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

 

Cowboy Dad by Cathy McDavid

Natalie Forrester’s job was to roll out the welcome mat, but she wants rodeo star Aaron Reyes to feel he’s more than a guest. She wants to handsome cowboy to feel he’s found his home ... with her.

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sarah J. Maas On Her Teen Assassin Heroine And Throne Of Glass

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah J. Maas' debut, Throne of Glass, is a stunning fantasy YA tale that not only earned a Top Pick!, but was also earned a nomination for our August Seal of Excellence Award. The story follows the adventures of young Celaena, a deadly assassin who has been imprisoned but is given a chance at freedom by her nation's prince as the king's royal assassin. She must battle 23 other people for the job, and the other competitors are just as dangerous as Celaena. Today the author reveals her inspiration behind her extraordinary heroine and the rest of the Throne of Glass universe.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Interview With Dee J. Adams' Bad Boy Rock Star Seger Hughes!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the third book of Dee J. Adams’ Adrenaline Highs series, Dangerously Close, rock star Seger Hughes finds himself in some serious need of R&R. To evade the paparazzi, he dons a disguise and takes up residence in an isolated cliff-side mansion in Malibu. There he finds more than he ever expected: Ashley Bristol, the love of his life. But their romance is not without obstacles. Ashley is recuperating from an accident that has taken her sight, and Seger, no matter the precautions he takes, can’t shake one very persistent and dangerous fan.

Now, back in the limelight and creating music with his love by his side, Seger spills his story to famous-actress-turned interviewer, Julie Frasier (from Adams' Danger Zone ). And Julie, it turns out, is a very persuasive interviewer. Look at all the secrets she convinces Seger to spill:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Juliana Gray’s A Gentleman Never Tells

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, AUGUST 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Since Juliana Gray’s historical debut in August, with RT Top Pick! A Lady Never Lies (which also won our August Seal of Excellence), I’ve been metaphorically stalking her characters all over the Tuscan countryside in anticipation of her second Affairs By Moonlight novel, A Gentleman Never Tells. I mean, seriously: Give me six smart characters, a touch of mystery, a splash of skullduggery and the backdrop of Victorian progress and I am yours. I will follow Juliana Gray anywhere — or at least to the end of this trilogy!

However, romance for Lilibet and Roland, the main duo in November’s A Gentleman Never Tells doesn’t come quite as easily. Six years ago, Miss Elizabeth Harewood and Lord Roland Penhallow were a young pair on the cusp of a grand love, full of hope for the future until duty and distance pulled them apart. Now, coming face-to-face in an Italian inn, neither of them is precisely who they were … or who they seem to be. Lilibet, now Countess of Somerton and on the run from her ruthless earl husband, hides a wealth of emotion under a veil of calm while Roland plays featherbrain to conceal a razor-sharp mind. Though they each wear carefully constructed masks, what they can’t hold back is the passion they still harbor for each other. It’s a passion that could destroy them both … or forge a bond even stronger than the one they thought lost forever.

Stuck in a Tuscan castle while their friends engage in a merry battle of the sexes and gamble with their hearts, Lilibet and Roland will realize that their biggest risk — rekindling their love — is also their best bet. That is, if Lilibet’s estranged husband doesn’t get in the way …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How We Spent Our Summer Vacation: With Genies!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Whether in a bottle or not, today’s genies are looking to rub readers the right way, and obliging authors are granting your every wish and fantasy with these paranormal paramours. While they’re not as prevalent as some of the more popular creatures of the night (*cough* vampires *cough*), we embark on a magic carpet ride that even Aladdin would envy to bring you a sampling of the best jinn out there.

Our first stop is to visit the ever-fun, pink-smoke wielding genie, Vana Aphrodite from Judi Fennell’s Magic Gone Wild. She’s a genie who wants to do right, but her magic has a way of … well, going spectacularly wrong. And when Zane, the great-grandson of her former master, discovers that his inheritance includes an inept magical being, he isn’t quite impressed. It’s up to Vana to change the hot football players’ mind about her skills and prove her worth. That’s if she can keep her mind on the tasks at hand and ignore the sparks of attraction that fly — much like her magic — out of control.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST